DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on October 14, 2025 is acknowledged.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending, with claims 8-13 and 15-20 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to non-elected inventions.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification recites the limitation: “PEG diallyl ether (PEGDA)” in par.0016, par.0088, par.0111. Par.0021, par.0088-0089, par.0111-0113, par.0117 recite only “PEGDA”.
The examiner would like to note that PEGDA is the known acronym for polyethylene glycol diacrylate of formula:
(see the attached “Polyethylene Glycol Diacrylate (PEGDA)” and “Poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate”), and it is different from PEG diallyl ether of formula:
(see the attached “Poly(ethylene glycol) diallyl ether terminated”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (“A large-size, bipolar-stacked and high-safety solid-state lithium battery with integrated electrolyte and cathode”).
With regard to claim 1, Wei et al. teach solid polymer electrolytes (SPEs) obtained by crosslinking PEGDA 200, PEGDA 400, PEGDA 600, and PEGDA 1000 with PETMP crosslinker (see “1. Introduction” on page 57 and “2.2 Preparation of UV-crosslinked polymer-electrolyte membranes” on page 59). The crosslinking reaction is shown in Scheme 1:
The PEGDA monomers are polyethers comprising two functional acryloyl groups and PETMP comprises multifunctional crosslinkers groups (-SH, thiol groups) (see definitions in par.0057 of the specification of the instant application).
The cross-linked polymer network comprises a plurality of crosslinked difunctional polyether groups (groups derived from PEGDA) and a plurality of multifunctional crosslinker groups (thiol groups from PETMP), wherein the plurality of crosslinked difunctional polyether groups and a plurality of multifunctional crosslinker groups are covalently bonded by a thioether group (see Scheme 1).
Therefore, the solid polymer electrolytes (SPEs) of Wei et al. anticipate the solid polymer electrolyte in claim 1.
With regard to claim 3, the molecular weight between crosslinks (Mx) is the molecular weight of PEGDA.
Therefore, Mx may be 200g/mol, 400g/mol, 600 g/mol, and 1000 g/mol (see “2.1. Materials” on page 58). These values are within the claimed range.
With regard to claim 4, the specification of the instant application teaches that the crystalline domains are observed for high molecular weight PEO (polyethylene oxide)-containing monomers, such as monomers with a molecular weight of 3,000 g/mol and 5.000 g/mol. No crystalline domains were observed for a PEO (polyethylene oxide)-containing monomer with a molecular weight of 1,000 g/mol (par.0048 and par.00117 of the specification of the instant application),
PEGDA of Wei et al. are PEO (polyethylene oxide)-containing monomers.
PEGDA may have molecular weights of be 200g/mol, 400g/mol, 600 g/mol, and 1000 g/mol (see “2.1. Materials” on page 58). Therefore, absent a record to the contrary, it would be expected that the crosslinked polymers of Wei et al. comprise only amorphous domains.
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). (MPEP. 2112. I. SOMETHING WHICH IS OLD DOES NOT BECOME PATENTABLE UPON THE DISCOVERY OF A NEW PROPERTY)
With regard to claim 6, Wei et al. teach that the SPEs comprise lithium bis(trifluoromethane)sufonilimide LiTFSI (see “2.1. Materials” on page 58, and “2.2 Preparation of UV-crosslinked polymer-electrolyte membranes” on page 59).
LiTFSI is a conducting salt, as defined in par.0053 of the specification of the instant application.
With regard to claim 14, Wei et al. teach cells comprising LFP/SPE/Li, wherein LFP is the cathode and Li is the anode (see “2.3. Fabrication of ASSLBs” on page 59).
.
Claims 1-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiappone et al. (“Degradable photopolymerized thiol-based polymer electrolytes towards greener Li-ion batteries”), as evidenced by Wei et al. (“A large-size, bipolar-stacked and high-safety solid-state lithium battery with integrated electrolyte and cathode”) and Irie et al. (US 2024/0117250).
With regard to claims 1 and 2, Chiappone et al. teach polymer electrolytes comprising polymers obtained from PEGDA (A), PEGMA (B), and a thiol (C):
(see “2.1 Materials”, “2.2. Preparation of membranes and polymer electrolytes” on page 65, and Table 1 on page 66).
PEGDA (A) is a polyether comprising two functional acryloyl groups and the thiol (C) comprises multifunctional crosslinkers groups (-SH, thiol groups) (see definitions in par.0057 of the specification of the instant application).
PEGDA (A) and the thiol (C) lead to a cross-linked polymer network in claim 1, as evidenced in Scheme 1 of Wei et al. The crosslinked polymer network comprises a plurality of crosslinked difunctional polyether groups (groups derived from PEGDA) and a plurality of multifunctional crosslinker groups (thiol groups from the thiol (C)), wherein the plurality of crosslinked difunctional polyether groups and a plurality of multifunctional crosslinker groups are covalently bonded by a thioether group (see Scheme 1 of Wei et al.).
An acryloyl group which will react with the thiol (C) (see Scheme 1 of Wei et al), so PEGMA(B) is covalently bonded to the cross-linked polymer network via a group comprising a thioether group.
PEGMA(B) comprises a terminal group -(CH2-CH2-O)n-CH3 wherein the terminal methyl (-CH3) group is a non-crosslinkable group, as evidenced in par.0134 of Irie et al.
Therefore, the terminal group -(CH2-CH2-O)n-CH3 is not covalently bound to the cross-linked polymer network, and PEGMA(B) is equivalent to the “one non-crosslinked group” in claim 2.
Additionally, Chiappone et al. teach that the conversion of C=C and -SH groups to crosslinking groups is less than 100% (see Table 1 on page 66). Therefore, PEGDA (A) and the thiol (C) will also have “non-crosslinked groups” as required in claim 2 (see definition of “dangling groups” in par.0060 of the specification of the instant application).
Therefore, the polymer electrolytes of Chiappone et al. anticipate the solid polymer electrolytes in claims 1 and 2 of the instant application.
With regard to claim 3, the molecular weight between crosslinks (Mx) is the molecular weight of PEGDA (A).
PEGDA(A) comprises 15 ethoxy groups (see the second paragraph of “3. Results and discussions” on page 66), so Mx is 742g/mol. This value is within the claimed range.
With regard to claim 4, the specification of the instant application teaches that the crystalline domains are observed for high molecular weight PEO (polyethylene oxide)-containing monomers, such as monomers with a molecular weight of 3,000 g/mol and 5.000 g/mol. No crystalline domains were observed for a PEO (polyethylene oxide)-containing monomer with a molecular weight of 1,000 g/mol (par.0048 and par.00117 of the specification of the instant application).
PEGDA(A) of Chiappone et al. is a PEO (polyethylene oxide)-containing monomer. PEDGA (A) comprises 15 ethoxy groups (see the second paragraph of “3. Results and discussions” on page 66) and has a molecular weight of 742g/mol.
Therefore, absent a record to the contrary, it would be expected that the crosslinked polymers of Chiappone et al. comprise only amorphous domains (MPEP 2112. I. SOMETHING WHICH IS OLD DOES NOT BECOME PATENTABLE UPON THE DISCOVERY OF A NEW PROPERTY)
With regard to claim 5, PEGMA(B) comprises 9 ethoxy groups (see the second paragraph of “3. Results and discussions” on page 66). It would be expected that the “dangling” groups -(CH2-CH2-O)n-CH3 which are not covalently bound to the cross-linked polymer network become tangled with the crosslinked polymer and form a network of entangled polymer chains.
Additionally, Chiappone et al. teach that the conversion of C=C and -SH groups to crosslinking groups is less than 100% (see Table 1 on page 66). Therefore, PEGDA (A) and the thiol (C) will also have “non-crosslinked groups” as required in claim 2 (see definition of “dangling groups” in par.0060 of the specification of the instant application).
PEGDA(A) comprises 15 ethoxy groups (see the second paragraph of “3. Results and discussions” on page 66). It would be expected that uncrosslinked/uncoverted “dangling” groups -(CH2-CH2-O)n-C(=O)-CH=CH2 become tangled with the crosslinked polymer and form a network of entangled polymer chains.
With regard to claim 6, Chiappone et al. teach that the polymer electrolytes comprise LiBOB (lithium bis(oxalate)borate) (see “2.1. Materials”, “2.2. Preparation of membranes and polymer electrolytes” on page 65, and Table 1 on page 66).
LiBOB is a conducting salt (see the next to the last paragraph of “1. Introduction” on page 65).
With regard to claim 14, Chiappone et al. teach an all-solid-state lithium polymer cell comprising a lithium metal disk anode, the polymer electrolyte layer, and a LiFePO4/C composite disk cathode (see the next to the last paragraph of “2.3. Characterization methods” on page 66).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (“A large-size, bipolar-stacked and high-safety solid-state lithium battery with integrated electrolyte and cathode”) in view of Ji et al. (US 2021/0194053).
With regard to claim 7, Wei et al. teach the solid polymer electrolyte of claim 1 (see paragraph 5 above), but fail to teach that the solid polymer comprises one or more liquid electrolyte(s).
Ji et al. teach an energy storage device comprising a polymer electrolyte, a salt, and a filler (abstract). Ji et al. further teach that a small amount of liquid electrolyte added into solid-state polymer electrolytes helps improve the safety and performance (par.0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include a small amount of liquid electrolyte in the solid polymer electrolyte of Wei et al. in order to improve the safety and performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al. (“A Self-Healing and Nonflammable Cros-Linked Network Polymer Electrolyte with the Combination of Hydrogen Bonds and Dynamic Disulfide Bonds for Lithium Metal Batteries”) teach the crosslinked polymer electrolyte:
(page 3).
Chen et al. is not available as prior art because it was published after the filing date of the instant application.
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722