DETAILED ACTION
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 5 February 2026 fails to place the application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-10 and 12-16 are currently pending.
Claims 10 and 12-16 are currently under examination.
Claims 1-9 are currently withdrawn.
Status of Rejections
The rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is herein maintained.
All other rejections are withdrawn as indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al (CN 105733004 A as provided with the IDS dated 20 June 2025) in view of Lai et al (Cellulose (2014) 21:2757–2772) and Das et al (Das, Gautam, Bang Ju Park, and Hyon Hee Yoon. "A bionanocomposite based on 1, 4-diazabicyclo-[2.2. 2]-octane cellulose nanofiber cross-linked-quaternary polysulfone as an anion conducting membrane." Journal of Materials Chemistry A 4.40 (2016): 15554-15564).
As to claims 10, Feng discloses an anion exchange membrane (Title “a fully interpenetrating quaternized chitosan anion exchange membrane”), wherein the anion exchange membrane comprises a network formed by base complex fibers containing chitosan (Example 1 [0026] “quaternized chitosan powder…”) wherein the anion exchange membrane has an ion conductivity of 10 mS cm-1 to 200 mS cm-1 as a temperature from 260 M to 360 K (See Fig. 4).
Feng discloses the cellulose is bound to the chitosan (See Fig. 1) but fails to explicitly disclose the use of bacterial cellulose OR where the bacterial cellulose is bound to a functional group having two nitrogen atoms, the bacterial cellulose being bound via one of the nitrogen atoms of the functional group.
Lai discloses the specific use of bacterial cellulose in forming chitosan composite films (Title, Abstract) where the formation through bacterial provide high yields of cellulose production (pg. 2757 col. 2 last paragraph).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a specific bacterial cellulose as disclosed in Lai as the cellulose used in Feng because it is commercially available in high yields, has a close structural similarity to chitosan thus enabling their interactions (Abstract Lai), has higher purity, crystallinity, thermal stability, biocompatibility, tensile strength, and Young’s modulus when compared to plant based cellulose (pg. 2758 col. 1 Lai), where the use of bacterial cellulose is recognized for its intended use in forming a membrane with chitosan. See MPEP 2144.07 and 2143 B.
Das discloses using a quaternized bacterial cellulose nanofiber for used as an anion conducting membrane (title) where the bacterial cellulose is bound to a functional group having two nitrogen atoms, the bacterial cellulose being bound via one of the nitrogen atoms of the functional group. (Use of the DABCO functional group shown in Scheme 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a quaternized cellulose with the DABCO functional group of Das in place of the cellulose of Feng, as modified by Lai, because use of the quaternized cellulose allows for the adjustment of the ion exchange capacity and the ionic conductivity (Abstract Das) and high hydroxide conductivity of the membranes (Conclusions Das).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Lai is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Applicant argues that Lai is not the same field of endeavor because they disclose using the membranes for different specific applications and not directly in as an electrochemical element. This argument because as applicant explicitly cited to at pg. 6 of the response citing to the MPEP 2141.01(a) stating: “(1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addressed a different problem)” (emphasis added). Applicant’s field of endeavor is drawn towards composition of chitosan and bacterial cellulose, their interactions, and membranes made therefrom. While Lai might address these compositions towards a different problem, as Applicant elucidates on pg. 7 of the response, it is directly analogous to the types of combinations of cellulose when used with chitosan. Lai explicitly relates the benefits of using bacterial cellulose with chitosan, as opposed to other derived cellulose types, as cited in the action above. Thus, Applicant’s arguments towards Applicant’s disclosure for use as electrode structures is not germane to the instant claims because the claims do not claim an electrode structure, but rather a membrane.
As to Applicant’s argument on pg. 7-8 with respect to no being reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by Applicant, this argument is not persuasive because to be analogous, only (1) OR (2) on pg. 6 need be satisfied. Since standard (1) is deemed satisfied, analysis of (2) is rendered moot.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 8-9 of the response, filed 4 February 2026, with respect to claim 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 12-16 has been withdrawn.
No further arguments are presented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-16 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUIS J RUFO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795