Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-25, and 27-29 are presented for examination in this application, 17/800,129 filed 06/23/2026, having an effective filing date of 2022-02-19 via provisional application 62/978,721.
The Examiner cites particular sections in the references as applied to the claims
below for the convenience of the applicant(s). Although the specified citations are
representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within
the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully
requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant(s) fully consider the references in
their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the
context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed 06/23/2026 have been fully considered.
The arguments and remarks regarding the 35 U.S.C 112 rejections were found to be persuasive. The 35 U.S.C 112 rejections have been overcome. The arguments and remarks regarding the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections were found to be persuasive however the amendments have necessitated a change in the references applied resulting in new grounds of rejection. The 35 U.S.C 103 rejections have been maintained.
35 U.S.C 102/103
Applicant’s response:
Applicant asserts “the cited references fail to teach or suggest the wide- diagonal convolution architecture limitation recited in amended claims 1 and 24. To support a prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, an examiner must establish ‘a finding that the prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.’ M.P.E.P. § 2143(A) (citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)). Here, the cited references do not include the claimed wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix. Hong teaches a molecular generative model where the SMILES representation of molecular structure is adopted as input to the model and transformed to a latent representation. However, Hong does not disclose or teach an encoder that comprises a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix as now recited by amended claim 1. Gao teaches a dynamic graph encoder where "the base model of our graph convolutional network for each snapshot graph is inspired by graph2seq, which was originally proposed for addressing static graph-to-sequence learning problems" and "employs an inductive node embedding algorithm that generates bi-directional node embeddings by aggregating information from a node local forward and backward neighborhood within k hops." Gao, Section IV.A. Gao does not disclose or suggest a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix. The Examiner's rationale for combining Hong and Gao does not provide any motivation to modify the encoder architecture to include a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix as recited by amended claims 1 and 24. …
Hamilton does not cure the deficiencies of Hong and Gao with respect to the wide-diagonal convolution architecture limitation of claim 1. Accordingly, claim 2 is allowable for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
Claims 4 and 6 ultimately depend from claim 1. However, Odena does not disclose or suggest a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix. Claims 11-15 depend from claim 6, which depends from claim 4, which depends from claim 2, which depends from claim 1. Accordingly, claims 4, 6, and 11-15 are allowable for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim 7 depends from claim 5, which depends from claim 3, which depends from claim 1. De Cao does not disclose or suggest a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix. De Cao does not cure the deficiencies of Hong and Gao with respect to the wide-diagonal convolution architecture limitation recited in amended claim 1. Accordingly, claim 7 is allowable for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
Claims 16 and 21 depend from claims 1 and 5, respectively. Claim 5 depends from claim 3, which depends from claim 1. Armitage does not disclose or suggest a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix. Armitage does not cure the deficiencies of Hong and Gao with respect to the wide-diagonal convolution architecture limitation recited in amended claim 1. Accordingly, claims 16 and 21 are allowable for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim 22 depends from claim 5, which depends from claim 3, which depends from claim 1. Ghiandoni teaches that chemical transformations can be represented using linear notations and that "SMILES strings do not allow the specification of substructure queries; however, reaction queries can be generated using an extension of the SMILES named SMIRKS." Ghiandoni, Figure 1.7. Ghiandoni does not disclose or suggest a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix. Ghiandoni does not cure the deficiencies of Hong and Gao with respect to the wide-diagonal convolution architecture limitation recited in amended claim 1. Accordingly, claim 22 is allowable for at least the same reasons as claim 1. Claims 3, 5, 8-10, 17-20, 23, 25, and 27-29 depend from claims 1 or 24 and are therefore allowable for at least the same reasons as their respective independent claims.”.
Examiner’s response:
Applicant’s arguments and remarks are considered but are considered moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-10, 17-20, 23-25, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (“Molecular Generative Model Based on an Adversarially Regularized Autoencoder” hereinafter, Hong) in view of Gao et al. (“DynGraph2Seq: Dynamic-Graph-to-Sequence Interpretable Learning for Health Stage Prediction in Online Health Forums” hereinafter, Gao) in further view of Luo et al. (“Deep Learning of Graphs with Ngram Convolutional Neural Networks” hereinafter, Luo”).
Regarding claim 1 (currently amended):
Hong teaches a method for training a model to generate an object, the method comprising an autoencoder step comprising (see abstract: “We also demonstrated a successful conditional generation of drug-like molecules with ARAE for the control of both cases of single and multiple properties. As a potential real-world application, we could generate epidermal growth factor receptor inhibitors sharing the scaffolds of known active molecules while satisfying drug-like conditions simultaneously.”):
providing an variational, adversarial or combination of variational and adversarial autoencoder architecture configured as a graph-to-sequence (G2S) model (see fig. 1 which shows an adversarial autoencoder architecture that takes a graph (molecule) and creates a sequence (SMILES). Also see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “Figure 1 illustrates the architecture of the CARAE model for molecular generations. SMILES sequences are transformed by the encoder into latent variables”. );
inputting graph data for a plurality of real objects into an encoder of the G2S model (see fig. 1 which shows an adversarial autoencoder architecture that takes a graph (molecule) as input into the encoder of the G2S model);
…
generating sequence data from latent space data with a decoder of the G2S model (see fig. 1 which shows an adversarial autoencoder architecture that takes generates sequence data, SMILES, from the latent space data with a decoder of the G2S model);
generating discriminator output data from a discriminator of the G2S model (see fig. 1 which shows a “real” or “fake” output from a discriminator of the G2S model);
performing an optimization for the encoder and decoder (see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “Figure 1 illustrates the architecture of the CARAE model for molecular generations. SMILES sequences are transformed by the encoder into latent variables. The generator produces new samples by taking random variables from a distribution (0, )I 2 5 σ . Then, the distributions of these two variables become as similar as possible by minimizing the first and the second term of eq 8 with gradient descent optimization”);
and reporting a trained G2S model in response to performing the autoencoder step, a generator step, and a discriminator step (see fig. 2: “Convergence of the four evaluation metrics for the ARAE model trained with the QM9 dataset.”).
Hong does not explicitly teach wherein the graph data for each real object includes an adjacency matrix representing connections between a plurality of nodes of the graph data and a node feature matrix representing attributes of each node.
Gao, however, analogously teaches wherein the graph data for each real object includes an adjacency matrix representing connections between a plurality of nodes of the graph data and a node feature matrix representing attributes of each node (see pg. 1044 section III. A. : “Definition 1. (dynamic graph). A dynamic graph G = {G1,G2, ··· ,GT} is an ordered sequence of t=1,··· ,T separate graphs on the same set of |V| =N nodes, with each snapshot graph Gt(V,Et) characterized by a weighted adjacency matrix At ∈RN×N and a set of node features Ft∈RN×D for a given time window ,where D represents the total number of node features.”. Also see fig. 3 that shows the dynamic graph encoder as well as the graph object inputs. Also see pg. 1042 section abstract: “Our proposed DynGraph2Seq model consists of a novel dynamic graph encoder and an interpretable sequence decoder that learn the mapping between a sequence of time-evolving user activity graphs and a sequence of target health stages.”)
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hong and Gao before him or her, to modify the method of claim 1 to include attributes of wherein the graph data for each real object includes an adjacency matrix representing connections between a plurality of nodes of the graph data and a node feature matrix representing attributes of each node in order to help capture the complex dynamic characteristics and time-evolving features of graphs (see pg. 1044 section III. A. : “that capture the complex dynamic characteristics and time-evolving features of graphs, as defined in the following. Definition 1. (dynamic graph). A dynamic graph G = {G1,G2, ··· ,GT} is an ordered sequence of t=1,··· ,T separate graphs on the same set of |V| =N nodes, with each snapshot graph Gt(V,Et) characterized by a weighted adjacency matrix At ∈RN×N and a set of node features Ft∈RN×D for a given time window ,where D represents the total number of node features.”.”).
Hong does not explicitly teach wherein the encoder comprises a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix.
Luo, however, analogously teaches a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix (see pg. 2131 section 3.7: “Given that the window size of n is not sufficient to capture all substructure features for a graph of size larger than n, such as the example graph of size 10, to capture more complex substructure features beyond the window size of n, we introduce a deep convolutional structure on top of the diagonal convolution layer. Concretely, by taking the diagonal features P0 as input, we use a sequential diagonal convolution to get the first deep feature P”).
`Before effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hong, Gao, and Luo before him or her, to modify the method of claim 1 to include attributes of a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix in order to extract interesting local patterns and connectivity hidden features (see pg. 2126 section 1: Second, we introduce the concept of diagonal convolution with n-gram normalization to extract interesting local patterns and connectivity features hidden in these n-gram blocks. By leveraging n-gram normalization and diagonal convolution as the optimized initialization step, our approach allows early pruning of those blocks that contain no edge connectivity between any pair of vertices in a graph and thus do not contribute to the classification of the given collection of graphs.”).
Regarding claim 3 (currently amended):
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 1.
Hong further teaches inputting the sample data of a normal distribution into a generator of the G2S model (see fig. 1 showing the normal distribution ‘s’ being input into the generator of the G2S model);
generating discriminator sample data with the discriminator (see pg. 30 section ‘Previous Works’: “GANs estimate the distribution of input samples, pr(x), through the adversarial training of the generator network and discriminator network. … As a result of the adversarial training of these two networks, the distributions of data samples pr(x) and of the generated samples pg(x) become equivalent, that is, pr(x) = pg(x)”);
performing an optimization for the generator (see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “Figure 1 illustrates the architecture of the CARAE model for molecular generations. SMILES sequences are transformed by the encoder into latent variables. The generator produces new samples by taking random variables from a distribution (0, )I 2 5 σ . Then, the distributions of these two variables become as similar as possible by minimizing the first and the second term of eq 8 with gradient descent optimization”);
Regarding claim 5 (currently amended):
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 3.
Hong further teaches computing an effectiveness of the discriminator (see pg. 30 section ‘Previous Works’: “where fw is a discriminator (critic) function parameterized by w satisfying the 1-Lipschitz continuity ∥fw∥ ≤ 1”);
performing an optimization for the discriminator using the computed effectiveness (see pg. 30 section ‘Previous Works’: “As a result of the adversarial training of these two networks, the distributions of data samples pr(x) and of the generated samples pg(x) become equivalent, that is, pr(x) = pg(x).”).
Regarding claim 8:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 1.
Hong further teaches obtaining real object data having sequence data and property data of sequences in the sequence data (see fig. 1 which takes real molecule graph which has SMILES sequence data); and
transforming the sequence data into the graph data (see fig. 1 where the SMILES sequence denoted as yc is fed through a decoder which outputs a molecule).
Regarding claim 9:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 5.
Hong further teaches performing an optimization protocol to optimize generation of the objects, each object having a predetermined property (see table 5 which shows the different optimizers being used for generation. Also see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “In the encoding phase, therefore, we need to construct the latent vector z by removing a property-associated attribute which we want to substitute with yc as a condition in the decoding phase.”.).
Regarding claim 10:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 9.
Hong further teaches wherein the optimization protocol conditions generation of the objects based on the predetermined property (see table 5 which shows the different optimizers being used for generation. Also see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “In the encoding phase, therefore, we need to construct the latent vector z by removing a property-associated attribute which we want to substitute with yc as a condition in the decoding phase.”.),
wherein the condition are real valued vectors of the predetermined property directly passed into the latent space of the G2S model (see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “In the encoding phase, therefore, we need to construct the latent vector z by removing a property-associated attribute which we want to substitute with yc as a condition in the decoding phase.”.).
Regarding claim 17:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 1.
Hong further teaches wherein the real objects are molecules and the properties of the molecules are biochemical properties and/or structural properties (see fig. 1 where the input to the encoder is a structural representation of a molecule).
Regarding claim 18:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 1.
Hong further teaches wherein the sequence data includes SMILES, InChI, SYBYL line notation (SLN), SMILES arbitrary target specification (SMARTS), Wiswesser line notation (WLN), ROSDAL, or combinations thereof (see pg. 34 section ‘Implementation Details’: “The LSTM layer of the encoder reads sequential SMILES strings and transforms them to the latent vectors”).
Regarding claim 19:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 1.
Hong further teaches wherein the G2S model includes a machine learning platform, which includes at least two machine learning models that are neural networks selected from the group consisting of fully connected neural networks, convolutional neural networks, graph neural networks, and recurrent neural networks (see table 4 which denotes the encoder and decoder as each being graph neural networks).
Regarding claim 20:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 19.
Hong further teaches wherein the machine learning platform includes at least two machine learning algorithms that are a reinforcement learning algorithm and a Bayesian optimization algorithm (see pg. 33-34 section ‘De Novo Design of EGFR Inhibitors’: “For both scenarios, we evaluate the EGFR inhibition activity of the generated molecules by using the Bayesian graph convolutional network (Bayesian GCN) developed in our previous work.44 The Bayesian GCN was first trained and tested with the EGFR subset in the DUD-E set and then applied to the molecules generated by each scenario. The results are shown in Table 3.”. Also see pg. 35 section ‘Implementation Details’: “In the inference phase, we obtained the predictive distribution with the number of Monte Carlo sampling of 50 for Bayesian inference.”).
Regarding claim 23:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 1.
Hong further teaches wherein the real objects are images and the properties are descriptions having sequences of natural language words (see fig. 1: “. Architecture of CARAE for molecular generations. The encoder embeds the SMILES representation of the molecular structure x to the latent vector z, and the decoder reconstructs the molecular structures from the latent vector”. Also see pg. 34 section ‘Implementation Details’: “The LSTM layer of the encoder reads sequential SMILES strings and transforms them to the latent vectors”).
Regarding claim 24 (currently amended):
Hong teaches a method of generating an object, the method comprising (see fig. 1: “Architecture of CARAE for molecular generations.”):
providing a graph-to-sequence (G2S) model (see fig. 1 where a graph, a molecule with its structure, transforms to a SMILES representation in an adversarial autoencoder model. Also see pg. 34 section ‘Implementation Details’: “The LSTM layer of the encoder reads sequential SMILES strings and transforms them to the latent vectors”);
inputting graph data of real objects and properties thereof into the G2S model (see fig. 1 where a graph of a real molecular structure and its properties are inputted into the G2S model);
training the G2S model with the graph data and property data to obtain a trained G2S model (see fig. 1: “Architecture of CARAE for molecular generations. The encoder embeds the SMILES representation of the molecular structure x to the latent vector z, and the decoder reconstructs the molecular structures from the latent vector. As a result of the adversarial training, two distributions pθ(z|x) and pψ(z) become equivalent.”);
inputting desired property data of a desired property into the trained G2S model (see fig. 1: “. In the decoding phase, the specified property information yc is incorporated together with the latent vector to generate the molecules with specific desired properties.”);
generating a new object with the desired property with the trained G2S model (see fig. 1: “. In the decoding phase, the specified property information yc is incorporated together with the latent vector to generate the molecules with specific desired properties.”); and
reporting the new object that has the desired property (see fig. 1: “. In the decoding phase, the specified property information yc is incorporated together with the latent vector to generate the molecules with specific desired properties.”)
Hong does not explicitly teach wherein the graph data of the real objects includes an adjacency matrix representing connections between a plurality of nodes of the graph data and a node feature matrix representing attributes.
Gao, however, analogously teaches wherein the graph data of the real objects includes an adjacency matrix representing connections between a plurality of nodes of the graph data and a node feature matrix representing attributes (see pg. 1044 section III. A. : “Definition 1. (dynamic graph). A dynamic graph G = {G1,G2, ··· ,GT} is an ordered sequence of t=1,··· ,T separate graphs on the same set of |V| =N nodes, with each snapshot graph Gt(V,Et) characterized by a weighted adjacency matrix At ∈RN×N and a set of node features Ft∈RN×D for a given time window ,where D represents the total number of node features.”. Also see fig. 3 that shows the dynamic graph encoder as well as the graph object inputs. Also see pg. 1042 section abstract: “Our proposed DynGraph2Seq model consists of a novel dynamic graph encoder and an interpretable sequence decoder that learn the mapping between a sequence of time-evolving user activity graphs and a sequence of target health stages.”)
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hong and Gao before him or her, to modify the method of claim 24 to include attributes of wherein the graph data for each real object includes an adjacency matrix representing connections between a plurality of nodes of the graph data and a node feature matrix representing attributes of each node in order to help capture the complex dynamic characteristics and time-evolving features of graphs (see pg. 1044 section III. A. : “that capture the complex dynamic characteristics and time-evolving features of graphs, as defined in the following. Definition 1. (dynamic graph). A dynamic graph G = {G1,G2, ··· ,GT} is an ordered sequence of t=1,··· ,T separate graphs on the same set of |V| =N nodes, with each snapshot graph Gt(V,Et) characterized by a weighted adjacency matrix At ∈RN×N and a set of node features Ft∈RN×D for a given time window ,where D represents the total number of node features.”.”).
Hong does not explicitly teach wherein the encoder comprises a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix.
Luo, however, analogously teaches a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix (see pg. 2131 section 3.7: “Given that the window size of n is not sufficient to capture all substructure features for a graph of size larger than n, such as the example graph of size 10, to capture more complex substructure features beyond the window size of n, we introduce a deep convolutional structure on top of the diagonal convolution layer. Concretely, by taking the diagonal features P0 as input, we use a sequential diagonal convolution to get the first deep feature P”).
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hong, Gao, and Luo before him or her, to modify the method of claim 24 to include attributes of a wide-diagonal convolution architecture that applies convolution filters on diagonal submatrices of the adjacency matrix in order to extract interesting local patterns and connectivity hidden features (see pg. 2126 section 1: Second, we introduce the concept of diagonal convolution with n-gram normalization to extract interesting local patterns and connectivity features hidden in these n-gram blocks. By leveraging n-gram normalization and diagonal convolution as the optimized initialization step, our approach allows early pruning of those blocks that contain no edge connectivity between any pair of vertices in a graph and thus do not contribute to the classification of the given collection of graphs.”).
Regarding claim 25:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 24.
Hong further teaches synthesizing a real molecule based on the new object having the desired property, wherein the desired property includes biochemical properties and structural properties of a molecule (see pg. 34 ‘Conclusions’: “To demonstrate potential real-world applications, we applied the conditional generation scheme to designing EGFR inhibitors. We could successfully generate new candidate compounds while satisfying drug-like conditions simultaneously.”. Also see pg. 33 section ‘Results and Discussion’: “Generation with the four conditions: activity=1, log P= 2.5, SAS=1.5, and TPSA=60. It was intended to generate molecules satisfying Lipinski’s rule offive43 and synthesizability.”); and
validating the new object to have the desired property (see fig. 1: “In the inference phase, we can sample new molecules by tuning the latent vector which is drawn from pψ(z) and by specifying the desired ̃ property yc.”).
Regarding claim 27:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 24.
Hong further teaches wherein generating a real image based on the new object having the desired property, wherein the desired property includes descriptions having sequences of natural language words (see fig. 1: “Architecture of CARAE for molecular generations. The encoder embeds the SMILES representation of the molecular structure x to the latent vector z, and the decoder reconstructs the molecular structures from the latent vector”. Also see pg. 34 section ‘Implementation Details’: “The LSTM layer of the encoder reads sequential SMILES strings and transforms them to the latent vectors”); and
validating the real image to have the desired property (see fig. 1: “In the inference phase, we can sample new molecules by tuning the latent vector which is drawn from pψ(z) and by specifying the desired ̃ property yc.”).
Regarding claim 28:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 24.
Hong further teaches inputting sample data of a normal distribution into the generator of the G2S model (see fig. 1 showing a sample data of a normal distribution into the generator of the G2S model);
conditioning latent vector data in the latent space with at least one desired property of the object based on concatenation of a real-valued property vector with the latent vector (see fig. 1 showing the specific desired property yc being incorporated with the latent vector data. Also see fig.1: “As a result of the adversarial training, two distributions pθ(z|x) and pψ(z̃) become equivalent.”);
inputting conditioned latent vector data into the decoder (see fig. 1 showing the specific desired property yc being incorporated with the latent vector data to be inputted into the decoder ); and
generating sequence data of a generated object having the at least one desired property by executing the decoder on a computing system to produce a machine-readable sequence representation (see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “Figure 1 illustrates the architecture of the CARAE model for molecular generations. SMILES sequences are transformed by the encoder into latent variables.”. Also see pg. 33 section ‘Results and Discussion’: “We investigated how accurate the target properties of molecules generated by CARAE are. The conditional generator produced 10000molecules with a given target property. Figure4comparesthenormalizedfrequencyof the condition ally generated molecules for each property and the natural population of the ZINC set molecules; the molecular properties for both cases were computed by RDKit.” ([Examiner note: i.e., emphasis added. RDKit is an open-source collection of cheminformatics and machine-learning software written in C++ and Python. Hong would have had to use a computing system to utilize the RDKit.)]).
Regarding claim 29:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 28.
Hong further teaches wherein the normal distribution is a normal distribution of real objects having the at least one desired property (see pg. 32 section ‘Results and Discussion’: “Diversity: (1.0 similarity N ij i ij) 1 , − ∑ > for all N molecule pairs (i, j > i) in the test set. The similarity between two molecules was computed with Tanimoto similarity40 between their Morgan fingerprints41 with radius of 4 and 2048 bits.”).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (“Molecular Generative Model Based on an Adversarially Regularized Autoencoder” hereinafter, Hong) in view of Gao et al. (“DynGraph2Seq: Dynamic-Graph-to-Sequence Interpretable Learning for Health Stage Prediction in Online Health Forums” hereinafter, Gao) in further view of Luo et al. (“Deep Learning of Graphs with Ngram Convolutional Neural Networks” hereinafter, Luo”) in further view of Hamilton (“Yes, No, Maybe So: Tips and Tricks for Using 0/1 Binary Variables” hereinafter, Hamilton).
Regarding claim 2 (currently amended):
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 1.
Hong further teaches obtaining graph data for a plurality of real objects (see pg. 32 section ‘Results and Discussion’: “To train and test our model, we used the QM9 and ZINC datasets. The QM9 set contains 133 885 small organic molecules with up to nine heavy atoms.”);
inputting the graph data into an encoder (see fig. 1 showing the input of molecule data into the encoder of the G2S model);
generating latent data having latent vectors in a latent space from the graph data with the encoder (see fig. 1 showing the latent vector space);
obtaining property data of the real objects (see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “The above equation states that molecules having desired properties can be generated by sampling latent vectors from an approximate posterior pψ(z) and marginalizing the product between pψ(z) and the conditional distribution pϕ(x′|z,yc), where yc denotes a condition vector delivering target property information. We add the target property information, yc, to the latent vector z in the decoding process. In the encoding phase, therefore, we need to construct the latent vector z by removing a property-associated attribute which we want to substitute with yc as a condition in the decoding phase”);
concatenating the latent vectors from the graph data with the property data in the latent space (see fig.1: “In the decoding phase, the specified property information yc is incorporated together with the latent vector to generate the molecules with specific desired properties.”);
inputting latent space data into a decoder (see fig.1 showing latent space data going into a decoder);
generating sequence data from the latent space data with the decoder, wherein the sequence data represents real objects and includes symbol logits (see pg. 31 section ‘Previous Works’ subsection ‘Adversarially Regularized Autoencoder’: “The decoder network parameterized by ϕ reconstructs the input from the latent variable drawn from the posterior.”. Also see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “Figure 1 illustrates the architecture of the CARAE model for molecular generations. SMILES sequences are transformed by the encoder into latent variables.”. Also see fig. 1: “Figure 1. Architecture of CARAE for molecular generations. The encoder embeds the SMILES representation of the molecular structure x to the latent vector z, and the decoder reconstructs the molecular structures from the latent vector”) [(Examiner’s note: i.e., emphasis added. A person having ordinary skill in the art could understand logits (every instance of this term in the claims will be held under this interpretation) to mean the raw unnormalized direct outputs of the neural network before they have gone through an activation function)];
computing a log-likelihood between the symbol logits of the sequence data and sequence data of the obtained graph data (see pg. 30: “The minimization objective of VAEs is given by
where
is the reconstruction loss and d KL(qθ(z|x)||p(z)) is the Kullback−Leibler (KL) divergence between the variational distribution qθ(z|x) and the prior distribution p(z).”);
inputting latent space data into a discriminator (see fig.1 showing the latent space distribution of pθ(z|x) being inputted into the discriminator);
generating discriminator output data from the discriminator, wherein the discriminator output data includes discriminator logits see fig. 1 where the discriminator outputs raw unnormalized data that eventually goes through a LReLU function (table 4))
[(Examiner’s note: i.e., emphasis added. A person having ordinary skill in the art could understand logits to mean the raw unnormalized direct outputs of the neural network before they have gone through an activation function)];
computing a log-likelihood of the discriminator logits and labels "(see pg. 30: “The minimization objective of VAEs is given by
where
is the reconstruction loss and d KL(qθ(z|x)||p(z)) is the Kullback−Leibler (KL) divergence between the variational distribution qθ(z|x) and the prior distribution p(z).”. Also see fig. 1 which shows the output of the discriminator being either real or fake data [sic – a binary output]);)
performing a gradient step for the encoder and decoder (see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “Figure 1 illustrates the architecture of the CARAE model for molecular generations. SMILES sequences are transformed by the encoder into latent variables. The generator produces new samples by taking random variables from a distribution (0, )I 2 5 σ . Then, the distributions of these two variables become as similar as possible by minimizing the first and the second term of eq 8 with gradient descent optimization”).
Hong does not explicitly teach wherein labels can be labeled as 1.
Hamilton, however, teaches analogously wherein labels can be labeled as 1 (see table 2 which shows total number of “yes’s as total number of “1”s).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hong, Gao, Luo, and Hamilton before him or her, to modify the method of claim 2 to include attributes of labels being labeled with “1”, a binary unit, in order to avoid mistakes in value assignment (see Hamilton pg. 1 subsection ‘Why Use 0/1 Instead of Y/N’: “But character variables containing alphabetic values are notoriously susceptible to mistakes in value assignment (remember those ‘y’ and ‘n’ values when the database codebook indicated all ‘Y’s and ‘N’s?). Limiting the valid values to 0 or 1 in a numeric field sidesteps some of the problems associated with ‘Y’/’N’ coding such as that described above.”).
Claims 4, 6, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (“Molecular Generative Model Based on an Adversarially Regularized Autoencoder” hereinafter, Hong) in view of Gao et al (“DynGraph2Seq: Dynamic-Graph-to-Sequence Interpretable Learning for Health Stage Prediction in Online Health Forums” hereinafter, Gao) in further view of Luo et al. (“Deep Learning of Graphs with Ngram Convolutional Neural Networks” hereinafter, Luo”) in further view of Hamilton (“Yes, No, Maybe So: Tips and Tricks for Using 0/1 Binary Variables” hereinafter, Hamilton) in further view of Odena et al. (“Is Generator Conditioning Causally Related to GAN Performance?” hereinafter, Odena).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended):
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo in further view of Hamilton teaches the method of claim 2.
Hong further teaches obtaining sample samples (see fig. 1 showing the normal distribution ‘s’ being input into the generator of the G2S model)
inputting the sample data into a generator (see fig. 1 showing the normal distribution ‘s’ being input into the generator of the G2S model);
generating sample latent vectors with the generator, wherein the sample latent vectors are in the latent space (see fig. 1 showing the latent vector space);
concatenating the property data with the sample latent vectors (see fig.1: “In the decoding phase, the specified property information yc is incorporated together with the latent vector to generate the molecules with specific desired properties.”);
inputting latent space data into the discriminator to obtain discriminator sample data having sample logits (see fig. 1 where latent space data is inputted into the discriminator having sample logits);
computing a log-likelihood of the discriminator output logits (see pg. 30: “The minimization objective of VAEs is given by
where
is the reconstruction loss and d KL(qθ(z|x)||p(z)) is the Kullback−Leibler (KL) divergence between the variational distribution qθ(z|x) and the prior distribution p(z).”) and
labels "
(see fig. 1 which shows the output of the discriminator being either real or fake data [sic – a binary output])
performing a gradient descent step for the generator (see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “Figure 1 illustrates the architecture of the CARAE model for molecular generations. SMILES sequences are transformed by the encoder into latent variables. The generator produces new samples by taking random variables from a distribution (0, )I 2 5 σ . Then, the distributions of these two variables become as similar as possible by minimizing the first and the second term of eq 8 with gradient descent optimization”); and
reporting a generator trained G2S model (see fig. 2: “Convergence of the four evaluation metrics for the ARAE model trained with the QM9 dataset.”).
Hong does not explicitly teach wherein labels can be labeled as 1.
Hamilton, however, teaches analogously wherein labels can be labeled as 1 (see table 2 which shows total number of “yes’s as total number of “1”s).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hong, Gao, Luo, and Hamilton before him or her, to modify the method of claim 4 to include attributes of labels being labeled with “1”, a binary unit, in order to avoid mistakes in value assignment (see Hamilton pg. 1 subsection ‘Why Use 0/1 Instead of Y/N’: “But character variables containing alphabetic values are notoriously susceptible to mistakes in value assignment (remember those ‘y’ and ‘n’ values when the database codebook indicated all ‘Y’s and ‘N’s?). Limiting the valid values to 0 or 1 in a numeric field sidesteps some of the problems associated with ‘Y’/’N’ coding such as that described above.”).
Hong does not explicitly teach computing a Jacobian clamping term for the generator.
Odena, however, teaches analogously computing a Jacobian clamping term for the generator (see pg. 6 section 4: “Jacobian Clamping directly controls the condition number of Mz. We show (across 3 standard datasets) that when we implement Jacobian Clamping, the condition number of the generator is decreased, and there is a corresponding improvement in the quality of the scores. This is evidence in favor of the hypothesis that ill-conditioning of Mz “causes” bad scores … Specifically, we train the same models as from the previous section using Jacobian Clamping with a λmax of 20, a λmin of 1, and _ of 1 and hold everything else the same. As in the previous section, we conducted 10 training runs for each dataset. Broadly speaking, the effect of Jacobian Clamping was to prevent the GANs from falling into the ill conditioned cluster. This improved the average case performance, but didn’t improve the best case performance.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hong, Gao, Luo, Hamilton, and Odena before him or her, to modify the method of claim 4 to include attributes of Jacobian clamping term for the generator in order to improve average case performance (see Odena at pg. 6 section 4 ‘Jacobian Clamping’ subsection ‘Jacobian Clamping Improves Mean Score and Reduces Variance of Scores’: “Broadly speaking, the effect of Jacobian Clamping was to prevent the GANs from falling into the ill-conditioned cluster. This improved the average case performance, but didn’t improve the best case performance.”).
Regarding claim 6:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo in further view of Hamilton in further view of Odena teaches the method of claim 4.
Hong further teaches computing a log-likelihood of the discriminator output logits (see pg. 30: “The minimization objective of VAEs is given by
where
is the reconstruction loss and d KL(qθ(z|x)||p(z)) is the Kullback−Leibler (KL) divergence between the variational distribution qθ(z|x) and the prior distribution p(z).”) and
labels “(see fig. 1 which shows the output of the discriminator being either real or fake data [sic – a binary output]);
performing a gradient descent step for the discriminator using outcome from the log-likelihood of the discriminator logits (see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “Figure 1 illustrates the architecture of the CARAE model for molecular generations. SMILES sequences are transformed by the encoder into latent variables. The generator produces new samples by taking random variables from a distribution (0, )I 2 5 σ . Then, the distributions of these two variables become as similar as possible by minimizing the first and the second term of eq 8 with gradient descent optimization.”. Also see eq. 8: “
”.) and
labels "(see fig. 1 which shows the output of the discriminator being either real or fake data [sic – a binary output]); and
reporting a discriminator trained G2S model (see fig. 2: “Convergence of the four evaluation metrics for the ARAE model trained with the QM9 dataset.”)
Hong does not explicitly teach wherein labels can be labeled as 1.
Hamilton, however, teaches analogously wherein labels can be labeled as 1 (see table 2 which shows total number of “yes’s as total number of “1”s) and wherein labels can be labeled 0 (see table 2 which shows total number of “no’s as total number of “0”s).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hong, Gao, Luo, Hamilton, and Odena before him or her, to modify the method of claim 6 to include attributes of labels being labeled with “1”, a binary unit, and “0”, a binary unit, in order to avoid mistakes in value assignment (see Hamilton at pg. 1 subsection ‘Why Use 0/1 Instead of Y/N’: “But character variables containing alphabetic values are notoriously susceptible to mistakes in value assignment (remember those ‘y’ and ‘n’ values when the database codebook indicated all ‘Y’s and ‘N’s?). Limiting the valid values to 0 or 1 in a numeric field sidesteps some of the problems associated with ‘Y’/’N’ coding such as that described above.”).
Regarding claim 11:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo in further view of Hamilton in further view of Odena teaches the method of claim 6.
Hong further teaches comprising an optimization protocol that includes a reinforcement learning protocol, comprising (see pg. 35 section ‘Implementation Details’: “We trained the Bayesian graph convolutional network with the number of graph convolution layers of four, a dropout rate of 0.2, and a weight decay coefficient of 10−6 with the EGFR subset of the DUD-E dataset. We split the entire subset into 80:20 for the training and test. In the training phase, we used a batch size of 128 and a training epoch of 50 and a learning rate of 0.1 at 20 and 40 epochs. In the inference phase, we obtained the predictive distribution with the number of Monte Carlo sampling of 50 for Bayesian inference.”):
a) inputting sample data for a normal distribution into the generator (see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “Figure 1 illustrates the architecture of the CARAE model for molecular generations. SMILES sequences are transformed by the encoder into latent variables. The generator produces new samples by taking random variables from a distribution (0, )I 2 5 σ .”);
b) obtaining sample latent vectors with the generator (see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “Figure 1 illustrates the architecture of the CARAE model for molecular generations. SMILES sequences are transformed by the encoder into latent variables. The generator produces new samples by taking random variables from a distribution (0, )I 2 5 σ .”);
c) obtaining generated objects using the decoder (see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “Figure 1 illustrates the architecture of the CARAE model for molecular generations. SMILES sequences are transformed by the encoder into latent variables. The generator produces new samples by taking random variables from a distribution (0, )I 2 5 σ .”);
d) calculating properties of the generated objects, the calculated properties having desired properties (see pg. 32 section ‘Methods’: “In the training phase, the decoder reconstructs input molecular structures from the latent vector and property information of input molecules. In the inference phase, we can sample new molecules by tuning the latent vector which is drawn from pψ(z) and by specifying the desired property yc.”);
e) when the calculated properties of a sub-set of generated objects are sufficiently close to the desired properties, the parameters of the generator and decoder change to provide an improved latent manifold of the latent space, the improved latent manifold having desired objects with the desired properties (see fig. 1: “As a result of the adversarial training, two distributions pθ(z|x) and pψ(z) become ̃ equivalent. The predictor is trained to predict an original molecular property y and separate this information from the latent vector by minimizing the mutual information term in eq 8. In the decoding phase, the specified property information yc is incorporated together with the latent vector to generate the molecules with specific desired properties”);
f) repeating steps a) through e) until convergence (see fig. 1: “As a result of the adversarial training, two distributions pθ(z|x) and pψ(z) become ̃ equivalent.”); and
g) providing at least one object having the desired properties (see fig. 1: “In the decoding phase, the specified property information yc is incorporated together with the latent vector to generate the molecules with specific desired properties”).
Regarding claim 12:
Hong in view of Gao in further view Luo in further view of Hamilton in further view of Odena teaches the method of claim 11.
Hong further teaches wherein the desired properties are selected from solubility, lipophilicity, quantitative estimation of drug likeness, Tanimoto similarity with a target molecule, or combinations thereof (see pg. 32 section ‘Results and Discussion’: “The similarity between two molecules was computed with Tanimoto similarity40 between their Morgan fingerprints41 with radius of 4 and 2048 bits.”).
Regarding claim 13:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo in further view of Hamilton in further view of Odena teaches the method of claim 6.
Hong further teaches comprising an optimization protocol that includes a Bayesian optimization protocol on the latent space, comprising (see pg. 35 section ‘Implementation Details’: “We trained the Bayesian graph convolutional network with the number of graph convolution layers of four, a dropout rate of 0.2, and a weight decay coefficient of 10−6 with the EGFR subset of the DUD-E dataset. We split the entire subset into 80:20 for the training and test. In the training phase, we used a batch size of 128 and a training epoch of 50 and a learning rate of 0.1 at 20 and 40 epochs. In the inference phase, we obtained the predictive distribution with the number of Monte Carlo sampling of 50 for Bayesian inference.”):
a) providing the G2S model (see fig. 1 which shows an adversarial autoencoder architecture that takes a graph [sic – molecule] and creates a sequence [sic – SMILE]. Also see pg. 31 section ‘Methods’: “Figure 1 illustrates the architecture of the CARAE model for molecular generations. SMILES sequences are transformed by the encoder into latent variables”. )
b) obtaining a batch of points from an identified area in the latent space, the identified area having latent vectors of the objects with the desired properties (see fig.3: “Molecules reconstructed from the latent vectors that appeared in the interpolation among two latent vectors. The starting and ending points are the latent vectors of aspirin and Tamiflu, respectively.”);
c) generating objects with the decoder (see fig. 1 which shows the decoder generating molecules);
d) calculating properties of the decoder-generated objects (see fig. 1: “In the decoding phase, the specified property information yc is incorporated together with the latent vector to generate the molecules with specific desired properties”);
e) updating the G2S model with batch of points from step b) and calculated properties from step d) (see pg. 35 section ‘Implementation Details’: “We split the entire subset into 80:20 for the training and test. In the training phase, we used a batch size of 128 and a training epoch of 50 and a learning rate of 0.1 at 20 and 40 epochs.”. Also see pg. 31 section ‘Previous Works’ subsection ‘Adversarially Regularized Autoencoder’: “As ARAE aims to estimate the posterior distribution by generating a distribution similar to that of the generator, the training objective is given by
With the 1-Lipschitz continuity ||fw|| ≤ 1.”. );
f) repeating steps a) through e) until convergence (see pg. 31 section ‘Previous Works’ subsection ‘Adversarially Regularized Autoencoder’: “As a result of training, the two distributions pθ and pψ become identical, and we can generate new samples by using random variables sampled from pψ as an input to the decoder.”); and
g) providing at least one object having the desired properties (see fig. 1: “In the decoding phase, the specified property information yc is incorporated together with the latent vector to generate the molecules with specific desired properties”).
Regarding claim 14:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo in further view of Hamilton in further view of Odena teaches the method of claim 6.
Hong further teaches performing a generative topographic mapping protocol, comprising (see fig. 1: “Architecture of CARAE for molecular generations.”. Also see pg. 32 section ‘Results and Discussion’: “Also, we note the abbreviations of three molecular properties used for conditional generations: octanol− water partition coefficient (log P), topological polar surface area (TPSA), and synthetic accessibility score (SAS)”):
a) obtaining a set of objects having desired properties (pg. 30 section ‘Introduction’: “We also introduced a conditional ARAE to generate molecules with desired properties”);
b) obtaining latent vectors of the set of objects with the encoder (see fig. 1 showing latent vectors deriving from the encoder)
c) translating the latent vectors of the set of objects into a 2D map with the properties identified on the 2D map (see fig. 1 showing latent vectors deriving from the encoder from the 2D [sic – a molecular structure])
d) selecting at least one region of the 2D map having the desired properties (see fig. 1 where at least one region of a 2D map [sic – a molecular structure] is selected for input into an encoder);
e) translating the at least one region into a G2S latent space (see pg. 34 section ‘Implementation Details’: “The LSTM layer of the encoder reads sequential SMILES strings and transforms them to the latent vectors”);
f) generating objects using the decoder (see pg. 31 section ‘Previous Works’ subsection ‘Adversarially Regularized Autoencoder’: “As a result of training, the two distributions pθ and pψ become identical, and we can generate new samples by using random variables sampled from pψ as an input to the decoder.”);
g) calculating properties of the generated objects (see pg. 30 section ‘Introduction’: “We also introduced a conditional ARAE to generate molecules with desired properties. Specifically, we adopted a variational mutual information minimization framework to manipulate latent variables with target properties. As a result, we could produce unseen molecules having designated molecular properties with a high success rate.”);
h) updating the 2D map with objects generated by the decoder and with calculated properties from step g) (see fig. 1: “In the decoding phase, the specified property information yc is incorporated together with the latent vector to generate the molecules with specific desired properties.”);
i) repeating steps b) through h) until obtaining at least one object with the desired properties (see fig. 1: “As a result of the adversarial training, two distributions pθ(z|x) and pψ(z) become equivalent”); and
j) reporting the at least one object with the desired properties (see fig.2 which shows reporting of the desired properties).
Regarding claim 15:
Hong in view of Gao in further view Luo in further view of Hamilton in further view of Odena teaches the method of claim 14.
Hong further teaches training the G2S model with the set of objects having the desired properties (see pg. 32 section ‘Methods’ : “In the training phase, the decoder reconstructs input molecular structures from the latent vector and property information of input molecules. In the inference phase, we can sample new molecules by tuning the latent vector which is drawn from pψ(z) and by specifying the desired property yc.”) and
and repeating steps b) through h) until obtaining at least one object with the desired properties (see pg. 31 section ‘Previous Works’ subsection ‘Adversarially Regularized Autoencoder’: “As ARAE aims to estimate the posterior distribution by generating a distribution similar to that of the generator, the training objective is given by
with the 1-Lipschitz continuity ||fw|| ≤ 1.”. ); and
reporting the at least one object with the desired properties (see fig. 2: “Convergence of the four evaluation metrics for the ARAE model trained with the QM9 dataset.”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (“Molecular Generative Model Based on an Adversarially Regularized Autoencoder” hereinafter, Hong) in view of Gao et al (“DynGraph2Seq: Dynamic-Graph-to-Sequence Interpretable Learning for Health Stage Prediction in Online Health Forums” hereinafter, Gao) in further view of Luo et al. (“Deep Learning of Graphs with Ngram Convolutional Neural Networks” hereinafter, Luo”) and further in view of De Cao et al. (“MolGAN: An implicit generative model for small molecular graphs” hereinafter, De Cao).
Regarding claim 7:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 5.
Hong further teaches performing at least one iteration of the autoencoder step, generator step, and discriminator step (see fig. 4: “Distributions of three different molecular properties(A) log P, (B) SAS, and (C) TPSA — when molecules are generated by specifying a target property value denoted in the legends. Note that the curves labeled with ZINC denote the distribution of each molecular property in the ZINC dataset.”).
Hong does not explicitly teach decreasing a learning rate for the autoencoder step.
De Cao, however, teaches analogously decreasing a learning rate for the autoencoder step (see pg. 6 section 5 subsection ‘Training’: “In all experiments, we use a batch size of 32 and train using the Adam (Kingma & Ba, 2015) optimizer with a learning rate of 10^−3”) [(Examiner’s note: The Adam optimizer controls decreasing learning rates using the learning rate formula of (α/(1 –
β
1
t
)) where β1, β2 ∈ [0, 1) as seen on pg. 2 algorithm 1 of Kingma et al. “Adam: A Method for Stochastic Optimization”)];
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hong, Gao, Luo, and De Cao before him or her, to modify the method of claim 7 to include attributes of decreasing a learning rate for the autoencoder step in order to improve convergence with the best model found (see De Cao pg. 6 section 5.0 subsection ‘Training’: “In all experiments, we use a batch size of 32 and train using the Adam (Kingma & Ba, 2015) optimizer with a learning rate of 10−3 . For each setting, we employ a grid search over dropout rates ∈ {0.0, 0.1, 0.25} (Srivastava et al., 2014) as well as over discretization variations (as described in Section 3.1). We always report the results of the best model depending on what we are optimizing for (e.g., when optimizing solubility we report the model with the highest solubility score – when no metric is optimized we report the model with the highest sum of individual scores)”)
Claim 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (“Molecular Generative Model Based on an Adversarially Regularized Autoencoder” hereinafter, Hong) in view Gao et al. (“DynGraph2Seq: Dynamic-Graph-to-Sequence Interpretable Learning for Health Stage Prediction in Online Health Forums” hereinafter, Gao) in further view Luo et al. (“Deep Learning of Graphs with Ngram Convolutional Neural Networks” hereinafter, Luo”) and further in view of Armitage et al. (“Fragment Graphical variational AutoEncoding for Screening Molecules with Small Data” hereinafter, Armitage).
Regarding claim 16:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 1.
Hong does not explicitly teach obtaining scaffold data, the scaffold includes structural data for at least a portion of a molecule, inputting the scaffold data into a scaffold encoder, generating scaffold latent vectors in the latent space, wherein objects generated by the decoder are conditioned on the structural data, and have at a structure of the at least a portion of the molecule.
Armitage, however, teaches analogously obtaining scaffold data, the scaffold data includes structural data for at least a portion of a molecule (see fig. 2 which shows the starting molecule, Ibuprofen, being decomposed into scaffold data) [(Examiner’s note: i.e., emphasis added. Scaffold data, according to instant case’s para [085] which gives scaffold data as being an example of fragment data)];
inputting the scaffold data into a scaffold encoder (see fig. 2 which shows an encoder that is only taken scaffold data as input ); and
generating scaffold latent vectors in the latent space, wherein objects generated by the decoder are conditioned on the structural data, and have at a structure of the at least a portion of the molecule (see fig. 2: “FraGVAE autoencoder overview: The graph is decomposed into a bag of fragments, encoded to a latent space (𝑍𝐹) and then decoded to reproduce the fragment bag. Secondly the connectivity of fragments is encoded to a latent space (𝑍𝐶) and, using the bag of fragments and 𝑍𝐶, t”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hong, Gao, Luo, and Armitage before him or her, to modify the method of claim 16 to include attributes scaffold molecular data as input to an encoder in order to reduce error in predictions (see Armitage abstract: “We demonstrate that fragment-based graphical autoencoding reduces the error in predicting physical characteristics such as the solubility and partition coefficient in the small data regime compared to other extended circular fingerprints and string based approaches.”.)
Regarding claim 21:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Luo teaches the method of claim 5.
Hong does not explicitly teach a separate machine learning model configured to parameterize a desired distribution of latent vectors of objects having a same value of a desired property, wherein the separate machine learning model is a neural network, Gaussian process, or graph neural network, when the graph neural network’s desired properties are a molecular scaffold or fragment thereof.
Armitage, however, teaches analogously a separate machine learning model configured to parameterize a desired distribution of latent vectors of objects having a same value of a desired property (see fig. 2 where the separate machine learning model is in the form of an encoder specifically for decomposed fragments by parameterizing a distribution, Zf, of latent vectors),
wherein the separate machine learning model is a neural network, Gaussian process, or graph neural network, when the graph neural network the desired properties are a molecular scaffold or fragment thereof (see fig. 2 where the separate machine learning model is in the form of an encoder specifically for decomposed fragments).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hong, Gao, Luo, and Armitage before him or her, to modify the method of claim 21 to include attributes of a separate machine learning model dedicated to scaffold or fragment data in order to help the autoencoder be robust to overfitting even with small number of training examples (see Armitage pg. 3-4 subsection ‘Fragment Graphical Autoencoding’: “Training a network to autoencode a molecular graph with N unique fragments which can connect to every other fragment results in N! training examples to autoencode a single molecular structure. This property helps the autoencoder to be robust to overfitting even with a small number of training examples. In contrast a similar string based approach would have 1 training example.”)
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (“Molecular Generative Model Based on an Adversarially Regularized Autoencoder” hereinafter, Hong) in view of Gao et al (“DynGraph2Seq: Dynamic-Graph-to-Sequence Interpretable Learning for Health Stage Prediction in Online Health Forums” hereinafter, Gao) in further view of Luo et al. (“Deep Learning of Graphs with Ngram Convolutional Neural Networks” hereinafter, Luo”) and further in view of Ghiandoni (“Enhancing Reaction-based de novo Design using Machine Learning” hereinafter, Ghiandoni).
Regarding claim 22:
Hong in view of Gao in further view of Lao teaches the method of claim 5.
Hong does not explicitly teach wherein the graph data includes condensed graphs of chemical reactions and the sequence data generated by the decoder is SMIRKS data, and wherein the object properties are a type of reaction or a catalyst for the type of reaction.
Ghiandoni, however, teaches analogously wherein the graph data includes condensed graphs of chemical reactions and the sequence data generated by the decoder is SMIRKS data (see pg. 10 section 1.3 : “SMILES strings do not allow the specification of substructure queries; however, reaction queries can be generated using an extension of the SMILES named SMIRKS (Simple Molecular Input Reaction Kinetic String), which is typically used in database searching (see Section 1.5)”. Also see pg. 38 section 2.7: “Autoencoders (AEs) are neural network-based (NN-based) architectures for unsupervised feature representation learning, which consists of three components: an encoder, a decoder, and a distance function. The encoder converts the input data (e.g. a SMILES string) into a representation with lower dimensionality (a continuous vector), then the decoder attempts the reconstruction of the original input from the low dimensional representation.”) and
wherein the object properties are a type of reaction or a catalyst for the type of reaction (see pg. 10 section 1.3 : “SMILES strings do not allow the specification of substructure queries; however, reaction queries can be generated using an extension of the SMILES named SMIRKS (Simple Molecular Input Reaction Kinetic String), which is typically used in database searching (see Section 1.5)”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hong, Gao, Luo, and Ghiandoni before him or her, to modify the method of claim 22 to include attributes of SMIRKS data and object properties being a type of reaction or a catalyst for the type of reaction in order to represent the specification of substructure queries (see Ghiandoni at pg. 10 section 1.3: “SMILES strings do not allow the specification of substructure queries; however, reaction queries can be generated using an extension of the SMILES named SMIRKS (Simple Molecular Input Reaction Kinetic String), which is typically used in database searching (see Section 1.5)”).
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ANDREW BRACERO/Examiner, Art Unit 2126
/DAVID YI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2126