DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 23 and 28 is withdrawn in view of applicants’ claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 16-18, 21, 23-24, 26, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 4,329,195 to Bosshi Kudo (“Kudo”) in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2012/0211917 to Glabbeek, et al. (“Glabbeek”).
Regarding claim 1, Kudo teaches an apparatus for controlling a thickness of a crystalline ribbon grown on a surface of a melt (see, e.g., the Abstract, Figs. 1-6, and entire reference), the apparatus comprising:
a crucible and a crucible edge configured to hold the melt, wherein the crucible is a deep, flat-bottomed crucible (see, e.g., Fig. 1 and col. 5, l. 63 to col. 6, l. 22 which teach a deep, flat-bottomed crucible (3) configured to hold a melt (1); moreover, the crucible has an edge at a top thereof);
a cold initializer configured to be facing the exposed surface of the melt (see, e.g., Figs. 1 & 3 and col. 6, l. 22 to col. 10, l. 2 which teach a gas cooler (19) which faces an exposed surface of the melt (1); moreover, the portion of the cooler (19) located to the left of the gas inlet may be considered as a cold initializer as claimed since it initiates cooling of the surface of the melt (1));
a segmented cooled thinning controller including gas jets disposed above the crucible on a side of the crucible with the cold initializer, wherein the segmented cooled thinning controller is configured to locally cool the surface of the melt (see, e.g., Figs. 1 & 3 and col. 6, l. 22 to col. 10, l. 2 which teach that gas cooler (19) includes a plurality of nozzles (31) which supply a cooling gas to the surface of the melt (1); moreover, the portion of the cooler (19) located to the right of the gas inlet may be considered as a segmented cooled thinning controller since it cools the surface of the melt (1) in order to produce a crystalline ribbon (22));
a uniform melt-back heater disposed below the crucible opposite the cooled thinning controller, wherein the uniform melt-back heater is configured to uniformly heat the melt to melt back an underside of the ribbon while the segmented cooled thinning controller cools a topside of the ribbon (see, e.g., Fig. 1 and col. 6, l. 22 to col. 7, l. 23 which teach that heaters (5) and (6) are configured to uniformly heat the melt (1), are disposed below the crucible (3), and are located opposite the gas cooler (19); moreover, the heaters (5) and (6) are capable of melting back an underside of the ribbon (22) while the gas cooler (19) cools a topside of the ribbon (22)); and
a puller configured to i) pull the crystalline ribbon formed on a surface of the melt in the crucible (see, e.g., Fig. 1 and col. 7, ll. 5-23 which teach that a pulling mechanism including guide rollers (20) and (21) is used to pull the ribbon crystal from the melt (1)) and ii) separate the crystalline ribbon from the melt at a selected and maintained raised height above the crucible edge, the raised height being configured to maintain a meniscus and to prevent overflow of the melt (See, e.g., Fig. 3(a) and col. 8, l. 44 to col. 9, l. 48 which teach that in one embodiment the crystal growth apparatus is configured to separate the crystalline ribbon (22) from the melt at a selected and predetermined raised height above the crucible edge under conditions which maintain a meniscus and which prevents overflow of the melt. See also col. 6, ll. 8-19 which specifically teaches that the surface of the melt can be held up to about 10 mm higher than the edge of the crucible at the pulling port. Moreover, since the height of the crystalline ribbon above the crucible edge determines the size and shape of the meniscus it is considered to be a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result. See, e.g., In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). It therefore would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to utilize routine experimentation to determine and set the optimal raised height of the crystalline ribbon within the disclosed range of up to 10 mm in order to form a meniscus having the desired shape and, subsequently, a ribbon crystal having the desired materials properties and thickness.).
Kudo does not explicitly teach that the crucible is configured to hold the melt at a depth of greater than 1 cm. However, in Fig. 3a and col. 13, ll. 34-59 Kudo teaches that the heater (5) is positioned a distance of no more than 30 mm (i.e., 3 cm) beneath the crystal growth interface while Fig. 1 and col. 6, ll. 17-22 teach that the surface of the melt can be up to 10 mm higher than the edge of the crucible at the pulling port. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to utilize a crucible (3) having a depth of at least 1 cm (i.e., 10 mm) in order to accommodate and uniformly heat a quantity of melt (1) sufficient to facilitate the continuous growth of a ribbon crystal (22) having the desired thickness and materials properties.
Kudo does not teach that each of the gas jets are individually-controllable with each of the individually-controllable gas jets being independently adjustable to direct a discrete flow to a different lateral portion of the surface of the melt, wherein a gas flow rate from each of the individually-controllable gas jets is independently adjustable, wherein the segmented cooled thinning controller provides lateral thickness-control resolution that is substantially independent of melt depth, the resolution being maintained in the absence of a diffusive medium above the melt surface. However, in at least Figs. 4-6 and ¶¶[0033]-[0066] Glabbeek teaches an analogous system and method for the growth of ribbon crystals (10B) from a melt which is cooled using a plurality of gas nozzles (32). In Fig. 4 and ¶¶[0036]-[0044] Glabbeek specifically teaches that the gas jets (32) each strike a relatively small part of the sheet wafer (10B) with the total size of the area being cooled depending on factors such as the gas flow rate, gas type, jet (32) size, speed of the growing crystal (10B), the temperature of the molten Si, and the location of the gas jets (32). Any number and types of gases and flow rates may be used to control the localized thickness of the growing sheet wafer (10B). Moreover, as explained specifically in ¶[0052], the thickness is monitored during crystal (10B) growth using detectors (35) which continually measure the thickness and adjust the fluid flow through individual jets (32) in order to ensure that there is a rapid response to any changes in growth conditions and a more uniform sheet crystal can be grown. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Glabbeek and would be motivated to utilize individually-controllable and adjustable gas jets utilized in the absence of a diffusive medium above the melt surface in order to deliver a discrete gas flow to different lateral portions of the surface of the melt as part of the gas cooler (19) of Kudo in order to obtain greater control over the width and thickness across the entirety of the crystalline sheet independent of the melt depth during crystal growth such that a more uniform sheet crystal is obtained. The combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results has been held to support a prima facie determination of obviousness. All the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007). See also, MPEP 2143(A).
Regarding claim 3, Kudo does not teach that the gas flow rates of the individually-controllable gas jets are based, at least in part, on a measurement of a thickness of the crystalline ribbon. However, in at least col. 6, ll. 55-59 of Kudo teaches blowing argon or helium through the nozzles (31) at a controlled flow rate which necessarily means the flow rate is capable of being dynamically controlled (i.e., changed or adjusted in real time) based upon one or more measured materials parameters such as the ribbon thickness. Alternatively, in at least Figs. 4-6 and ¶¶[0033]-[0066] Glabbeek teaches an analogous system and method for the growth of ribbon crystals (10B) from a melt which is cooled using a plurality of gas nozzles (32). As explained specifically in ¶[0052], the thickness is monitored during crystal (10B) growth using detectors (35) which continually measure the thickness and adjust the fluid flow through the jets (32) in order to ensure that there is a rapid response to any changes in growth conditions and a more uniform sheet crystal can be grown. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Glabbeek and would be motivated to dynamically adjust the gas flow through the gas cooler (19) of Kudo in response to the measured sheet (10B) thickness in order to produce a more uniform sheet crystal.
Regarding claim 16, Kudo teaches a system for controlling formation of a ribbon grown on a surface of a melt (see, e.g., the Abstract, Figs. 1-6, and entire reference), the system comprising:
a crucible and a crucible edge configured to hold the melt, wherein the crucible is a deep, flat-bottomed crucible (see, e.g., Fig. 1 and col. 5, l. 63 to col. 6, l. 22 which teach a deep, flat-bottomed crucible (3) configured to hold a melt (1); moreover, the crucible has an edge at a top thereof);
a cold initializer configured to be above and facing the surface of the melt (see, e.g., Figs. 1 & 3 and col. 6, l. 22 to col. 10, l. 2 which teach a gas cooler (19) which faces an exposed surface of the melt (1); moreover, the portion of the cooler (19) located to the left of the gas inlet may be considered as a cold initializer as claimed since it initiates cooling of the surface of the melt (1));
a segmented cooled thinning controller including gas jets and disposed above the crucible, wherein the segmented cooled thinning controller is configured to cool at least a portion of the surface of the melt (see, e.g., Figs. 1 & 3 and col. 6, l. 22 to col. 10, l. 2 which teach that gas cooler (19) includes a plurality of nozzles (31) which supply a cooling gas to the surface of the melt (1); moreover, the portion of the cooler (19) located to the right of the gas inlet may be considered as a segmented cooled thinning controller since it cools the surface of the melt (1) in order to produce a crystalline ribbon (22));
a uniform melt-back heater disposed below the crucible directly opposite the segmented cooled thinning controller, wherein the uniform melt-back heater is configured to uniformly melt back an underside of the ribbon while the segmented cooled thinning controller locally cools a topside of the ribbon (see, e.g., Fig. 1 and col. 6, l. 22 to col. 7, l. 23 which teach that heaters (5) and (6) are configured to uniformly heat the melt (1), are disposed below the crucible (3), and are located opposite the gas cooler (19); moreover, the heaters (5) and (6) are capable of melting back an underside of the ribbon (22) while the gas cooler (19) cools a topside of the ribbon (22)); and
a puller configured to i) pull the crystalline ribbon formed on a surface of the melt in the crucible (See Fig. 1 and col. 7, ll. 5-23 which teach that a pulling mechanism including guide rollers (20) and (21) is used to pull the ribbon crystal from the melt (1)) and ii) separate the crystalline ribbon from the melt at a raised height above the crucible edge, the raised height being configured to stabilize a meniscus of the melt (See, e.g., Fig. 3(a) and col. 8, l. 44 to col. 9, l. 48 which teach that in one embodiment the crystal growth apparatus is configured to separate the crystalline ribbon (22) from the melt at a selected and predetermined raised height above the crucible edge under conditions which maintain a meniscus and which prevents overflow of the melt. See also col. 6, ll. 8-19 which specifically teaches that the surface of the melt can be held up to about 10 mm higher than the edge of the crucible at the pulling port. Since Kudo teaches that the melt and, hence, the ribbon may be maintained up to 10 mm higher than the edge of the crucible this necessarily will improve meniscus stability and prevent overflow of the melt beyond the crucible edge. Moreover, since the height of the crystalline ribbon above the crucible edge determines the size and shape of the meniscus it is considered to be a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result. See, e.g., In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). It therefore would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to utilize routine experimentation to determine and set the optimal raised height of the crystalline ribbon within the disclosed range of up to 10 mm in order to form a meniscus having the desired shape and stability and, subsequently, a ribbon crystal having the desired materials properties and thickness.).
Kudo does not explicitly teach that the crucible is configured to hold the melt at a depth of greater than 1 cm. However, in Fig. 3a and col. 13, ll. 34-59 Kudo teaches that the heater (5) is positioned a distance of no more than 30 mm (i.e., 3 cm) beneath the crystal growth interface while Fig. 1 and col. 6, ll. 17-22 teach that the surface of the melt can be up to 10 mm higher than the edge of the crucible at the pulling port. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to utilize a crucible (3) having a depth of at least 1 cm (i.e., 10 mm) in order to accommodate and uniformly heat a quantity of melt (1) sufficient to facilitate the continuous growth of a ribbon crystal (22) having the desired thickness and materials properties.
Kudo also does not teach that each of the gas jets are individually-controllable with each of the individually-controllable gas jets being independently adjustable to direct a discrete flow to a different lateral portion of the surface of the melt, wherein the gas jets are cooperatively controlled to establish a selected lateral thickness profile across the ribbon having a minimum lateral feature size, and wherein the segmented cooled thinning controller provides lateral thickness-control resolution that is substantially independent of melt depth, the resolution being maintained in the absence of a diffusive medium above the melt surface. However, in at least Figs. 4-6 and ¶¶[0033]-[0066] Glabbeek teaches an analogous system and method for the growth of ribbon crystals (10B) from a melt which is cooled using a plurality of gas nozzles (32). In Fig. 4 and ¶¶[0036]-[0044] Glabbeek specifically teaches that the gas jets (32) each strike a relatively small part of the sheet wafer (10B) with the total size of the area being cooled depending on factors such as the gas flow rate, gas type, jet (32) size, speed of the growing crystal (10B), the temperature of the molten Si, and the location of the gas jets (32). Any number and types of gases and flow rates may be used to control the localized thickness of the growing sheet wafer (10B). Moreover, as explained specifically in ¶[0052], the thickness is monitored during crystal (10B) growth using detectors (35) which continually measure the thickness and adjust the fluid flow through individual jets (32) in order to ensure that there is a rapid response to any changes in growth conditions and a more uniform sheet crystal can be grown. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Glabbeek and would be motivated to utilize individually-controllable and adjustable gas jets utilized in the absence of a diffusive medium above the melt surface in order to deliver a discrete gas flow to different lateral portions of the surface of the melt as part of the gas cooler (19) of Kudo in order to obtain greater control over the width and thickness across the entirety of the crystalline sheet independent of the melt depth during crystal growth such that a more uniform sheet crystal is obtained.
Kudo also does not explicitly teach that the flow rate is dynamically adjusted in response to a measurement of thickness variations across the ribbon. However, in at least col. 6, ll. 55-59 of Kudo teaches blowing argon or helium through the nozzles (31) at a controlled flow rate which necessarily means the flow rate is capable of being dynamically controlled (i.e., changed or adjusted in real time) based upon one or more measured materials parameters such as the ribbon thickness. Alternatively, as explained specifically in ¶[0052], Glabbeek teaches that the thickness is monitored during crystal (10B) growth using detectors(35) which continually measure the thickness and adjust the fluid flow through the jets (32) in order to ensure that there is a rapid response to any changes in growth conditions and a more uniform sheet crystal can be grown. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Glabbeek and would be motivated to dynamically adjust the gas flow through the gas cooler (19) of Kudo in response to the measured sheet (10B) thickness in order to produce a more uniform sheet crystal. The combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results has been held to support a prima facie determination of obviousness. All the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007). See also, MPEP 2143(A).
Regarding claim 17, Kudo teaches that operation of the uniform melt-back heater and the segmented cooled thinning controller is configured to establish a thermal gradient across the ribbon that maintains the underside in a molten state and the topside in a solid state (see, e.g., Fig. 1 and col. 6, l. 22 to col. 10, l. 2 which teach that the heater (5) melts an underside of the ribbon (22) while the gas cooler (19) maintains a topside of the ribbon (22) in a solid state).
Regarding claim 18, Kudo teaches that the segmented cooled thinning controller is adjacent to the cold initializer (see, e.g., Fig. 1 and col. 6, l. 22 to col. 10, l. 2 which teach that the left and right halves of the gas cooler (19) on either side of the gas inlet which constitute the cold initializer and the segmented cooled thinning controller are adjacent to each other).
Regarding claim 21, Kudo teaches that the melt is molten silicon and the ribbon is crystalline silicon (see, e.g., Fig. 1 and col. 6, ll. 14-17 and col. 7, ll. 5-18 which teach the melt (1) and crystalline ribbon (22) are comprised of Si).
Regarding claim 23, Kudo does not teach that each of the individually controllable gas jets is controlled in response to a measurement of thickness variations across the ribbon. However, as explained specifically in ¶[0052], Glabbeek teaches that the thickness is monitored during crystal (10B) growth using detectors (35) which continually measure the thickness and adjust the fluid flow through the jets (32) in order to ensure that there is a rapid response to any changes in growth conditions and a more uniform sheet crystal can be grown. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Glabbeek and would be motivated to dynamically adjust the gas flow through individual gas jets in the gas cooler (19) of Kudo in response to localized measurements of the sheet (10B) thickness in order to produce a more uniform sheet crystal.
Regarding claim 24, Kudo teaches that the selected and maintained raised height of the crystalline ribbon above the crucible edge is between 0.2 mm and 2 mm to maintain meniscus stability and to prevent overflow of the melt beyond the crucible edge (See, e.g., col. 6, ll. 8-19 which teach that the surface of the melt can be held up to about 10 mm higher than the edge of the crucible at the pulling port which covers the entirety of the claimed range. Since Kudo teaches that the melt and, hence, the ribbon may be maintained up to 10 mm higher than the edge of the crucible this necessarily will improve meniscus stability and prevent overflow of the melt beyond the crucible edge. Moreover, since the height of the crystalline ribbon above the crucible edge determines the size and shape of the meniscus it is considered to be a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result. See, e.g., In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). It therefore would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to utilize routine experimentation to determine and set the optimal raised height of the crystalline ribbon within the disclosed range of up to 10 mm in order to form a meniscus having the desired shape and stability and, subsequently, a ribbon crystal having the desired materials properties and thickness.).
Regarding claim 26, Kudo teaches that the selected and maintained raised height of the crystalline ribbon above the crucible edge is between 0.2 mm and 2 mm to maintain meniscus stability and to prevent overflow of the melt beyond the crucible edge (See, e.g., col. 6, ll. 8-19 which teach that the surface of the melt can be held up to about 10 mm higher than the edge of the crucible at the pulling port which covers the entirety of the claimed range. Since Kudo teaches that the melt and, hence, the ribbon may be maintained up to 10 mm higher than the edge of the crucible this necessarily will improve meniscus stability and prevent overflow of the melt beyond the crucible edge. Moreover, since the height of the crystalline ribbon above the crucible edge determines the size and shape of the meniscus it is considered to be a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result. See, e.g., In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). It therefore would have been within the capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to utilize routine experimentation to determine and set the optimal raised height of the crystalline ribbon within the disclosed range of up to 10 mm in order to form a meniscus having the desired shape and stability and, subsequently, a ribbon crystal having the desired materials properties and thickness.).
Regarding claim 29, Kudo teaches that the puller is configured to pull the crystalline ribbon from the surface of the melt at a low angle of less than 10° relative to the surface of the melt (see col. 3, ll. 52-62 which teach that the crystal ribbon is pulled from the melt at an angle of not greater than 10° upwards from the horizontal melt surface).
Claims 2, 8, 19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo in view of Glabbeek and further in view of International Patent Appl. Publ. No. WO 2015/148181 A1 to Kellerman, et al. (“Kellerman”).
Regarding claim 2, Kudo and Glabbeek do not teach two insulating diffusion barriers disposed on the crucible between the segmented cooled thinning controller and the uniform melt-back heater, wherein the two insulating diffusion barriers are disposed in the melt on opposite sides of the crystalline ribbon formed on the melt. However, in at least Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0023]-[0033] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Kellerman teaches an analogous embodiment of an apparatus (100) for the horizontal growth of a ribbon crystal from a melt (106) contained within a crucible (104). A heat diffusion barrier assembly (108) comprised of two heat diffusion barriers (110) and (111) is provided within the crucible and on opposite sides of the ribbon crystal (308) in order to control the upward flow of heat and provide a more uniform heat flow density. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Kellerman and would be motivated to provide two insulating diffusion barriers within the crucible of Kudo which is located between the gas cooler (19) and heater (5) and on opposite sides of the ribbon crystal in order to provide a more uniform heat flow density during crystal growth.
Regarding claim 8, Kudo and Glabbeek do not teach an insulating diffusion barrier disposed on the crucible between the cold initializer and the segmented cooled thinning controller. However, in at least Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0023]-[0033] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Kellerman teaches an analogous embodiment of an apparatus (100) for the horizontal growth of a ribbon crystal from a melt (106) contained within a crucible (104). A heat diffusion barrier assembly (108) comprised of two heat diffusion barriers (110) and (111) is provided within the crucible and on opposite sides of the ribbon crystal (308) in order to control the upward flow of heat and provide a more uniform heat flow density. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Kellerman and would be motivated to provide two insulating diffusion barriers within the crucible of Kudo and between the gas cooler (19) and heater (5) in order to provide a more uniform heat flow density during crystal growth.
Regarding claim 19, Kudo and Glabbeek do not teach two insulating diffusion barriers disposed on the crucible between the segmented cooled thinning controller and the uniform melt-back heater, wherein the insulating diffusion barriers are disposed in the melt on opposite sides of the ribbon formed on the melt. However, in at least Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0023]-[0033] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Kellerman teaches an analogous embodiment of an apparatus (100) for the horizontal growth of a ribbon crystal from a melt (106) contained within a crucible (104). A heat diffusion barrier assembly (108) comprised of two heat diffusion barriers (110) and (111) is provided within the crucible and on opposite sides of the ribbon crystal (308) in order to control the upward flow of heat and provide a more uniform heat flow density. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Kellerman and would be motivated to provide two insulating diffusion barriers within the crucible of Kudo which is located between the gas cooler (19) and heater (5) and on opposite sides of the ribbon crystal in order to provide a more uniform heat flow density during crystal growth.
Regarding claim 22, Kudo and Glabbeek do not teach an insulating diffusion barrier disposed on the crucible between the cold initializer and the segmented cooled thinning controller. However, in at least Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0023]-[0033] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Kellerman teaches an analogous embodiment of an apparatus (100) for the horizontal growth of a ribbon crystal from a melt (106) contained within a crucible (104). A heat diffusion barrier assembly (108) comprised of two heat diffusion barriers (110) and (111) is provided within the crucible and on opposite sides of the ribbon crystal (308) in order to control the upward flow of heat and provide a more uniform heat flow density. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Kellerman and would be motivated to provide two insulating diffusion barriers within the crucible of Kudo and between the gas cooler (19) and heater (5) in order to provide a more uniform heat flow density during crystal growth.
Claims 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo in view of Glabbeek and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2013/0213295 to Mackintosh, et al. (“Mackintosh”).
Regarding claim 4, Kudo and Glabbeek do not teach that the segmented cooled thinning controller includes a cold block and a plurality of heaters. However, in Figs. 6A-B and ¶¶[0057]-[0058] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Mackintosh teaches an analogous embodiment of a system for forming ribbon crystals on a surface of the melt which includes, inter alia, a cold initializer (602) and a widener (604) which utilize radiative cooling to initiate and then control ribbon formation. The widener (604) includes a plurality of independently controlled zoned heaters (608a-f) in addition to the cold block (604) itself in order to provide localized heating such that the width of the cold zone above melt (610) can be controlled. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Mackintosh and would be motivated to provide the gas cooler (19) of Kudo in the form of a cold initializer (602) together with a widener (604) comprised of a cold block and a plurality of heaters (608a-f) in order to obtain greater control over the initiation and propagation of the crystal growth front during growth of a ribbon crystal.
Regarding claim 5, Kudo and Glabbeek do not teach that the segmented cooled thinning controller includes one or more heat shields between or among the heaters. However, in ¶¶[0040]-[0041] Mackintosh teaches that in some embodiments the cold block is surrounded by shielding which facilitates confinement of the radiative cooling effect of the cold block to a predetermined region of the melt surface. In Fig. 3 and ¶¶[0043]-[0044] an exemplary shielding element (306) is provided which surrounds insulator (304) and the cold block (308). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to provide one or more heat shields between or among the cold block (604) and the plurality of heaters (608a-f) in Figs. 6A-B of Mackintosh with the motivation for doing so being to facilitate confinement of the heating and/or cooling effect from each individual heater (608a-f).
Claim(s) 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo in view of Glabbeek and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2011/0271899 to Kellerman, et al. (“Kellerman III”).
Regarding claim 25, Kudo and Glabbeek do not teach an impinging gas jet locally directed at the meniscus between the crystalline ribbon surface and the crucible edge. However, in Figs. 4-5 and ¶¶[0037]-[0042] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Kellerman III teaches an analogous system and method for the growth of a ribbon crystal (13) from a melt (10). In Fig. 4 and ¶¶[0037]-[0038] Kellerman III specifically teaches that a gas jet (22) may be used under the meniscus (27) in order to stabilize the meniscus by increasing local pressure in the melt. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to provide a gas jet (22) under the meniscus in the apparatus of Kudo in order to further stabilize the meniscus by increasing the local pressure in the melt.
Regarding claim 27, Kudo and Glabbeek do not teach an impinging gas jet locally directed at the meniscus between the crystalline ribbon surface and the crucible edge. However, in Figs. 4-5 and ¶¶[0037]-[0042] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Kellerman III teaches an analogous system and method for the growth of a ribbon crystal (13) from a melt (10). In Fig. 4 and ¶¶[0037]-[0038] Kellerman III specifically teaches that a gas jet (22) may be used under the meniscus (27) in order to stabilize the meniscus by increasing local pressure in the melt. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to provide a gas jet (22) under the meniscus in the apparatus of Kudo in order to further stabilize the meniscus by increasing the local pressure in the melt.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed December 12, 2025, have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office Action which were necessitated by applicants’ claim amendments. U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2012/0211917 to Glabbeek, et al. is relied upon to teach the newly added claim limitations in independent claims 1 and 16 which formed the basis for applicants’ arguments over the previously cited references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH A BRATLAND JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714