DETAILED ACTION
This Notice is responsive to communication filed on 09/02/2025.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/02/2025 under 37 CFR 1.131(a) has been entered. Claims 1, 4-9 remain pending in the application. Claims 2 and 3 have been cancelled.
The 112 rejections in the previous Action dated 06/06/2025 has been overcome by the amended claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20190131557 A1) and further in view of Lei et al. (CN 108598273 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a quantum dot light emitting diode, comprising:
a base substrate (para 0017); and
a first electrode Fig. 4: 210, a first electron transport layer Fig. 4: 242, a second electron transport layer Fig. 4: 244, a quantum dot light emitting layer Fig. 4: 250, a hole transport layer Fig. 4: 264, a hole injection layer Fig. 4: 262 and a second electrode Fig. 4: 220 successively located on the base substrate (see Fig. 4), and the second electron transport layer Fig. 4: 244 is composed of nanoparticles (para 0103 discloses various examples of nanoparticles i.e. PFNBr);
wherein the first electron transport layer Fig. 4: 242 is a film layer formed from one of the following materials: zinc oxide, aluminum zinc oxide and magnesium oxide (para. 0101);
wherein the second electron transport layer Fig. 4: 244 is composed of nanoparticles of one of the following materials: zinc oxide, aluminum oxide and magnesium zinc oxide (para. 0103-0104); and
wherein the second electron transport layer Fig. 4: 244 is directly formed on the first electron transport layer Fig. 4: 242 (shown in Fig. 4).
Lee fails to expressly disclose wherein a surface roughness of a side of the first electron transport layer away from the first electrode is less than a threshold.
However, Lei teaches wherein a surface roughness of a side of the first electron transport layer away from the first electrode is less than a threshold (para. 0012, “surface roughness after film formation is not more than 2nm”). The examiner has interpreted the small number of 2nm as the threshold since the applicant does not provide a threshold in claim 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee and Lei’s teachings for the purpose of maintaining good electron transporting properties (para. 30, lines 7-8) and maintaining a small surface roughness to ensure the electron transport layer material can form a good film (para 0004, lines 17-18).
Regarding claim 4, although Lee teaches substantial features of the claim 1, Lee fails to explicitly teach the quantum dot light emitting diode according to claim 1, wherein the threshold is 3nm. However, Lei teaches a surface roughness not more than 2nm which is within the threshold of 3nm of claim 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee and Lei’s teachings for the purpose of maintaining good electron transporting properties (para. 30, lines 7-8) and maintaining a small surface roughness to ensure the electron transport layer material can form a good film (para 0004, lines 17-18).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the quantum dot light emitting diode according to claim 1, wherein the first electron transport layer Fig. 4: 242 has a thickness of 50-150 nm and the second electron transport layer Fig. 4: 244 has a thickness of 20-60 nm (para 0105, “each of the EIL 242 and the ETL 244 may be stacked to have a thickness of about 10 nm to about 200 nm, preferably, a thickness of about 10 nm to about 100 nm”).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the quantum dot light emitting diode according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode Fig. 4: 210 is an ITO cathode (para. 0098).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the quantum dot light emitting diode according to claim 5, wherein the second electrode Fig. 4: 220 is a metal anode (para. 0099).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses a display panel, comprising the quantum dot light emitting diode according to any one of claim 1 (display panel of the display device of Fig. 6: 300).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses a display device Fig. 6: 300, comprising the quantum dot light emitting diode Fig. 6: 400 according to any one of claims 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant's argument that Lee's EIL The examiner points to Lee’s para. 0101 that teaches an EIL layer, which is part of the first charge (i.e. electron) transfer layer, made of a material such as ZnO, TiO, SnO which are inclusive of the claimed materials of the first electron transport layer. Wu et al. (see http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.solmat.2016.07.003) teach an electron transport layer with materials metal oxides including ZnO, SnO and TiO applied for improving power conversion efficiency. Since the claims are broader than what is disclosed in the specification, using broadest reasonable interpretation, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Lee’s EIL Fig. 4: 242 as an electron transport layer, because the layer of Lee is made of the same materials as the present claimed invention., See Wu et al., Enhanced short-circuit current density… Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells (http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.solmat.2016.07.003) Abstract and Introduction.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nkechinyere Esiaba/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 November 5, 2025