DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments and remarks received 22 October 2025. Claims 16 - 26 and 28 - 30 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 11 - 12 of claim 16 recite, in part, “regions; and measuring the periodic structure” which appears to contain a grammatical error and/or a minor informality. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to --regions; [[and]] measuring the periodic structure-- in order to improve the clarity and precision of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
The objection to claim 30, due to a minor informality, is hereby withdrawn in view of the amendments and remarks received 22 October 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 - 26 and 28 - 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the sensor optics" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention because it is unclear as to which image “the image” recited on line 2 is referencing. Is it referring to the “image” recited on line 14 of claim 16 or the “image” recited on line 2 of claim 23? Additionally, it is unclear as to whether the “image” recited on line 14 of claim 16 and the “image” recited on line 2 of claim 23 are the same image or are different images. Clarification and appropriate correction are required. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will treat the claims as requiring a single same image.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the periodic structure" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention because it is unclear as to which periodic structure “the periodic structure” recited on lines 18 - 19 is referencing. Is it referring to “the periodic structure” recited on line 8 of claim 30 or the “periodic structure” recited on line 9 of claim 30? Additionally, it is unclear as to whether “the periodic structure” recited on line 8 of claim 30 and the “periodic structure” recited on line 9 of claim 30 are the same periodic structure or are different periodic structures. Clarification and appropriate correction are required. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will treat the claim as requiring a single same periodic structure.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the sensor optics" in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 17 - 23, 25, 26, 28 and 29 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, due to being dependent upon a rejected base claim(s) but would be withdrawn from the rejection if their base claim(s) overcome the rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 - 26 and 28 - 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 - 26 and 28 - 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grunzweig et al. International Publication No. WO 2015/009739 A1 in view of Smilde et al. U.S. Publication No. 2012/0123581 A1 in view of Hiasa U.S. Publication No. 2020/0065942 A1.
- With regards to claim 16, Grunzweig et al. disclose a method (Grunzweig et al., Abstract, Fig. 12, Pg. 5 ¶ 0020, Pg. 17 ¶ 0052 - Pg. 18 ¶ 0057) comprising: configuring, based on a ratio of a pitch of a periodic structure on a substrate and a wavelength of illumination radiation used to measure the periodic structure: (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 2 - 4, 6A - 6C, 8A - 9B & 12, Pg. 6 ¶ 0023, Pg. 9 ¶ 0029 and 0031, Pg. 11 ¶ 0034 - Pg. 12 ¶ 0035, Pg. 12 ¶ 0037, Pg. 13 ¶ 0041 - Pg. 14 ¶ 0043, Pg. 16 ¶ 0049, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 - 0056 [“spot size and positions may be chosen to allow full flexibility of wavelength/pitch combinations, by ensuring that at each resulting diffraction angle, no overlap is created between orders”]) an illumination aperture profile comprising one or more illumination regions in Fourier space; (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3A - 3E, 6A - 10B & 12, Pg. 5 ¶ 0020, Pg. 7 ¶ 0024, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0029, Pg. 9 ¶ 0031, Pg. 11 ¶ 0034 - Pg. 12 ¶ 0035, Pg. 12 ¶ 0037 - Pg. 13 ¶ 0040, Pg. 14 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 15 ¶ 0048 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0050, Pg. 17 ¶ 0052 - Pg. 18 ¶ 0056) and a detection aperture profile comprising one or more separated detection regions in the Fourier space, (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3A - 3E, 6A - 10B & 12, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022 - 0023, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0029, Pg. 12 ¶ 0038 - Pg. 13 ¶ 0039, Pg. 13 ¶ 0041 - Pg. 14 ¶ 0043, Pg. 16 ¶ 0049 - 0050, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 - 0058) such that: i) diffracted radiation of at least a pair of complementary diffraction orders is captured within the detection aperture profile, (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3B - 4, 6A - 10B & 12, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022 - 0023, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - 0028, Pg. 10 ¶ 0032 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0034, Pg. 12 ¶ 0037 - 0038, Pg. 14 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 16 ¶ 0050, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 and 0058) and ii) the diffracted radiation fills at least 80% of the one or more separated detection regions; (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3B - 4 & 6A - 10B, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - 0028, Pg. 10 ¶ 0032 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0034, Pg. 12 ¶ 0038, Pg. 14 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 16 ¶ 0050, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 [“The distance in the pupil between ±1 diffraction orders and the 0 order depends on wavelength and target pitch. Target pitch may be selected so that ±1 diffraction orders do not overlap 0 orders at the shortest intended measurement wavelength and fall within the collection aperture at the longest intended measurement wavelength. Illumination beams 100 may be positioned in the pupil so that the direction of diffraction does not cause the diffracted orders to overlap the other beam or a central obscuration in the pupil (should one exist). Advantageously. Such configuration allows the greatest range of illumination wavelengths to be used for a given target pitch, is compatible with objective lenses that obscure the center of the pupil (105). Furthermore, illumination beams may be positioned uniquely for each measurement wavelength so that higher diffraction orders are not partially truncated by the aperture” and “As the distance in pupil between ±1 diffraction orders and 0 orders depends on wavelength and target pitch, target pitch may be selected so that ±1 diffraction orders do not overlap 0 orders at the intended measurement wavelength and are not truncated by the collection aperture”]) and measuring the periodic structure while applying the configured illumination aperture profile and the detection aperture profile; (Grunzweig et al., Abstract, Fig. 12, Pg. 5 ¶ 0020, Pg. 6 ¶ 0023 - Pg. 7 ¶ 0024, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - 0028, Pg. 9 ¶ 0031 - Pg. 10 ¶ 0033, Pg. 12 ¶ 0035 - 0038, Pg. 16 ¶ 0049 - 0050, Pg. 17 ¶ 0052, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 - 0058) and generating an image of the periodic structure obtained during the measurement, (Grunzweig et al., Abstract, Fig. 12, Pg. 4 ¶ 0017, Pg. 5 ¶ 0019 - 0020, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022 - 0023, Pg. 7 ¶ 0025, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0029, Pg. 10 ¶ 0032 - Pg. 12 ¶ 0035, Pg. 12 ¶ 0038, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 - 0058) wherein the one or more illumination regions are separated from the one or more separated detection regions in the Fourier space. (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3B - 3E & 7A - 11, Pg. 5 ¶ 0020, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022 - Pg. 7 ¶ 0024, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0029, Pg. 9 ¶ 0031 - Pg. 10 ¶ 0032, Pg. 12 ¶ 0035 - 0038, Pg. 14 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 16 ¶ 0050, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 - 0058 [The Examiner asserts that, for example, illumination beams 100A and 100B illustrated in figure 3B of Grunzweig et al. correspond to the claimed one or more illumination regions in the Fourier space, that the -1 and +1 diffraction order images 109A and 111B illustrated in figure 3B of Grunzweig et al. correspond to the claimed one or more separated detection regions in the Fourier space and that in figure 3B of Grunzweig et al. illumination beams 100A and 100B are separated from the 1 and +1 diffraction order images 109A and 111B.]) Grunzweig et al. fail to disclose explicitly computationally reshaping a point spread function of an image to correct for aberrations in the point spread function of the image due to the sensor optics used to perform the measurement, and wherein the one or more illumination regions are larger than or equal to the one or more separated detection regions. Pertaining to analogous art, Smilde et al. disclose a method (Smilde et al., Abstract, Pg. 1 ¶ 0008 - 0009) comprising: configuring: an illumination aperture profile comprising one or more illumination regions in Fourier space; (Smilde et al., Figs. 3(a) - 3(d), 7, 8(a) & 10 - 11(b), Pg. 3 ¶ 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0050 - 0052, Pg. 5 ¶ 0059 - 0061, Pg. 6 ¶ 0066 - 0069, Pg. 7 ¶ 0075 - 0076, Pg. 9 ¶ 0087, Pg. 10 ¶ 0105 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0107, Pg. 12 ¶ 0117 - 0118) and a detection aperture profile comprising one or more separated detection regions in the Fourier space, (Smilde et al., Figs. 8(a) - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 5 ¶ 0063 - Pg. 6 ¶ 0066, Pg. 6 ¶ 0068, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0100, Pg. 10 ¶ 0103 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118, Pg. 14 ¶ 0129 - 0133) such that: i) diffracted radiation of at least a pair of complementary diffraction orders is captured within the detection aperture profile, (Smilde et al., Figs. 11(a) - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 5 ¶ 0060 - 0063, Pg. 7 ¶ 0073 - 0075, Pg. 8 ¶ 0081 - 0084, Pg. 9 ¶ 0087 - 00911, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0099, Pg. 11 ¶ 0106 - 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118) and ii) the diffracted radiation fills at least 80% of the one or more separated detection regions; (Smilde et al., Figs. 11(a) - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 5 ¶ 0060 - 0063, Pg. 6 ¶ 0066 - 0069, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0099, Pg. 11 ¶ 0106 - 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118) and measuring the periodic structure while applying the configured illumination aperture profile and the detection aperture profile; (Smilde et al., Abstract, Figs. 3(a) - 3(d) & 6 - 13(b), Pg. 5 ¶ 0058 - 0063, Pg. 6 ¶ 0066 - Pg. 7 ¶ 0071, Pg. 7 ¶ 0073 - 0077, Pg. 9 ¶ 0087 - 0094, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0101, Pg. 10 ¶ 0105 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108) and computationally correcting an image of the periodic structure obtained during the measurement to correct for aberrations of the image due to the sensor optics used to perform the measurement, (Smilde et al., Pg. 6 ¶ 0064 - 0065, Pg. 7 ¶ 0078 - Pg. 8 ¶ 0079, Pg. 8 ¶ 0082 - 0085, Pg. 9 ¶ 0089 - Pg. 10 ¶ 0096, Pg. 10 ¶ 0101 - 0103) wherein the one or more illumination regions are separated from the one or more separated detection regions in the Fourier space, (Smilde et al., Figs. 3(a) - 3(d), 8(a) - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 5 ¶ 0059 - 0063, Pg. 6 ¶ 0066 - 0069, Pg. 10 ¶ 0105 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118) and wherein the one or more illumination regions are larger than or equal to the one or more separated detection regions. (Smilde et al., Figs. 7 - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 9 ¶ 0087, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0099, Pg. 10 ¶ 0104 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118 [“At the right hand side in FIG. 11(a), four alternative forms of field stop 121 are illustrated, each one being adapted to select one of the ‘free first order’ diffraction signals illustrated in the central image. The portions to be selected are referred to as the ‘free first orders’, meaning that they are not superimposed on any other diffraction order”, “FIG. 11(b) shows a second form of aperture plate 13, this time having parameters 0.7/1.0. According to these parameters, the aperture is an annular ring starting 0.7 of the way from the optical axis to the periphery of the pupil and extending all the way to the periphery… Each of the four first order diffraction signals becomes a segment of an annulus, these four segments overlapping with one another and/or with the zero order signal, in the pattern shown. In this arrangement, the four free first order signals appear in relatively small, trapezoidal portions of the image, relatively close to the centre. As illustrated by the arrow 98, aperture plate 121 can take on four different forms, to select each of the three [sic] first orders individually” and “As in the examples of FIGS. 3(b) and 8(d), other forms of aperture plate can be envisaged, which will simultaneously one of the first orders diffracted in the X direction and another diffracted in the Y direction.” The Examiner asserts that, for example, figure 11(b) of Smilde et al. illustrates an embodiment wherein one or more illumination regions are separated from and larger than one or more detection regions.]) Smilde et al. fail to disclose explicitly computationally reshaping a point spread function of an image to correct for aberrations in the point spread function of the image. Pertaining to analogous art, Hiasa discloses a method (Hiasa, Abstract, Figs. 5 & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0004 - 0006, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0029 and 0039, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 6 ¶ 0065 - 0067, Pg. 8 ¶ 0084 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0088) comprising: computationally reshaping a point spread function of an image obtained during the measurement to correct for aberrations in the point spread function of the image due to the sensor optics used to perform the measurement. (Hiasa, Abstract, Figs. 1, 2, 5, 7A - 7D & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0004 - 0006 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0028 and 0034, Pg. 3 ¶ 0036, 0038 and 0040 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0050, Pg. 4 ¶ 0053 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0054, Pg. 6 ¶ 0067 - 0069, Pg. 7 ¶ 0076 - 0077, Pg. 8 ¶ 0083 - 0084) Grunzweig et al. and Smilde et al. are combinable because they are both directed towards scatterometry measurement systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Grunzweig et al. with the teachings of Smilde et al. A first modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the base device of Grunzweig et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Smilde et al. applied to a comparable device. Utilizing one or more illumination regions that are larger than or equal to the one or more separated detection regions from which diffracted radiation of a pair of complementary diffraction orders is captured, as taught by Smilde et al., would enhance the base device of Grunzweig et al. by increasing the amount and angular extent of illumination that is able to be provided to measurement targets so as to enable measurement of smaller targets, optimize measurement accuracy and minimize signal contamination from a target’s periphery, as suggested by Grunzweig et al., see at least page 12 paragraph 0038 - page 13 paragraph 0040 and page 16 paragraph 0049 of Grunzweig et al. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Grunzweig et al. that different sized and shaped illumination beams may be utilized, that sizes and positions of illumination beams may be optimized to avoid overlapping of diffracted orders and that bigger illumination apertures allow for measurement of smaller targets and minimize signal contamination from target periphery, see at least page 7 paragraph 0024, page 8 paragraph 0028 - page 9 paragraph 0029, page 12 paragraph 0035, page 12 paragraph 0037 - page 13 paragraph 0040 and page 16 paragraphs 0049 - 0050 of Grunzweig et al. Moreover, a second modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the base device of Grunzweig et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Smilde et al. applied to a comparable device. Computationally correcting an image of the periodic structure obtained during the measurement to correct for aberrations of the image due to the sensor optics used to perform the measurement, as taught by Smilde et al., would enhance the base device of Grunzweig et al. by eliminating distortions caused by aberrations in sensor optics from its captured images so as to further improve the accuracy and reliability of its measurements since any measurement errors caused by aberrations in sensor optics would be accounted for and corrected. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that one or more illumination regions that are larger than or equal to one or more separated detection regions from which diffracted radiation of a pair of complementary diffraction orders is captured would be utilized so as to improve the accuracy and reliability of measurements produced by the base device of Grunzweig et al. and enable it to perform measurements of smaller targets and in that an image of the periodic structure obtained during the measurement would be corrected so as to further improve the accuracy and reliability of measurements of the base device of Grunzweig et al. by eliminating any measurement errors caused by aberrations in sensor optics from its final measurement results. In addition, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. and Hiasa are combinable because they are all directed towards image processing and imaging systems and, similar to Smilde et al., Hiasa is also directed towards correcting aberrations in images. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. with the teachings of Hiasa. This modification would have been prompted in order to substitute the correction technique of Smilde et al. for the correction process of Hiasa. The correction process of Hiasa could be substituted in place of the correction technique of Smilde et al. utilizing well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that in the combination the correction process of Hiasa would be utilized to correct the image for aberrations in sensor optics used to perform the measurement. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the correction process of Hiasa would be utilized to correct the image obtained by the combined base device for aberrations in sensor optics used to perform the measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Grunzweig et al. with Smilde et al. and Hiasa to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
- With regards to claim 17, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the illumination aperture profile comprises the one or more illumination regions in the Fourier space for illuminating the periodic structure from at least two substantially different angular directions. (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3B - 4, 7A, 11 & 12, Pg. 3 ¶ 0014, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0029, Pg. 9 ¶ 0031, Pg. 17 ¶ 0053 - 0054) In addition, analogous art Smilde et al. disclose wherein the illumination aperture profile comprises the one or more illumination regions in the Fourier space for illuminating the periodic structure from at least two substantially different angular directions. (Smilde et al. Figs. 11(a) - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 10 ¶ 0104 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118)
- With regards to claim 18, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa disclose the method of claim 17, wherein: the illumination aperture profile comprises the one or more illumination regions in the Fourier space for illuminating the periodic structure from the at least two substantially different angular directions, (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3B - 4, 7A, 11 & 12, Pg. 3 ¶ 0013 - 0014, Pg. 7 ¶ 0026 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0029, Pg. 9 ¶ 0031, Pg. 17 ¶ 0053 - 0054) and the detection aperture profile comprises four detection regions in the Fourier space for capturing a respective one of the pair of complementary diffraction orders. (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3D - 6C, Pg. 5 ¶ 0019 - 0020, Pg. 8 ¶ 0028 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0034, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 - 0058) Grunzweig et al. fail to disclose expressly illuminating the periodic structure from the at least two substantially different angular directions for each of two periodic orientations of sub-structures comprised within the periodic structure, and capturing a respective one of the pair of complementary diffraction orders for each of the periodic orientations. Pertaining to analogous art, Smilde et al. disclose wherein: the illumination aperture profile comprises the one or more illumination regions in the Fourier space for illuminating the periodic structure from the at least two substantially different angular directions (Smilde et al. Figs. 11(a) - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 10 ¶ 0104 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118) for each of two periodic orientations of sub-structures comprised within the periodic structure, (Smilde et al., Figs. 4 - 5, Pg. 5 ¶ 0058, Pg. 6 ¶ 0070, Pg. 7 ¶ 0074 - 0076, Pg. 9 ¶ 0094, Pg. 10 ¶ 0100 and 0105) and the detection aperture profile comprises four detection regions in the Fourier space for capturing a respective one of the pair of complementary diffraction orders for each of the periodic orientations. (Smilde et al., Figs. 4 - 5 & 11(a) - 11(b), Pg. 5 ¶ 0058 - 0063, Pg. 6 ¶ 0066 - 0070, Pg. 7 ¶ 0073 - 0076, Pg. 9 ¶ 0087 - 0094, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0100, Pg. 10 ¶ 0105 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa with additional teachings of Smilde et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the combined base device of Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa with the well-known and applicable technique Smilde et al. applied to a comparable device. Illuminating and capturing a pair of complementary diffraction orders for each of two periodic orientations of sub-structures comprised within the periodic structure, as taught by Smilde et al., would enhance the combined base device by allowing for it to perform measurements on a wider variety of targets, such as targets composed of differently oriented periodic sub-structures, by reducing the amount of time it takes to perform measurements on periodic structures since multiple orientations of periodic structures would be able to be measured simultaneously thereby increasing the overall appeal and usefulness of the combined base device to potential end-users. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Grunzweig et al. that their invention is not limited to specific target types and that two pairs of opposite illumination beams may be utilized to illuminate and measure a target having two measurement directions, see at least figure 3E, page 4 paragraphs 0017 - 0018, page 7 paragraphs 0025 - 0026, page 8 paragraph 0028 - page 10 paragraph 0032 and page 18 paragraph 0058 of Grunzweig et al. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the combined base device would illuminate and capture a pair of complementary diffraction orders for each of two periodic orientations of sub-structures comprised within a periodic structure so as to increase the overall appeal and usefulness of the combined base device to potential end-users by enabling it to perform measurements on a wider variety of targets and by reducing the amount of time it takes to perform measurements on periodic structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa with additional teachings of Smilde et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18.
- With regards to claim 19, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa disclose the method of claim 17, wherein: a separate illumination region of the one or more illumination regions each corresponds to a respective one of each detection region. (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3A - 4 & 7A - 7C, Pg. 4 ¶ 0017, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022 - 0023, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0029, Pg. 9 ¶ 0031 - Pg. 10 ¶ 0033, Pg. 12 ¶ 0038, Pg. 14 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 18 ¶ 0058) Grunzweig et al. fail to disclose expressly wherein: each illumination region is larger than its corresponding detection region, and each illumination region is no more than 30% larger than its corresponding detection region. Pertaining to analogous art, Smilde et al. disclose wherein: a separate illumination region of the one or more illumination regions each corresponds to a respective one of each detection region, (Smilde et al. Figs.7 - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 9 ¶ 0087, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0099, Pg. 10 ¶ 0104 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118) each illumination region is larger than its corresponding detection region. (Smilde et al. Figs. 7- 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 9 ¶ 0087, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0099, Pg. 10 ¶ 0104 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118) Smilde et al. fail to disclose expressly wherein each illumination region is no more than 30% larger than its corresponding detection region, however, it has been held that when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum “ranges, or measurements” involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa to include illumination region(s) that are no more than 30% larger than their corresponding detection region(s). The Examiner asserts that it has been held that when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum “ranges, or measurements” involves only routine skill in the art. The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize illumination region(s) that are no more than 30% larger than their corresponding detection region(s) for a variety of reasons, such as to balance illumination intensity and range of measurable illumination wavelength to target pitch ratios and to ensure satisfactory measurement sensitivity to given target characteristics, as suggested by Grunzweig et al., see at least page 16 paragraphs 0049 - 0050 of Grunzweig et al., so as to improve the accuracy and reliability of measurements produced by the combined base device. Also, see MPEP § 2144.05. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Grunzweig et al. that different sized and shaped illumination beams may be utilized, that sizes and positions of illumination beams may be optimized to avoid overlapping of diffracted orders, that bigger illumination apertures allow for measurement of smaller targets and minimize signal contamination from target periphery and that the diameter of the pupil area occupied by each illumination beam may range between 0.2NA or lower and 0.4NA or higher, see at least page 7 paragraph 0024, page 8 paragraph 0028 - page 9 paragraph 0029, page 12 paragraph 0035, page 12 paragraph 0037 - page 13 paragraph 0040 and page 16 paragraphs 0049 - 0050 of Grunzweig et al. This modification could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that each of the one or more illumination regions would be no than 30% larger than their corresponding detection region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa with illumination region(s) that are no more than 30% larger than their corresponding detection region(s) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
- With regards to claim 20, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the one or more illumination regions comprise the Fourier space other than the Fourier space used for the detection aperture profile and a margin between the illumination aperture profile and the detection aperture profile. (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 7A - 7C, 10A & 10B, Pg. 7 ¶ 0024, Pg. 12 ¶ 0038 - Pg. 13 ¶ 0040, Pg. 14 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 16 ¶ 0049 [“the extent of beams lO0A, 100B may be maximized within the numerical aperture of the image pupil to optimize measurement accuracy”, “the apertures can be made bigger (as they are not constrained by the illuminations of the other dimension). The bigger aperture in the pupil plane will result in smaller spot size on the target, allowing the use of smaller targets, which is desirable. In certain embodiments, the size of the individual apertures may be maximized to yield minimal spot sizes on target 60, while avoiding overlapping among the diffraction orders”, “large illumination beams 100A, 100B at pupil plane 71, allow the largest possible illumination NA and thereby the smallest possible illumination spot on target (minimizes signal contamination from target periphery)” and “the diameter of the pupil area occupied by each illumination beam 100 may range between 0.2NA or lower (Figure 9A) and 0.4NA or higher (Figure 10A).”]) Grunzweig et al. fail to disclose explicitly a single illumination region comprising the Fourier space other than the Fourier space used for the detection aperture profile and a margin between the illumination aperture profile and the detection aperture profile. Pertaining to analogous art, Smilde et al. disclose wherein the one or more illumination regions comprises a single illumination region comprising the Fourier space other than the Fourier space used for the detection aperture profile and a margin between the illumination aperture profile and the detection aperture profile. (Smilde et al., Figs. 11(a) - 11(b), Pg. 10 ¶ 0104 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa with additional teachings of Smilde et al. This modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the combined base device of Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa with the well-known and applicable technique Smilde et al. applied to a comparable device. Utilizing a single illumination region comprising the Fourier space other than the Fourier space used for the detection aperture profile and a margin between the illumination aperture profile and the detection aperture profile, as taught by Smilde et al., would enhance the combined base device by increasing the amount and angular extent of illumination that it is able to provide to measurement targets, enabling measurement of smaller targets, optimizing measurement accuracy and ensuring satisfactory measurement sensitivity to given target characteristics, as suggested by Grunzweig et al., see at least page 12 paragraph 0038 - page 13 paragraph 0040 and page 16 paragraph 0049 of Grunzweig et al. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Grunzweig et al. that different sized and shaped illumination beams may be utilized, that sizes and positions of illumination beams may be optimized to avoid overlapping of diffracted orders, that bigger illumination apertures allow for measurement of smaller targets and minimize signal contamination from target periphery and that the diameter of the pupil area occupied by each illumination beam may range between 0.2NA or lower and 0.4NA or higher, see at least page 7 paragraph 0024, page 8 paragraph 0028 - page 9 paragraph 0029, page 12 paragraph 0035, page 12 paragraph 0037 - page 13 paragraph 0040, page 16 paragraphs 0049 - 0050 and page 20 paragraph 0062 of Grunzweig et al. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that a single illumination region comprising the Fourier space other than the Fourier space used for the detection aperture profile and a margin between the illumination aperture profile and the detection aperture profile would be utilized in order to increase the amount and angular extent of illumination that the combined base device is able to provide to measurement targets so as to improve the accuracy and reliability of its measurements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa with additional teachings of Smilde et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20.
- With regards to claim 21, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the configuring the illumination aperture profile comprises spatial filtering the illumination radiation in a pupil plane or an intermediate plane of an objective lens to impose the illumination aperture profile. (Grunzweig et al., Abstract, Pg. 5 ¶ 0020, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022, Pg. 9 ¶ 0031 - Pg. 12 ¶ 0035, Pg. 13 ¶ 0039 - 0040, Pg. 15 ¶ 0048 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0050, Pg. 18 ¶ 0056) In addition, analogous art Smilde et al. disclose wherein the configuring the illumination aperture profile comprises spatial filtering the illumination radiation in a pupil plane or an intermediate plane of an objective lens to impose the illumination aperture profile. (Smilde et al., Abstract, Pg. 1 ¶ 0012, Pg. 2 ¶ 0014 - 0015, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0050 - 0051,Pg. 5 ¶ 0059 - 0061, Pg. 6 ¶ 0064 - 0067, Pg. 12 ¶ 0115, Pg. 13 ¶ 0121 - 0123, Pg. 13 ¶ 0127 - Pg. 14 ¶ 0133)
- With regards to claim 22, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the illumination radiation comprises multimode radiation, temporal and/or spatial incoherent radiation, or an approximation thereof. (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3B - 4 & 7A - 10B, Pg. 4 ¶ 0018, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0030, Pg. 10 ¶ 0032 - 0033, Pg. 13 ¶ 0039 - 0040, Pg. 18 ¶ 0058 - Pg. 19 ¶ 0059) In addition, analogous art Smilde et al. disclose wherein the illumination radiation comprises multimode radiation, temporal and/or spatial incoherent radiation, or an approximation thereof. (Smilde et al., Figs. 3(a) - 3(d), 7, 9, 11(b) & 13(a), Pg. 5 ¶ 0059 - 0061, Pg. 7 ¶ 0073 - 0077, Pg. 9 ¶ 0087 - 0091, Pg. 11 ¶ 0107 - 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0117 - 0118)
- With regards to claim 23, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa disclose the method of claim 22. Grunzweig et al. fail to disclose explicitly correcting an image of the periodic structure obtained during the measurement. Pertaining to analogous art, Smilde et al. disclose correcting an image of the periodic structure obtained during the measurement. (Smilde et al., Pg. 6 ¶ 0064 - 0065, Pg. 7 ¶ 0078 - Pg. 8 ¶ 0083, Pg. 8 ¶ 0085, Pg. 9 ¶ 0089 - 0094, Pg. 10 ¶ 0096 and 0101 - 0103, Pg. 12 ¶ 0115 - 0116, Pg. 14 ¶ 0132 - 0133 and 0137) In addition, analogous art Hiasa discloses correcting an image of the periodic structure obtained during the measurement. (Hiasa, Abstract, Figs. 1, 2, 5, 7A - 7D & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0004 - 0006 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0028 and 0034, Pg. 3 ¶ 0036, 0038 and 0040 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0050, Pg. 4 ¶ 0053 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0054, Pg. 6 ¶ 0067 - 0069, Pg. 7 ¶ 0076 - 0077, Pg. 8 ¶ 0083 - 0084)
- With regards to claim 24, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa disclose the method of claim 23. Grunzweig et al. fail to disclose explicitly wherein the correcting comprises correcting the image for aberrations in sensor optics used to perform the measurement. Pertaining to analogous art, Smilde et al. disclose wherein the correcting comprises correcting the image for aberrations in sensor optics used to perform the measurement. (Smilde et al., Pg. 6 ¶ 0064 - 0065, Pg. 7 ¶ 0078 - Pg. 8 ¶ 0079, Pg. 8 ¶ 0082 - 0085, Pg. 9 ¶ 0089 - Pg. 10 ¶ 0096, Pg. 10 ¶ 0101 - 0103) In addition, analogous art Hiasa discloses wherein the correcting comprises correcting the image for aberrations in sensor optics used to perform the measurement. (Hiasa, Abstract, Figs. 1, 2, 5, 7A - 7D & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0004 - 0006 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0028 and 0034, Pg. 3 ¶ 0036, 0038 and 0040 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0050, Pg. 4 ¶ 0053 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0054, Pg. 6 ¶ 0067 - 0069, Pg. 7 ¶ 0076 - 0077, Pg. 8 ¶ 0083 - 0084)
- With regards to claim 25, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa disclose the method of claim 24. Grunzweig et al. fail to disclose explicitly wherein the correcting for aberrations is performed as a field position dependent correction. Pertaining to analogous art, Hiasa discloses wherein the correcting for aberrations is performed as a field position dependent correction. (Hiasa, Figs. 6 - 7D & 12 - 13C, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0028 and 0034, Pg. 3 ¶ 0038 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0046 - 0049, Pg. 5 ¶ 0054, Pg. 6 ¶ 0067 - 0068, Pg. 7 ¶ 0071 - 0075) In addition, analogous art Smilde et al. disclose wherein the correcting for aberrations is performed as a field position dependent correction. (Smilde et al., Pg. 6 ¶ 0064 - 0065, Pg. 8 ¶ 0081 - 0085, Pg. 9 ¶ 0089 - 0093, Pg. 10 ¶ 0101 - 0103)
- With regards to claim 26, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa disclose the method of claim 24. Grunzweig et al. fail to disclose explicitly wherein the correcting comprises performing a convolution of a raw image and a correction kernel, the correction kernel being position dependent. Pertaining to analogous art, Hiasa discloses wherein the correcting comprises performing a convolution of a raw image and a correction kernel, (Hiasa, Figs. 1, 14 & 15, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0028, Pg. 3 ¶ 0042 - 0044, Pg. 4 ¶ 0046 - 0049, Pg. 5 ¶ 0054 - 0057, Pg. 7 ¶ 0075 - Pg. 8 ¶ 0083) the correction kernel being position dependent. (Hiasa, Figs. 6 - 7C & 12 - 15, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0028, Pg. 3 ¶ 0038 - 0044, Pg. 4 ¶ 0046 - 0049, Pg. 4 ¶ 0053 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0055, Pg. 7 ¶ 0071 - 0072, Pg. 7 ¶ 0075 - Pg. 8 ¶ 0079, Pg. 8 ¶ 0082 - 0083 [“FIG. 7A illustrates a point spread function (PSF) before the blur is reshaped at a defocus distance. In FIG. 7A, the abscissa axis represents the space coordinate (position), and the ordinate axis represents the intensity. This is similarly applied to FIGS. 7B to 7D as described later. As illustrated in FIG. 7A, a doublet blur as an illustrative multiple blur has a PSF having separated peaks. When the PSF at the defocus distance has a shape illustrated in FIG. 7A, an object that is originally a single line appears to be doubly blurred when defocused”, “input image 201 is calculated in the first convolution layer 202 as the sum of convolution and bias with a plurality of filters. Herein, a filter coefficient will be called a weight (weight information). The filter and bias values in each layer are determined in the prior learning to reshape the unwanted defocus blur into a good shape”, “once the weight information for correcting the blur is stored for one of the upper and lower areas of the alternate long and short dash line, the other can be obtained by reversing the image or the weight information” and “examples of the good defocus blur include, for example, a flat circular blur illustrated in FIG. 7C and the Gaussian distribution function illustrated in FIG. 7D.”])
- With regards to claim 28, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa disclose the method of claim 16, further comprising configuring an orientation of the periodic structure, (Grunzweig et al., Fig. 12, Pg. 3 ¶ 0013, Pg. 5 ¶ 0021, Pg. 6 ¶ 0023, Pg. 9 ¶ 0030 - 0031, Pg. 12 ¶ 0038 - Pg. 13 ¶ 0039, Pg. 17 ¶ 0053 - Pg. 18 ¶ 0055) wherein the configuring the orientation of the periodic structure comprises rotating the periodic structure around an optical axis based on the ratio of the pitch and the wavelength. (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 2 - 3E, 7A - 7C & 12, Pg. 3 ¶ 0013 - 0014, Pg. 5 ¶ 0021, Pg. 6 ¶ 0023, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0031, Pg. 10 ¶ 0033, Pg. 12 ¶ 0035 and 0037 - 0038, Pg. 13 ¶ 0041 - Pg. 14 ¶ 0043, Pg. 17 ¶ 0053 - Pg. 18 ¶ 0055) In addition, analogous art Smilde et al. disclose configuring an orientation of the periodic structure, (Smilde et al., Figs. 7 & 9, Pg. 3 ¶ 0041, Pg. 4 ¶ 0052 - 0054, Pg. 7 ¶ 0075, Pg. 8 ¶ 0082 - 0084, Pg. 9 ¶ 0087 - 0091, Pg. 10 ¶ 0101) wherein the configuring the orientation of the periodic structure comprises rotating the periodic structure around an optical axis. (Smilde et al., Figs. 7 & 9, Pg. 3 ¶ 0041, Pg. 4 ¶ 0052 - 0054, Pg. 7 ¶ 0075, Pg. 8 ¶ 0082 - 0084, Pg. 9 ¶ 0087 - 0091, Pg. 10 ¶ 0101)
- With regards to claim 29, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. in view of Hiasa disclose the method of claim 16, further comprising: simultaneously configuring both of the illumination aperture profile and the detection aperture profile, (Grunzweig et al., Fig. 12, Pg. 5 ¶ 0019 - 0020, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022 - 0023, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0029, Pg. 9 ¶ 0031 - Pg. 12 ¶ 0035, Pg. 12 ¶ 0037 - 0038, Pg. 14 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 15 ¶ 0048 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0050, Pg. 17 ¶ 0052 - Pg. 18 ¶ 0058) the simultaneously configuring comprising varying one or more optical elements in a path of at least a pair of diffracted beams of the diffracted radiation and at least a pair of illumination beams of the illumination radiation such that trajectories of the diffracted beams and the illumination beams are translated and/or shifted in the Fourier space. (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 2 - 3E, 7A - 10B & 12, Pg. 5 ¶ 0020, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022, Pg. 9 ¶ 0029 - 0031, Pg. 10 ¶ 0033, Pg. 12 ¶ 0038 - Pg. 13 ¶ 0041, Pg. 15 ¶ 0048, Pg. 17 ¶ 0054 - Pg. 18 ¶ 0057)
- With regards to claim 30, Grunzweig et al. disclose a metrology device (Grunzweig et al., Abstract, Fig. 2, Pg. 1 ¶ 0002 - 0004, Pg. 5 ¶ 0020 - Pg. 6 ¶ 0022, Pg. 19 ¶ 0060 - 0061) comprising: one or more optical elements (Grunzweig et al., Fig. 2, Pg. 5 ¶ 0020, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022, Pg. 9 ¶ 0029 - 0031, Pg. 10 ¶ 0033, Pg. 12 ¶ 0038 - Pg. 13 ¶ 0041, Pg. 15 ¶ 0048, Pg. 17 ¶ 0054) configured to provide a detection aperture profile comprising one or more separated detection regions in Fourier space; (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3A - 3E, 6A - 10B & 12, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022 - 0023, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0029, Pg. 12 ¶ 0038 - Pg. 13 ¶ 0039, Pg. 13 ¶ 0041 - Pg. 14 ¶ 0043, Pg. 16 ¶ 0049 - 0050, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 - 0058) an illumination source (Grunzweig et al., Fig. 2, Pg. 4 ¶ 0017, Pg. 5 ¶ 0020 - Pg. 7 ¶ 0024, Pg. 9 ¶ 0031 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0034, Pg. 12 ¶ 0038, Pg. 17 ¶ 0052 - 0054, Pg. 18 ¶ 0058 - Pg. 19 ¶ 0061) configured to provide an illumination aperture profile comprising one or more illumination regions in the Fourier space; (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3A - 3E, 6A - 10B & 12, Pg. 5 ¶ 0020, Pg. 7 ¶ 0024, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0029, Pg. 9 ¶ 0031, Pg. 11 ¶ 0034 - Pg. 12 ¶ 0035, Pg. 12 ¶ 0037 - Pg. 13 ¶ 0040, Pg. 14 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 15 ¶ 0048 - Pg. 16 ¶ 0050, Pg. 17 ¶ 0052 - Pg. 18 ¶ 0056) wherein: the detection aperture profile and the illumination aperture profile are configurable based on a ratio of at least one pitch of the periodic structure and at least one wavelength of illumination radiation used to measure a periodic structure, (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 2 - 4, 6A - 10B & 12, Pg. 5 ¶ 0020, Pg. 6 ¶ 0023, Pg. 9 ¶ 0029 and 0031, Pg. 11 ¶ 0034 - Pg. 12 ¶ 0035, Pg. 12 ¶ 0037 - Pg. 13 ¶ 0039, Pg. 13 ¶ 0041 - Pg. 14 ¶ 0043, Pg. 16 ¶ 0049 - 0050, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 - 0056 [“spot size and positions may be chosen to allow full flexibility of wavelength/pitch combinations, by ensuring that at each resulting diffraction angle, no overlap is created between orders”]) such that: i) at least a pair of complementary diffraction orders are captured within the detection aperture profile, (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3B - 4, 6A - 10B & 12, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022 - 0023, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - 0028, Pg. 10 ¶ 0032 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0034, Pg. 12 ¶ 0037 - 0038, Pg. 14 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 16 ¶ 0050, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 and 0058) and ii) radiation of the pair of complementary diffraction orders fills at least 80% of the one or more separated detection regions, (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3B - 4 & 6A - 10B, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - 0028, Pg. 10 ¶ 0032 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0034, Pg. 12 ¶ 0038, Pg. 14 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 16 ¶ 0050, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 [“The distance in the pupil between ±1 diffraction orders and the 0 order depends on wavelength and target pitch. Target pitch may be selected so that ±1 diffraction orders do not overlap 0 orders at the shortest intended measurement wavelength and fall within the collection aperture at the longest intended measurement wavelength. Illumination beams 100 may be positioned in the pupil so that the direction of diffraction does not cause the diffracted orders to overlap the other beam or a central obscuration in the pupil (should one exist). Advantageously. Such configuration allows the greatest range of illumination wavelengths to be used for a given target pitch, is compatible with objective lenses that obscure the center of the pupil (105). Furthermore, illumination beams may be positioned uniquely for each measurement wavelength so that higher diffraction orders are not partially truncated by the aperture” and “As the distance in pupil between ±1 diffraction orders and 0 orders depends on wavelength and target pitch, target pitch may be selected so that ±1 diffraction orders do not overlap 0 orders at the intended measurement wavelength and are not truncated by the collection aperture”]) wherein the one or more illumination regions are separated from the one or more separated detection regions in the Fourier space; (Grunzweig et al., Figs. 3B - 3E & 7A - 11, Pg. 5 ¶ 0020, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022 - Pg. 7 ¶ 0024, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0029, Pg. 9 ¶ 0031 - Pg. 10 ¶ 0032, Pg. 12 ¶ 0035 - 0038, Pg. 14 ¶ 0042 - 0043, Pg. 16 ¶ 0050, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 - 0058 [The Examiner asserts that, for example, illumination beams 100A and 100B illustrated in figure 3B of Grunzweig et al. correspond to the claimed one or more illumination regions in the Fourier space, that the -1 and +1 diffraction order images 109A and 111B illustrated in figure 3B of Grunzweig et al. correspond to the claimed one or more separated detection regions in the Fourier space and that in figure 3B of Grunzweig et al. illumination beams 100A and 100B are separated from the 1 and +1 diffraction order images 109A and 111B.]) and generating an image of the periodic structure obtained by applying the illumination aperture profile and detection aperture profile. (Grunzweig et al., Abstract, Fig. 12, Pg. 4 ¶ 0017, Pg. 5 ¶ 0019 - 0020, Pg. 6 ¶ 0022 - 0023, Pg. 7 ¶ 0025, Pg. 8 ¶ 0027 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0029, Pg. 10 ¶ 0032 - Pg. 12 ¶ 0035, Pg. 12 ¶ 0038, Pg. 18 ¶ 0055 - 0058) Grunzweig et al. fail to disclose explicitly wherein the one or more illumination regions are larger than the one or more separated detection regions; and a processor configured to computationally reshape a point spread function of an image to correct for aberrations in the point spread function of the image due to the sensor optics used to capture image. Pertaining to analogous art, Smilde et al. disclose a metrology device (Smilde et al., Abstract, Figs. 1 - 3(d), 8(a), 10 & 15, Pg. 1 ¶ 0003 and 0008, Pg. 3 ¶ 0041, Pg. 5 ¶ 0058 - 0059 and 0062, Pg. 6 ¶ 0070, Pg. 7 ¶ 0073, Pg. 14 ¶ 0134, Pg. 15 ¶ 0138 - 0141) comprising: one or more optical elements (Smilde et al., Figs. 1 - 3(d), 8(a) - 11(b) & 15, Pg. 3 ¶ 0041 - 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0050 - 0052, Pg. 5 ¶ 0062 - Pg. 6 ¶ 0065, Pg. 6 ¶ 0068 - 0069, Pg. 7 ¶ 0075, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0104, Pg. 11 ¶ 0106 - 0108, Pg. 13 ¶ 0127 - Pg. 14 ¶ 0133) configured to provide a detection aperture profile comprising one or more separated detection regions in Fourier space; (Smilde et al., Figs. 8(a) - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 5 ¶ 0063 - Pg. 6 ¶ 0066, Pg. 6 ¶ 0068, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0100, Pg. 10 ¶ 0103 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118, Pg. 14 ¶ 0129 - 0133) an illumination source (Smilde et al., Figs. 1 - 3(d), 8(a), 10 - 11(b) & 15, Pg. 3 ¶ 0041 - 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0050 - 0052, Pg. 5 ¶ 0059 - 0061, Pg. 6 ¶ 0066 - 0067 and 0069, Pg. 7 ¶ 0071 and 0075 - 0076, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 and 0105, Pg. 11 ¶ 0107, Pg. 13 ¶ 0127) configured to provide an illumination aperture profile comprising one or more illumination regions in the Fourier space; (Smilde et al., Figs. 3(a) - 3(d), 7, 8(a) & 10 - 11(b), Pg. 3 ¶ 0042, Pg. 4 ¶ 0050 - 0052, Pg. 5 ¶ 0059 - 0061, Pg. 6 ¶ 0066 - 0069, Pg. 7 ¶ 0075 - 0076, Pg. 9 ¶ 0087, Pg. 10 ¶ 0105 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0107, Pg. 12 ¶ 0117 - 0118) wherein: the detection aperture profile and the illumination aperture profile are configurable (Smilde et al., Pg. 4 ¶ 0050 - 0051, Pg. 5 ¶ 0059 - 0061 and 0063, Pg. 6 ¶ 0067, Pg. 7 ¶ 0075, Pg. 9 ¶ 0087 - 0091, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108, Pg. 14 ¶ 0131 - 0133) to measure a periodic structure, (Smilde et al., Abstract, Figs. 3(a) - 3(d) & 6 - 13(b), Pg. 5 ¶ 0058 - 0063, Pg. 6 ¶ 0066 - Pg. 7 ¶ 0071, Pg. 7 ¶ 0073 - 0077, Pg. 9 ¶ 0087 - 0094, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0101, Pg. 10 ¶ 0105 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108) such that: i) at least a pair of complementary diffraction orders are captured within the detection aperture profile, (Smilde et al., Figs. 11(a) - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 5 ¶ 0060 - 0063, Pg. 7 ¶ 0073 - 0075, Pg. 8 ¶ 0081 - 0084, Pg. 9 ¶ 0087 - 00911, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0099, Pg. 11 ¶ 0106 - 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118) and ii) radiation of the pair of complementary diffraction orders fills at least 80% of the one or more separated detection regions, (Smilde et al., Figs. 11(a) - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 5 ¶ 0060 - 0063, Pg. 6 ¶ 0066 - 0069, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0099, Pg. 11 ¶ 0106 - 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118) wherein the one or more illumination regions are separated from the one or more separated detection regions in the Fourier space, (Smilde et al., Figs. 3(a) - 3(d), 8(a) - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 5 ¶ 0059 - 0063, Pg. 6 ¶ 0066 - 0069, Pg. 10 ¶ 0105 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118) and wherein the one or more illumination regions are larger than the one or more separated detection regions; (Smilde et al., Figs. 7 - 11(b) & 13(a) - 13(b), Pg. 9 ¶ 0087, Pg. 10 ¶ 0097 - 0099, Pg. 10 ¶ 0104 - Pg. 11 ¶ 0108, Pg. 12 ¶ 0116 - 0118 [“At the right hand side in FIG. 11(a), four alternative forms of field stop 121 are illustrated, each one being adapted to select one of the ‘free first order’ diffraction signals illustrated in the central image. The portions to be selected are referred to as the ‘free first orders’, meaning that they are not superimposed on any other diffraction order”, “FIG. 11(b) shows a second form of aperture plate 13, this time having parameters 0.7/1.0. According to these parameters, the aperture is an annular ring starting 0.7 of the way from the optical axis to the periphery of the pupil and extending all the way to the periphery… Each of the four first order diffraction signals becomes a segment of an annulus, these four segments overlapping with one another and/or with the zero order signal, in the pattern shown. In this arrangement, the four free first order signals appear in relatively small, trapezoidal portions of the image, relatively close to the centre. As illustrated by the arrow 98, aperture plate 121 can take on four different forms, to select each of the three [sic] first orders individually” and “As in the examples of FIGS. 3(b) and 8(d), other forms of aperture plate can be envisaged, which will simultaneously one of the first orders diffracted in the X direction and another diffracted in the Y direction.” The Examiner asserts that, for example, figure 11(b) of Smilde et al. illustrates an embodiment wherein one or more illumination regions are separated from and larger than one or more detection regions.]) and a processor (Smilde et al., Pg. 3 ¶ 0039, Pg. 5 ¶ 0063, Pg. 7 ¶ 0071 and 0074, Pg. 15 ¶ 0140) configured to computationally correct an image of the periodic structure obtained by applying the illumination aperture profile and detection aperture profile to correct for aberrations in the image due to the sensor optics used to capture image. (Smilde et al., Pg. 6 ¶ 0064 - 0065, Pg. 7 ¶ 0078 - Pg. 8 ¶ 0079, Pg. 8 ¶ 0082 - 0085, Pg. 9 ¶ 0089 - Pg. 10 ¶ 0096, Pg. 10 ¶ 0101 - 0103) Smilde et al. fail to disclose explicitly computationally reshaping a point spread function of an image to correct for aberrations in the point spread function of the image. Pertaining to analogous art, Hiasa discloses a processor (Hiasa, Figs. 2, 9 & 10, Pg. 1 ¶ 0006, Pg. 2 ¶ 0034 - Pg. 3 ¶ 0037, Pg. 6 ¶ 0062, Pg. 8 ¶ 0085 - Pg. 9 ¶ 0088) configured to computationally reshape a point spread function of an image to correct for aberrations in the point spread function of the image due to the sensor optics used to capture image. (Hiasa, Abstract, Figs. 1, 2, 5, 7A - 7D & 12, Pg. 1 ¶ 0004 - 0006 and 0015, Pg. 2 ¶ 0026 - 0028 and 0034, Pg. 3 ¶ 0036, 0038 and 0040 - 0043, Pg. 4 ¶ 0050, Pg. 4 ¶ 0053 - Pg. 5 ¶ 0054, Pg. 6 ¶ 0067 - 0069, Pg. 7 ¶ 0076 - 0077, Pg. 8 ¶ 0083 - 0084) Grunzweig et al. and Smilde et al. are combinable because they are both directed towards scatterometry measurement systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Grunzweig et al. with the teachings of Smilde et al. A first modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the base device of Grunzweig et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Smilde et al. applied to a comparable device. Utilizing one or more illumination regions that are larger than the one or more separated detection regions from which diffracted radiation of a pair of complementary diffraction orders is captured, as taught by Smilde et al., would enhance the base device of Grunzweig et al. by increasing the amount and angular extent of illumination that is able to be provided to measurement targets so as to enable measurement of smaller targets, optimize measurement accuracy and minimize signal contamination from a target’s periphery, as suggested by Grunzweig et al., see at least page 12 paragraph 0038 - page 13 paragraph 0040 and page 16 paragraph 0049 of Grunzweig et al. Furthermore, this modification would have been prompted by the teachings and suggestions of Grunzweig et al. that different sized and shaped illumination beams may be utilized, that sizes and positions of illumination beams may be optimized to avoid overlapping of diffracted orders and that bigger illumination apertures allow for measurement of smaller targets and minimize signal contamination from target periphery, see at least page 7 paragraph 0024, page 8 paragraph 0028 - page 9 paragraph 0029, page 12 paragraph 0035, page 12 paragraph 0037 - page 13 paragraph 0040 and page 16 paragraphs 0049 - 0050 of Grunzweig et al. Moreover, a second modification would have been prompted in order to enhance the base device of Grunzweig et al. with the well-known and applicable technique Smilde et al. applied to a comparable device. Computationally correcting, with a processor, an image of the periodic structure obtained by applying the illumination aperture profile and detection aperture profile to correct for aberrations in the image due to the sensor optics used to capture the image, as taught by Smilde et al., would enhance the base device of Grunzweig et al. by eliminating distortions caused by aberrations in sensor optics from its captured images so as to further improve the accuracy and reliability of its measurements since any measurement errors caused by aberrations in sensor optics would be accounted for and corrected. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that one or more illumination regions that are larger than one or more separated detection regions from which diffracted radiation of a pair of complementary diffraction orders is captured would be utilized so as to improve the accuracy and reliability of measurements produced by the base device of Grunzweig et al. and enable it to perform measurements of smaller targets and in that an image of the periodic structure obtained by applying the illumination aperture profile and detection aperture profile would be corrected so as to further improve the accuracy and reliability of measurements of the base device of Grunzweig et al. by eliminating any measurement errors caused by aberrations in sensor optics from its final measurement results. In addition, Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. and Hiasa are combinable because they are all directed towards image processing and imaging systems and, similar to Smilde et al., Hiasa is also directed towards correcting aberrations in images. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Grunzweig et al. in view of Smilde et al. with the teachings of Hiasa. This modification would have been prompted in order to substitute the correction technique of Smilde et al. for the correction process of Hiasa. The correction process of Hiasa could be substituted in place of the correction technique of Smilde et al. utilizing well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that in the combination the correction process of Hiasa would be utilized to correct the image for aberrations in sensor optics used to perform the measurement. This combination could be completed according to well-known techniques in the art and would likely yield predictable results, in that the correction process of Hiasa would be utilized to correct the image obtained by the combined base device for aberrations in sensor optics used to perform the measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Grunzweig et al. with Smilde et al. and Hiasa to obtain the invention as specified in claim 30.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Banner et al. U.S. Patent No. 7,983,509; which is directed towards a system and method for compensating for image degradation, wherein a point spread function (PSF) of an image capture device is estimated and the estimated PSF is employed to compensate for image degradation that occurs during acquisition of an image by the image capture device.
Watanabe U.S. Publication No. 2017/0024866 A1; which is directed towards an image processing method and apparatus for correcting deterioration of an image caused by an image pickup optical system, wherein correction data for correcting deterioration of the image is set for each region on the image based on a point spread function (PSF) of the image pickup optical system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC RUSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677