Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the amendment filed on 12/08/2025 are considered but are moot in view of new art presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3,-5,7,11,21,25,26,29-32,35,37,60,62,63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20200119797A1) in view of Rahman et al. (US20190260448A1) in further view of Bo et al. (WO2020019959A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches, A method performed by a wireless communication device for reporting Channel State Information, CSI, in a wireless network, the method comprises either: Figs 2/3.
[107]-The resource A and the resource B are NZP CSI-RS resources (non-zero power CSI-RS resource). The network device 1 sends a CSI-RS on the resource A, and the network device 2 sends a CSI-RS on the resource B. [111]- the terminal device(=wireless communication device) reports one CQI for each of the two network devices. In the embodiments of this application, the terminal device may perform joint measurement to obtain one CQI, or jointly report CSI based on the two obtained CQIs.
selecting a first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or a second NZP CSI-RS resources in a NZP CSI-RS resource tuple in the list of NZP CSI-RS resource tuples, [109]- REs corresponding to the resource A, the network device 1 transmits an NZP CSI-RS(= selecting a first NZP CSI-RS resource)(, and the network device 2 is silent; and on REs corresponding to the resource B, the network device 1 is silent, and the network device 2 transmits an NZP CSI-RS(=selecting a first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or a second NZP CSI-RS resources).
Wang does not teach, and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource; a list of Non-Zero Power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS} resource; reporting, to a network node, information comprising CSI based on the first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resources, wherein the CSI is CSI corresponding to non-coherent joint transmission (NC-JT) associated with the NZP CSI-RS tuple.
Rahman teaches, and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource;[149]- In another example of Alt 2B-3, when number of TRPs is 2, the rank distribution across TRPs is as follows: RI=1, (RI1, RI2)=(1,0), (0,1); RI=2, (RI1, RI2)=(1,1), (2,0), or (2,0); RI=3, (RI1, RI2)=(2,1), (3,0), (0,3), or (1,2); and RI=4, (RI1, RI2)=(2,2), (3,1), (4,0), (0,4), or (1,3).
a list of Non-Zero Power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS} resource [157]- In one embodiment 5, the gNB transmits multiple (NCSI-RS>1) non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources, each associated with 1 port
reporting, to a network node, information comprising CSI based on the first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resources, wherein the CSI is CSI corresponding to non-coherent joint transmission (NC-JT) associated with the NZP CSI-RS tuple. [182]- When the UE is configured to report CSI for each of multiple (Ng) gNBs/TRPs (e.g. for non-coherent joint transmission from multiple gNBs/TRPs), where the configuration is either joint for all TRPs or independent for each TRP, then the UE may report a single joint CSI report comprising CSI reports for all TRPs, for example, to the primary TRP (or TRP #1).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, a list of Non-Zero Power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS} resource; reporting, to a network node, information comprising CSI based on the first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resources, wherein the CSI is CSI corresponding to non-coherent joint transmission (NC-JT) associated with the NZP CSI-RS tuple as taught by Rahman to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Wang in view of Rahman does not teach, wherein the CSI based on the selected first and second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI1, CRI2) and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RIl, RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a joint channel quality indicator (CQI),
Bo teaches, wherein the CSI based on the selected first and second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI1, CRI2) and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RIl, RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a joint channel quality indicator (CQI),
page 35 para 7- When calculating n (n⟩ = 1) CQIs based on two NZP CSI-RS resource sets, the terminal device may select the x-th resource in one of the resource sets by default as the channel measurement resource, and One or more resources included in a resource set are used as interference measurement resources to calculate the CQI;
page 38 para 3- S803. The terminal device determines to report the channel measurement resource identifier (which may be CRI or SSB-index), the interference resource identifier (which may be CRI or SSB-index), and the CQI according to the measurement report configuration information. One or more types: RSRP, RSSI, SINR, CQI, PMI, LI, RI, il.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang in view of Rahman, wherein the CSI based on the selected first and second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI1, CRI2) and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RIl, RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a joint channel quality indicator (CQI), and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource as taught by Bo to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 62, The method of Claim 1, wherein the first group of one or more NZP CSI-RS resources and the second group of one or more NZP CSI-RS resources correspond to a first NZP CSI-RS resource set and a second NZP CSI-RS resource set, respectively. [107]-The resource A and the resource B are NZP CSI-RS resources (non-zero power CSI-RS resource). The network device 1 sends a CSI-RS on the resource A, and the network device 2 sends a CSI-RS on the resource B. [111]- the terminal device(=wireless communication device) reports one CQI for each of the two network devices. In the embodiments of this application, the terminal device may perform joint measurement to obtain one CQI, or jointly report CSI based on the two obtained CQIs.
Regarding Claim 63, Wang teaches, The method of Claim 1, wherein the first group of one or more NZP CSI-RS resources and the second group of one or more NZP CSI-RS resources are contained in a single NZP CSI-RS resource set.[129]- a correspondence between the at least two groups of CSI-RS resources and a same CSI reporting set;
Regarding Claim 3, Wang teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein each of the list of NZP CSI-RS resource tuples comprises one NZP CSI-RS resource associated with a first transmission and reception point, TRP, and another NZP CSI-RS resource associated with a second TRP.
[107]-resource set 1 is configured for state information of the channel of the network device 1, and to measure a channel of the network device 2, a resource set 2 is configured for state information of the channel of the network device 2.
Regarding Claim 4, Wang teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the reported information further comprises an indication of the selected first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or second NZP CSI-RS resources. [140]- NZP CSI-RS resource identifier 1 corresponds to a CSI reporting set 1 (CSI reporting setting ID1);
Regarding Claim 5, Wang teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein: selecting the first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises
selecting the first NZP CSI-RS resource and the second NZP CSI-RS resource, and the CSI is CSI corresponding to non-coherent joint transmission, NC-JT, associated with the first NZP CSI-RS resource and the second NZP CSI-RS resource,
the CSI is CSI corresponding to non-coherent joint transmission, NC-JT, associated with the NZP CSI-RS tuple, [111]- In the embodiments of this application, the terminal device may perform joint measurement to obtain one CQI, or jointly report CSI based on the two obtained CQIs,
selecting the first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises selecting the first NZP CSI-RS resource or the second NZP CSI-RS resource, and the CSI is CSI corresponding to the selected first or second NZP CSI-RS resource, [151]- Specifically, each group of CSI-RS resources may correspond to one identifier, for example, an NZP CSI-RS resource ID
the CSI is reference signal received power, RSRP, associated with each of the selected first and/or second NZP CSI-RS resources, or the CSI is signal to interference and noise ratio, SINR, associated with each of the selected first and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resources. [307]- overlapping status of an NZP CSI-RS resource used for channel measurement and an NZP CSI-RS resource used for interference measurement, interference measurement behavior on the NZP CSI-RS resource
Regarding Claim 7, Wang teaches, The method of claim 62, wherein the first NZP CSI-RS resource set and the second NZP CSI-RS resource set are configured in two CSI resource settings comprised in the CSI report configuration.[107]- The resource A and the resource B are NZP CSI-RS resources (non-zero power CSI-RS resource). The network device 1 sends a CSI-RS on the resource A, and the network device 2 sends a CSI-RS on the resource B.
Regarding Claim 11,Wang teaches, The method of claim 62, wherein the first NZP CSI-RS resource set and the second NZP CSI-RS resource set are comprised in a single CSI resource setting included the CSI report configuration. [144]- CSI-RS resources correspond to the same CSI reporting set, to instruct the terminal device to perform joint reporting for the two groups of resources.
Regarding Claim 21, Wang teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the CSI based on the selected first and/or second NZP CSI-RS resource(s) comprises: a. a rank indicator, RI, for each selected NZP CSI-RS resource, b. a precoding matrix indicator, PMI, for each selected NZP CSI-RS resource; c. a channel quality indicator [102]-the CSI reporting set is used to indicate reported parameter information (for example, an RI, a PMI, a CQI, or a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI)).
Regarding Claim 25, Wang teaches, The method of claim1, wherein selecting the first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises selecting the first NZP CSI-RS resource and the second NZP CSI-RS resource, and the CSI based on the selected first and second NZP CSI-RS resource(s) comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI1, CRI2), and associated respectively a first and a second RSRP or SINR. See [102]- The CSI reporting set is used to indicate reported parameter information (for example, an RI, a PMI, a CQI, or a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), CSI types (for example, a type I and a type II).
Regarding Claim 26, Wang teaches, The method of claim 21, wherein CRI1, CRI2, and/or CRGI are jointly encoded.[264]- A plurality of jointly coded CSI parameters may have a same period and offset. A configuration method for a case in which “one resource has a plurality of QCLs” is described as follows.
Regarding Claim 29, Wang teaches, The method of claim1, wherein the CSI report configuration further includes a code book configuration.[102]- The CSI reporting set is used to indicate reported parameter information (for example, an RI, a PMI, a CQI, or a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI)), CSI types (for example, a type I and a type II), codebook configuration information.
Regarding Claim 30, Wang teaches, The method of claim1, wherein the CSI report configuration further includes a report quantity indicator indicating CSI report for Non- Coherent Joint Transmission, NC-JT. [91]- The JT includes coherent JT and non-coherent JT (NCJT), and a difference between the coherent JT and the non-coherent JT is that for the NCJT.
Regarding Claim 31, Wang teaches, The method of claim1, wherein the report quantity indicator further indicates whether the CSI report includes a joint CQI or a pair of CQIs.[54]- CQI difference or difference indication information corresponding to the other group of resources.
Regarding Claim 32, Wang teaches, The method of claim1, wherein the CSI report configuration further includes one or more CSI interference measurement, CSI-IM, resources.[110]- The terminal device may perform downlink channel measurement and interference measurement based on the foregoing two configurations, to determine a CQI corresponding to the resource set 1 and a CQI corresponding to the resource set 2.
Regarding Claim 35, Wang teaches, A wireless communication device for reporting Channel State Information, CSI, in a wireless network, the wireless communication device comprising: one or more transmitters; one or more receivers; and processing circuitry associated with the one or more transmitters and the one or more receivers, the processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless communication device to: receive a CSI report configuration that comprises either: Figs 2/3, Fig 8
Fig. 2,3 [107]- The resource A and the resource B are NZP CSI-RS resources (non-Zero power CSI-RS resource, non-zero power CSI-RS resource). The network device 1 sends a CSI-RS on the resource A, and the network device 2 sends a CSI-RS on the resource B.
[111]- the terminal device(=wireless communication device) reports one CQI for each of the two network devices. In the embodiments of this application, the terminal device may perform joint measurement to obtain one CQI, or jointly report CSI based on the two obtained CQIs.
select a first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or a second NZP CSI-RS resource in a NZP CSI-RS resource tuple out of the list of NZP CSI- RS resource tuples, [109]- REs corresponding to the resource A, the network device 1 transmits an NZP CSI-RS(= selecting a first NZP CSI-RS resource)(, and the network device 2 is silent; and on REs corresponding to the resource B, the network device 1 is silent, and the network device 2 transmits an NZP CSI-RS(=selecting a first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or a second NZP CSI-RS resources).
Wang does not teach, and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource; a list of Non-Zero Power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS} resource; report, to a network node, information comprising CSI based on the selected first and/or second NZP CSI-RS resource(s).
Rahman teaches, and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource; [149]- In another example of Alt 2B-3, when number of TRPs is 2, the rank distribution across TRPs is as follows: RI=1, (RI1, RI2)=(1,0), (0,1); RI=2, (RI1, RI2)=(1,1), (2,0), or (2,0); RI=3, (RI1, RI2)=(2,1), (3,0), (0,3), or (1,2); and RI=4, (RI1, RI2)=(2,2), (3,1), (4,0), (0,4), or (1,3).
a list of Non-Zero Power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS} resource [157]- In one embodiment 5, the gNB transmits multiple (NCSI-RS>1) non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources, each associated with 1 port
report, to a network node, information comprising CSI based on the selected first and/or second NZP CSI-RS resource(s). [182]- When the UE is configured to report CSI for each of multiple (Ng) gNBs/TRPs (e.g. for non-coherent joint transmission from multiple gNBs/TRPs), where the configuration is either joint for all TRPs or independent for each TRP, then the UE may report a single joint CSI report comprising CSI reports for all TRPs, for example, to the primary TRP (or TRP #1).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, a list of Non-Zero Power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS} resource; report, to a network node, information comprising CSI based on the selected first and/or second NZP CSI-RS resource(s) as taught by Rahman to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Wang in view of Rahman does not teach, wherein the CSI based on the selected first and second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI1, CRI2) and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RIl, RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1, PMI2), and a joint channel quality indicator (CQI),
Bo teaches, wherein the CSI based on the selected first and second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI1, CRI2) and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RIl, RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a joint channel quality indicator (CQI),
page 35 para 7- When calculating n (n⟩ = 1) CQIs based on two NZP CSI-RS resource sets, the terminal device may select the x-th resource in one of the resource sets by default as the channel measurement resource, and One or more resources included in a resource set are used as interference measurement resources to calculate the CQI;
page 38 para 3- S803. The terminal device determines to report the channel measurement resource identifier (which may be CRI or SSB-index), the interference resource identifier (which may be CRI or SSB-index), and the CQI according to the measurement report configuration information. One or more types: RSRP, RSSI, SINR, CQI, PMI, LI, RI, il.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang in view of Rahman, wherein the CSI based on the selected first and second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI1, CRI2) and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RIl, RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a joint channel quality indicator (CQI), and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource as taught by Bo to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 37, Wang teaches, A method performed by a network node, the method comprising: providing, to a wireless communication device, a CSI report configuration that comprises either:
Fig 2 shows first TRP 110 and second TRP 120 with terminal 130.and [107]- resource set 1 is configured for state information of the channel of the network device 1, and to measure a channel of the network device 2, a resource set 2 is configured for state information of the channel of the network device 2. [111]- the terminal device(=wireless communication device) reports one CQI for each of the two network devices. In the embodiments of this application, the terminal device may perform joint measurement to obtain one CQI, or jointly report CSI based on the two obtained CQIs.
Wang does not teach, wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource; a list of Non-Zero Power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS} resource; receiving, from the wireless communication device, information comprising CSI based on a selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resources wherein the CSI is CSI corresponding to non-coherent joint transmission (NC-JT) associated with the NZP CSI- RS tuple.
Rahman teaches, and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource; [149]- In another example of Alt 2B-3, when number of TRPs is 2, the rank distribution across TRPs is as follows: RI=1, (RI1, RI2)=(1,0), (0,1); RI=2, (RI1, RI2)=(1,1), (2,0), or (2,0); RI=3, (RI1, RI2)=(2,1), (3,0), (0,3), or (1,2); and RI=4, (RI1, RI2)=(2,2), (3,1), (4,0), (0,4), or (1,3).Wang does not teach,
a list of Non-Zero Power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS} resource [157]- In one embodiment 5, the gNB transmits multiple (NCSI-RS>1) non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources, each associated with 1 port.
receiving, from the wireless communication device, information comprising CSI based on a selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resources wherein the CSI is CSI corresponding to non-coherent joint transmission (NC-JT) associated with the NZP CSI- RS tuple. [111]-the terminal device may perform joint measurement to obtain one CQI, or jointly report CSI based on the two obtained CQIs, for example, report one CQI (where the CQI may be either of the two CQIs; or may be generated based on the two CQIs, for example, may be an average value of the two CQIs).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, a list of Non-Zero Power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS} resource; report, to a network node, information comprising CSI based on the selected first and/or second NZP CSI-RS resource(s) as taught by Rahman to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Wang in view of Rahman does not teach, wherein the CSI based on a selected first and a second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CR1, CRI2) and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RIl, RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a joint channel quality indicator (CQI), and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource.
Bo teaches, wherein the CSI based on a selected first and a second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CR1, CRI2) and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RIl, RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a joint channel quality indicator (CQI), and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource.
page 35 para 7- When calculating n (n⟩ = 1) CQIs based on two NZP CSI-RS resource sets, the terminal device may select the x-th resource in one of the resource sets by default as the channel measurement resource, and One or more resources included in a resource set are used as interference measurement resources to calculate the CQI;
page 38 para 3- S803. The terminal device determines to report the channel measurement resource identifier (which may be CRI or SSB-index), the interference resource identifier (which may be CRI or SSB-index), and the CQI according to the measurement report configuration information. One or more types: RSRP, RSSI, SINR, CQI, PMI, LI, RI, il.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang in view of Rahman, wherein the CSI based on a selected first and a second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CR1, CRI2) and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RIl, RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a joint channel quality indicator (CQI), and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource. as taught by Bo to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 60, Wang teaches, A network node comprising processing circuitry configured to causes the network nod to: provide, to a wireless communication device, a CSI report configuration that comprises either Fig 2 shows first TRP 110 and second TRP 120 with terminal 130 and [107]- resource set 1 is configured for state information of the channel of the network device 1, and to measure a channel of the network device 2, a resource set 2 is configured for state information of the channel of the network device 2.
Fig 2 shows first TRP 110 and second TRP 120 with terminal 130.and [107]- resource set 1 is configured for state information of the channel of the network device 1, and to measure a channel of the network device 2, a resource set 2 is configured for state information of the channel of the network device 2. [111]- the terminal device(=wireless communication device) reports one CQI for each of the two network devices. In the embodiments of this application, the terminal device may perform joint measurement to obtain one CQI, or jointly report CSI based on the two obtained CQIs.
Wang does not teach, wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource; receive from the wireless communication device, information comprising CSI based on a selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resources wherein the CSI is CSI corresponding to non-coherent joint transmission (NC-JT) associated with the NZP CSI- RS tuple.
Rahman teaches, and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource; [149]- In another example of Alt 2B-3, when number of TRPs is 2, the rank distribution across TRPs is as follows: RI=1, (RI1, RI2)=(1,0), (0,1); RI=2, (RI1, RI2)=(1,1), (2,0), or (2,0); RI=3, (RI1, RI2)=(2,1), (3,0), (0,3), or (1,2); and RI=4, (RI1, RI2)=(2,2), (3,1), (4,0), (0,4), or (1,3).Wang does not teach,
receive from the wireless communication device, information comprising CSI based on a selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resources wherein the CSI is CSI corresponding to non-coherent joint transmission (NC-JT) associated with the NZP CSI- RS tuple[111]-the terminal device may perform joint measurement to obtain one CQI, or jointly report CSI based on the two obtained CQIs, for example, report one CQI (where the CQI may be either of the two CQIs; or may be generated based on the two CQIs, for example, may be an average value of the two CQIs).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, a list of Non-Zero Power CSI reference signal (NZP CSI-RS} resource tuples each comprises one or more NZP CSI-RS resources for channel measurement wherein each of the list of NZP CSI-RS resource tuples comprises one NZP CSI-Rs resource associated with a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and another NZP CSI-RS resource associated with a second TRP; and receive from the wireless communication device, information comprising CSI based on a selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resources wherein the CSI is CSI corresponding to non-coherent joint transmission (NC-JT) associated with the NZP CSI- RS tuple as taught by Rahman to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Bo teaches, wherein the CSI based on a selected first and a second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CR1, CRI2) and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RIl, RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a joint channel quality indicator (CQI), and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource.
page 35 para 7- When calculating n (n⟩ = 1) CQIs based on two NZP CSI-RS resource sets, the terminal device may select the x-th resource in one of the resource sets by default as the channel measurement resource, and One or more resources included in a resource set are used as interference measurement resources to calculate the CQI;
page 38 para 3- S803. The terminal device determines to report the channel measurement resource identifier (which may be CRI or SSB-index), the interference resource identifier (which may be CRI or SSB-index), and the CQI according to the measurement report configuration information. One or more types: RSRP, RSSI, SINR, CQI, PMI, LI, RI, il.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang in view of Rahman, wherein the CSI based on a selected first and a second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CR1, CRI2) and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RIl, RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a joint channel quality indicator (CQI), and wherein the indication of the selected one or more NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a RI=0 for the second or the first NZP CSI-RS resource. as taught by Bo to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Claim(s) 8,9,10,12,13,15,17,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20200119797A1) in view of Rahman et al. (US20190260448A1) in further view of Bo et al. (WO2020019959A1) in further view of Kung et al. (US20200322023A1)
Regarding Claim 8, Wang does not teach, The method of claim 7 wherein the wireless network is a New Radio, NR, network, the CSI report configuration is a CSI-ReportConfig that is extended to contain two resourcesForChannelMeasurment pointing to the first and second NZP CSI-RS resource sets, respectively.
Kung teaches, The method of claim 7 wherein the wireless network is a New Radio, NR, network, the CSI report configuration is a CSI-ReportConfig that is extended to contain two resourcesForChannelMeasurment pointing to the first and second NZP CSI-RS resource sets, respectively.See [100]-[101]
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 7 wherein the wireless network is a New Radio, NR, network, the CSI report configuration is a CSI-ReportConfig that is extended to contain two resourcesForChannelMeasurment pointing to the first and second NZP CSI-RS resource sets, respectively as taught by Kung to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 9, Wang does not teach, The method of claim 7 wherein the wireless network is a New Radio, NR, network, the CSI report configuration is a CSI-ReportConfig a first of the two CSI resource settings is a first resourcesForChannelMeasurment comprised within the CSI-ReportConfig that points to the first NZP CSI-RS resource set, and a second of the two CSI resource settings is a second resourcesForChannelMeasurment comprised within the CSI-ReportConfig that points to the second NZP CSI-RS resource set.
Kung teaches, The method of claim 7 wherein the wireless network is a New Radio, NR, network, the CSI report configuration is a CSI-ReportConfig a first of the two CSI resource settings is a first resourcesForChannelMeasurment comprised within the CSI-ReportConfig that points to the first NZP CSI-RS resource set, and a second of the two CSI resource settings is a second resourcesForChannelMeasurment comprised within the CSI-ReportConfig that points to the second NZP CSI-RS resource set. See [101]
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 7 wherein the wireless network is a New Radio, NR, network, the CSI report configuration is a CSI-ReportConfig a first of the two CSI resource settings is a first resourcesForChannelMeasurment comprised within the CSI-ReportConfig that points to the first NZP CSI-RS resource set, and a second of the two CSI resource settings is a second resourcesForChannelMeasurment comprised within the CSI-ReportConfig that points to the second NZP CSI-RS resource set as taught by Kung to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 10, Wang does not teach, The method of claim 62 wherein the wireless network is a New Radio, NR, network, the reporting is an aperiodically triggered CSI report, and the first and second NZP CSI-RS resource sets are indicated per CSI-AssociatedReportConfigInfo in a CSI- AperiodicTriggerStateList information element.
Kung teaches, The method of claim 62 wherein the wireless network is a New Radio, NR, network, the reporting is an aperiodically triggered CSI report, and the first and second NZP CSI-RS resource sets are indicated per CSI-AssociatedReportConfigInfo in a CSI- AperiodicTriggerStateList information element. See [103]-[104],[106]
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 62 wherein the wireless network is a New Radio, NR, network, the reporting is an aperiodically triggered CSI report, and the first and second NZP CSI-RS resource sets are indicated per CSI-AssociatedReportConfigInfo in a CSI- AperiodicTriggerStateList information element as taught by Kung to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 12, Wang does not teach, The method of claim 11, wherein the first NZP CSI-RS resource set and the second NZP CSI-RS resource set comprised in the single CSI resource setting are configured in an aperiodic CSI trigger state associated with the CSI report configuration.
Kung teaches, The method of claim 11, wherein the first NZP CSI-RS resource set and the second NZP CSI-RS resource set comprised in the single CSI resource setting are configured in an aperiodic CSI trigger state associated with the CSI report configuration. [104]- The CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList IE is used to configure the UE with a list of aperiodic trigger states.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 7 wherein the wireless network is a New Radio, NR, network, the CSI report configuration is a CSI-ReportConfig that is extended to contain two resourcesForChannelMeasurment pointing to the first and second NZP CSI-RS resource sets, respectively as taught by Kung to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 13, Wang does not teach, The method of claim 12, wherein the aperiodic CSI trigger state further contains a first Quasi Co-location, QCL, indication and a second QCL indication for the first NZP CSI-RS resource set and the second NZP CSI-RS resource set, respectively.
Kung teaches, The method of claim 12, wherein the aperiodic CSI trigger state further contains a first Quasi Co-location, QCL, indication and a second QCL indication for the first NZP CSI-RS resource set and the second NZP CSI-RS resource set, respectively.[223]-See qcl type 1 and 2. See 106 for aperiodic CSI trigger.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 12, wherein the aperiodic CSI trigger state further contains a first Quasi Co-location, QCL, indication and a second QCL indication for the first NZP CSI-RS resource set and the second NZP CSI-RS resource set, respectively as taught by Kung to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 15, Wang does not teach, The method of claim 63, wherein each NZP CSI-RS resource in the first and second groups is associated with an index that indicates whether the NZP CSI-RS resource is in the first or the second group.
Kung teaches, The method of claim 63, wherein each NZP CSI-RS resource in the first and second groups is associated with an index that indicates whether the NZP CSI-RS resource is in the first or the second group. See [109] >2- a reportQuantityRS-Indexes and maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport and contains an rsType set to csi-rs:
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 63, wherein each NZP CSI-RS resource in the first and second groups is associated with an index that indicates whether the NZP CSI-RS resource is in the first or the second group, respectively as taught by Kung to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 17, Wang does not teach, The method of claim 15, wherein the first group of one or more NZP CSI-RS resources or the second group of one or more NZP CSI-RS resources is identified by an index included in each NZP CSI-RS resource configuration.
Kung teaches, The method of claim 15, wherein the first group of one or more NZP CSI-RS resources or the second group of one or more NZP CSI-RS resources is identified by an index included in each NZP CSI-RS resource configuration.See [105]- CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList Information Element.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 15, wherein the first group of one or more NZP CSI-RS resources or the second group of one or more NZP CSI-RS resources is identified by an index included in each NZP CSI-RS resource configuration, respectively as taught by Kung to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 18, Wang does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the index is one of: " an index of a transmission configuration indicator, TCI, or " a Control Resource Pool Index, or "a new group index.
Kung teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the index is one of: " an index of a transmission configuration indicator, TCI, or " a Control Resource Pool Index, or "a new group index. See [244]-[249]
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 1, wherein the index is one of: " an index of a transmission configuration indicator, TCI, or " a Control Resource Pool Index, or "a new group index as taught by Kung to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Claim(s) 19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20200119797A1) in view of Rahman et al. (US20190260448A1) in further view of Bo et al. (WO2020019959A1) in further view of Han et al. (US20190297519A1)
Regarding Claim 19, Wang does not teach, The method of claim1, wherein selecting the first NZP CSI-resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resource comprises selecting the first NZP CSI-resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resource based on a predetermined metric.
Han teaches, The method of claim1, wherein selecting the first NZP CSI-resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resource comprises selecting the first NZP CSI-resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resource based on a predetermined metric. Fig3 [66]- interference measurement hypotheses (Hypotheses H1 to H4). The terminal device selects, according to a criterion, a CSI report corresponding to one or more interference measurement hypotheses and indication information of the corresponding interference measurement hypothesis, and reports the CSI report and the indication information
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim1, wherein selecting the first NZP CSI-resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resource comprises selecting the first NZP CSI-resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resource based on a predetermined metric as taught by Han to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 20, Wang does not teach, The method of claim 19, wherein the metric is downlink throughput.
Han teaches, The method of claim 19, wherein the metric is downlink throughput.[66]- When a quantity of coordinated base stations is increased , a quantity of resource settings is also increased , and a quantity of interference measurement hypotheses and a quantity of resource settings included in each interference measurement hypothesis are also increased , leading to an increase in reporting overheads of the terminal device.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim 19, wherein the metric is downlink throughput as taught by Han to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Claim(s) 22,23,24,27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20200119797A1) in view of Rahman et al. (US20190260448A1) in further view of Bo et al. (WO2020019959A1) in further view of Marinier et al. (US20210289383A1)
Regarding Claim 23, Wang does not teach, The method of claim1, wherein selecting the first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises selecting the first NZP CSI-RS resource and the second NZP CSI-RS resource, and the CSI based on the selected first and second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI1,CRI2), and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RI1,RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a first and a second channel quality indicator (CQI1,CQI2).
Marinier teaches, The method of claim1, wherein selecting the first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises selecting the first NZP CSI-RS resource and the second NZP CSI-RS resource, and the CSI based on the selected first and second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI1,CRI2), and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RI1,RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a first and a second channel quality indicator (CQI1,CQI2).[.[69]- Such types of periodic PUCCH feedback may include a “Type 1” report that may support CQI feedback for WTRU selected sub-bands, a “Type 1a” report that may support sub-band CQI and second PMI feedback, a “Type 2”.. eport that may support wideband CQI and PMI feedback… Type 5” report that may support RI and wideband PMI feedback, and a “Type 6” report that supports RI and PTI feedback.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim1, wherein selecting the first NZP CSI-RS resource and/or the second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises selecting the first NZP CSI-RS resource and the second NZP CSI-RS resource, and the CSI based on the selected first and second NZP CSI-RS resources comprises a first and a second NZP CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI1,CRI2), and associated respectively a first and a second rank indicator (RI1,RI2), a first and a second precoding matrix indicator (PMI1,PMI2), and a first and a second channel quality indicator (CQI1,CQI2)as taught by Marinier to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 24, Wang teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the CSI is calculated assuming non-coherent joint transmission, NC-JT, of a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, over antenna ports of the first and the second NZP CSI-RS resources on a same time and frequency resource. The “coordinated multipoint transmission” in this application includes but is not limited to joint transmission JT. The JT includes coherent JT and non-coherent JT (NCJT), [91]- The “coordinated multipoint transmission” in this application includes but is not limited to joint transmission JT. The JT includes coherent JT and non-coherent JT (NCJT).
Regarding Claim 27, Wang does not teach, The method of claim21, wherein a mapping between a CRI to one or more NZP CSI-RS resources in the first and the second groups of NZP CSI-RS resources, or in the list of NZP CSI-RS tuples, are configured either explicitly or implicitly.
Marinier teaches, The method of claim21, wherein a mapping between a CRI to one or more NZP CSI-RS resources in the first and the second groups of NZP CSI-RS resources, or in the list of NZP CSI-RS tuples, are configured either explicitly or implicitly [185]-Configures the WTRU to a specific VCID for PUCCH, it may be either explicitly or implicitly also configuring the required resources.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The method of claim21, wherein a mapping between a CRI to one or more NZP CSI-RS resources in the first and the second groups of NZP CSI-RS resources, or in the list of NZP CSI-RS tuples, are configured either explicitly or implicitly as taught by Marinier to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478