DETAILED ACTION
Application Priority
This application filed 08/02/2022 is a 371 of PCT/JP2021/004740 filed on 02/09/2021, which claims priority to JAPAN 2020-021277 filed on 02/12/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed on 1/23/26 is in compliance with the provisions of S7 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments over the 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 14-25 and 27 over Hatanaka et al. (US9308187B2) in view of CN103933481A is not persuasive. The rejection is herewith modified in view of amendments made to the claims. The rejections are addressed below.
Applicant’s arguments over the 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 27 over Hatanaka et al. (US9308187B2) in view of CN103933481A, as applied to claims 14-25 and 27 further in view of Tomomi et al. (WO 2009096315 A1) is not persuasive. The rejection is herewith modified in view of amendments made to the claims.
Applicant argues " Newly-inserted claim 28 now limits the at least one patch to only a backing layer and an adhesive layer through the use of the closed transition "consists of" Moreover, independent claim 28 further limits the active ingredient to only being in the adhesive.” Furthermore, the Examiner reminds Applicant the primary reference is drawn to a diclofenac sodium adhesive patch, not containing additional actives argued.
The arguments CN103933481A are moot in view of withdrawal of the reference.
In response, the Examiner points out that the method of the claims does not exclude additional actives. The method comprises “applying at least one patch to skin of the patient once a day, wherein the at least one patch consists.” The “comprising” language of the claims does not exclude additional components including steps or steps including additional actives.
The nonstatutory double patenting of Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 9308187B2 in view of CN103933481A is not persuasive. The rejection is herewith modified in view of amendments made to the claims. Applicant’s argument over nonstatutory double patenting rejections depends on the validity of the previous arguments which were not found persuasive.
The following rejections are made:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanaka et al. (US9308187B2) in view of Pan et al. ((2016) Repurposing Drugs in Oncology (ReDO)—diclofenac as an anti-cancer agent ecancer 10 610).
Hatanaka et al. teaches a patch comprising a support layer and an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer comprises diclofenac sodium, dimethyl sulfoxide, and citric acid. The adhesive layer further comprises oleic acid. The adhesive layer further comprises at least one compound selected from the group consisting of liquid paraffin and a liquid rubber. The adhesive layer is a styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymers and/or polyisobutyrene. The tackifier include rosin esters, hydrogenated rosin esters, maleated rosins, alicyclic saturated hydrocarbon resins, and terpene resins. The patch of Example 2 (area: 140 cm2) were attached to the skin. The prior art teaches two to three sheets of the patch were attached to the skin (reads on daily) (i.e. Fig 6).
While the reference teaches mass part of the diclofenac sodium, the reference does not specify the dose of the diclofenac sodium of 150 mg to 225 mg per application or application once a day.
Pan et al. teaches “Diclofenac (DCF) is a commonly used non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID) used in the treatment of pain in rheumatoid arthritis and other musculoskeletal conditions, migraine, fever, acute gout and post-operative pain…DCF is also commonly available as a gel for topical application for localized pain or for the treatment of actinic keratosis.” (Introduction) Pan et al. points out that “topical application at a dose of 6 mg/kg retarded and then stopped tumor growth compared to controls.” “DCF, which is available as a sodium or potassium salt, is used in tablet, gel/emulsion, injection and suppository forms. Dosages vary by format and indication.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the teaching of Pan et al. to treat cancer pain at the dosage claimed. The motivation to treat cancer pain comes from the teaching Pan et al. that DCF is also commonly available as a gel for topical application for localized pain and dosages vary by format and indication. A skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanaka et al. (US9308187B2) in view of Pan et al. ((2016) Repurposing Drugs in Oncology (ReDO)—diclofenac as an anti-cancer agent ecancer 10 610), as applied to claims 28-38 and 40 further in view of Tomomi et al. (WO 2009096315 A1).
Hatanaka and Pan et al. are discussed above.
Hatanaka and Pan et al. fail to teach the polyethylene terephthalate.
Tomomi et al. teaches an adhesive patch which comprises a substrate having stretchability and a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer superposed on at least one side of the substrate. The stretch substrate comprises a both-side-knitted woven fabric including two or more rows of a crimped polyethylene terephthalate multifilament yarn. Specifically, the method uses a melted material to spread on the release coating, and further covered with double-sided knitted polyethylene terephthalate. After the melted material is pressure-transferred, the melt is squared to 7 × 10 cm. Cut to prepare a patch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate a knitted polyethylene terephthalate in a patch. The motivation to incorporate a knitted polyethylene terephthalate in a patch comes from the teaching double-sided knitted woven fabric having two or more multifilament yarns of polyethylene terephthalate subjected to crimping provides a stretchable support . A skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results.
Double Patenting
Claims 14-15, 17-25, 27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of US9308187B2 in view of Pan et al. ((2016) Repurposing Drugs in Oncology (ReDO)—diclofenac as an anti-cancer agent ecancer 10 610).
Hatanaka et al. teaches a patch comprising a support layer and an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer comprises diclofenac sodium, dimethyl sulfoxide, and citric acid. The adhesive layer further comprises oleic acid. The adhesive layer further comprises at least one compound selected from the group consisting of liquid paraffin and a liquid rubber. The adhesive layer is a styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymers and/or polyisobutyrene. The tackifier include rosin esters, hydrogenated rosin esters, maleated rosins, alicyclic saturated hydrocarbon resins, and terpene resins. The patch of Example 2 (area: 140 cm2) were attached to the skin
While the reference teaches mass part of the diclofenac sodium, the reference does not specify the dose of the diclofenac sodium of 150 mg to 225 mg per application or application once a day.
Pan et al. teaches “Diclofenac (DCF) is a commonly used non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID) used in the treatment of pain in rheumatoid arthritis and other musculoskeletal conditions, migraine, fever, acute gout and post-operative pain…DCF is also commonly available as a gel for topical application for localized pain or for the treatment of actinic keratosis.” (Introduction) Pan et al. points out that “topical application at a dose of 6 mg/kg retarded and then stopped tumor growth compared to controls.” “DCF, which is available as a sodium or potassium salt, is used in tablet, gel/emulsion, injection and suppository forms. Dosages vary by format and indication.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the teaching of Pan et al. to treat cancer pain at the dosage claimed. The motivation to treat cancer pain comes from the teaching Pan et al. that DCF is also commonly available as a gel for topical application for localized pain and dosages vary by format and indication. A skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results.
Claims 14-15, 17-25, 27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-8 of U.S. Patent Applic. number 17433289 (IDS filed on . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims are drawn to a transdermal patch comprising: an adhesive layer on a backing[[,]]:wherein the adhesive layer contains a drug, DMSO, and an adhesive base[[, and]];wherein the adhesive base contains a styrene-based thermoplastic elastomer and the styrene-based thermoplastic elastomer has a triblock content of 35% to 65%[[.]]wherein a mass concentration of the DMSO based on a total mass of the adhesive layer is2 mass% to 10 mass%, wherein the drug comprises diclofenac sodium, a mass ratio of the DMSO to the diclofenac sodium being between 1:0.1 and 1:5, and wherein the transdermal patch is configured for application to skin that can extend and contract during motion while the claims herein are drawn to a method for relieving cancer pain in a patient, the method
comprising administering at least one patch to a patient in need thereof, wherein at least
one patch comprises a backing layer and an adhesive layer laminated on the backing layer, the adhesive layer comprises an adhesive base and an active ingredient, wherein the active ingredient consists of diclofenac sodium, and wherein the at least one patch is applied once a day to the patient, thereby administering to the patient a dose of the diclofenac sodium of 150 mg to 225 mg per application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/LAYLA SOROUSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622