DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 11/14/2025 has been received and considered by the examiner. No alterations were made to the claims, and all uncancelled claims remain pending.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
On page 3 of their remarks, the applicant argues that “Tomeba teaches using a single field (a TCI field) containing a codepoint that maps to multiple states/resources. It does not teach the claimed feature of using different SRI fields (plural) within the DCI” (Applicant Remarks, p. 3). To support this, the applicant produces a quote, allegedly from paragraph 0186 of Tomeba, stating “‘When the DCI includes a TCI field ... the TCI field indicates one or two TCI states....’”, and explains by writing, “Tomeba explains that a code point within this single field is used to map to TCI states activated by MAC CE. This is the standard 5G NR Rel-15/16 mechanism: one field points to a list, and that entry in the list might contain two IDs. This is structurally different from the feature of claim 1 which requires different fields [emphasis in original” (Remarks, p. 3).
However, this argument is unpersuasive for several reasons. Firstly, the applicant’s reference to paragraph 0186 of Tomeba appears to be a misquotation. In fact, Tomeba does not use the phrases “TCI field” or “TCI state” at all, much less discuss deriving SRIs using codepoint mapping in paragraph 0186. This casts doubt on the accuracy of the applicant’s summary of Tomeba’s teachings.
Secondly, Tomeba’s actual teachings do not align with the applicant’s description. Rather than discussing TCI fields and states, paragraphs 0186-0188 of Tomeba simply describe “the DCI” setting “a plurality of SRIs ... for one layer” (Tomeba, 0186), and again, “two SRIs are instructed (set) by one DCI from the base station device” (Tomeba, 0188). Tomeba is, at best, silent as to how the DCI communicates two SRIs, but in the examiner’s view, these passages at least strongly imply the use of two SRI fields in a DCI. The use of two separate SRI fields in a DCI is well known in the art, as evidenced by additional references such as Liu et al. (US 2021/0392671 A1) and Cao et al. (US 2023/0102698 A1), cited in the conclusion of this action, which explicitly describe a DCI with two SRIs. (See paragraph 0007 of Liu and claim 5 of Cao).
Thirdly, even if one grants that Tomeba teaches obtaining SRIs via codepoint mapping instead of explicit SRI fields in a DCI, this still would not invalidate the pending rejection. MPEP 2141 III (B) specifically lists “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” as an example rationale to support an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. The distinction between the claimed use of two separate SRI fields and Tomeba’s alleged description of using a pointer to two SRI field entries in a list is therefore not enough to render this claimed feature non-obvious because, as stated before, further references such as Liu and Cao establish that a DCI containing two SRI fields was well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the claimed invention simply exchanges Tomeba’s codepoint mapping for another “known element” – multiple SRI fields in a DCI – to achieve the “predictable result” of communicating multiple SRI fields without an intermediary pointer. The claimed invention’s supposed differences from Tomeba thus fail to render it non-obvious, and the pending rejection is properly maintained.
Later on page 3, the applicant further attempts to distinguish the claimed invention from Tomeba, writing, “Paragraph 0188 of Tomeba teaches MAC-CE/RRC, not DCI fields” and alleging that Tomeba describes “‘configuration of the spatial relation ... is performed by the RRC signaling and/or the MAC CE.’ This does not describe providing multiple SRIs in different DCI fields [emphasis in original]” (Remarks, p. 3).
However, this quotation again appears erroneous – the examiner cannot find it in paragraph 0188 of Tomeba. Although Tomeba does discuss configuring downlink communication using “a RRC message” and “a MAC CE”, this description occurs in paragraph 0105 and is unrelated to the discussion in paragraphs 0186-0188. Although Tomeba does explain that “the one or more SRIs” are “used to derive one or more spatial relations corresponding to the one or more TRPs” (Tomeba, 0022), Tomeba never ties the SRI exclusively to MAC-CE/RRC signaling or excludes the possibility of configuring SRIs via DCI. Thus, in view of these facts, the examiner concludes that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Go in view of Tomeba is properly maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 10-11, 24, 26, and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (US 2022/0166587 A1, hereinafter “Go”) in view of Tomeba et al. (US 2022/0201672 A1, hereinafter “Tomeba”).
As to Claim 1:
Go describes a method for transmitting an SRS configuration to a UE so it can transmit the SRS uplink.
Specifically, Go teaches:
A method performed by a wireless device for enhancing Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) reliability
(“The present disclosure relates to a method for transmitting and receiving a sounding reference signal in a wireless communication system and device therefor” (Go, 0001).
Here, “a method” maps to “a method”,
“for ... a wireless communication system and device” maps to “performed by a wireless device”,
“transmitting and receiving a sounding reference signal” maps to “for enhancing Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) reliability” because the purpose of a sounding reference signal is to optimize the PUSCH’s configuration.
Receiving a configuration of two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets, comprising a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set
(“The UE capability information is related to a plurality of panels, at least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel among the plurality ... An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel” (Go, 0007, 0034).
Here, “SRS resource set” maps to “Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets”,
“an SRS resource set configured for each panel” in a “multi-panel UE” maps to “receiving a configuration of two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets” because it is clear there are at least two SRS resource sets sent downlink,
the first “SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “a first SRS resource set”, and
the second “SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “a second SRS resource set”).
The two SRS resource sets are configured for codebook-based PUSCH transmission
(“[T]he usage of the SRS may be configured as ... a codebook transmission usage” (Go, 0223).
Here, “codebook transmission usage” maps to “the two SRS resource sets are configured for codebook-based PUSCH transmission”).
Receiving an instruction from a network node for transmitting a plurality of PUSCH repetitions according to the two SRS resource sets
(“A panel receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS and a panel indicated through the DCI are different, the SRS transmission is performed based on a predefined panel ... the UE may be implemented ... to transmit and receive ... additional ... PUSCH” (Go, 0036, 0415).
Here, “downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “an instruction”,
“receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “receiving an instruction”,
“downlink” maps to “from a network node”,
“transmission is performed” maps to “for transmitting”,
“additional ... PUSCH” maps to “a plurality of PUSCH repetitions”, and
“SRS transmission” maps to “according to the two SRS resource sets” because this shows that the transmissions are performed in accordance with the aforementioned “one SRS resource set is configured for each panel among the plurality”).
Transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions according to the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set based on the received instruction
(“At least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel ... When a panel receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS and a panel indicated through the DCI are different, the SRS transmission is performed based on a predefined panel ... the UE may be implemented ... to transmit and receive ... additional ... PUSCH” (Go, 0007, 0036, 0415). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “transmission” maps to “transmitting”,
“additional ... PUSCH” maps to “the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
“based on a panel” maps to “according to the first SRS resource set” because “at least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel”,
“based on a panel” maps to “according to the ... second SRS resource set” because “at least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel”,
“downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “the received instruction”, and
“based on ... downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “based on the received instruction”).
The plurality of PUSCH repetitions comprises a first group of PUSCH repetitions and a second group of PUSCH repetitions, the second group being complementary to the first group
(“An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel ... with (higher layer parameter) repetition configured to ‘ON’, the UE may assume that at least one CSI-RS resource in NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet is transmitted to the same downlink spatial domain transmission filter ... when repetition ‘ON’ is configured in the CSI-RS resource set, a plurality of CSI-RS resources is repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” (Go, 0034, 0178, 0210). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “resources ... repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” to send transmissions like S608 in Fig. 6, a “PUSCH transmission”, maps to “the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the first “SRS resource set” maps to “a first group of PUSCH repetitions”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the second “SRS resource set” maps to “a second group of PUSCH repetitions”, and
“transmitted to the same downlink spatial domain transmission filter” maps to “the second group being complementary to the first group” because this means that combining these resource sets emphasizes their similarities, specifically their shared “spatial domain transmission filter”, meeting the commonly understood definition of “complementary”).
The first group of PUSCH repetitions is transmitted according to the first SRS resource set and the second group of PUSCH repetitions is transmitted according to the second SRS resource set
(“An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel ... with (higher layer parameter) repetition configured to ‘ON’, the UE may assume that at least one CSI-RS resource in NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet is transmitted to the same downlink spatial domain transmission filter ... when repetition ‘ON’ is configured in the CSI-RS resource set, a plurality of CSI-RS resources is repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” (Go, 0034, 0178, 0210). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “resources ... repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” to send transmissions like S608 in Fig. 6, a “PUSCH transmission”, maps to “PUSCH repetitions”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the first “SRS resource set” maps to “a first group of PUSCH repetitions”,
“transmitted based on” the first of “an SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “transmitted according to the first SRS resource set”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the second “SRS resource set” maps to “the second group of PUSCH repetitions”, and
“transmitted based on” the second of “an SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “transmitted according to the second SRS resource set”).
The instruction for transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions via the codebook based PUSCH transmission
(“The network may trigger transmission of the SRS resource set using configured aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger (L1 DCI).... [T]he usage of the SRS may be configured as ... a codebook transmission usage” (Go, 0188, 0223).
Here, “DCI” maps to “the instruction”,
“trigger transmission” maps to “transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”, and
“as ... a codebook transmission” maps to “via the codebook based PUSCH transmission”).
Go does not explicitly disclose:
A first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI, indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set, and a second SRI indicating a second SRS resource from the second SRS resource set
A first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI, associated with the first SRS resource, and a second TPMI associated with the second SRS resource
The multiple SRIs are provided in different SRI fields of Downlink Control Information, DCI
However, Tomeba does describe a method for configuring a spatial correlation between multiple SRS resource sets.
Specifically, Tomeba teaches:
A first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI, indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set, and a second SRI indicating a second SRS resource from the second SRS resource set
(“[W]hen two SRIs are instructed (set) by one DCI from the base station device and the two SRIs are associated with the same subarray, the terminal device may not be able to transmit the two corresponding SRIs at the same timing. To avoid this problem, for example, the base station device may request the terminal device to: set a plurality of SRS resources in groups, and to transmit the SRS using the same sub-array within the group.... It is noted that the groups of SRS resources may be the SRS resource sets” (Tomeba, 0188).
Here, the first of “two SRIs” maps to “a first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI”,
“using the same sub-array within the group” maps to “indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set” because the first “group” is a “SRS resource set”,
the second of “two SRIs” maps to “a second SRI”, and
“using the same sub-array within the group” maps to “indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set” because the second “group” is a “SRS resource set”).
A first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI, associated with the first SRS resource, and a second TPMI associated with the second SRS resource
(“[T]he terminal device can associate the TPMI with the sub-array and the transmitting beam direction.... [A] plurality of SRIs and/or TPMIs are instructed (set) for one layer” (Tomeba, 0186).
Here, the first of “a plurality of ... TPMIs” maps to “a first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI”,
“associate ... with the sub-array” maps to “associated with the first SRS resource”,
the second of “a plurality of ... TPMIs” maps to “a second TPMI”, and
“associate ... with the sub-array” maps to “associated with the second SRS resource”).
The multiple SRIs are provided in different SRI fields of Downlink Control Information, DCI
([T]wo SRIs are instructed (set) by one DCI from the base station device” (Tomeba, 0188).
Here, “two SRIs” map to “the multiple SRIs”,
“instructed (set)” maps to “provided”,
“one DCI” maps to “different SRI fields of Downlink Control Information, DCI” because two SRI fields are necessary to convey two SRIs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Tomeba’s practice of configuring multiple SRIs and multiple TMIs along with the plurality of SRS resource sets described in Go. If two SRS resource sets are simultaneously configured, it makes sense to indicate a specific resource and precoding configuration for each resource set, just as one would do for a single set.
As to Claim 3:
Go teaches:
Each of the two SRS resource sets comprises one or more SRS resources
(“An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel ... The UE receives from the eNB CSI-ResourceConfig IE including CSI-SSB-ResourceSetList including SSB resources used for the BM (S810) [in Fig. 8]” (Go, 0034, 0168).
Here, “an SRS resource set configured for each panel” for “multi-panel ... antenna switching usage” maps to “each of the two resource sets”, and
“SSB resources” maps to “one or more SRS resources”).
As to Claim 5:
Go teaches:
Receiving the instruction further comprises receiving the instruction for transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions via codebook based PUSCH transmission
(“When a panel receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS and a panel indicated through the DCI are different, the SRS transmission is performed based on a predefined panel... when repetition ‘ON’ is configured in the CSI-RS resource set, a plurality of CSI-RS resources is repeatedly used via the same Tx beam ... In Table 7, usage represents a higher layer parameter indicating whether the SRS resource set is used for the beam management or whether the SRS resource set is used for codebook based ... transmission” (Go, 0036, 0210, 0244). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “receiving the instructions”,
“resources ... repeated used via the same Tx beam” maps to “the plurality of ... repetitions”,
“codebook based ... transmission” maps to “via codebook based ... transmission”, and
element S608 of Fig. 6, the “PUSCH” transmission, maps to “PUSCH transmission”).
Transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions comprises transmitting the first group of PUSCH repetitions among the plurality of PUSCH repetitions according to the first SRS resource set and the second group of PUSCH repetitions among the plurality of PUSCH repetitions according to the second SRS resource set based on the codebook based PUSCH transmission
(“An SRS for antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel.... When a panel receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS and a panel indicated through the DCI are different, the SRS transmission is performed based on a predefined panel... when repetition ‘ON’ is configured in the CSI-RS resource set, a plurality of CSI-RS resources is repeatedly used via the same Tx beam ... In Table 7, usage represents a higher layer parameter indicating whether the SRS resource set is used for the beam management or whether the SRS resource set is used for codebook based ... transmission” (Go, 0034, 0036, 0210, 0244). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “transmission” maps to “transmitting”,
“resources ... repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” maps to “the plurality of ... repetitions”,
element S608 of Fig. 6, the “PUSCH” transmission, sent via the aforementioned repetitions maps to “PUSCH”,
“SRS transmission” for the first of “each panel” including the aforementioned repetitions maps to “transmitting the first group of ... repetitions”,
“based on an SRS resource set configured” for the first of “each panel” maps to “according to the first SRS resource set”,
SRS transmission for the second of “each panel” including the aforementioned repetitions maps to “the second group of ... repetitions”,
“based on an SRS resource set configured” for the second of “each panel” maps to “according to the second SRS resource set”, and
“used for codebook based ... transmission” maps to “based on the codebook based ... transmission”).
As to Claim 10:
Go teaches:
The two SRS resource sets are configured for non-codebook based PUSCH transmission
(“An SRS for antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel.... In Table 7, usage represents a higher layer parameter indicating whether the SRS resource set is used for the beam management or whether the SRS resource set is used for ... non-codebook based transmission” (Go, 0034, 0244). Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, two SRS sets from “an SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “the two SRS resource sets”,
“whether the SRS resource set is used for ... non-codebook based transmission” maps to “configured for non-codebook based ... transmission”, and
element S608 of Fig. 6, the “PUSCH” transmission, maps to “PUSCH”).
As to Claim 11:
Go teaches:
Receiving the instruction comprises receiving the instruction for transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions via non-codebook based PUSCH transmission
(“When a panel receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS and a panel indicated through the DCI are different, the SRS transmission is performed based on a predefined panel... when repetition ‘ON’ is configured in the CSI-RS resource set, a plurality of CSI-RS resources is repeatedly used via the same Tx beam ... In Table 7, usage represents a higher layer parameter indicating whether the SRS resource set is used for the beam management or whether the SRS resource set is used for ... non-codebook based transmission” (Go, 0036, 0210, 0244). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “receiving the instructions”,
“resources ... repeated used via the same Tx beam” maps to “the plurality of ... repetitions”,
“non-codebook based transmission” maps to “via non-codebook based ... transmission”, and
element S608 of Fig. 6, the “PUSCH” transmission, maps to “PUSCH transmission”).
Transmitting the plurality of PUSCH transmissions comprises transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions according to the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set based on the non-codebook based PUSCH transmission
(“An SRS for antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel.... When a panel receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS and a panel indicated through the DCI are different, the SRS transmission is performed based on a predefined panel... when repetition ‘ON’ is configured in the CSI-RS resource set, a plurality of CSI-RS resources is repeatedly used via the same Tx beam ... In Table 7, usage represents a higher layer parameter indicating whether the SRS resource set is used for the beam management or whether the SRS resource set is used for ... non-codebook based transmission” (Go, 0034, 0036, 0210, 0244). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “transmission” maps to “transmitting”,
“resources ... repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” maps to “the plurality of ... repetitions”,
element S608 of Fig. 6, the “PUSCH” transmission, sent via the aforementioned repetitions maps to “PUSCH”,
“SRS transmission” for the first of “each panel” including the aforementioned repetitions maps to “transmitting the first group of ... repetitions”,
“based on an SRS resource set configured” for the first of “each panel” maps to “according to the first SRS resource set”,
SRS transmission for the second of “each panel” including the aforementioned repetitions maps to “the second group of ... repetitions”,
“based on an SRS resource set configured” for the second of “each panel” maps to “according to the second SRS resource set”, and
“used for ... non-codebook transmission” maps to “based on the non-codebook based ... transmission”).
As to Claim 24:
Go teaches:
A wireless device, comprising: processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless device
(“a UE for transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) in a wireless communication system includes: one or more transceivers; one or more processors ... storing instructions of performing operations” (Go, 0020).
Here, “a UE” maps to “a wireless device”,
“one or more processors” maps to “processing circuitry”, and
“storing instructions of performing operations” maps to “configured to cause”).
Receive a configuration of two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets, comprising a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set
(“The UE capability information is related to a plurality of panels, at least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel among the plurality ... An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel” (Go, 0007, 0034).
Here, “SRS resource set” maps to “Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets”,
“an SRS resource set configured for each panel” in a “multi-panel UE” maps to “receive a configuration of two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets” because it is clear there are at least two SRS resource sets sent downlink,
the first “SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “a first SRS resource set”, and
the second “SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “a second SRS resource set”).
The two SRS resource sets are configured for codebook-based PUSCH transmission
(“[T]he usage of the SRS may be configured as ... a codebook transmission usage” (Go, 0223).
Here, “codebook transmission usage” maps to “the two SRS resource sets are configured for codebook-based PUSCH transmission”).
Receive an instruction from a base station for transmitting a plurality of PUSCH repetitions to multiple network nodes via a codebook based PUSCH transmission
(“A panel receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS and a panel indicated through the DCI are different, the SRS transmission is performed based on a predefined panel ... (“[T]he usage of the SRS may be configured as ... a codebook transmission usage ... [T]he UE may be implemented ... to transmit and receive ... additional ... PUSCH” (Go, 0036, 0223, 0415). Also, Fig. 1 in Go shows examples of AMFs transmitting to multiple gNBs.
Here, “downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “an instruction”,
“receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “receive an instruction”,
“downlink” maps to “from a base station”,
“transmission is performed” maps to “for transmitting”,
“additional ... PUSCH” maps to “a plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
the multiple gNBs in Fig. 1 map to “multiple network nodes”, and
“a codebook transmission” maps to “via a codebook based PUSCH transmission”).
Transmit the plurality of PUSCH repetitions according to the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set based on the received instruction
(“At least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel ... When a panel receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS and a panel indicated through the DCI are different, the SRS transmission is performed based on a predefined panel ... the UE may be implemented ... to transmit and receive ... additional ... PUSCH” (Go, 0007, 0036, 0415). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “transmission” maps to “transmit”,
“additional ... PUSCH” maps to “the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
“based on a panel” maps to “according to the first SRS resource set” because “at least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel”,
“based on a panel” maps to “according to the ... second SRS resource set” because “at least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel”,
“downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “the received instruction”, and
“based on ... downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “based on the received instruction”).
Power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the wireless device
(Fig. 22 in Go shows an example device.
Here, unit 140 in Fig. 22, the “power unit/battery”, maps to “power supply circuitry configured to supply power”, and
element 100. 200 in Fig. 22 maps to “the wireless device”).
The plurality of PUSCH repetitions comprises a first group of PUSCH repetitions and a second group of PUSCH repetitions
(“An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel ... with (higher layer parameter) repetition configured to ‘ON’, the UE may assume that at least one CSI-RS resource in NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet is transmitted to the same downlink spatial domain transmission filter ... when repetition ‘ON’ is configured in the CSI-RS resource set, a plurality of CSI-RS resources is repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” (Go, 0034, 0178, 0210). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “resources ... repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” to send transmissions like S608 in Fig. 6, a “PUSCH transmission”, maps to “the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the first “SRS resource set” maps to “a first group of PUSCH repetitions”, and
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the second “SRS resource set” maps to “a second group of PUSCH repetitions”).
The first group of PUSCH repetitions is transmitted according to the first SRS resource set and the second group of PUSCH repetitions is transmitted according to the second SRS resource set
(“An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel ... with (higher layer parameter) repetition configured to ‘ON’, the UE may assume that at least one CSI-RS resource in NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet is transmitted to the same downlink spatial domain transmission filter ... when repetition ‘ON’ is configured in the CSI-RS resource set, a plurality of CSI-RS resources is repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” (Go, 0034, 0178, 0210). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “resources ... repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” to send transmissions like S608 in Fig. 6, a “PUSCH transmission”, maps to “PUSCH repetitions”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the first “SRS resource set” maps to “a first group of PUSCH repetitions”,
“transmitted based on” the first of “an SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “transmitted according to the first SRS resource set”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the second “SRS resource set” maps to “the second group of PUSCH repetitions”, and
“transmitted based on” the second of “an SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “transmitted according to the second SRS resource set”).
The instruction for transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions via the codebook based PUSCH transmission
(“The network may trigger transmission of the SRS resource set using configured aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger (L1 DCI).... [T]he usage of the SRS may be configured as ... a codebook transmission usage” (Go, 0188, 0223).
Here, “DCI” maps to “the instruction”,
“trigger transmission” maps to “transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”, and
“as ... a codebook transmission” maps to “via the codebook based PUSCH transmission”).
Go does not explicitly disclose:
A first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI, indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set, and a second SRI indicating a second SRS resource from the second SRS resource set
A first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI, associated with the first SRS resource, and a second TPMI associated with the second SRS resource
The multiple SRIs are provided in different SRI fields of Downlink Control Information, DCI
However, Tomeba does teach:
A first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI, indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set, and a second SRI indicating a second SRS resource from the second SRS resource set
(“[W]hen two SRIs are instructed (set) by one DCI from the base station device and the two SRIs are associated with the same subarray, the terminal device may not be able to transmit the two corresponding SRIs at the same timing. To avoid this problem, for example, the base station device may request the terminal device to: set a plurality of SRS resources in groups, and to transmit the SRS using the same sub-array within the group.... It is noted that the groups of SRS resources may be the SRS resource sets” (Tomeba, 0188).
Here, the first of “two SRIs” maps to “a first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI”,
“using the same sub-array within the group” maps to “indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set” because the first “group” is a “SRS resource set”,
the second of “two SRIs” maps to “a second SRI”, and
“using the same sub-array within the group” maps to “indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set” because the second “group” is a “SRS resource set”).
A first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI, associated with the first SRS resource, and a second TPMI associated with the second SRS resource
(“[T]he terminal device can associate the TPMI with the sub-array and the transmitting beam direction.... [A] plurality of SRIs and/or TPMIs are instructed (set) for one layer” (Tomeba, 0186).
Here, the first of “a plurality of ... TPMIs” maps to “a first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI”,
“associate ... with the sub-array” maps to “associated with the first SRS resource”,
the second of “a plurality of ... TPMIs” maps to “a second TPMI”, and
“associate ... with the sub-array” maps to “associated with the second SRS resource”).
The multiple SRIs are provided in different SRI fields of Downlink Control Information, DCI
([T]wo SRIs are instructed (set) by one DCI from the base station device” (Tomeba, 0188).
Here, “two SRIs” map to “the multiple SRIs”,
“instructed (set)” maps to “provided”,
“one DCI” maps to “different SRI fields of Downlink Control Information, DCI” because two SRI fields are necessary to convey two SRIs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Tomeba’s practice of configuring multiple SRIs and multiple TMIs along with the plurality of SRS resource sets described in Go. If two SRS resource sets are simultaneously configured, it makes sense to indicate a specific resource and precoding configuration for each resource set, just as one would do for a single set.
As to Claim 26:
A method performed by a base station for enhancing Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) reliability
(“The present disclosure relates to a method for transmitting and receiving a sounding reference signal in a wireless communication system and device therefor ... a base station (BS) may schedule transmission of the SRS to a user equipment (UE)” (Go, 0001, 0258).
Here, “a method” maps to “a method”,
“a base station may schedule” maps to “performed by a base station”,
“transmitting and receiving a sounding reference signal” maps to “for enhancing Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) reliability” because the purpose of a sounding reference signal is to optimize the PUSCH’s configuration.
Transmitting, to a wireless device, a configuration of two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets, comprising a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set
(“The UE capability information is related to a plurality of panels, at least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel among the plurality ... An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel” (Go, 0007, 0034).
Here, “SRS resource set” maps to “Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets”,
“an SRS resource set configured for each panel” in a “multi-panel UE” maps to “transmitting, to a wireless device, a configuration of two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets” from the network device’s perspective because it is clear there are at least two SRS resource sets sent downlink,
the first “SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “a first SRS resource set”, and
the second “SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “a second SRS resource set”).
The two SRS resource sets are configured for codebook-based PUSCH transmission
(“[T]he usage of the SRS may be configured as ... a codebook transmission usage” (Go, 0223).
Here, “codebook transmission usage” maps to “the two SRS resource sets are configured for codebook-based PUSCH transmission”).
Providing an instruction from a network node for transmitting a plurality of PUSCH repetitions according to the two SRS resource sets via codebook-based PUSCH transmission
(“A panel receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS and a panel indicated through the DCI are different, the SRS transmission is performed based on a predefined panel ... [T]he usage of the SRS may be configured as ... a codebook transmission usage ... [T]he UE may be implemented ... to transmit and receive ... additional ... PUSCH” (Go, 0036, 0223, 0415).
Here, “downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “an instruction”,
“receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “providing an instruction” from the network device’s perspective,
“downlink” maps to “from a network node”,
“transmission is performed” maps to “for transmitting”,
“additional ... PUSCH” maps to “a plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
“SRS transmission” maps to “according to the two SRS resource sets” because this shows that the transmissions are performed in accordance with the aforementioned “one SRS resource set is configured for each panel among the plurality”, and
“as ... a codebook transmission” maps to “via codebook-based PUSCH transmission”).
The plurality of PUSCH repetitions comprises a first group of PUSCH repetitions and a second group of PUSCH repetitions
(“An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel ... with (higher layer parameter) repetition configured to ‘ON’, the UE may assume that at least one CSI-RS resource in NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet is transmitted to the same downlink spatial domain transmission filter ... when repetition ‘ON’ is configured in the CSI-RS resource set, a plurality of CSI-RS resources is repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” (Go, 0034, 0178, 0210). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “resources ... repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” to send transmissions like S608 in Fig. 6, a “PUSCH transmission”, maps to “the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the first “SRS resource set” maps to “a first group of PUSCH repetitions”, and
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the second “SRS resource set” maps to “a second group of PUSCH repetitions”).
The first group of PUSCH repetitions is transmitted according to the first SRS resource set and the second group of PUSCH repetitions is transmitted according to the second SRS resource set
(“An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel ... with (higher layer parameter) repetition configured to ‘ON’, the UE may assume that at least one CSI-RS resource in NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet is transmitted to the same downlink spatial domain transmission filter ... when repetition ‘ON’ is configured in the CSI-RS resource set, a plurality of CSI-RS resources is repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” (Go, 0034, 0178, 0210). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “resources ... repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” to send transmissions like S608 in Fig. 6, a “PUSCH transmission”, maps to “PUSCH repetitions”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the first “SRS resource set” maps to “a first group of PUSCH repetitions”,
“transmitted based on” the first of “an SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “transmitted according to the first SRS resource set”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the second “SRS resource set” maps to “the second group of PUSCH repetitions”, and
“transmitted based on” the second of “an SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “transmitted according to the second SRS resource set”).
Receiving the plurality of PUSCH repetitions based on the instruction provided to the wireless device
(“At least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel ... When a panel receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS and a panel indicated through the DCI are different, the SRS transmission is performed based on a predefined panel ... the UE may be implemented ... to transmit and receive ... additional ... PUSCH” (Go, 0007, 0036, 0415). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “transmission” maps to “receiving” from the network device’s perspective,
“additional ... PUSCH” maps to “the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”, and
“based on ... downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “based on the instruction provided to the wireless device”).
The instruction for transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions via the codebook based PUSCH transmission
(“The network may trigger transmission of the SRS resource set using configured aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger (L1 DCI).... [T]he usage of the SRS may be configured as ... a codebook transmission usage” (Go, 0188, 0223).
Here, “DCI” maps to “the instruction”,
“trigger transmission” maps to “transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”, and
“as ... a codebook transmission” maps to “via the codebook based PUSCH transmission”).
Go does not explicitly disclose:
A first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI, indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set, and a second SRI indicating a second SRS resource from the second SRS resource set
A first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI, associated with the first SRS resource, and a second TPMI associated with the second SRS resource
The multiple SRIs are provided in different SRI fields of Downlink Control Information, DCI
However, Tomeba does teach:
A first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI, indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set, and a second SRI indicating a second SRS resource from the second SRS resource set
(“[W]hen two SRIs are instructed (set) by one DCI from the base station device and the two SRIs are associated with the same subarray, the terminal device may not be able to transmit the two corresponding SRIs at the same timing. To avoid this problem, for example, the base station device may request the terminal device to: set a plurality of SRS resources in groups, and to transmit the SRS using the same sub-array within the group.... It is noted that the groups of SRS resources may be the SRS resource sets” (Tomeba, 0188).
Here, the first of “two SRIs” maps to “a first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI”,
“using the same sub-array within the group” maps to “indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set” because the first “group” is a “SRS resource set”,
the second of “two SRIs” maps to “a second SRI”, and
“using the same sub-array within the group” maps to “indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set” because the second “group” is a “SRS resource set”).
A first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI, associated with the first SRS resource, and a second TPMI associated with the second SRS resource
(“[T]he terminal device can associate the TPMI with the sub-array and the transmitting beam direction.... [A] plurality of SRIs and/or TPMIs are instructed (set) for one layer” (Tomeba, 0186).
Here, the first of “a plurality of ... TPMIs” maps to “a first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI”,
“associate ... with the sub-array” maps to “associated with the first SRS resource”,
the second of “a plurality of ... TPMIs” maps to “a second TPMI”, and
“associate ... with the sub-array” maps to “associated with the second SRS resource”).
The multiple SRIs are provided in different SRI fields of Downlink Control Information, DCI
([T]wo SRIs are instructed (set) by one DCI from the base station device” (Tomeba, 0188).
Here, “two SRIs” map to “the multiple SRIs”,
“instructed (set)” maps to “provided”,
“one DCI” maps to “different SRI fields of Downlink Control Information, DCI” because two SRI fields are necessary to convey two SRIs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Tomeba’s practice of configuring multiple SRIs and multiple TMIs along with the plurality of SRS resource sets described in Go. If two SRS resource sets are simultaneously configured, it makes sense to indicate a specific resource and precoding configuration for each resource set, just as one would do for a single set.
As to Claim 49:
Go teaches:
A base station, comprising: processing circuitry configured to cause the base station
(“a BS for receiving a sounding reference signal (SRS) in a wireless communication system includes: one or more transceivers; one or more processors; and one or more memories operably connected to the one or more processors, and storing instructions of performing operations” (Go, 0031).
Here, “a BS” maps to “a base station”,
“one or more processors” maps to “processing circuitry”, and
“storing instructions of performing operations” maps to “configured to cause”).
Transmit, to a wireless device, a configuration of two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets, comprising a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set
(“The UE capability information is related to a plurality of panels, at least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel among the plurality ... An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel” (Go, 0007, 0034).
Here, “SRS resource set” maps to “Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets”,
“an SRS resource set configured for each panel” in a “multi-panel UE” maps to “transmit, to a wireless device, a configuration of two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets” from the network device’s perspective because it is clear there are at least two SRS resource sets sent downlink,
the first “SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “a first SRS resource set”, and
the second “SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “a second SRS resource set”).
The two SRS resource sets are configured for codebook-based PUSCH transmission
(“[T]he usage of the SRS may be configured as ... a codebook transmission usage” (Go, 0223).
Here, “codebook transmission usage” maps to “the two SRS resource sets are configured for codebook-based PUSCH transmission”).
Provide an instruction from a network node for transmitting a plurality of PUSCH repetitions according to the two SRS resource sets via codebook-based PUSCH transmission
(“A panel receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS and a panel indicated through the DCI are different, the SRS transmission is performed based on a predefined panel ... [T]he usage of the SRS may be configured as ... a codebook transmission usage ... [T]he UE may be implemented ... to transmit and receive ... additional ... PUSCH” (Go, 0036, 0223, 0415).
Here, “downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “an instruction”,
“receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “provide an instruction” from the network device’s perspective,
“downlink” maps to “from a network node”,
“transmission is performed” maps to “for transmitting”,
“additional ... PUSCH” maps to “a plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
“SRS transmission” maps to “according to the two SRS resource sets” because this shows that the transmissions are performed in accordance with the aforementioned “one SRS resource set is configured for each panel among the plurality”, and
“as ... a codebook transmission” maps to “via codebook-based PUSCH transmission”).
The plurality of PUSCH repetitions comprises a first group of PUSCH repetitions and a second group of PUSCH repetitions
(“An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel ... with (higher layer parameter) repetition configured to ‘ON’, the UE may assume that at least one CSI-RS resource in NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet is transmitted to the same downlink spatial domain transmission filter ... when repetition ‘ON’ is configured in the CSI-RS resource set, a plurality of CSI-RS resources is repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” (Go, 0034, 0178, 0210). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “resources ... repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” to send transmissions like S608 in Fig. 6, a “PUSCH transmission”, maps to “the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the first “SRS resource set” maps to “a first group of PUSCH repetitions”, and
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the second “SRS resource set” maps to “a second group of PUSCH repetitions”).
The first group of PUSCH repetitions is transmitted according to the first SRS resource set and the second group of PUSCH repetitions is transmitted according to the second SRS resource set
(“An SRS for an antenna switching usage, which is transmitted by a multi-panel UE is transmitted based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel ... with (higher layer parameter) repetition configured to ‘ON’, the UE may assume that at least one CSI-RS resource in NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet is transmitted to the same downlink spatial domain transmission filter ... when repetition ‘ON’ is configured in the CSI-RS resource set, a plurality of CSI-RS resources is repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” (Go, 0034, 0178, 0210). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “resources ... repeatedly used via the same Tx beam” to send transmissions like S608 in Fig. 6, a “PUSCH transmission”, maps to “PUSCH repetitions”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the first “SRS resource set” maps to “a first group of PUSCH repetitions”,
“transmitted based on” the first of “an SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “transmitted according to the first SRS resource set”,
the aforementioned PUSCH repetitions sent with the second “SRS resource set” maps to “the second group of PUSCH repetitions”, and
“transmitted based on” the second of “an SRS resource set configured for each panel” maps to “transmitted according to the second SRS resource set”).
Receive the plurality of PUSCH repetitions according to the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set based on the received instruction
(“At least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel ... When a panel receiving downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS and a panel indicated through the DCI are different, the SRS transmission is performed based on a predefined panel ... the UE may be implemented ... to transmit and receive ... additional ... PUSCH” (Go, 0007, 0036, 0415). Also, Fig. 6 shows the process of configuring the UE for transmission.
Here, “transmission” maps to “receive” from the network device’s perspective,
“additional ... PUSCH” maps to “the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
“based on a panel” maps to “according to the first SRS resource set” because “at least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel”,
“based on a panel” maps to “according to the ... second SRS resource set” because “at least one SRS resource set is configured for each panel”,
“downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “the received instruction”, and
“based on ... downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS” maps to “based on the received instruction”).
Power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the wireless device
(Fig. 22 in Go shows an example device.
Here, unit 140 in Fig. 22, the “power unit/battery”, maps to “power supply circuitry configured to supply power”, and
element 100. 200 in Fig. 22 maps to “the wireless device”).
The instruction for transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions via the codebook based PUSCH transmission
(“The network may trigger transmission of the SRS resource set using configured aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger (L1 DCI).... [T]he usage of the SRS may be configured as ... a codebook transmission usage” (Go, 0188, 0223).
Here, “DCI” maps to “the instruction”,
“trigger transmission” maps to “transmitting the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”, and
“as ... a codebook transmission” maps to “via the codebook based PUSCH transmission”).
Go does not explicitly disclose:
A first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI, indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set, and a second SRI indicating a second SRS resource from the second SRS resource set
A first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI, associated with the first SRS resource, and a second TPMI associated with the second SRS resource
The multiple SRIs are provided in different SRI fields of Downlink Control Information, DCI
However, Tomeba does teach:
A first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI, indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set, and a second SRI indicating a second SRS resource from the second SRS resource set
(“[W]hen two SRIs are instructed (set) by one DCI from the base station device and the two SRIs are associated with the same subarray, the terminal device may not be able to transmit the two corresponding SRIs at the same timing. To avoid this problem, for example, the base station device may request the terminal device to: set a plurality of SRS resources in groups, and to transmit the SRS using the same sub-array within the group.... It is noted that the groups of SRS resources may be the SRS resource sets” (Tomeba, 0188).
Here, the first of “two SRIs” maps to “a first SRS Resource Indicator, SRI”,
“using the same sub-array within the group” maps to “indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set” because the first “group” is a “SRS resource set”,
the second of “two SRIs” maps to “a second SRI”, and
“using the same sub-array within the group” maps to “indicating a first SRS resource from the first SRS resource set” because the second “group” is a “SRS resource set”).
A first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI, associated with the first SRS resource, and a second TPMI associated with the second SRS resource
(“[T]he terminal device can associate the TPMI with the sub-array and the transmitting beam direction.... [A] plurality of SRIs and/or TPMIs are instructed (set) for one layer” (Tomeba, 0186).
Here, the first of “a plurality of ... TPMIs” maps to “a first Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI”,
“associate ... with the sub-array” maps to “associated with the first SRS resource”,
the second of “a plurality of ... TPMIs” maps to “a second TPMI”, and
“associate ... with the sub-array” maps to “associated with the second SRS resource”).
The multiple SRIs are provided in different SRI fields of Downlink Control Information, DCI
([T]wo SRIs are instructed (set) by one DCI from the base station device” (Tomeba, 0188).
Here, “two SRIs” map to “the multiple SRIs”,
“instructed (set)” maps to “provided”,
“one DCI” maps to “different SRI fields of Downlink Control Information, DCI” because two SRI fields are necessary to convey two SRIs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Tomeba’s practice of configuring multiple SRIs and multiple TMIs along with the plurality of SRS resource sets described in Go. If two SRS resource sets are simultaneously configured, it makes sense to indicate a specific resource and precoding configuration for each resource set, just as one would do for a single set.
Claim(s) 7 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go (US 2022/0166587 A1) in view of Tomeba (US 2022/0201672 A1) and further in view of Non-patent literature “CATT, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #94bis: Remaining issues on multi-antenna scheme; R1-1810516” (hereinafter “Catt”).
As to Claim 7:
The combination of Go and Tomeba does not explicitly disclose:
The two TPMIs are independently indicated in two ‘Precoding Information and Number of Layers’ fields in Downlink Control Information, DCI
However, Catt is a technical document that describes the use of multiple SRS resource sets with accompanying SRIs and TPMIs for configuring uplink PUSCH transmission.
Specifically, Catt teaches:
The two TPMIs are independently indicated in two ‘Precoding Information and Number of Layers’ fields in Downlink Control Information, DCI
(“The indicated SRI in slot n is associated with the most recent transmission of SRS resource ... TPMI/TRI and SRI are given by high layer parameters precodingAndNumberOfLayers ... For Type 1 PUSCH transmissions with a configured grant ... DCI format 0_1 can be used” (Catt, p. 1).
Here, the first “TPMI” and the second “TPMI” in the first and second of “n” slots map to “the two TPMIs”,
“TPMI” maps to “independently indicated in two” because the singular form used here shows there is a one-to-one mapping between each SRS resource set and a TPMI,
“precodingAndNumberOfLayers” maps to “‘Precoding Information and Number of Layers’ fields”, and
“DCI” maps to “Downlink Control Information, DCI”).
Thus, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the multiple SRIs associated with multiple SRS resources and TPMIs taught in Catt with Go’s method for configuring uplink RS transmission. The extra configuration options taught in Catt make Go’s method more versatile and able to configure a wider range of scenarios.
As to Claim 12:
Go does not explicitly disclose:
A first SRS Resource Indicator (SRI), indicating one or more SRS resources from the first SRS resource set, and a second SRI indicating one or more SRS resources from the second SRS resource set
However, Catt does teach:
A first SRS Resource Indicator (SRI), indicating one or more SRS resources from the first SRS resource set, and a second SRI indicating one or more SRS resources from the second SRS resource set
(“The indicated SRI in slot n is associated with the most recent transmission of SRS resource identified by the SRI ... Interpretation 2 ... SRS resource of the SRS resource set (Catt, p.1, 3).
Here, “the indicated SRI” in the first of “n” slots maps to “a first SRS Resource Indicator (SRI)”,
“identified” maps to “indicating”,
the “SRS resource of the SRS resource set” associated with the first of “n” slots maps to “one or more SRS resources from the first SRS resource set”,
“the indicated SRI” in the second of “n” slots maps to “a second SRI”, and
the “SRS resource of the SRS resource set” associated with the second of “n” slots maps to “one or more SRS resources from the second SRS resource set”).
Thus, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the multiple SRIs associated with multiple SRS resources and TPMIs taught in Catt with Go’s method for configuring uplink RS transmission. The extra configuration options taught in Catt make Go’s method more versatile and able to configure a wider range of scenarios.
As to Claim 13:
Go does not explicitly disclose:
A plurality of spatial layers jointly encoded with each of the first SRI and the second SRI
However, Catt does teach:
A plurality of spatial layers jointly encoded with each of the first SRI and the second SRI
(“SRI are given by high layer parameters precodingAndNumberOfLayers” (Catt, p. 1).
Here, a “NumberOfLayers” greater than one maps to “a plurality of spatial layers”,
“given by ... precoding” maps to “jointly encoded” because this shows the same field conveys the plurality of SRIs and the plurality of layers, and
the first “SRI” and the second “SRI” map to “each of the first SRI and the second SRI”).
Thus, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the multiple SRIs associated with multiple SRS resources and TPMIs taught in Catt with Go’s method for configuring uplink RS transmission. The extra configuration options taught in Catt make Go’s method more versatile and able to configure a wider range of scenarios.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go (US 2022/0166587 A1) in view of Tomeba (US 2022/0201672 A1) and Catt (“3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #94bis”) and further in view of Karjalainen et al. (US 2022/0393744 A1, hereinafter “Karjalainen”).
As to Claim 14:
The combination of Go, Tomeba, and Catt does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting each of plurality of PUSCH repetitions via the non-codebook based PUSCH transmission based on a single spatial layer among the plurality of spatial layers
However, Karjalainen does describe a method for configuring RS transmission.
Specifically, Karjalainen teaches:
Transmitting each of plurality of PUSCH repetitions via the non-codebook based PUSCH transmission based on a single spatial layer among the plurality of spatial layers
(“[U]plink transmission precoding and repetition gains can improve PUSCH transmission ... Fig. 3 ... shows an example of an enhanced SRI indication framework with user equipment antenna port indication for non-codebook based single layer PUSCH transmission ... the base station 102 can preconfigure ... specific layers and/or resources” (Karjalainen, 0042, 0044, 0045).
Here, “transmission” maps to “transmitting”,
“PUSCH transmission” sent with “repetition” maps to “each of a plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
“non-codebook based ... PUSCH transmission” maps to “via the non-codebook based PUSCH transmission”,
“single layer” maps to “based on a single spatial layer”, and
“specific layers” maps to “a plurality of spatial layers”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Karjalainen’s practice of transmitting all PUSCH repetitions via a single spatial layer into the PUSCH configuration method taught in Go. Making Karjalainen’s single layer PUSCH configuration available in Go’s method makes the latter more versatile and able to realize a wider range of configurations
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go (US 2022/0166587 A1) in view of Tomeba (US 2022/0201672 A1) and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2020/0107353 A1, hereinafter “Jung”).
As to Claim 15:
The combination of Go and Tomeba does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting each of the plurality of PUSCH repetitions via the non-codebook based PUSCH transmission based on multiple spatial layers among the plurality of spatial layers
However, Jung does describe a plurality of transmission modes for PDCCH and PUSCH transmission.
Specifically, Jung teaches:
Transmitting each of the plurality of PUSCH repetitions via the non-codebook based PUSCH transmission based on multiple spatial layers among the plurality of spatial layers
(“Two transmission schemes, codebook-based transmission and non-codebook based transmission, are supported for PUSCH ... According to another possible implementation, the new DCI formats ... can be defined to support both non-coherent joint transmission of one PUSCH (or PDSCH) and scheduling of multiple associated PUSCHs (or PDSCHs) ... the UE can transmit multiple spatial layers in one PUSCH, where each subset of the multiple spatial layers can be independently beamformed” (Jung, 0015, 0023).
Here, “transmit” maps to “transmitting”,
“multiple associated PUSCHs” maps to “the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
“one PUSCH” maps to “each of the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”,
“non-codebook based transmission” maps to “non-codebook based”,
“transmission ... for PUSCH” maps to “PUSCH transmission”,
“subset of the multiple spatial layers” maps to “based on multiple spatial layers”, and
“multiple spatial layers” maps to “the plurality of spatial layers”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jung’s practice of using multiple spatial layers for each PUSCH repetition with Go’s method for configuring uplink SRS transmission. Allowing Go’s method to configure multiple spatial layers for PUSCH transmission makes it more flexible and able to better meet a wider range of operational scenarios.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go (“US 2022/0166587 A1) in view of Tomeba (US 2022/0201672 A1) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0195627 A1, hereinafter “Chen”).
As to Claim 17:
Go teaches:
Receiving multiple spatial relations
(“Updating all spatial relations in order to reduce inter-beam interference (Go, 0314).
Here, “updating all spatial relations” maps to “receiving multiple spatial relations” from the perspective f the UE being updated).
The plurality of PUSCH repetitions
(“The UE may be implemented ... to transmit and receive ... additional ... PUSCH” (Go, 0415).
Here, “additional ... PUSCH” maps to “the plurality of PUSCH repetitions”).
The combination of Go and Tomeba does not explicitly disclose
Multiple spatial relations each associated with one of the multiple SRS resources in a respective one of the two SRS resource sets
Transmitting ... based on a first spatial relation associated with one of the SRS resources in the first SRS resource set and a second spatial relation associated with one of the SRS resources in the second SRS resource set
However, Chen does describe a method for configuring uplink transmission.
Specifically, Chen teaches:
Multiple spatial relations each associated with one of the multiple SRS resources in a respective one of the two SRS resource sets
(“The SRS resource indexes included in different pieces of spatial relation information among the multiple spatial relation information belong to different SRS resource sets. Therefore, the spatial relation information determined for one certain TRP may be associated with its corresponding SRS resource set ... the TRP may be the beam and/or the antenna panel used by the terminal device for transmitting the SRSs for SRS resources in a SRS resource set configured for the TRP” (Chen, 0061).
Here, “” maps to “receiving”,
“spatial relation information” for “different SRS resource sets” maps to “multiple spatial relations”,
“SRS resources in” maps to “each associated with one of the multiple SRS resources”,
“different SRS resource sets” maps to “two SRS resource sets”, and
“corresponding SRS resource set” maps to “a respective one of the two SRS resource sets”).
Transmitting ... based on a first spatial relation associated with one of the SRS resources in the first SRS resource set and a second spatial relation associated with one of the SRS resources in the second SRS resource set
(“The SRS resource indexes included in different pieces of spatial relation information among the multiple spatial relation information belong to different SRS resource sets. Therefore, the spatial relation information determined for one certain TRP may be associated with its corresponding SRS resource set, and the beam and/or antenna panel corresponding to the spatial relation information determined for the TRP may be the beam and/or the antenna panel used by the terminal device for transmitting the SRSs for SRS resources in a SRS resource set configured for the TRP” (Chen, 0061).
Here, “transmitting” maps to “transmitting”,
the first of “different pieces of spatial relation information” maps to “first spatial relation”,
“corresponding to the spatial relation information” to one of the “different maps to “based on a ... spatial relation”,
“for SRS resources in a ... set” maps to “associated with one of the SRS resources”,
the first of “different SRS resource sets” maps to “the first SRS resource set”,
the second of “different pieces of spatial relation information” maps to “a second spatial relation”,
“for SRS resources in a ... set” maps to “associated with one of the SRS resources”, and
the second of “different SRS resource sets” maps to “the second SRS resource set”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to combine the uplink configuration based on multiple spatial relations taught in Chen with Go’s method for configuring uplink RS transmission. Supplementing Go’s method with the capability to send the configuration taught in Chen makes the former more versatile and able to support a broader range of configuration settings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cao et al. (US 2023/01012698 A1) and Liu et al. (US 2021/0392671 A1) both describe using a DCI which contains two SRI fields, and Molavian Jazi et al. (US 2023/0208592 A1) describes a method to configure a UE to receive two reference signals that each have a different spatial relation.
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477