DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 20 regarding steps/order of independent radiation detection to identify defect parameters have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection Precitec does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument in providing process radiation and back radiation separately/independently to parameters of identify separate components of a defects.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (DE 100 13 892 a1) in view of Dieter (DE 102007024789 B3) and Precitec (NPL).
Regarding claim 1, Mori discloses a method of analyzing a welded connection during laser welding of workpieces (5), said method comprising:
acquiring a first measurement signal for a process radiation generated during laser welding (first signal measurement from weld disclosed below (page 4, first paragraph));
acquiring a second measurement signal for a radiation reflected by the workpieces (radiation from weld and reflection from processes laser are measured from weld operation “a detection of an emission intensity of a visible one Light emitted by the weld during a laser weld is emitted using a laser device, which emits a laser beam with a wavelength which in a range of wavelengths near infrared radiate lies; outputting a first detection signal, which indicates the light emission intensity of visible light shows; detecting an intensity of a reflected Laser light from the weld seam during laser welding eats; outputting a second detection signal which indicates the light intensity of the reflected light; an Ana lyse frequencies of the first and second acquisition signals;” (page 4, first paragraph));
determining, in a defect in the weld “In the monitoring process for the weld seam, which de The YAG laser described above is used for welding based on the four types of signal information, that is, the DC component I dp of the plasma light emission intensity, the DC component I ap of the plasma reflection light intensity, the AC component I ap of the plasma light emission intensity and the AC component I ar the plasma reflection light intensity, determined.
Because these four types of signal information change behavior have, which each the changes of the respective Welding parameters are inherent, one or more of the parameters who provide a cause for a welding defect, be determined at the same time if the welding quality at the Weld is determined.” (page 9, 3-4th paragraph)); and
in a
“As a result of an investigation into information signals from the weld seam during YAG laser welding to solve the problem described above, it was found that if in addition to the intensity of the plasma light (visible light area), which is characterized by a high temperature Metal vapor is generated, which ent on the weld wraps the intensity of a reflected light of the YAG Laser, which from the weld seam without absorption of the out shone light on the weld seam on one of the workpieces is reflected, individually measured and signal level both components of a low frequency component (DC Component), which is equal to about 100 Hz or lower, and a high frequency component (AC component), which goes hand in hand goes with a large temporal change of up to about 10 kHz, the DC component intensity being a fundamental frequency com component intensity is a signalin formation of a set of four types of information signals, that is, a DC component and an AC Component of the plasma light emission intensity and that of YAG laser reflection light intensity, a typical behavior regarding changes in the welding parameters, for example the Laser output power (output power), the focus position (defined as focal length), a gap length of the overlap seam, etc., showed. It was found that the Welding quality at the weld seam can be determined indirectly can (trend control) by monitoring the changes of the four types of signal information, and a ge A precise estimate can be made of which one parameter a cause of a welding quality defect can to eliminate the cause of a welding defect.”
(page 3, 2nd to last paragraph)).
For determining whether there is (I) a nd to last paragraph), little weight is given to “no welded connection” because as disclosed in response to arguments the specifications provide interchangeability to the term “gap” as also presently in claim).
Mori is silent regarding specifically a gap type of defect or similarly no welded connection.
However Dieter anticipates specifically a gap type of defect/no welded connection (gap/binding error known to radiation spatial/intensity detection “The gap is bridged in this case and It creates a material connection between the sheets. Unite However, the melting of top and bottom plate is not, so is within the known laser irradiation surface substantially the radiation maximum and possibly the known capillary opening during the welding visible, noticeable. The intensity minimum behind the laser irradiation surface then disappears, which is an indication of a binding error. In this Case solidify the individual melts of top and bottom plate separately and it creates the so-called "false friend".” (page 6, first paragraph)).
The advantage of specifically addressing a gap/no weld connection defect, is to quantify even a small gap (no connection) between two welded workpieces even when the exterior of the weld still look normal “If the permissible gap dimension only changes exceeded a few tenths of a millimeter, There may be a binding error between the sheets. This serious weld defects is called "wrong Friend ", because the weld is from Outside looks flawless, although between the sheets no Connection exists. The clear detection of this weld defect during the welding process is difficult because of the weld defect prevails inside the component or the weld and thus indirect assessment variables for Error detection must be used.” (page 2, second paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mori and Dieter before him or her, to modify the defect detection of Mori to include the gap optimized defect detection of Dieter, because detection of a gap/ no weld conneciton defect is possible from detecting process timeline radiation while the visual presence of the gap may not be discernable.
Mori is silent regarding the first and second steps of mutually independent measurement signals identifying different weld type problems within an defect.
However Precitec teaches process emission, back reflection and heat as separately monitored radiations that individually relay specific information/changes to weld quality of different welding errors/quality (see figures of pages 1-5), it would therefore be predictable, in view of the different radiations having associated changes to weld conditions, to make use of indicators of process radiation changing under “internal material defects” (see figure page 3) and back reflection changing to “variation in welding depth” (see figure page 2/5).
The advantage of using first and second measurement signals in detecting weld gaps and material connection, is to determine hidden internal material defect (such as gap) where process radiation changes and back reflection does not (see page 2) and then determine a welded connection/quality there at where back reflection changes and process radiation does not (see page 5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mori as modified and Precitec before him or her, to modify the defect detection of Mori to include the wave source specific detection events of Dieter, because detectable radiation to the indication of a gap and connection variation thereat are present to different radiation sources of Process radiation and back radiation.
Regarding claim 2, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Mori further teaches wherein the reflected radiation comprises at least one of:
reflected laser radiation of the machining laser beam (as already disclosed in claim 1 (page 4, first paragraph)), reflected radiation of LED light radiated into a machining area, and reflected laser radiation of a pilot laser beam radiated into a machining area.
Regarding claim 3, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Mori further teaches wherein said first measurement signal and/or second measurement signal is based on a detection of a radiation intensity (intensity detection as part of defect/monitoring as already disclosed in claim 1 (page 3, 2nd to last paragraph)).
Regarding claim 4, Mori as modified teaches the method according to one of the preceding claims 1, Mori further teaches wherein said first measurement signal is acquired in a first wavelength range above a wavelength of a machining laser beam used for laser welding and/or above a wavelength of the reflected radiation (detection may be in visible light range while laser may be in infrared light range “a detection of an emission intensity of a visible one Light emitted by the weld during a laser weld is emitted using a laser device, which emits a laser beam with a wavelength which in a range of wavelengths near infrared radiate lies;” (page 4, first paragraph)); and/or
wherein said first measurement signal is acquired in a second wavelength range below the wavelength of the machining laser beam used for laser welding and/or below the wavelength of the reflected radiation.
Regarding claim 5, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Mori further teaches wherein the process radiation acquired as said first measurement signal is thermal radiation in an infrared spectral range and/or plasma radiation in a visible spectral range (visible light of plasma radiation from processing “These photosensors, the first photosensor 6 a and the second photosensor 6 b, convert an intensity of a plasma light (visible light) which is emitted by the weld seam, and the intensity of a reflected light of the YAG laser without absorption in the weld seam Workpieces 5 after irradiation with the plasma light on the same workpieces 5 each in electrical signals.” (page 6, 3rd paragraph)).
Regarding claim 6, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Mori further teaches wherein the reflected radiation acquired as said second measurement signal is in an infrared spectral range or in a visible green or blue spectral range (infrared light responsible for second measurement signal is reflected Yag laser welding source incident from workpiece “an infrared light beam is transmitted from the welding seam to the dichroic mirror 10 under the incident light beams. Therefore, only the YAG laser light with the wavelength of 1.06 μm is transmitted to the interference filter 11 and fed to the other photodiode 9 . The YAG reflection light is converted into an electrical signal and fed to the measuring device 7” (page 6, 4th paragraph from bottom)).
Regarding claim 7, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Mori as already modified teaches wherein determining whether there is a gap between the workpieces comprises determining a gap width based on the first measurement signal (abnormality of any signal can provide presence of defect “In the monitoring process for the weld seam, which de The YAG laser described above is used for welding based on the four types of signal information, that is, the DC component I dp of the plasma light emission intensity, the DC component I ap of the plasma reflection light intensity, the AC component I ap of the plasma light emission intensity and the AC component I ar the plasma reflection light intensity, determined.
Because these four types of signal information change behavior have, which each the changes of the respective Welding parameters are inherent, one or more of the parameters who provide a cause for a welding defect, be determined at the same time if the welding quality at the Weld is determined.” (page 9, 3rd paragraph)), and wherein it is determined that there is a gap when the gap width is greater than a predetermined gap width limit value (Gap detection as already modified by Dieter is within limits of size/width threshold “If the permissible gap dimension only changes exceeded a few tenths of a millimeter, There may be a binding error between the sheets. This serious weld defects is called "wrong Friend ", because the weld is from Outside looks flawless, although between the sheets no Connection exists. The clear detection of this weld defect during the welding process is difficult because of the weld defect prevails inside the component or the weld and thus indirect assessment variables for Error detection must be used.” (Dieter page 2, 3rd paragraph)).
Regarding claim 8, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Mori further teaches wherein determining whether there is a gap between the workpieces comprises determining whether said first measurement signal is or falls below a reference value or a reference curve (detection of intensities (reflected or process based) in relation to thresholds is the means of detecting defect “The task described above can be solved by a Procedure for determining a welding quality on a Weld seam is created between workpieces, which around summarizes: a detection of an emission intensity of a visible one Light emitted by the weld during a laser weld is emitted using a laser device, which emits a laser beam with a wavelength which in a range of wavelengths near infrared radiate lies; outputting a first detection signal, which indicates the light emission intensity of visible light shows; detecting an intensity of a reflected Laser light from the weld seam during laser welding eats; outputting a second detection signal which indicates the light intensity of the reflected light” (page 4, first paragraph)), wherein it is determined that there is a gap between the workpieces when said measurement signal (as best understood as first measurement signal) is or falls below the reference value or the reference curve (as disclosed above the reference value/curve is in relation to detected intensity (page 4, first paragraph)).
Regarding claim 9, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Mori further teaches wherein determining whether there is a gap between the workpieces comprises taking a first integral over said first measurement signal and/or a first mean value of said first measurement signal (mean of first/second measurement signal processing disclosed below (claim 5)), wherein it is determined that there is a gap between the workpieces when the first integral falls below a predetermined first integral limit value and/or when the first mean value falls below a predetermined first mean value limit value (detection of intensities (reflected or process based) in relation to thresholds is the means of detecting defect “The task described above can be solved by a Procedure for determining a welding quality on a Weld seam is created between workpieces, which around summarizes: a detection of an emission intensity of a visible one Light emitted by the weld during a laser weld is emitted using a laser device, which emits a laser beam with a wavelength which in a range of wavelengths near infrared radiate lies; outputting a first detection signal, which indicates the light emission intensity of visible light shows; detecting an intensity of a reflected Laser light from the weld seam during laser welding eats; outputting a second detection signal which indicates the light intensity of the reflected light” (page 4, first paragraph), averaging/mean of detected signal is known to signal interpretation “wherein the first frequency component of the first and second detection signals is a DC component which is obtained by averaging each peak value of the corresponding one of the first and second detection signals and the second frequency component is an AC component, which is derived by subtracting the mean of each peak and finding a root mean square of a result of the subtraction.” (claim 5)).
Regarding claim 10, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Mori as already modified further teaches wherein said first measurement signal is acquired in a first wavelength range above a wavelength of the reflected radiation or above a wavelength of a machining laser beam used for laser welding (visible range of spectrum emitted from workpiece while laser reflected is blow, around the IR range, “a detection of an emission intensity of a visible one Light emitted by the weld during a laser weld is emitted using a laser device, which emits a laser beam with a wavelength which in a range of wavelengths near infrared radiate lies; outputting a first detection signal, which indicates the light emission intensity of visible light shows; detecting an intensity of a reflected Laser light from the weld seam during laser welding eats; outputting a second detection signal which indicates the light intensity of the reflected light” (page 4, first paragraph)) and in a second wavelength range below the wavelength of the reflected radiation or below the wavelength of the machining laser beam used for laser welding (additional detection of melt at wave range in low middle far infrared anticipated to spatial monitoring of melt as already modified by Dieter -
“at A further advantageous variant is for spatially resolved detection the radiation is a spatially resolving Detector for visible radiation, near, middle or far infrared used. Preferably we you. a. a CCD, CMOS, diode array, or InGaAs thermal camera or a quotient pyrometry measuring apparatus or a combination of different detector types used. The latter temperature measuring device determines the temperature in the monitored location-resolved Range by the simultaneous measurement of the emitted radiation at two different wavelengths. For the Binding errors or blow through failures can be detected as shown above Detection areas of the process zone are used: the area the capillary, liquid Melt and the area of solidified melt. In a coaxial Arrangement of the respective measuring apparatus to the laser beam, the Area of the capillary near melt and the area of the solidified melt monitored with a common camera become. Alternatively, the area of the solidified melt with a camera arranged at an angle to the laser beam become.
at Another preferred variant is the emitted radiation in a wavelength range in the near infrared, preferably between 1 .mu.m and 2 .mu.m, two-dimensionally detected spatially resolved. This area is particularly suitable for the thermal radiation of the solidified To detect melt. Radiation in this wavelength range can also be used to observe the liquid melt become. It is understood that in particular for the evaluation of the geometry of the liquid molten bath additionally or alternatively radiation in other wavelength ranges, z. B. in the visible range, can be detected spatially resolved.”
(Dieter page 6, paragraphs 5-6 )),
and determining whether there is a gap between the workpieces comprises taking a first integral over the first measurement signal (measurement signals are interpreted/processed with integrals (Fourier transform) as relative to limits “it should be noted that the unit of each signal intensity shown in Figs. 7A, 8A and 10 is au, i.e., Ang current, and the AC components I dp and I dr shown in Figs. 7A and 8A are determined by means of a Frequency analyzers (FFT analyzer when calculating a Fourier transform and an inverse FFT analyzer when calculating an inverse Fourier transform) and a ma thematic processing software (called "Mathematica") derived, both of which are installed in the personal computer. Although the FFT analyzer and inverse FFT analyzer are themselves known, these frequency analyzers are described in U.S. Patent No. 6,018,689, issued January 25, 2000 (the disclosure of which is incorporated herein by reference).” (page 9, 3rd from last paragraph)) acquired in the first wavelength range and taking a second integral over the first measurement signal acquired in the second wavelength range (measurement signals are processed as above (page 9, 3rd from last paragraph)); and
wherein it is determined that there is a gap between the workpieces when the first integral falls below a predetermined first integral limit value and/or when the second integral falls below a predetermined second integral limit value (as already modified by Dieter, gaps alter the outputs of detectable radiation such that when a value is not met a “binding error” is present “The gap is then bridged and creates a material connection between the sheets. However, if the melts of the top and bottom plates do not combine, then essentially only the irradiation surface is involved 2 visible with the maximum radiation and possibly the capillary during the welding process and the minimum intensity range 6 behind the laser irradiation surface 2 disappears, as in 1a shown. If this is the case, then it can be assumed that a binding error at the weld 4 is present.” (Dieter page 7, 9th paragraph)).
Regarding claim 11, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Mori further teaches wherein the determining whether there is a welded connection comprises determining based on a noise of said second measurement signal whether there is a welded connection (noise/average of peaks may be used in creating monitored signal “wherein the first frequency component of the first and second detection signals is a DC component which is obtained by averaging each peak value of the corresponding one of the first and second detection signals and the second frequency component is an AC component,” (claim 5), noise anticipated to be included in Fourier transform equation/processing of translating signals to detection parameters “it should be noted that the unit of each signal intensity shown in Figs. 7A, 8A and 10 is au, i.e., Ang current, and the AC components I dp and I dr shown in Figs. 7A and 8A are determined by means of a Frequency analyzers (FFT analyzer when calculating a Fourier transform and an inverse FFT analyzer when calculating an inverse Fourier transform) and a ma thematic processing software (called "Mathematica") derived, both of which are installed in the personal computer. Although the FFT analyzer and inverse FFT analyzer are themselves known, these frequency analyzers are described in U.S. Patent No. 6,018,689, issued January 25, 2000 (the disclosure of which is incorporated herein by reference).” (page 9, 3rd from last paragraph)).
Regarding claim 12, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 11, Mori further teaches wherein it is determined that there is no welded connection,
when an outlier frequency of the noise of said second measurement signal exceeds a predetermined first noise limit value (an outlier would inherently raise the average of the detected signal, signals having limits within threshold/predetermined values over time “In FIGS. 7A and 8A are defined I dp and dr I as a DC component, which average values of the detection signals ei ne period of time, such as about 1000 milliseconds.” (page 8, second to last paragraph)); and/or
when an integral over the noise of said second measurement signal exceeds a predetermined second noise limit (Integrals as part of signal interpretation/processing (Fourier transform) as relative to limits/thresholds “it should be noted that the unit of each signal intensity shown in Figs. 7A, 8A and 10 is au, i.e., Ang current, and the AC components I dp and I dr shown in Figs. 7A and 8A are determined by means of a Frequency analyzers (FFT analyzer when calculating a Fourier transform and an inverse FFT analyzer when calculating an inverse Fourier transform) and a ma thematic processing software (called "Mathematica") derived, both of which are installed in the personal computer. Although the FFT analyzer and inverse FFT analyzer are themselves known, these frequency analyzers are described in U.S. Patent No. 6,018,689, issued January 25, 2000 (the disclosure of which is incorporated herein by reference).” (page 9, 3rd from last paragraph)).
Regarding claim 16, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Mori as already modified teaches wherein the workpieces are arranged in a lap joint or parallel joint during laser welding (as already modified, Dieter teaches the use of Lap joint “When welding at the lap joint usually forms behind the irradiation surface 2 an intensity minimum range adjacent to this 6 out, as he in 1b is shown and can be easily found by the spatially resolved measurement.” (Dieter, page 7, 9th paragraph)).
Regarding claim 17, Mori as already modified teaches a method for laser welding a first workpiece and a second workpiece, said method comprising the steps of:
arranging the workpieces such that a first surface of the first workpiece and a first surface of the second workpiece lie on top of each other (as shown in figure 1a, workpieces 5 overlap during weld at F);
laser welding the workpieces to form a welded connection between the workpieces by radiating a machining laser beam (laser beam of laser oscillator 1, “which by welding the surface of the weld the overlap seam is formed with the YAG laser light.” (page 9, paragraph 7)) onto a second surface of said first workpiece (see figure 1a, incident at focal F), said second surface of said first workpiece being opposite said first surface of said first workpiece (as shown in figure 1a, weld of the overlap seam disclosed above (page 9, paragraph 7)), and/or by radiating a machining laser beam onto a second surface of said second workpiece, said second surface of said second workpiece being opposite said first surface of said second workpiece;
performing the method of analyzing the welded connection according to claim 1 (as disclosed in claim 1).
Regarding claim 18, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 17, Mori as already modified teaches wherein the workpieces are arranged in a lap joint or parallel joint (as already modified, Dieter teaches the use of Lap joint “When welding at the lap joint usually forms behind the irradiation surface 2 an intensity minimum range adjacent to this 6 out, as he in 1b is shown and can be easily found by the spatially resolved measurement.” (Dieter, page 7, 9th paragraph)).
Regarding claim 19, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 17, Mori as already modified teaches wherein the first surfaces of the workpieces touch in at least one region (touching of workpieces 5 as seen in figure 1a) and/or wherein a gap is present in another region between the first surfaces of the workpieces (gap G, see figure 1b).
Regarding claim 20, Mori discloses a method of analyzing a welded connection during laser welding of workpieces, the method comprising:
acquiring a first measurement signal for a process radiation generated during laser welding (first signal measurement from weld disclosed below (page 4, first paragraph));
acquiring a second measurement signal for a radiation reflected by the workpieces (radiation from weld and reflection from processes laser are measured from weld operation “a detection of an emission intensity of a visible one Light emitted by the weld during a laser weld is emitted using a laser device, which emits a laser beam with a wavelength which in a range of wavelengths near infrared radiate lies; outputting a first detection signal, which indicates the light emission intensity of visible light shows; detecting an intensity of a reflected Laser light from the weld seam during laser welding eats; outputting a second detection signal which indicates the light intensity of the reflected light; an Ana lyse frequencies of the first and second acquisition signals;” (page 4, first paragraph));
determining, by a control unit (control system “The present invention is applicable bar on an adaptive control system of a YAG laser welding, which with an adaptive control for the entire YAG Laser welding system works.” (page 2, first paragraph)), using the first measurement signal any one or all of the sensors signals alone or in combination may determine defect(s) in the weld “In the monitoring process for the weld seam, which de The YAG laser described above is used for welding based on the four types of signal information, that is, the DC component I dp of the plasma light emission intensity, the DC component I ap of the plasma reflection light intensity, the AC component I ap of the plasma light emission intensity and the AC component I ar the plasma reflection light intensity, determined.
Because these four types of signal information change behavior have, which each the changes of the respective Welding parameters are inherent, one or more of the parameters who provide a cause for a welding defect, be determined at the same time if the welding quality at the Weld is determined.” (page 9, 3-4th paragraph)); and
th paragraph) any one or more of the signals can detect defect specifically identifying kinds of defect “Because these four types of signal information change behavior have, which each the changes of the respective Welding parameters are inherent, one or more of the parameters who provide a cause for a welding defect, be determined at the same time if the welding quality at the Weld is determined.” (page 9, 4th paragraph)).
Mori is silent regarding specifically a gap type of defect or similarly no welded connection.
However Dieter anticipates specifically a gap type of defect/no welded connection (gap/binding error known to radiation spatial/intensity detection “The gap is bridged in this case and It creates a material connection between the sheets. Unite However, the melting of top and bottom plate is not, so is within the known laser irradiation surface substantially the radiation maximum and possibly the known capillary opening during the welding visible, noticeable. The intensity minimum behind the laser irradiation surface then disappears, which is an indication of a binding error. In this Case solidify the individual melts of top and bottom plate separately and it creates the so-called "false friend".” (page 6, first paragraph)).
The advantage of specifically addressing a gap/no weld connection defect, is to quantify even a small gap (no connection) between two welded workpieces even when the exterior of the weld still look normal “If the permissible gap dimension only changes exceeded a few tenths of a millimeter, There may be a binding error between the sheets. This serious weld defects is called "wrong Friend ", because the weld is from Outside looks flawless, although between the sheets no Connection exists. The clear detection of this weld defect during the welding process is difficult because of the weld defect prevails inside the component or the weld and thus indirect assessment variables for Error detection must be used.” (page 2, second paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mori and Dieter before him or her, to modify the defect detection of Mori to include the gap optimized defect detection of Dieter, because detection of a gap/ no weld conneciton defect is possible from detecting process timeline radiation while the visual presence of the gap may not be discernable.
Mori is silent regarding the measurement signals of mutual independence in identifying different weld type problems within a defect.
However Precitec teaches process emission, back reflection and heat as separately monitored radiations that individually relay specific information/changes to weld quality of different welding errors/quality (see figures of pages 1-5), it would therefore be predictable, in view of the different radiations having associated changes to weld conditions, to make use of indicators of process radiation changing under “internal material defects” (see figure page 3) and back reflection changing to “variation in welding depth” (see figure page 2/5).
The advantage of using mutually exclusive measurement signals in detecting weld gaps and material connection, is to determine hidden internal material defect (such as gap) where process radiation changes and back reflection does not (see page 2) and then determine a welded connection/quality there at where back reflection changes and process radiation does not (see page 5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mori as modified and Precitec before him or her, to modify the defect detection of Mori to include the wave source specific detection events of Dieter, because detectable radiation to the indication of a gap and connection variation thereat are present to different radiation sources of Process radiation and back radiation.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori in view of Dieter and Precitec as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Florian (WO 2016082823A1).
Regarding claim 13, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim1, Mori as modified is silent regarding wherein at least one of the workpieces comprises or consists of aluminum and/or copper and/or nickel.
However Florian teaches wherein at least one of the workpieces comprises or consists of aluminum and/or copper and/or nickel (laser anticipated to gap/lap welding exchangeable/applicable between substrates of aluminum and steel “The invention relates to a method for joining a first and a second workpiece of a similar material, in particular of aluminum or a high-strength steel material, or workpieces of dissimilar metallic materials to a component by means of a continuously emitting machining beam by forming a weld along a lap joint. By filling a gap formed between the workpieces at the lap joint, the weld quality is improved.” (page 2, first paragraph)).
The advantage of at least one of the workpieces comprises or consists of aluminum and/or copper and/or nickel, is to provide seam welding to materials beyond steel to include aluminum “The invention relates to a method for joining a first and a second workpiece of a similar material, in particular of aluminum or a high-strength steel material, or workpieces of dissimilar metallic materials to a component by means of a continuously emitting machining beam by forming a weld along a lap joint. By filling a gap formed between the workpieces at the lap joint, the weld quality is improved.” (page 2, first paragraph)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mori as modified and Florian before him or her, to modify the steel welding of Mori to include aluminum additionally to steel, because providing additionally material types to the substrate furthers the substrates the apparatus is able to seam weld.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori in view of Dieter and Precitec as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang (US 20210399387).
Regarding claim 14, Mori as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Mori as already modified is silent regarding wherein at least one of the workpieces has a thickness of 0.10 mm to 0.50 mm, or 0.15 mm to 0.35 mm, or 0.20 mm to 0.30 mm.
However Huang teaches wherein at least one of the workpieces has a thickness of 0.10 mm to 0.50 mm, or 0.15 mm to 0.35 mm, or 0.20 mm to 0.30 mm. (electrical tab thickness varied to use case “the tab thickness T is ≤about 0.5 mm; and for small cell electric tools, E-drive (electric drive), and agricultural unmanned aerial vehicles, the tab thickness T is ≤about 0.3 mm, for example, about 0.1 mm, about 0.15 mm, about 0.2 mm, or about 0.3 mm.” [0070].
The advantage of wherein at least one of the workpieces has a thickness of 0.10 mm to 0.50 mm, or 0.15 mm to 0.35 mm, or 0.20 mm to 0.30 mm, is to provide an appropriate area of tab material to current x voltage incurred “the tab thickness T is the thickness of the tab 103 as shown in FIG. 2; as for the copper tab, the empirical value E is 8 A/mm.sup.2; and as for the aluminum tab, the empirical value E is 5 A/mm.sup.2. As for large cell energy storage or EV (electric vehicles) cells, the tab thickness T is ≤about 0.5 mm; and for small cell electric tools, E-drive (electric drive), and agricultural unmanned aerial vehicles, the tab thickness T is ≤about 0.3 mm, for example, about 0.1 mm, about 0.15 mm, about 0.2 mm, or about 0.3 mm.” [0070].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mori as modified and Florian before him or her, to modify the welding of Mori as already modified to include variable of battery tab thickness of Huang, because tab thickness is related to the variable of power use required from battery for different battery applications, necessitating a range of optimal thickness to use cases.
Conclusion
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761