Claims 1-17 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-12 are presented for examination.
The amendments and remarks filed on January 14, 2026 have been received and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) s 1, 2, 4, 5 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being (anticipated by Fu et al. (Wo 2016100392 submitted by the applicant).
Fu et al. teach object of the invention to provide formulations of sunitinib or its analog or pharmaceutically acceptable salt with improved duration, stability, safety, and efficacy.
It is a further object of the invention to provide methods for encapsulation or incorporation into polymeric matrices, including nano- and micro-particles, with increased loading. See page 2, line 8-13. Methods for increasing the encapsulation or incorporation of sunitinib or its analog or pharmaceutically acceptable salt into polymeric matrices have been developed. The resulting formulations provide for more sustained controlled release of sunitinib or its analog or salt for treatment of cancer, inhibition of angiogenesis, ocular diseases, and other applications. See page 2, lines 16-21. Fu teaches that nanoparticles, microparticles, or combinations thereof for the controlled release of the sunitinib or its analog or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof can be prepared by combining the drug in the matrix with one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients. The nanoparticles, microparticles, or combination thereof can be formed from one or more drugs, or blends of drugs with one or more polymers. See 3, lines 24-29. The suprachoroidal injection is taught in Figures 5A and 5B. Fu teaches Controlled release dosage formulations for the delivery of one or more drugs in a polymeric vehicle are described herein. The polymeric matrix can be formed from non-biodegradable or biodegradable polymers; however, the polymer matrix is preferably biodegradable. The polymeric matrix can be formed into implants (e.g., rods, disks, wafers, etc.), microparticles, nanoparticles, or combinations thereof for delivery. Upon administration, the sunitinib or its analog or pharmaceutically acceptable salt is released over an extended period of time, either upon degradation of the polymer matrix, diffusion of the one or more inhibitors out of the polymer matrix, or a combination thereof. The drug can be dispersed or encapsulated into the polymer or covalently bound to the polymer used to form the matrix. The degradation profile of the one or more polymers may be selected to influence the release rate of the active agent in vivo.
The polymers may be hydrophobic, hydrophilic, conjugates of hydrophilic and hydrophobic polymers (i.e., amphiphilic polymers), block co-polymers, and blends thereof. See page 21, lines 20-28 and page 22, lines 1-7. Fu teaches Examples of suitable hydrophobic polymers include, but are not limited to, polyhydroxyesters such as polylactic acid, polyglycolic acid, or copolymers thereof, polycaprolactone, polyanhydrides such as polysebacic anhydride, polydioxidone, blends and copolymers of any of the above. In one embodiment, a blend of PLGA and polylactic acid ( PLA) is used. See page 22, lines 8-12. The representatives of synthetic polymers is taught in page 23, lines 1-25. The use of coating is taught on page 32, lines 25-27 and page 33, lines 1-2. The representative of therapeutic agents is taught on pages 26-28. The injection into the suprachoroidal space is taught in method of administration. Fu teaches a method of increasing encapsulation efficiency of a compound of the. following formula or salts thereof into polymeric matrices using an emulsion of an organic solvent and an aqueous solvent. The treatment of choroidal neovascularization is taught in claim 16. Fu teaches a significant reduction CNV was observed in all animals and the protective effect was sustained for at least 9 weeks after injection of microparticles. See page 84, lines 15-17. Biocompatible and biodegradable PLGA microspheres allowed a sustained release of sunb-malate and a prolonged retention of drug on ocular surface. The safe dose of Sunb-malate MS was determined by concentration-gradient analysis in the animal models. SC injection of Sunb-malate MS significantly inhibited the corneal NV in the suture-induced model. Together, the sustained release of sunb-malate by SC injection of Sunb-malate MS could improve the efficacy, reduces the toxicity and overcomes the non-compliance of patients. The study provides a therapeutic strategy targeting against corneal NV. See page 80, lines 5-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (WO 2016100392) in view of Haffner et al. (20120078362).
Fu et al. teach object of the invention to provide formulations of sunitinib or its analog or pharmaceutically acceptable salt with improved duration, stability, safety, and efficacy.
It is a further object of the invention to provide methods for encapsulation or incorporation into polymeric matrices, including nano- and micro-particles, with increased loading. See page 2, line 8-13. Methods for increasing the encapsulation or incorporation of sunitinib or its analog or pharmaceutically acceptable salt into polymeric matrices have been developed. The resulting formulations provide for more sustained controlled release of sunitinib or its analog or salt for treatment of cancer, inhibition of angiogenesis, ocular diseases, and other applications. See page 2, lines 16-21. Fu teaches that nanoparticles, microparticles, or combinations thereof for the controlled release of the sunitinib or its analog or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof can be prepared by combining the drug in the matrix with one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients. The nanoparticles, microparticles, or combination thereof can be formed from one or more drugs, or blends of drugs with one or more polymers. See 3, lines 24-29. The suprachoroidal injection is taught in Figures 5A and 5B. Fu teaches Controlled release dosage formulations for the delivery of one or more drugs in a polymeric vehicle are described herein. The polymeric matrix can be formed from non-biodegradable or biodegradable polymers; however, the polymer matrix is preferably biodegradable. The polymeric matrix can be formed into implants (e.g., rods, disks, wafers, etc.), microparticles, nanoparticles, or combinations thereof for delivery. Upon administration, the sunitinib or its analog or pharmaceutically acceptable salt is released over an extended period of time, either upon degradation of the polymer matrix, diffusion of the one or more inhibitors out of the polymer matrix, or a combination thereof. The drug can be dispersed or encapsulated into the polymer or covalently bound to the polymer used to form the matrix. The degradation profile of the one or more polymers may be selected to influence the release rate of the active agent in vivo.
The polymers may be hydrophobic, hydrophilic, conjugates of hydrophilic and hydrophobic polymers (i.e., amphiphilic polymers), block co-polymers, and blends thereof. See page 21, lines 20-28 and page 22, lines 1-7. Fu teaches Examples of suitable hydrophobic polymers include, but are not limited to, polyhydroxyesters such as polylactic acid, polyglycolic acid, or copolymers thereof, polycaprolactone, polyanhydrides such as polysebacic anhydride, polydioxidone, blends and copolymers of any of the above. In one embodiment, a blend of PLGA and polylactic acid ( PLA) is used. See page 22, lines 8-12. The representatives of synthetic polymers is taught on page 23, lines 1-25. The use of coating is taught on page 32, lines 25-27 and page 33, lines 1-2. The representative of therapeutic agents is taught on pages 26-28. The injection into the suprachoroidal space is taught in method of administration. Fu teaches a method of increasing encapsulation efficiency of a compound of the following formula or salts thereof into polymeric matrices using an emulsion of an organic solvent and an aqueous solvent. The treatment of choroidal neovascularization is taught in claim 16. Fu teaches a significant reduction CNV was observed in all animals and the protective effect was sustained for at least 9 weeks after injection of microparticles. See page 84, lines 15-17. Biocompatible and biodegradable PLGA microspheres allowed a sustained release of sunb-malate and a prolonged retention of drug on ocular surface. The safe dose of Sunb-malate MS was determined by concentration-gradient analysis in the animal models. SC injection of Sunb-malate MS significantly inhibited the corneal NV in the suture-induced model. Together, the sustained release of sunb-malate by SC injection of Sunb-malate MS could improve the efficacy, reduces the toxicity and overcomes the non-compliance of patients. The study provides a therapeutic strategy targeting against corneal NV. See page 80, lines 5-12.
Fu differs from the claimed invention in teaching the size of the particles, particles contain the agent in the loading between about 0.1% and 20% and the use of the small molecules of claim 12.
The determination of optimum proportions, amounts and particle size is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary. Haffner teaches the use of an implant in a suprachoroidal space for treating ophthalmic disorders. See Para [0024] and claim 16. The use of doxorubicin as claimed in claim 12 is taught in Para [0316}.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to substitute the small molecule taught by Haffner for Fu’s small molecules and deliver it to suprachoroidal space motivated by the teachings of Haffner, which teaches the use of an implant for delivering of doxorubicin to suprachoroidal section of the eye.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617