Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 9-11, 15, 17, 22-24, 26, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0278784 A1) in view of CAO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0338212 A1) in further view of TAKEDA et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0105732 A1)
1, Chen demonstrates a method of operating a communication device in a communication network [par 0057, Network can support both concurrent UL Tx or TDM UL Tx through network dynamic scheduling. The network can consider the signaled UE radio access capability parameters when configuring the UE and when scheduling the UE],
the communication device being configured to provide uplink communication using a first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier [par 0036, communicating
component 242 of a UE 104 can indicate one or more capabilities for supporting concurrent or TDM transmissions over at least one of multiple uplink channels over multiple CCs, and/or one or more related capabilities, such as a carrier switching time, a number of antennas or transmission layer supported, whether separate configuration of PCell for uplink and downlink is supported].
and transmitting the parameter relating to the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier to the communication network [fig 5, par 0036, 0067, Base station 102 can obtain the one or more capabilities, and configuring component 342 can accordingly configure the UE 104 with resource grants or other parameters for transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels concurrently or using TDM over the multiple CCs. in receiving the one or more indications at Block 502, optionally at Block 510, an indication to support a carrier switching time for switching between the multiple CCs in transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels can be received].
Chen fail to show the method comprising: providing a parameter relating to a time duration (Tswitch) required to switch an uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier, wherein the parameter indicates an additional time (T1) to be added to an uplink preparation time (Tproc2), wherein the additional time (T1) is based on the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier.
In an analogous CAO show the method comprising: providing a parameter relating to a time duration (Tswitch) required to switch an uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier, wherein the parameter indicates an additional time (T1) to be added to an uplink preparation time (Tproc2) [par 0007, 0029,The method generally includes reporting, to a base station (BS), at least one of: an indication of uplink transmission (UL Tx) switching time of the UE, and an indication of uplink data preparation time of the UE. The UL Tx switching time is a time for the UE to switch between transmitting on different frequency bands. The uplink data preparation time is between an end of a downlink reception and a start of an uplink transmission by the UE. The uplink data preparation time is calculated based on the UL Tx switching time. For example, a UE may have two RF chains (e.g., two transmit (Tx) chains, two transmit/receive chains, and/or two receive (Rx) chains). In certain aspects, the UE is configured to communicate on multiple frequency carriers/bands (e.g., using carrier aggregation (CA)), such as on an uplink]
wherein the additional time (T1) is based on the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier [par 0007, 0061,The uplink data preparation time is between an end of a downlink reception and a start of an uplink transmission by the UE. The uplink data preparation time is calculated based on the UL Tx switching time. The UE 120 is configured to report its capability of UL Tx switching time (e.g., the (e.g., minimum) time in which the UE 120 can perform UL Tx switching) to the BS 110, such as using RRC signaling. In certain aspects, the UE 120 is configured to report its capability of uplink data preparation time (e.g., the (e.g., minimum) time in which the UE 120 can prepare uplink data for transmission while also accommodating for UL Tx switching time) to the BS 110, such as using RRC signaling.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen and CAO because this provides advantages that include improved communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. [CAO par 0006]
Chen and CAO fail to show further based on a lowest subcarrier spacing among the subcarrier spacing of the uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier.
In an analogous art TAKEDA show further based on a lowest subcarrier spacing among the subcarrier spacing of the uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier[par 0035, 0090, For a timing advance command received on uplink slot n and for a transmission other than a PUSCH scheduled by a RAR UL grant, the corresponding adjustment of the uplink transmission timing applies from the beginning of uplink slot.
When all uplink bandwidth parts of all uplink carriers in a timing advance group for the base station use the same subcarrier spacing. μ may be based on a highest subcarrier spacing in a timing advance group for the base station. μ may be based on a lowest subcarrier spacing in a timing advance group for the base station. μ may be based on a subcarrier spacing of a first uplink transmission from the user equipment computing device after reception of a random access response by the user equipment computing device]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA because this may improve operations of a UE computing device by limiting TA command accumulation to be within an acceptable range (for example, less than a limit, more than a limit, between two limits, etc.). [TAKEDA par 0039]
4, Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA disclose the method of Claim 1, wherein the parameter indicates the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier [Chen par 0065, transmitting the one or more indications at Block 402, optionally at Block 410, an indication to support a carrier switching time for switching between the multiple CCs in transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels can be transmitted. In an aspect, capability indicating component 252, é.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 212, memory 216, transceiver 202, communicating component 242, etc., can transmit the indication to support the carrier switching time for switching between the multiple CCs in transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels. In an example, the capability can relate to a carrier switching time for each of multiple combinations of the multiple CCs];
8, Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA describe the method of Claim 1, Chen and TAKEDA fail to show wherein the parameter is defined according to a numerology (u) of at least one of the first carrier and/or the second carrier.
In an analogous art CAO to show wherein the parameter is defined according to a numerology (µ) of at least one of the first carrier and/or the second carrier [par 0071, wherein μ is based on a SCS used by the UE];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, TAKEDA, and CAO because this provides advantages that include improved communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. [CAO par 0006]
9. Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA describe the method of claim 1, Chen and TAKEDA fail to show further comprising: indicating to the communication network that the communication device will not perform at least one of: simultaneous uplink transmission on the first carrier and the second carrier; and simultaneous uplink transmission of 1-layer on the first carrier and 2-layer on the second carrier.
In an analogous art CAO show further comprising: indicating to the communication network that the communication device will not perform at least one of: simultaneous uplink transmission on the first carrier and the second carrier; and simultaneous uplink transmission of 1-layer on the first carrier and 2-layer on the second carrier [par 0030, 0051, the UE is configured to use UL MIMO for communicating on an uplink, such as on a primary cell (Pcell) (e.g., on a time division duplex (TDD) band with 100 MHz bandwidth). In particular, in certain aspects, the UE may use multiple Tx chains for communication using MIMO on a single band on an uplink. NR may utilize OFDM with a CP on the uplink and downlink and include support for half-duplex operation using TDD. Beamforming may be supported and beam direction may be dynamically configured].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, TAKEDA, and CAO because this provides advantages that include improved communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. [CAO par 0006]
10, Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA defines the method of Claim 1, wherein the communication device is configured with a higher layer parameter that configures the communication device to operate in a switched uplink mode [Chen par 0020, In another example, the one or more capabilities can indicate a number of antennas or supported transmission layers of the at least one uplink channel per combination of multiple CCs. In yet another example, the one or more capabilities can indicate whether separate primary cell (PCell) configuration for downlink and uplink is supported for combinations of CCs].
11. Chen reveal a method of operating a network node to support communication for a communication device configured to provide uplink communication using a first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier [par 0036, Base station 102 can obtain the one or more capabilities, and configuring component 342 can accordingly configure the UE 104 with resource grants or other parameters for transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels concurrently or using TDM over the multiple CCs],
the method comprising: receiving a parameter from the communication device, wherein the parameter relates to a time duration (Tswitch) required for the communication device to switch an uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier to the communication network[par 0065, transmitting the one or more indications at Block 402, optionally at Block 410, an indication to support a carrier switching time for switching between the multiple CCs in transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels can be transmitted. In an aspect, capability indicating component 252, é.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 212, memory 216, transceiver 202, communicating component 242, etc., can transmit the indication to support the carrier switching time for switching between the multiple CCs in transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels. In an example, the capability can relate to a carrier switching time for each of multiple combinations of the multiple CCs];
and generating scheduling information for an uplink transmission from the communication device using the second carrier based on the uplink preparation time using the parameter relating to the time duration (Tswitch) required for the communication device to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier [par 0057, Network can support both concurrent UL Tx or TDM UL Tx through network dynamic scheduling. The network can consider the signaled UE radio access capability parameters when configuring the UE and when scheduling the UE, as described further herein. In an example, capability indicating component 252 can transmit UE capability information in an RRC message that is sent to network (e.g., during an initial registration process for the UE), to inform of certain capabilities of the UE]
Chen fail to show wherein the parameter relates to a time duration (Tswitch) required for the communication device to switch an uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier to the communication network, wherein the parameter indicates an additional time (T1) to be added to the uplink preparation time (Tproc2), wherein the additional time (T1) is based on the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier;
In an analogous art CAO show wherein the parameter relates to a time duration (Tswitch) required for the communication device to switch an uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier to the communication network wherein the parameter indicates an additional time (T1) to be added to the uplink preparation time (Tproc2) [par 0007, 0029,The method generally includes reporting, to a base station (BS), at least one of: an indication of uplink transmission (UL Tx) switching time of the UE, and an indication of uplink data preparation time of the UE. The UL Tx switching time is a time for the UE to switch between transmitting on different frequency bands. The uplink data preparation time is between an end of a downlink reception and a start of an uplink transmission by the UE. The uplink data preparation time is calculated based on the UL Tx switching time. For example, a UE may have two RF chains (e.g., two transmit (Tx) chains, two transmit/receive chains, and/or two receive (Rx) chains). In certain aspects, the UE is configured to communicate on multiple frequency carriers/bands (e.g., using carrier aggregation (CA)), such as on an uplink]
wherein the parameter indicates an additional time (T1) to be added to the uplink preparation time (Tproc2), wherein the additional time (T1) is based on the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier[par 0007, 0061,The uplink data preparation time is between an end of a downlink reception and a start of an uplink transmission by the UE. The uplink data preparation time is calculated based on the UL Tx switching time. The UE 120 is configured to report its capability of UL Tx switching time (e.g., the (e.g., minimum) time in which the UE 120 can perform UL Tx switching) to the BS 110, such as using RRC signaling. In certain aspects, the UE 120 is configured to report its capability of uplink data preparation time (e.g., the (e.g., minimum) time in which the UE 120 can prepare uplink data for transmission while also accommodating for UL Tx switching time) to the BS 110, such as using RRC signaling.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen and CAO because this provides advantages that include improved communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. [CAO par 0006]
Chen and CAO fail to show further based on a lowest subcarrier spacing among the subcarrier spacing of the uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier.
In an analogous art TAKEDA show further based on a lowest subcarrier spacing among the subcarrier spacing of the uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier[par 0035, 0090, For a timing advance command received on uplink slot n and for a transmission other than a PUSCH scheduled by a RAR UL grant, the corresponding adjustment of the uplink transmission timing applies from the beginning of uplink slot.
When all uplink bandwidth parts of all uplink carriers in a timing advance group for the base station use the same subcarrier spacing. μ may be based on a highest subcarrier spacing in a timing advance group for the base station. μ may be based on a lowest subcarrier spacing in a timing advance group for the base station. μ may be based on a subcarrier spacing of a first uplink transmission from the user equipment computing device after reception of a random access response by the user equipment computing device]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA because this may improve operations of a UE computing device by limiting TA command accumulation to be within an acceptable range (for example, less than a limit, more than a limit, between two limits, etc.). [TAKEDA par 0039]
Claim 15, Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA create the method of Claim 11, Chen and TAKEDA fail to show wherein determining the uplink preparation time (Tproc2) comprises determining the uplink preparation time and then modifying the uplink preparation time by adding the additional time (T1) to the uplink preparation time (Tproc2), and wherein determining the uplink preparation time comprises determining that T,,.. =max((N, +d), )(2048+144)- «2™ -T,.d,,).
In an analogous art CAO show wherein determining the uplink preparation time (Tproc2) comprises determining the uplink preparation time and then modifying the uplink preparation time by adding the additional time (T1) to the uplink preparation time (Tproc2), and wherein determining the uplink preparation time comprises determining that T,,.. =max((N, +d), )(2048+144)-«2™ -T,.d,,) [par 0074, the uplink data preparation time as T.sub.proc,2 is defined],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, TAKKEDA, and CAO because this provides advantages that include improved communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. [CAO par 0006]
17. Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA demonstrate the method of Claim 11, Chen and TAKEDA fail show wherein the parameter indicates the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier, wherein the uplink preparation time (Tproc2) 1s determined as a function of the time duration (T switch), and wherein determining the uplink preparation time (Tproc2) comprises determining that Tjc9 = Max ((N, + y 1 tT yi, (2048 +144) «2% -T.,d, 5 ) ).
In an analogous art CAO show wherein the parameter indicates the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier, wherein the uplink preparation time (Tproc2) 1s determined as a function of the time duration (T switch), and wherein determining the uplink preparation time (Tproc2) comprises determining that Tjc9 = Max ((N, + y 1 tT yi, (2048 +144) «2% -T.,d, 5 ) ) [par 0076, the uplink data preparation time as T.sub.proc,2 is defined],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, TAKEDA, and CAO because this provides advantages that include improved communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. [CAO par 0006]
22 Chen, CAO, and GAAL defines the method of Claim 11, Chen and CAO fail to show wherein the parameter is defined according to a numerology (µ) of at least one of the first carrier and/or the second carrier.
In an analogous art CAO show wherein the parameter is defined according to a numerology (µ) of at least one of the first carrier and/or the second carrier[par 0071, wherein μ is based on a SCS used by the UE];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, GAAL, and CAO because this provides advantages that include improved communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. [CAO par 0006]
23. Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA define the method of Claim 11, Chen and TAKEDA fail to show further comprising: receiving an indication from the communication device that the communication device will not perform at least one of: simultaneous uplink transmission on the first carrier and the second carrier; and simultaneous uplink transmission of 1-layer on the first carrier and 2-layer on the second carrier.
In an analogous art CAO show further comprising: receiving an indication from the communication device that the communication device will not perform at least one of: simultaneous uplink transmission on the first carrier and the second carrier; and simultaneous uplink transmission of 1-layer on the first carrier and 2-layer on the second carrier[par 0030, 0051, the UE is configured to use UL MIMO for communicating on an uplink, such as on a primary cell (Pcell) (e.g., on a time division duplex (TDD) band with 100 MHz bandwidth). In particular, in certain aspects, the UE may use multiple Tx chains for communication using MIMO on a single band on an uplink. NR may utilize OFDM with a CP on the uplink and downlink and include support for half-duplex operation using TDD. Beamforming may be supported and beam direction may be dynamically configured].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, TAKEDA, and CAO because this provides advantages that include improved communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. [CAO par 0006]
24, Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA define the method of claim 11, further comprising: determining that the communication device is configured with a higher layer parameter that configures the communication device to operate in a switched uplink mode [Chen par 0036, UE 104 can indicate one or more capabilities for supporting concurrent or TDM transmissions over at least one of multiple uplink channels over multiple CCs, and/or one or more related capabilities, such as a carrier switching time, a number of antennas or transmission layer supported, whether separate configuration of PCell for uplink and downlink is supported].
26. Chen provides a communication device comprising: processing circuitry and memory coupled with the processing circuitry [par 0008, an apparatus for wireless communication is provided that includes a transceiver, a memory configured to store instructions, and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory. The one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to perform the operations of methods described herein],
and transmitting the parameter relating to the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier to a communication network [fig 5, par 0036, 0067, Base station 102 can obtain the one or more capabilities, and configuring component 342 can accordingly configure the UE 104 with resource grants or other parameters for transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels concurrently or using TDM over the multiple CCs. in receiving the one or more indications at Block 502, optionally at Block 510, an indication to support a carrier switching time for switching between the multiple CCs in transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels can be received}.
Chen fail to show wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the communication device to perform operations comprising: providing a parameter relating to a time duration (Tswitch) required to switch an uplink transmit chain from a first carrier to a second carrier, wherein the parameter indicates an additional time (T1) to be added to an uplink preparation time (Tproc2), wherein the additional time (T1) is based on the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier.
In an analogous CAO show wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the communication device to perform operations comprising: providing a parameter relating to a time duration (Tswitch) required to switch an uplink transmit chain from a first carrier to a second carrier[par 0007, 0029,The method generally includes reporting, to a base station (BS), at least one of: an indication of uplink transmission (UL Tx) switching time of the UE, and an indication of uplink data preparation time of the UE. The UL Tx switching time is a time for the UE to switch between transmitting on different frequency bands. The uplink data preparation time is between an end of a downlink reception and a start of an uplink transmission by the UE. The uplink data preparation time is calculated based on the UL Tx switching time. For example, a UE may have two RF chains (e.g., two transmit (Tx) chains, two transmit/receive chains, and/or two receive (Rx) chains). In certain aspects, the UE is configured to communicate on multiple frequency carriers/bands (e.g., using carrier aggregation (CA)), such as on an uplink]
wherein the parameter indicates an additional time (T1) to be added to an uplink preparation time (Tproc2), wherein the additional time (T1) is based on the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier[par 0007, 0061,The uplink data preparation time is between an end of a downlink reception and a start of an uplink transmission by the UE. The uplink data preparation time is calculated based on the UL Tx switching time. The UE 120 is configured to report its capability of UL Tx switching time (e.g., the (e.g., minimum) time in which the UE 120 can perform UL Tx switching) to the BS 110, such as using RRC signaling. In certain aspects, the UE 120 is configured to report its capability of uplink data preparation time (e.g., the (e.g., minimum) time in which the UE 120 can prepare uplink data for transmission while also accommodating for UL Tx switching time) to the BS 110, such as using RRC signaling.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen and CAO because this provides advantages that include improved communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. [CAO par 0006]
Chen and CAO fail to show further based on a lowest subcarrier spacing among the subcarrier spacing of the uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier.
In an analogous art TAKEDA show further based on a lowest subcarrier spacing among the subcarrier spacing of the uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier[par 0035, 0090, For a timing advance command received on uplink slot n and for a transmission other than a PUSCH scheduled by a RAR UL grant, the corresponding adjustment of the uplink transmission timing applies from the beginning of uplink slot.
When all uplink bandwidth parts of all uplink carriers in a timing advance group for the base station use the same subcarrier spacing. μ may be based on a highest subcarrier spacing in a timing advance group for the base station. μ may be based on a lowest subcarrier spacing in a timing advance group for the base station. μ may be based on a subcarrier spacing of a first uplink transmission from the user equipment computing device after reception of a random access response by the user equipment computing device]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA because this may improve operations of a UE computing device by limiting TA command accumulation to be within an acceptable range (for example, less than a limit, more than a limit, between two limits, etc.). [TAKEDA par 0039]
30. Chen teaches a network node comprising: processing circuitry; and memory coupled with the processing circuitry[par 0008, an apparatus for wireless communication is provided that includes a transceiver, a memory configured to store instructions, and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory. The one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to perform the operations of methods described herein],
wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the network node to perform operations comprising: receiving a parameter from the communication device[par 0065, transmitting the one or more indications at Block 402, optionally at Block 410, an indication to support a carrier switching time for switching between the multiple CCs in transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels can be transmitted. In an aspect, capability indicating
component 252, é@.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 212, memory 216, transceiver 202, communicating component 242, etc., can transmit the indication to support the carrier switching time for switching between the multiple CCs in transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels. In an example, the capability can relate to a carrier switching time for each of multiple combinations of the multiple CCs];,
determining an uplink preparation time for the communication device using the parameter relating to the time duration (Tswitch) required for the communication device to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier[fig 5, 0067, in receiving the one or more indications at Block 502, optionally at Block 510, an indication to support a carrier switching time for switching between the multiple CCs in transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels can be received. In an aspect, capability determining component 352, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 312, memory 316,transceiver 302, configuring component 342, etc., can receive the indication to support the carrier switching time for switching between the multiple CCs in transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels];;
and generating scheduling information for an uplink transmission from the communication device using the second carrier based on the uplink preparation time using the parameter relating to the time duration (Tswitch) required for the communication device to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier[par 0057, Network can support both concurrent UL Tx or TDM UL Tx through network dynamic scheduling. The network can consider the signaled UE radio access capability parameters when configuring the UE and when scheduling the UE, as described further herein. In an example, capability indicating component 252 can transmit UE capability information in an RRC message that is sent to network (e.g., during an initial registration process for the UE), to inform of certain capabilities of the UE]..
Chen fail to show wherein the parameter relates to a time duration (Tswitcn) required for the communication device to switch an uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier to the communication network, wherein the parameter indicates an additional time (T1) to be added to the uplink preparation time (Tproc2), wherein the additional time (T1) is based on the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier;
In an analogous art CAO show wherein the parameter relates to a time duration (Tswitcn) required for the communication device to switch an uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier to the communication network, wherein the parameter indicates an additional time (T1) to be added to the uplink preparation time (Tproc2) [par 0007, 0029,The method generally includes reporting, to a base station (BS), at least one of: an indication of uplink transmission (UL Tx) switching time of the UE, and an indication of uplink data preparation time of the UE. The UL Tx switching time is a time for the UE to switch between transmitting on different frequency bands. The uplink data preparation time is between an end of a downlink reception and a start of an uplink transmission by the UE. The uplink data preparation time is calculated based on the UL Tx switching time. For example, a UE may have two RF chains (e.g., two transmit (Tx) chains, two transmit/receive chains, and/or two receive (Rx) chains). In certain aspects, the UE is configured to communicate on multiple frequency carriers/bands (e.g., using carrier aggregation (CA)), such as on an uplink]
wherein the additional time (T1) is based on the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier[par 0007, 0061,The uplink data preparation time is between an end of a downlink reception and a start of an uplink transmission by the UE. The uplink data preparation time is calculated based on the UL Tx switching time. The UE 120 is configured to report its capability of UL Tx switching time (e.g., the (e.g., minimum) time in which the UE 120 can perform UL Tx switching) to the BS 110, such as using RRC signaling. In certain aspects, the UE 120 is configured to report its capability of uplink data preparation time (e.g., the (e.g., minimum) time in which the UE 120 can prepare uplink data for transmission while also accommodating for UL Tx switching time) to the BS 110, such as using RRC signaling.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen and CAO because this provides advantages that include improved communications between access points and stations in a wireless network. [CAO par 0006]
Chen and CAO fail to show further based on a lowest subcarrier spacing among the subcarrier spacing of the uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier.
In an analogous art TAKEDA show further based on a lowest subcarrier spacing among the subcarrier spacing of the uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier[par 0035, 0090, For a timing advance command received on uplink slot n and for a transmission other than a PUSCH scheduled by a RAR UL grant, the corresponding adjustment of the uplink transmission timing applies from the beginning of uplink slot.
When all uplink bandwidth parts of all uplink carriers in a timing advance group for the base station use the same subcarrier spacing. μ may be based on a highest subcarrier spacing in a timing advance group for the base station. μ may be based on a lowest subcarrier spacing in a timing advance group for the base station. μ may be based on a subcarrier spacing of a first uplink transmission from the user equipment computing device after reception of a random access response by the user equipment computing device]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA because this may improve operations of a UE computing device by limiting TA command accumulation to be within an acceptable range (for example, less than a limit, more than a limit, between two limits, etc.). [TAKEDA par 0039]
Claim(s) 5, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0278784 A1), CAO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0338212 A1) in view of TAKEDA et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0105732 A1) in further view of Xue et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0143035 A1)
5. Chen, Cao, and TAKEDA conveys the method of Claim 1, Chen and TAKEDA fail to show further comprising: receiving downlink control information, DCI, indicating scheduling of an uplink transmission on the second carrier; responsive to receiving the DCI, switching the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier; and responsive to receiving the DCI, transmitting the uplink transmission to the communication network using the uplink transmit chain and the second carrier; and responsive to receiving the DCI, determining an uplink preparation time for the uplink transmission based on the parameter relating to the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier, wherein the uplink transmission is transmitted based on determining the uplink preparation time.
In an analogous art Xue show further comprising: receiving downlink control information, DCI, indicating scheduling of an uplink transmission on the second carrier [par 0011, where the DCI is further used for instructing the UE to send uplink data on the current uplink carrier or on the target uplink carrier to which carrier switching is performed; or the carrier switching indication information is carried in DCI, where the DCI is used for instructing the UE to perform carrier switching according to the carrier switching policy and is not used for data scheduling];
responsive to receiving the DCI, switching the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier [par 0011, the carrier switching indication information is carried in DCI, where the DCI is further used for instructing the UE to send uplink data on the current uplink carrier or on the target uplink carrier to which carrier switching Is performed];
and responsive to receiving the DCI, transmitting the uplink transmission to the communication network using the uplink transmit chain and the second carrier [par 0103, a switching time consumed by uplink carrier switching is equal to that consumed by downlink carrier switching in a carrier switching policy according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 2, a base station sends DCI to UE in a subframe. , the base station schedules PUSCH transmission that is on an uplink carrier 2, and in this case, the base station triggers the UE to switch from an uplink carrier 1 to the uplink carrier 2. Because the UE needs to feedback ACK/NACK to the base station on the uplink carrier 1 that is system-associated with the downlink carrier 1, the UE uses the uplink carrier 1 in a subframe 5 to perform ACK/NACK feedback and then begins to perform uplink carrier switching];
and responsive to receiving the DCI, determining an uplink preparation time for the uplink transmission based on the parameter relating to the time duration (Tswitch) required to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier [par 0103, a switching time consumed by uplink carrier switching is equal to that consumed by downlink carrier switching in a carrier switching policy according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 2, a base station sends DCI to UE in a subframe 1, where the DCI is used for scheduling PDSCH transmission that is on a downlink carrier 1],
wherein the uplink transmission is transmitted based on determining the uplink preparation time [par 0104, In a situation in which a current uplink carrier and a target uplink carrier belong to a same timing advance group (TAG), a switching time delay for which the UE performs uplink carrier switching is a processing time delay brought about in a process of synchronization between the UE and the base station on the target uplink carrier and may not be further considered, and because a timing advance of synchronization between the UE and the base station on the current uplink carrier is equal to a timing advance of synchronization between the UE and the base station on the target uplink carrier].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, TAKEDA, and Xue because this provides a carrier switching method, a base station, and user equipment, and can enable user equipment having no carrier aggregation capability to dynamically perform switching between carriers and perform data transmission between the carriers.
12, Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA describe the method of Claim 11, Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA fail to show further comprising: transmitting downlink control information, DCI, to the communication device, wherein the DCI includes the scheduling information for the uplink transmission from the communication device; and receiving the uplink transmission from the communication device according to the scheduling information.
In an analogous art Xue show further comprising: transmitting downlink control information, DCI, to the communication device, wherein the DCI includes the scheduling information for the uplink transmission from the communication device [par 0011, where the DCI is further used for instructing the UE to send uplink data on the current uplink carrier or on the target uplink carrier to which carrier switching is performed; or the carrier switching indication information is carried in DCI, where the DCI is used for instructing the UE to perform carrier switching according to the carrier switching policy and is not used for data scheduling];
and receiving the uplink transmission from the communication device according to the scheduling information [par 0103, a switching time consumed by uplink carrier switching is equal to that consumed by downlink carrier switching in a carrier switching policy according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 2, a base station sends DCI to UE in a subframe. , the base station schedules PUSCH transmission that is on an uplink carrier 2, and in this case, the base station triggers the UE to switch from an uplink carrier 1 to the uplink carrier 2. Because the UE needs to feedback ACK/NACK to the base station on the uplink carrier 1 that is system- associated with the downlink carrier 1, the UE uses the uplink carrier 1 in a subframe 5 to perform ACK/NACK feedback and then begins to perform uplink carrier switching];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, CAO, TAKEDA, and Xue because this provides a carrier switching method, a base station, and user equipment, and can enable user equipment having no carrier aggregation capability to dynamically perform switching between carriers and perform data transmission between the carriers.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0278784 A1), CAO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0338212 A1) TAKEDA et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0105732 A1) in view of Xue et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0143035 A1) in further view of Ko et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2012/0314678 A1)
7, Chen, CAO, TAKEDA, and Que reveal the method of Claim 5, Chen, CAO, Que, and TAKEDA fail to show wherein the DCI indicates scheduling the uplink transmission on the second carrier as a multi-layer multiple-input-multiple-output, MIMO, transmission, and wherein the uplink transmission is transmitted as a MIMO transmission.
In an analogous art Ko show wherein the DCI indicates scheduling the uplink transmission on the second carrier as a multi-layer multiple-input-multiple-output, MIMO, transmission [par 0165, whether a TB is enabled or disabled in uplink MIMO transmission may be signaled by control information that schedules uplink MIMO transmission (a DCI format). The present invention proposes a method for configuring control information that efficiently indicates precoding information for MIMO transmission], transmission, and wherein the uplink transmission is transmitted as a MIMO transmission [par 0192, To support the above LTE-A uplink SU-MIMO transmission modes, new uplink scheduling control information (a new DCI format) needs to be defined. Requirements of control signaling to support uplink SU-MIMO]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, CAO, TAKEDA, Que, and Ko because this provide a method for configuring a control signal in order to effectively support uplink multi- antenna transmission.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0278784 A1), CAO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0338212 A1) in view of TAKEDA et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0105732 A1) in further view of Ko et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2012/0314678 A1).
Claim 19, Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA conveys the method of claim 11, show wherein the scheduling information is generated using the parameter relating to the time duration (Tswitch) required for the communication device to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier responsive to scheduling the uplink transmission using the second carrier for a multi-layer multiple-input-multiple-output, MIMO, transmission [Chen, fig 5, par 0028, 0036, 0067, The communication links 120 may use multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) antenna technology, including spatial multiplexing, beamforming, and/or transmit diversity. The communication links may be through one or more carriers. Base station 102 can obtain the one or more capabilities, and configuring component 342 can accordingly configure the UE 104 with resource grants or other parameters for transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels concurrently or using TDM over the multiple CCs. in receiving the one or more indications at Block 502, optionally at Block 510, an indication to support a carrier switching time for switching between the multiple CCs in transmitting the at least one of the multiple uplink channels can be received}.
Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA fail to show the method further comprising: transmitting downlink control information, DCI, to the communication device, wherein the DCI includes the scheduling information for the uplink transmission from the communication device using the second carrier for the MIMO transmission; and receiving the uplink transmission from the communication device according to the scheduling information using the second carrier for the MIMO transmission.
In an analogous art Ko show for a multi-layer multiple-input-multiple-output, MIMO, transmission, the method further comprising: transmitting downlink control information, DCI, to the communication device, wherein the DCI includes the scheduling information for the uplink transmission from the communication device using the second carrier for the MIMO transmission [par 0165, whether a TB is enabled or disabled in uplink MIMO transmission may be signaled by control information that schedules uplink MIMO transmission (a DCI format). The present invention proposes a method for configuring control information that efficiently indicates precoding information for MIMO transmission],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, CAO, TAKEDA, and Ko because this provide a method for configuring a control signal in order to effectively support uplink multi-antenna transmission.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0278784 A1) CAO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0338212 A1)in view of TAKEDA et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0105732 A1) in further view of Akula et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0343624 A1).
21. Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA disclose the method of Claim 11, Chen, CAO, and TAKEDA fail to show wherein the scheduling information is generated using the parameter relating to the time duration (Tswitch) required for the communication device to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier responsive to scheduling the uplink transmission using the second carrier in a slot following a preceding slot used by the communication device to transmit an uplink transmission using the first carrier.
In an analogous art Akula show wherein the scheduling information is generated using the parameter relating to the time duration (Tswitch) required for the communication device to switch the uplink transmit chain from the first carrier to the second carrier responsive to scheduling the uplink transmission using the second carrier in a slot following a preceding slot used by the communication device to transmit an uplink transmission using the first carrier[par 0054, UE 115-a may be scheduled to transmit uplink signals during a TTI (e.g., slot 0 or a subframe including slot 0 and slot 1) on carrier 205-a and during multiple sTTIs on carrier 205-b. As illustrated, the TTI on carrier 205-a may span multiple sTTIs on carrier 205-b. In such cases, it may be desirable to maintain a constant transmit power for the uplink transmissions on both carriers 205 for the duration of the uplink transmission on carrier 205-a, since a varying limit may cause the uplink transmission on carrier 205-a to be distorted]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chen, CAO, TAKEDA, and Akula because the maximum transmit power limit for a slot or TTI associated with the reference component carrier may be updated so as to guarantee that transmissions in compliance with an initial maximum transmit power limit for the slot or TTI are in compliance with an updated maximum transmit power limit for the slot or TTI. [Akula par 0005]
Response to Arguments
(Emphasis Added). Applicant respectfully submits that Chen and Cao, either individually or in any proper combination, fails to disclose or suggest at least the above underlined recitations of amended Claim 1.
The Office Action concedes that Chen fails to disclose "wherein the additional time (T1) to be added to the uplink preparation time (Tproc2) is further based on the lowest subcarrier spacing among the subcarrier spacing of the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier," and cites to Cao to correct these deficiencies of Chen. (See Office Action, pg. 5). However, the combination of Chen and Cao fails to disclose or suggest "wherein the additional time (T1) is further based on a lowest subcarrier spacing among the subcarrier spacing of the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier," as recited by amended Claim 1.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Chen and Cao, either individually or in any proper combination, fails to disclose or suggest all the recitations of amended Claim 1. Although having different scope, amended Claims 11, 26, and 30 recite some similar recitations as those discussed with reference to amended Claim 1 above. For at least similar reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that Chen and Cao, either individually or in any proper combination, fails to disclose or suggest all the recitations of amended Claims 11, 26, and 30. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests the rejection of Claims 1, 11, 26, and 30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 be withdrawn and the claims allowed.
The applicant arguments are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468