DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication(s) filed 11/04/2025.
Claims 42, 44, 46-52 and 55-63 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 42, 44-52 and 54-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US 2022/0369172 A1) hereinafter “Hwang.” Foreign application of Chen (10-2019-0122683) filed October 2nd 2019 provides full support for the subject matter in the non-provisional that is being relied upon in the current rejection.
Regarding Claim 42, Hwang teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Hwang: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 1, user equipment (UE); see also Figs. 7-10) for handling a Conditional primary secondary cell change procedure (CPC) (Hwang: paragraphs 0154-0157 & Figs. 7-10, conditional PSCell change), of a secondary cell (Hwang: paragraph 0155 & Figs. 7-10, secondary node (SN)) for the UE, the method comprising:
receiving from a master node (Hwang: paragraph 0153-0155 & Fig. 7, master node; see also Figs. 8-10), a message (Hwang: paragraph 0157, RRC Message) of a first radio access technology (RAT) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, MN is of a RAT matching a first dual connectivity type), comprising a reconfiguration message for a CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraphs 0157 & Figs. 7-10, reconfiguration message for conditional PSCell change) of the secondary cell (Hwang: paragraph 0152, 0160 & 0220, & Figs. 7-10, said secondary node (SN)) of a second RAT (Hwang: paragraph 0220, SN of a RAT matching second DC type), wherein the first RAT is Long Term Evolution (LTE) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, LTE RAT) and the second RAT is New Radio (NR) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, New Radio RAT);
transmitting to the master node, a first complete message of the second RAT embedded in another message of the first RAT (Hwang: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 7, UE transmits a corresponding complete message including SN RRCreconfigurationComplete message (inner message) of an SN), wherein the first complete message indicates that the UE is able to comply to the CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 7, notify the MN that to perform conditional PSCell change based on obtained information); and
upon fulfilment of a condition of the CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 7, said conditional PSCell is performed), transmitting to the master node over signaling radio bearer one (SRB1) (Hwang: paragraph 0160, transmit the corresponding message to the MN through SRB1), a second complete message (Hwang: paragraph 160, reconfiguration complete message), of the second RAT embedded in a ULInformationTransferMRDC message of the first RAT (Hwang: paragraphs 0161-0162, ULInformationTransferMRDC message may be used as an outer message).
Regarding Claim 44, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches applying the CPC reconfiguration, performing an action according to the CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraph 0159-0160 & Fig. 7, performing PSCell addition or change).
Regarding Claim 46, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the RRC message of the first RAT is a ULInformationTransferMRDC message (Hwang: paragraphs 0161-0162, ULInformationTransferMRDC message).
Regarding Claim 47, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the reconfiguration message is a RRCreconfiguration message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC reconfiguration complete message) and the message of the first RAT is a RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC connection reconfiguration message).
Regarding Claim 48, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first complete message of the second RAT is a RRCreconfiguration complete message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC reconfiguration complete message) and the other message of the first RAT is a RRCConnectionReconfiguration complete message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC connection reconfiguration message).
Regarding Claim 49, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first RAT is new radio, NR, and the second RAT is LTE (Hwang: paragraph 0220, LTE RAT or NR RAT may be replaced with an MN or SN RAT for the DC type, thus teaching an embodiment where the first RAT is NR and the second RAT is LTE).
Regarding Claim 50, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the reconfiguration message is a RRCconnectionreconfiguration message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC reconfiguration complete message) and the message of the first RAT is a RRCreconfiguration message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC connection reconfiguration message)
Regarding Claim 51, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first complete message of the second RAT is a RRCConnectionReconfiguration complete message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC reconfiguration complete message) and the other message of the first RAT is a RRCreconfiguration complete message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC connection reconfiguration message)
Regarding Claim 52, Hwang teaches A method performed by a master node (Hwang: paragraph 0153-0155 & Fig. 7, master node; see also Figs. 8-10), for handling a conditional primary secondary cell change procedure (CPC) (Hwang: paragraphs 0154-0157 & Figs. 7-10, conditional PSCell change), of a secondary cell (Hwang: paragraph 0155 & Figs. 7-10, secondary node (SN)) for a user equipment (UE) (Hwang: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 1, user equipment (UE); see also Figs. 7-10), the method comprising:
transmitting to the UE, a message (Hwang: paragraph 0157, RRC Message) of a first radio access technology (RAT) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, MN is of a RAT matching a first dual connectivity type), comprising a reconfiguration message for a CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraphs 0157 & Figs. 7-10, reconfiguration message for conditional PSCell change) of the secondary cell (Hwang: paragraph 0152, 0160 & 0220, & Figs. 7-10, said secondary node (SN)) of a second RAT (Hwang: paragraph 0220, SN of a RAT matching second DC type), wherein the first RAT is Long Term Evolution (LTE) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, LTE RAT) and the second RAT is New Radio (NR) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, New Radio RAT);
receiving from the UE, a first complete message of the second RAT embedded in another message of the first RAT (Hwang: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 7, UE transmits a corresponding complete message including SN RRCreconfigurationComplete message (inner message) of an SN), wherein the first complete message indicates that the UE is able to comply to the CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 7, notify the MN that to perform conditional PSCell change based on obtained information); and
transmitting the first complete message to a secondary node (Hwang: paragraph 0162, MN may transmit reconfiguration complete message to the SN);
receiving from the UE over signaling radio bearer one (SRB1) (Hwang: paragraph 0160, UE transmit the corresponding complete message to the MN through SRB1), a second complete message, indicating a condition fulfilled at the UE (Hwang: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 7, notify the MN that to perform conditional PSCell change based on obtained information), of the second RAT embedded in a ULInformationTransferMRDC message of the first RAT (Hwang: paragraphs 0161-0162, ULInformationTransferMRDC message may be used as an outer message); and
transmitting the second complete message to the secondary node (Hwang: paragraph 0162 & Fig. 7, SgNBReconfigurationComplete message).
Regarding Claim 54, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first RAT is LTE (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, LTE RAT) and the second RAT is new radio, NR (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, New Radio RAT).
Regarding Claim 55, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the RRC message of the first RAT is an ULInformationTransferMRDC message (Hwang: paragraphs 0161-0162, ULInformationTransferMRDC message).
Regarding Claim 56, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the reconfiguration message is a RRCreconfiguration message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC reconfiguration complete message) and the message of the first RAT is a RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC connection reconfiguration message).
Regarding Claim 57, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first complete message of the second RAT is a RRCreconfiguration complete message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC reconfiguration complete message) and the other message of the first RAT is a RRCConnectionReconfiguration complete message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC connection reconfiguration message).
Regarding Claim 58, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first RAT is new radio, NR, and the second RAT is LTE (Hwang: paragraph 0220, LTE RAT or NR RAT may be replaced with an MN or SN RAT for the DC type, thus teaching an embodiment where the first RAT is NR and the second RAT is LTE).
Regarding Claim 59, Hwang teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the reconfiguration message is a RRCconnectionreconfiguration message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC reconfiguration complete message) and the message of the first RAT is a RRCreconfiguration message (Hwang: paragraphs 0157, 0160 & Figs. 7-10, corresponding MN RRC connection reconfiguration message)
Regarding Claim 60, Hwang teaches A method performed by a secondary node (Hwang: paragraph 0155 & Figs. 7-10, secondary node (SN)) for handling a conditional primary secondary cell change procedure (CPC) (Hwang: paragraphs 0154-0157 & Figs. 7-10, conditional PSCell change), of a secondary cell (Hwang: paragraphs 0154-0157 & Figs. 7-10, said cell of target secondary node) for a user equipment (UE) (Hwang: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 1, user equipment (UE); see also Figs. 7-10), the method comprising:
transmitting to a master node (Hwang: paragraph 0153-0155 & Fig. 7, master node; see also Figs. 8-10; see also paragraph 0251 & Fig. 17) of a first radio access technology (RAT) (Hwang: paragraphs 0142-0143 & Fig. 9, MN of first radio access network (RAN)), a reconfiguration message for a CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraphs 0157 & Figs. 7-10, reconfiguration message for conditional PSCell change see also paragraph 0251 & Fig. 17) of the secondary cell (Hwang: paragraph 0152, 0160 & 0220, & Figs. 7-10, said secondary node (SN)) of a second RAT (Hwang: paragraph 0220, SN of a RAT matching second DC type), wherein the first RAT is Long Term Evolution (LTE) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, LTE RAT) and the second RAT is New Radio (NR) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, New Radio RAT);
receiving from the master node, a first complete message of the second RAT embedded in another message of the first RAT (Hwang: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 7, UE transmits a corresponding complete message including SN RRCreconfigurationComplete message (inner message) of an SN; see also paragraph 0251 & Fig. 17), wherein the first complete message indicates that the UE is able to comply to the CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 7, perform conditional PSCell change based on obtained information); and
receiving from the master node, a second complete message of the second RAT (Hwang: paragraph 160, reconfiguration complete message; see also paragraph 0251 & Fig. 17) embedded in a ULInformationTransferMRDC of the first RAT (Hwang: paragraphs 0161-0162, ULInformationTransferMRDC message may be used as an outer message) and indicating a condition fulfilled at the UE (Hwang: paragraph 0239 & Fig. 12, MN transmits the RRC reconfiguration complete message to the SN).
Regarding Claim 61, Hwang teaches A user equipment (UE) (Hwang: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 1, user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0287 & Fig. 19) for handling a conditional primary secondary cell change procedure (CPC) (Hwang: paragraphs 0154-0157 & Figs. 7-10, conditional PSCell change), of a secondary cell (Hwang: paragraph 0155 & Figs. 7-10, secondary node (SN)) for the UE, wherein the UE comprises:
communication circuitry (Hwang: paragraph 0288 & Fig. 19, RF processor to transmit or receive signals) for communicating with a network node (Hwang: paragraph 0295 & Fig. 20, base station); and
processing circuitry operatively connected to the communication circuitry (Hwang: paragraph 0292 & Fig. 19, controller); and configured to:
receive from a master node (Hwang: paragraph 0153-0155 & Fig. 7, master node; see also Figs. 8-10), a message (Hwang: paragraph 0157, RRC Message) of a first radio access technology (RAT) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, MN is of a RAT matching a first dual connectivity type), comprising a reconfiguration message for a CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraphs 0157 & Figs. 7-10, reconfiguration message for conditional PSCell change) of the secondary cell (Hwang: paragraph 0152, 0160 & 0220, & Figs. 7-10, said secondary node (SN)) of a second RAT (Hwang: paragraph 0220, SN of a RAT matching second DC type), wherein the first RAT is Long Term Evolution (LTE) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, LTE RAT) and the second RAT is New Radio (NR) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, New Radio RAT);
transmit to the master node, a first complete message of the second RAT embedded in another message of the first RAT (Hwang: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 7, UE transmits a corresponding complete message including SN RRCreconfigurationComplete message (inner message) of an SN), wherein the first complete message indicates that the UE is able to comply to the CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 7, notify the MN that to perform conditional PSCell change based on obtained information); and
upon fulfilment of a condition of the CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraphs 0159-0160 & Fig. 7, said conditional PSCell is performed), transmit to the master node over signaling radio bearer one (SRB1) (Hwang: paragraph 0160, transmit the corresponding message to the MN through SRB1), a second complete message (Hwang: paragraph 160, reconfiguration complete message), of the second RAT embedded in a ULInformationTransferMRDC message of the first RAT (Hwang: paragraphs 0161-0162, ULInformationTransferMRDC message may be used as an outer message).
Regarding Claim 62, Hwang teaches A master node (Hwang: paragraph 0233 & Fig. 12, master node (MN)) for handling a conditional primary secondary cell change procedure (CPC) (Hwang: paragraphs 0057, 0232 & Figs. 2 & 12, condition primary secondary cell change), of a secondary cell (Hwang: paragraph 0237 & Fig. 12, target cell associated with secondary node (SN)) for a user equipment (UE) (Hwang: paragraphs 0079, 0232 and Figs. 2 & 12, wireless device or user equipment (UE), wherein the master node comprises:
communication circuitry for communicating with the UE and a secondary network node (Hwang: paragraph 0296 & Fig. 20, RF processor); and
processing circuitry operatively connected to the communication circuitry (Hwang: paragraph 0300 & Fig. 20, controller) and configured to:
transmit to the UE, a message (Hwang: paragraph 0157, RRC Message) of a first radio access technology (RAT) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, MN is of a RAT matching a first dual connectivity type), comprising a reconfiguration message for a CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraphs 0157 & Figs. 7-10, reconfiguration message for conditional PSCell change) of the secondary cell (Hwang: paragraph 0152, 0160 & 0220, & Figs. 7-10, said secondary node (SN)) of a second RAT (Hwang: paragraph 0220, SN of a RAT matching second DC type), wherein the first RAT is Long Term Evolution (LTE) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, LTE RAT) and the second RAT is New Radio (NR) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, New Radio RAT);
receive from the UE, a first complete message of the second RAT embedded in another message of the first RAT (Hwang: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 7, UE transmits a corresponding complete message including SN RRCreconfigurationComplete message (inner message) of an SN), wherein the first complete message indicates that the UE is able to comply to the CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 7, notify the MN that to perform conditional PSCell change based on obtained information); and
transmit the first complete message to a secondary node (Hwang: paragraph 0162, MN may transmit reconfiguration complete message to the SN);
receive from the UE, a second complete message over signaling radio bearer one (SRB1) (Hwang: paragraph 0160, UE transmit the corresponding complete message to the MN through SRB1), indicating a condition fulfilled at the UE (Hwang: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 7, notify the MN that to perform conditional PSCell change based on obtained information), of the second RAT embedded in a ULInformationTransferMRDC message of the first RAT (Hwang: paragraphs 0161-0162, ULInformationTransferMRDC message may be used as an outer message); and
transmit the second complete message to the secondary node (Hwang: paragraph 0162 & Fig. 7, SgNBReconfigurationComplete message).
Regarding Claim 63, Hwang teaches A secondary node (Hwang: paragraph 0237 & Fig. 12, secondary node (SN)) for handling a conditional primary secondary cell change procedure (CPC) (Hwang: paragraphs 0057, 0232 & Figs. 2 & 12, condition primary secondary cell change), of a secondary cell (Hwang: paragraph 0237 & Fig. 12, target cell) for a user equipment (UE) (Hwang: paragraphs 0079, 0232 and Figs. 2 & 12, wireless device or user equipment (UE), wherein the secondary node comprises:
communication circuitry for communicating with a master node (Hwang: paragraph 0296 & Fig. 20, RF processor); and
processing circuitry operatively connected to the communication circuitry (Hwang: paragraph 0300 & Fig. 20, controller) and configured to:
transmit to a master node (Hwang: paragraph 0153-0155 & Fig. 7, master node; see also Figs. 8-10; see also paragraph 0251 & Fig. 17) of a first radio access technology (RAT) (Hwang: paragraphs 0142-0143 & Fig. 9, MN of first radio access network (RAN)), a reconfiguration message for a CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraphs 0157 & Figs. 7-10, reconfiguration message for conditional PSCell change see also paragraph 0251 & Fig. 17) of the secondary cell (Hwang: paragraph 0152, 0160 & 0220, & Figs. 7-10, said secondary node (SN)) of a second RAT (Hwang: paragraph 0220, SN of a RAT matching second DC type), wherein the first RAT is Long Term Evolution (LTE) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, LTE RAT) and the second RAT is New Radio (NR) (Hwang: paragraphs 0152, 0160 & 0220, New Radio RAT);
receive from the master node, a first complete message of the second RAT embedded in another message of the first RAT (Hwang: paragraphs 0158-0160 & Fig. 7, UE transmits a corresponding complete message including SN RRCreconfigurationComplete message (inner message) of an SN; see also paragraph 0251 & Fig. 17), wherein the first complete message indicates that the UE is able to comply to the CPC reconfiguration (Hwang: paragraph 0160 & Fig. 7, perform conditional PSCell change based on obtained information); and
receive from the master node, a second complete message of the second RAT (Hwang: paragraph 160, reconfiguration complete message; see also paragraph 0251 & Fig. 17) embedded in a ULInformationTransferMRDC of the first RAT (Hwang: paragraphs 0161-0162, ULInformationTransferMRDC message may be used as an outer message) and indicating a condition fulfilled at the UE (Hwang: paragraph 0239 & Fig. 12, MN transmits the RRC reconfiguration complete message to the SN).
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments:
a) A mapping of the subject matter relied upon in the Hwang publication and the text of the earlier-filed Korean applications is requested and/or required in order to establish Hwang as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as the effective filing date of the present application (March 9th 2020) predates the national stage application of Hwang (filed September 29th 2020) (remarks, pages 9-10).
b) Hwang alone or in combination fails to teach two NR complete messages since Hwang teaches only sending a single NR complete message after execution of the handover (remarks, pages 10-11).
Examiner’s response:
Applicant's argument filed has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Regarding argument a), a U.S. patent document may be applied as prior art as of its effectively filed date. The effectively filed date for 102(a)(2) references according to 102(2) is the earlier of the actual filing date of the U.S. patent or the published application, or the filing date of the earliest application to which the U.S. patent or the published application is entitled to claim a right of foreign priority which describes the subject matter. Unlike pre-AIA , the foreign priority data is the effective filing date of the claimed invention if the foreign application supports the claimed invention. After review of foreign priority application 10-2019-0122683 filed October 2nd 2019, Examiner notes the foreign priority application fully supports the subject matter relied upon in the publication of Hwang used to reject the instant application under 35 U.S.C § 102(a)(2).
A machine translation of the foreign priority application of Hwang (10-2019-0122683) is provided in this Office Action. Paragraphs of Hwang referenced to reject claims 42, 52, 60-63 are supported in the description of the foreign priority as provided below:
Paragraphs 0137-0145 & Figs. 7-10 of the foreign priority translation fully supports the subject matter disclosed in paragraphs 0051, 0152-0158 of Hwang.
Paragraphs 0146-0148 & Figs. 7-10 of the foreign priority translation fully supports the subject matter disclosed in paragraphs 0159-0162 & 0220 of Hwang.
Regarding argument b), Examiner notes although Hwang teaches a first RRC reconfiguration complete message which may not include an NR complete message as argued (Hwang: paragraph 0158), Hwang further teaches a second RRC reconfiguration complete message may be included and transmitted after satisfying the PSCell addition or PSCell change condition (Hwang: paragraphs 0159-0162 & Figs. 7-10). Therefore, the second NR complete message is transmitted based on when a particular condition is satisfied. Since Hwang teaches and depicts sending a first RRC Connection Reconfiguration message and sending a second RRC Connection Reconfiguration message to the master node based on a particular condition being satisfied, Hwang similarly teaches transmitted a first compete message and a further second message after fulfillment of a condition of the CPC reconfiguration.
Therefore, the rejection of claims 42, 52, 60-63 and respective dependent claims is proper and is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463