DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a distance between the circumferential surfaces” in lines 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 1 and 2, from which claim 3 depends, refer only to a single circumferential surface. For the purposes of examination with regard to the prior art, this limitation will be treated as if referring to a perimeter of the circumferential surface taken parallel to the first surface and second surface.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first electrode" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination with regard to the prior art, this claim will be treated as if depending from claim 14, which does provide sufficient antecedent basis for the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saito et al. (US 2016/0148973).
With regard to claim 1, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, a light-emitting element, comprising: a stacked body (20) that is a stacked body including a first semiconductor layer (22) having a first semiconductor type ([0095]), a second semiconductor layer (21) having a second semiconductor type ([0095]), and an active layer (23) sandwiched between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer, and has a first surface (201) that is a surface of the first semiconductor layer on a side opposite to the active layer, a second surface (202) that is a surface of the second semiconductor layer on a side opposite to the active layer, and a circumferential surface (203) that connects the first surface and the second surface to each other and includes an end surface of the active layer, a groove (multiple instances in 210) being formed in the first semiconductor layer, the groove being formed from the first surface toward the active layer, having a depth such that the groove is separated from the active layer, and extending in a direction parallel to the first surface ([0098]-[0099]); a light-emitting surface (2012) that is positioned on the first surface on a side opposite to the active layer and emits light generated in the active layer ([0098]-[0099]); and a reflecting body (50) that reflects light emitted from the end surface toward the groove.
With regard to claim 2, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the reflecting body covers the second surface and the circumferential surface and reflects light emitted from the second surface and the circumferential surface toward the light- emitting surface ([0101]-[0102]).
With regard to claim 3, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the circumferential surface is inclined such that a distance between the circumferential surfaces increases from the second surface toward the first surface (see figure).
With regard to claim 4, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the groove has a V-shaped shape, a U-shaped shape, or a polygonal shape as a cross-sectional shape in a plane perpendicular to a direction in which the groove extends (see figure).
With regard to claim 5, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that a groove wall of the groove has a vertical surface shape, an inclined surface shape, or a curved surface shape with respect to the light-emitting surface (see figure).
With regard to claim 6, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the groove wall of the groove has a smooth surface shape or a recessed and projecting surface shape (see figure).
With regard to claim 7, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the groove extends in a direction parallel to or non- parallel to a peripheral edge of the light-emitting surface as viewed from a direction perpendicular to the light-emitting surface ([0099]).
With regard to claim 8, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the groove includes a plurality of grooves provided between the first electrode (710) and the circumferential surface (see figure).
With regard to claim 9, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the groove extends linearly or curvedly as viewed from a direction perpendicular to the light-emitting surface ([0099]).
With regard to claim 10, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the groove is intermittently formed (see figure).
With regard to claim 11, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the groove has a constant groove width or a non-constant groove width as viewed from a direction perpendicular to the light-emitting surface ([0099]).
With regard to claim 12, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the groove is covered with a dielectric film (40) and the dielectric film forms the groove wall of the groove (see figure).
With regard to claim 13, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the groove is filled with a dielectric material (40) or no dielectric material.
With regard to claim 14, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, a first electrode (710) that is provided on the first surface and is electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer; and a second electrode (720) that is provided on the second surface and is electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer, wherein the groove is formed between the first electrode and the circumferential surface (see figure).
With regard to claim 15, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the groove is formed in a cyclic shape surrounding the first electrode as viewed from a direction perpendicular to the light-emitting surface ([0099]).
With regard to claim 16, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the first electrode crosses the groove (see figure).
With regard to claim 17, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the first electrode is electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer inside the groove (through cladding 222).
With regard to claim 18, Saito teaches, in Fig 3, that the stacked body further includes a hole-shaped recessed portion (another instance of a recess of 210, other than the claimed groove) that is formed from the first surface toward the active layer in the first semiconductor layer and has a depth such that the hole-shaped recessed portion is separated from the active layer, and a dielectric film (40) is formed on an inner surface of the hole-shaped recessed portion.
Conclusion
/RAJ R GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893