DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed December 1, 2025 have been entered. The amendments have overcome each and every claim objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed August 22, 2025. Claims 2-8 and 10-19 remain pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2-8 and 10-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues Kusaka (US Publication No. 2014/0069615) does not teach wherein each heat dissipation boss corresponds to a plurality of heating units across a second width, considering Kusaka only teaches one heat sink across one cooling path. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Examiner notes the primary reference, Hu (CN Publication No. 110941316, cited in IDS) teaches a plurality of heat dissipation bosses extending along a respective plurality of cooling paths (see Figure 3 below). Kusaka is simply used to show it would have been prima facie obvious to a PHOSITA to have modified those heat dissipation bosses to accommodate a
plurality of heat generating components along a section width (see Figure 4 below).
Examiner also cites to Yamaguchi (US Publication No. 2019/0239389), which provides explicit motivation for arranging a plurality of heat generating units across a section width of a cooling path, identical to Applicant’s motivation cited in the Arguments on pages 12-13 - to increase/maximize cooling efficiency of the cold plate.
Liu (CN Publication No. 109982544) and Gohara (US Publication No. 2016/0343640) also teach a plurality of heat generating units arranged along a section width of a flow channel. Examiner also notes Hu (CN Publication No. 110941316) in view of Zheng (CN Publication No. 108170239) and Yamaguchi (US Publication No. 2019/0239389) and Hu (CN Publication No. 110941316) in view of Zheng (CN Publication No. 108170239) and Liu (CN Publication No. 109982544) are also cited in the alternative to reject claim 10.
For these reasons, and the reasons detailed below, claims 2-8 and 10-19 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 10, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (CN Publication No. 110941316, cited in IDS) in view of Zheng (CN Publication No. 108170239, previously cited), Kusaka (US Publication No. 2014/0069615), and Yamaguchi (US Publication No. 2019/0239389).
Regarding claim 10, Hu discloses a liquid cooling plate (liquid-cooling plate 100) suitable for liquid cooling heat dissipation of an electronic device, wherein the liquid cooling plate (100) comprises: a liquid cooling plate body (Figure 1, comprised of main body 10 and caps 20) and at least one heat dissipation flow channel (Figure 2, circulation holes 11),
the liquid cooling plate body (10, 20) is provided with a first heat dissipation surface (Figure 1, planar, top surface of 10, opposite circuit board assembly 210) and a second heat dissipation surface (Figure 1, bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210) that are arranged in parallel (see Figure 3), wherein the first heat dissipation surface (planar, top surface of 210) is planar (see Figure 3), and a plurality of heat dissipation bosses (boss portions 132) are arranged on the second heat dissipation surface (bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210); and
the at least one heat dissipation flow channel (11) extending along the heat dissipation bosses (132) are provided inside the liquid cooling plate body (10, 20) at positions corresponding to at least one of the heat dissipation bosses (132) between the first heat dissipation surface (planar, top surface of 10, opposite 210) and the second heat dissipation surface (bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210), wherein a plurality of the heat dissipation flow channels (11) are connected to form a cooling liquid flow path (see Figure 2) having an inlet (liquid inlet 23) and an outlet (liquid outlet 24),
wherein the second heat dissipation surface (bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210) is used for being in butt joint with a second electronic device (circuit board assembly 210) on which heating units (power chips 212) are arranged, wherein the heat dissipation bosses (132) are used for abutting against the heating units (212),
Hu does not explicitly disclose wherein the first heat dissipation surface is used for being in butt joint with a planar surface of the electronic device so as to enable liquid cooling heat dissipation of the electronic device.
However, Zheng teaches a liquid cooling plate suitable for liquid cooling heat dissipation of an electronic device (first circuit board 3), wherein the liquid cooling plate comprises: a liquid cooling plate body (water-cooled plate 2) provided with a first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 opposite heat sinks 4) and a second heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 including heat sinks 4) that are arranged in parallel (see Figure 1), wherein the first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 opposite 4) is planar (see Figure 1), and a plurality of heat dissipation bosses (heat sinks 4) are arranged on the second heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 including 4), wherein the first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 opposite 4) is used for being in butt joint with a planar surface of an electronic device (first circuit board 3) so as to enable liquid cooling heat dissipation of the electronic device (3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined another circuit board to the first surface of the liquid cooling plate body in Hu, as taught in Zheng. Doing so would have improved the functionality and cooling efficiency of the liquid cooling plate of Hu, by allowing the cooling plate to cool an additional electronic device (see Figure 1 in Zheng).
Hu in view of Zheng does not teach wherein each of the heat dissipation bosses corresponds to a plurality of the heating units in a section width of a respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels that is perpendicular to an extension direction of the respective on of the heat dissipation flow channels.
However, Kusaka teaches wherein a heat dissipation boss (Figure 4, heat sink 33) corresponds to a plurality of heating units (devices 12 and 13) in a section width perpendicular of a respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels (coolant path 50) that is to an extension direction (along flow direction of A) of the respective on of the heat dissipation flow channels (50; see Figure 4).
Additionally, Yamaguchi teaches wherein a heat dissipation flow channel (Figures 3-4, second flow passage 22) corresponds to a plurality of heating units (heat generating units HS) in a section width perpendicular of a respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels (22) that is to an extension direction (length direction of 22) of the respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels (22).
Because Hu teaches the heat dissipation boss corresponding to the heat dissipation flow channels, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat dissipation bosses and heat dissipation flow channels of Hu as modified by Zheng to correspond to a plurality of heating units in the width direction, as taught in Kusaka and Yamaguchi, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of arranging heating units over flow channels of a cold plate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also increased the cooling efficiency of the liquid cooling plate by promoting a more uniform heat transfer between upstream and downstream chips, by allowing more cooling fluid to cool the radiant area of the heat generating components, and by allowing a user to regulate pressure/flow rate while reducing pressure loss across the entire flow passage (see Paragraphs [0011]-[0013] in Yamaguchi; see Figure 4 and Paragraphs [0046]-[0049], [0055] in Kusaka).
Regarding claim 2, Hu in view of Zheng, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Hu) a cooling liquid flows into the inlet (Figure 2, inlet 23) of the cooling liquid flow path and flows out of the outlet (outlet 24) so as to enable liquid cooling heat dissipation of the electronic device (electronic circuit board in Zheng combined to top surface of 10 in Hu).
Regarding claim 3, Hu in view of Zheng, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Hu) wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation flow channels (11) are connected in series (through liquid passing channels 22) to form the cooling liquid flow path (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Hu in view of Zheng, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 3, and further teaches (in Hu) wherein the liquid cooling plate body (10, 20) also has a first side wall (wall of front cap 20) and a second side wall (wall of rear cap 20) that are oppositely arranged between the first heat dissipation surface (planar, top surface of 10, opposite 210) and the second heat dissipation surface (bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210); wherein the inlet (23) and the outlet (24) of the cooling liquid flow path (see Figure 2) are both provided on the first side wall (front 20).
Regarding claim 5, Hu in view of Zheng, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 4, and further teaches (in Hu) wherein the liquid cooling plate body (10, 20) comprises a heat dissipation body (10) and a first sealing plate (front 20) and a second sealing plate (rear 20) mounted on the heat dissipation body (10); wherein the heat dissipation body (10) has the first heat dissipation surface (planar, top surface of 10, opposite 210) and the second heat dissipation surface (bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210), the heat dissipation flow channels (11) being arranged inside the heat dissipation body (10), the heat dissipation flow channels (11) penetrating two ends (see Figure 2) of the heat dissipation body (10), the first sealing plate (front 20) and the second sealing plate (rear 20) are mounted at the two ends of the heat dissipation body (10) respectively, so that the first sealing plate (front 20) and the second sealing plate (rear 20) seal the heat dissipation flow channels (11) and the first sealing plate (front 20) and the second sealing plate (rear 20) form the first side wall (front 20) and the second side wall (rear 20) respectively; wherein a first through hole (hole in front 20 corresponding to 23) and a second through hole (hole in front 20 corresponding to 24) are each provided on the first sealing plate (front 20), and the first through hole (hole in front 20 corresponding to 23) and the second through hole (hole in front 20 corresponding to 24) form the inlet (23) and the outlet (24) of the cooling liquid flow path respectively (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Hu in view of Zheng, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 5, and further teaches (in Hu) wherein the adjacent heat dissipation flow channels (adjacent 11) are separated by a supporting wall (Figure 2, spacers 12), on which a gap (notches 121) is provided; moreover, the gaps (121) of the adjacent supporting walls (12) are close to the first sealing plate (front 20) and the second sealing plate (rear 20) respectively, so as to connect the plurality of heat dissipation flow channels (11) in series to form the cooling liquid flow path (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Hu in view of Zheng, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 5, and further teaches (in Hu) wherein the first through hole (hole defining 23) and the second through hole (hole defining 24) extend outwards (see Figure 2) to be provided with butt joint pipes (water inlet and outlet joints) used to be connected to the cooling liquid (water).
Regarding claim 17, Hu in view of Zheng, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Hu) the cooling liquid (water) flows into the inlet (23) of the cooling liquid flow path (see Figure 2) and flows out of the outlet (24) so as to enable liquid cooling heat dissipation of the second electronic device (210).
Claims 10 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN Publication No. 108170239, previously cited) in view of Kikuchi (US Patent No. 4712158), Kusaka (US Publication No. 2014/0069615), and Yamaguchi (US Publication No. 2019/0239389) (NOTE: Claim 17 rejected in the alternative).
Regarding claim 10, Zheng discloses a liquid cooling plate suitable for liquid cooling heat dissipation of an electronic device, wherein the liquid cooling plate comprises: a liquid cooling plate body (water-cooled plate 2) and at least one heat dissipation flow channel (Figure 1, connected between inlet and outlet pipes of 2), the liquid cooling plate body (2) is provided with a first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 opposite heat sinks 4) and a second heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 including heat sinks 4) that are arranged in parallel (see Figure 1), wherein the first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 opposite 4) is planar (see Figure 1), and a plurality of heat dissipation bosses (heat sinks 4) are arranged on the second heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 including 4), wherein a plurality of heat dissipation flow channels (between inlet and outlet of 2) are connected to form a cooling liquid flow path having an inlet (inlet of 2) and an outlet (outlet of 2), wherein the first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 opposite 4) is used for being in butt joint with a planar surface of an electronic device (rear surface of first circuit board 3) so as to enable liquid cooling heat dissipation of the electronic device (3), wherein the second heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 including 4) is used for being in butt joint with a second electronic device (surface of second circuit board 3 including chips) on which heating units (chips) are arranged, wherein the heat dissipation bosses (4) are used for abutting against the heating units (chips).
Zheng does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one heat dissipation flow channel extends along the heat dissipation bosses provided inside the liquid cooling plate body at positions corresponding to at least one of the heat dissipation bosses between the first heat dissipation surface and the second heat dissipation surface, wherein a plurality of heat dissipation flow channels are connected to form a cooling liquid flow path having an inlet and an outlet.
However, Kikuchi teaches a liquid cooling plate (see Figures 4-7) comprising: liquid cooling plate body (cooling plate 30); and heat dissipation flow channels (branch passages 32) extending along the heat dissipation bosses (hollow member 38) are provided inside the liquid cooling plate body (30) at positions corresponding to at least one of the heat dissipation bosses (38) between the first heat dissipation surface (planar, rear side of 30) and the second heat dissipation surface (contacting, front side of 30), wherein the plurality of heat dissipation flow channels (32) are connected to form a cooling liquid flow path (see Figure 4) having an inlet (inlet 22a) and an outlet (outlet 22b),
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the bosses of Zheng for the bosses of Kikuchi according to known methods to yield the predictable results of providing heat dissipation bosses on a cold plate that correspond to a chip on a circuit board. Doing so would have also increase heat dissipation and installation time by providing a resilient, integrated, heat dissipation boss that was in fluid connection with the flow channels of the cold plate (see col. 6, ln. 1-10 and Figures 4-7 in Kikuchi).
Zheng in view of Kikuchi does not teach wherein each of the heat dissipation bosses corresponds to a plurality of the heating units in a section width of a respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels that is perpendicular to an extension direction of the respective on of the heat dissipation flow channels.
However, Kusaka teaches wherein a heat dissipation boss (Figure 4, heat sink 33) corresponds to a plurality of heating units (devices 12 and 13) in a section width perpendicular of a respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels (coolant path 50) that is to an extension direction (along flow direction of A) of the respective on of the heat dissipation flow channels (50; see Figure 4).
Additionally, Yamaguchi teaches wherein a heat dissipation flow channel (Figures 3-4, second flow passage 22) corresponds to a plurality of heating units (heat generating units HS) in a section width perpendicular of a respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels (22) that is to an extension direction (length direction of 22) of the respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels (22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat dissipation bosses and heat dissipation flow channels of Zheng as modified by Kikuchi to correspond to a plurality of heating units in the width direction, as taught in Kusaka and Yamaguchi, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of arranging heating units over flow channels of a cold plate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also increased the cooling efficiency of the liquid cooling plate by promoting a more uniform heat transfer between upstream and downstream chips, by allowing more cooling fluid to cool the radiant area of the heat generating components, and by allowing a user to regulate pressure/flow rate while reducing pressure loss across the entire flow passage (see Paragraphs [0011]-[0013] in Yamaguchi; see Figure 4 and Paragraphs [0046]-[0049], [0055] in Kusaka).
Regarding claim 15, Zheng in view of Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Kikuchi) wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation flow channels (32) are connected in parallel (see Figure 4 and col. 5, ln. 8-19) to form the cooling liquid flow path (see Figure 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the flow channels in Zheng as previously modified by Kikuchi and Kusaka for the flow channels of Kikuchi according to known methods to yield the predictable results of configuring fluid to flow through a cooling plate. Doing so would have also optimized heat dissipation by ensuring the flow channels were aligned/fluidly engaged with the heat dissipation bosses (see col. 5-6 in Kikuchi).
Regarding claim 16, Zheng in view of Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches a heat dissipation unit, wherein the heat dissipation unit comprises at least two liquid cooling plates (plurality of 2 in Zheng as modified by Kikuchi) of claim 1, wherein the first heat dissipation surfaces of the at least two liquid cooling plates are in butt joint with a planer surface of an electronic device, and cooling liquid flow paths of the at least two liquid cooling plates are arranged in parallel so as to enable liquid cooling heat dissipation of the electronic device; alternatively, the at least two liquid cooling plates (plurality of 2 in Zheng as modified by Kikuchi) are arranged in a stacked manner (see Figure 1 in Zheng), and the second electronic device (second multi-chip force plate 3) is arranged between the adjacent liquid cooling plates (adjacent 2 in Zheng, as modified by Kikuchi), wherein the first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 connected to rear portions of multi-chip force plate 3) of one of the adjacent liquid cooling plates (first 2 in Zheng, as modified by Kikuchi) is in butt joint with a first surface (rear surface of 3) of the second electronic device (3) that is planar (see Figure 1), and the second heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 in Zheng with bosses 38 of Kikuchi) of the other one of the adjacent liquid cooling plates (second 2 in Zheng as modified by Kikuchi) is in butt joint with the second surface (surface of 3 with chips) of the second electronic device (3 in Zheng) on which heating units (chips of 3) are arranged, wherein heat dissipation bosses (38 in Kikuchi) on the second heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 in Zheng with bosses 38 of Kikuchi) abut against the heating units (chips of 3); the cooling liquid flow paths (flow paths in plurality of 2) of the at least two liquid cooling plates (plurality of 2 in Zheng, as modified by Kikuchi) are arranged in parallel (see Figure 1 in Zheng) so as to enable liquid cooling heat dissipation of the second electronic device (second 3 in Zheng).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the flow channels in Zheng as previously modified by Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi for the flow channels of Kikuchi according to known methods to yield the predictable results of configuring fluid to flow through a cooling plate. Doing so would have also optimized heat dissipation by ensuring the flow channels were aligned/fluidly engaged with the heat dissipation bosses (see col. 5-6 in Kikuchi).
Regarding claim 17, Zheng in view of Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Zheng) wherein the cooling liquid flows into the inlet of the cooling liquid flow path (inlet of 2) and flows out of the outlet (outlet of 2) so as to enable liquid cooling heat dissipation of the second electronic device (second 3 in Zheng).
Regarding claim 18, Zheng in view of Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Kikuchi) wherein the second heat dissipation surface (Figure 12, contacting, front side of cooling plate 10, 20) is further provided with abutment bosses (spacer blocks 15) that extend farther from the second heat dissipation surface (contacting, front side of cooling plate 10, 20) than the heat dissipation bosses (heat exchanger elements 14, corresponding to 38 in Figures 5-7), so as to make the abutment bosses (15) abut against a second surface of the second electronic device (side of electronic device 1 including components 2) while the heat dissipation bosses (14, 38) abut against the heating units (2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the spacer blocks of Kikuchi to the second heat dissipation surface of Zheng as previously modified by Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi. Doing so would have ensured the cooling plate remained at an appropriate distance from the electronic device, so the heat dissipation bosses did not exert an excessive force against the chips (see col. 2, line 3-10 in Kikuchi).
Regarding claim 19, Zheng in view of Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 18, and further teaches (in Kikuchi) wherein the abutment bosses (15) are arranged at two ends of the second heat dissipation surface (contacting, front side of cooling plate 10, 20).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the abutments bosses at ends of the second heat dissipation surface of Zeng as modified Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi, as taught in Kikuchi, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN Publication No. 108170239, previously cited), Kikuchi (US Patent No. 4712158), Kusaka (US Publication No. 2014/0069615), Yamaguchi (US Publication No. 2019/0239389), and in further view of Wei (US Publication No. 2013/0171491).
Regarding claim 7, Zheng in view of Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 10, but does not teach wherein the first heat dissipation surface is provided with a plurality of first mounting holes that avoid the heat dissipation flow channels.
However, Wei teaches wherein the first heat dissipation surface (front surface 124) is provided with a plurality of first mounting holes (holes 134) that avoid the heat dissipation flow channels (conduit 116).
Because Zheng also suggests a plurality of screws are used to assemble the liquid cooling plate (see Figure 1 in Zheng), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid cooling plate of Zheng as previously modified by Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi to include the mounting holes and screws of Wei, so as to allow the first heat dissipation surface to be assembled with the liquid cooling plate body. Doing so would have provided the liquid cooling plate with a convenient means of assembly, allowing for a user to easily service or assemble the liquid cooling plate (see Paragraph [0062] and Figures 1-2 in Wei).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN Publication No. 108170239), Kikuchi (US Patent No. 4712158), Kusaka (US Publication No. 2014/0069615), Yamaguchi (US Publication No. 2019/0239389), Wei (US Publication No. 2013/0171491), and in further view of Hu (CN Publication No. 110928388, cited in IDS, hereinafter Hu ‘388)
Regarding claim 8, Zheng in view of Kikuchi, Kusaka, Yamaguchi, and Wei teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 7, but does not teach wherein a mounting outer edge protrudes from the first heat dissipation surface and is provided with a second mounting hole.
However, Hu ‘388 teaches wherein a mounting outer edge (Figure 6, ear portion of top, planar surface of 11) protrudes (laterally) from the first heat dissipation surface (top, planar surface of 11) and is provided with a second mounting hole (hole supporting positioning rod 90 and fastener 13; see Figure 2).
Because Zheng and Hu ‘388 both teach stacking heat generating components between a plurality of liquid cooling plates, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the clamping device and cross bars of Zheng as modified by Kikuchi, Kusaka, Yamaguchi, and Wei for the mounting edges and fasteners of Hu ‘388, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of connecting a plurality of heat generating members and liquid cooling plates in a stacked arrangement (see Figure 1 in Zheng; see Figure 5 in Hu ‘388). Doing so would have also improved the structural integrity of the stacked arrangement by relying on the alignment of holes and fasteners integrated within each liquid cooling plate, as opposed to only the friction generated by a clamping device (see Figure 1 in Zheng; see Figure 5 in Hu ‘388). Doing so would have also protected the heat generating chips on the circuit boards by ensuring the stack components remained in alignment without having to apply an excessive clamping force (see Figure 1 in Zheng; see Figure 5 in Hu ‘388).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (CN Publication No. 110941316), Zheng (CN Publication No. 108170239, previously cited), Kusaka (US Publication No. 2014/0069615), Yamaguchi (US Publication No. 2019/0239389), and in further view of Nakanishi (US Publication No. 2008/0237847) and Xu (US Publication No. 2014/0116661).
Regarding claim 11, Hu in view of Zheng, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 10, but does not teach wherein the first heat dissipation surface is coated with thermally conductive silicone grease, and surfaces of the heat dissipation bosses are provided with thermally conductive silicone pads.
However, Nakanishi teaches wherein a first heat dissipation surface (Figures 1-2, top surface of jacket 20) is coated with thermally conductive silicone grease (Paragraphs [0006]-[0009] and Figures 1A-1B, silicone grease applied between base plate 4 and top surface of jacket 20).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the thermally conductive silicone grease of Nakanishi between the first heat dissipation surface and electronic device of Hu as modified by Zheng, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi. Doing so would have improved the thermal conductivity between the electronic device and a cooling module (see Paragraph [0006] in Nakanishi).
Additionally, Xu teaches wherein surfaces of heat dissipation bosses (surface of heat dissipating component 720 adjacent heat emitting component 710) are provided with thermally conductive silicone pads (thermal pad 730; see Paragraph [0058]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the thermally conductive silicone pad of Xu between the heat generating components and heat dissipation bosses of Hu as modified by Zheng, Kusaka, Yamaguchi, and Nakanishi. Doing so would have improved the thermal conductivity between the heat generating components and the cooling module (see Paragraph [0058] in Xu).
Alternatively, claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN Publication No. 108170239, previously cited), Kikuchi (US Patent No. 4712158), Kusaka (US Publication No. 2014/0069615), Yamaguchi (US Publication No. 2019/0239389), and in further view of Gao (US Publication No. 2021/0092878), Nakanishi (US Publication No. 2008/0237847), and Xu (US Publication No. 2014/0116661).
Regarding claim 11, Zheng in view of Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 10, and further teaches wherein surfaces of the heat dissipation bosses (38 in Kikuchi) are provided with thermally conductive pads (thermal piece 38c in Kikuchi).
Zheng in view of Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi does not explicitly teach wherein the first heat dissipation surface is coated with thermally conductive silicone grease, and surfaces of the heat dissipation bosses are provided with thermally conductive silicone pads.
However, Gao teaches wherein a first heat dissipation surface (inner surface of 102) is coated with thermally conductive material (thermal pad 106; 106 being a thermal interface material).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the thermally conductive material of Gao to the planar, first surface of Zheng as modified by Kikuchi, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi. Doing so would have increased heat dissipation by “1) Filling out the air gap between two contacting surfaces; 2) Enhancing heat transfer; and 3) Decrease the design complexity of the cooling plate” (see Paragraph [0018] in Gao).
Zheng in view of Kikuchi, Kusaka, Yamaguchi, and Gao does not explicitly teach wherein the thermally conductive material is thermally conductive silicone grease.
However, Nakanishi teaches wherein a thermally conductive material is thermally conductive silicone grease (see Paragraph [0006] and Figures 1A-1B).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the thermally conductive material of Zheng as modified by Kikuchi, Kusaka, Yamaguchi, and Gao for the thermally conductive silicone grease of Nakanishi according to known methods to yield the predictable results of providing a thermally conductive material between a heat generating device and a cooling module to enhance thermal conductivity (see Paragraph [0006] in Nakanishi; Paragraph [0018] in Gao).
Zheng in view of Kikuchi, Kusaka, Yamaguchi, Gao, and Nakanishi does not explicitly teach wherein the thermally conductive pads are thermally conductive silicone pads.
However, Xu teaches wherein thermally conductive pads are thermally conductive silicone pads (see Paragraph [0058]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the thermally conductive pad of Zheng as modified by Kikuchi, Kusaka, Yamaguchi, Gao, and Nakanishi for the thermally conductive silicone pad of Xu according to known methods to yield the predictable results of providing a thermally conductive material between a heat generating device and a cooling module to enhance thermal conductivity (see Paragraph [0058] in Xu; col. 5, ln. 20-67 in Kikuchi).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (CN Publication No. 110941316), Zheng (CN Publication No. 108170239, previously cited), Kusaka (US Publication No. 2014/0069615), Yamaguchi (US Publication No. 2019/0239389), and in further view of Schmitt (US Publication No. 2020/0106146).
Regarding claim 12, Hu in view of Zheng, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 10, but does not teach wherein inner walls of the heat dissipation flow channels are provided with flow disturbing structures.
However, Schmitt teaches heat dissipation flow channels (flow ducts 16), wherein inner walls of the heat dissipation flow channels (walls defining 16) are provided with flow disturbing structures (perturbing contours 28).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the flow disturbing structures of Schmitt to the heat dissipating flow channels of Hu as modified by Zheng, Kusaka, and Yamaguchi. Doing so would have increased heat dissipation by creating turbulent flow within the channels (see Paragraph [0003] in Schmitt).
Regarding claim 13, Hu in view of Zheng, Kusaka, Yamaguchi, and Schmitt teaches the liquid cooling plate according to claim 12, and further teaches (in Schmitt) wherein the flow disturbing structures (28) comprise corrugated protrusions or tooth-shaped protrusions (see Figure 4) extending along the heat dissipation flow channel (16), and/or the flow disturbing structures comprise spiral protrusions extending along the heat dissipation flow channel.
Alternatively, claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (CN Publication No. 110941316, cited in IDS) in view of Zheng (CN Publication No. 108170239, previously cited) and Liu (CN Publication No. 109982544).
Regarding claim 10, Hu discloses a liquid cooling plate (liquid-cooling plate 100) suitable for liquid cooling heat dissipation of an electronic device, wherein the liquid cooling plate (100) comprises: a liquid cooling plate body (Figure 1, comprised of main body 10 and caps 20) and at least one heat dissipation flow channel (Figure 2, circulation holes 11),
the liquid cooling plate body (10, 20) is provided with a first heat dissipation surface (Figure 1, planar, top surface of 10, opposite circuit board assembly 210) and a second heat dissipation surface (Figure 1, bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210) that are arranged in parallel (see Figure 3), wherein the first heat dissipation surface (planar, top surface of 210) is planar (see Figure 3), and a plurality of heat dissipation bosses (boss portions 132) are arranged on the second heat dissipation surface (bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210); and
the at least one heat dissipation flow channel (11) extending along the heat dissipation bosses (132) are provided inside the liquid cooling plate body (10, 20) at positions corresponding to at least one of the heat dissipation bosses (132) between the first heat dissipation surface (planar, top surface of 10, opposite 210) and the second heat dissipation surface (bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210), wherein a plurality of the heat dissipation flow channels (11) are connected to form a cooling liquid flow path (see Figure 2) having an inlet (liquid inlet 23) and an outlet (liquid outlet 24),
wherein the second heat dissipation surface (bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210) is used for being in butt joint with a second electronic device (circuit board assembly 210) on which heating units (power chips 212) are arranged, wherein the heat dissipation bosses (132) are used for abutting against the heating units (212),
Hu does not explicitly disclose wherein the first heat dissipation surface is used for being in butt joint with a planar surface of the electronic device so as to enable liquid cooling heat dissipation of the electronic device.
However, Zheng teaches a liquid cooling plate suitable for liquid cooling heat dissipation of an electronic device (first circuit board 3), wherein the liquid cooling plate comprises: a liquid cooling plate body (water-cooled plate 2) provided with a first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 opposite heat sinks 4) and a second heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 including heat sinks 4) that are arranged in parallel (see Figure 1), wherein the first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 opposite 4) is planar (see Figure 1), and a plurality of heat dissipation bosses (heat sinks 4) are arranged on the second heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 including 4), wherein the first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 opposite 4) is used for being in butt joint with a planar surface of an electronic device (first circuit board 3) so as to enable liquid cooling heat dissipation of the electronic device (3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined another circuit board to the first surface of the liquid cooling plate body in Hu, as taught in Zheng. Doing so would have improved the functionality and cooling efficiency of the liquid cooling plate of Hu, by allowing the cooling plate to cool an additional electronic device (see Figure 1 in Zheng).
Hu in view of Zheng does not teach wherein each of the heat dissipation bosses corresponds to a plurality of the heating units in a section width of a respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels that is perpendicular to an extension direction of the respective on of the heat dissipation flow channels.
However, Liu teaches wherein a heat dissipation flow channel (second flow channel 502) corresponds to a plurality of heating units (chips 60) in a section width perpendicular of a respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels (502) that is to an extension direction (length direction) of the respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels (502).
Because Hu teaches each heat dissipation boss corresponding to a respective heat dissipation flow channel, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat dissipation bosses and heat dissipation flow channels of Hu as modified by Zheng to correspond to a plurality of heating units in the width direction, as taught in Liu, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of arranging heating units over flow channels of a cold plate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also increased the cooling efficiency of the liquid cooling plate by promoting a more uniform heat transfer between upstream and downstream chips, by allowing more cooling fluid to cool the radiant area of the heat generating components, and by reducing flow rate and flow resistance (see pages 3-4 in Liu).
Alternatively, claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (CN Publication No. 110941316, cited in IDS) in view of Zheng (CN Publication No. 108170239, previously cited) and Yamaguchi (US Publication No. 2019/0239389).
Regarding claim 10, Hu discloses a liquid cooling plate (liquid-cooling plate 100) suitable for liquid cooling heat dissipation of an electronic device, wherein the liquid cooling plate (100) comprises: a liquid cooling plate body (Figure 1, comprised of main body 10 and caps 20) and at least one heat dissipation flow channel (Figure 2, circulation holes 11),
the liquid cooling plate body (10, 20) is provided with a first heat dissipation surface (Figure 1, planar, top surface of 10, opposite circuit board assembly 210) and a second heat dissipation surface (Figure 1, bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210) that are arranged in parallel (see Figure 3), wherein the first heat dissipation surface (planar, top surface of 210) is planar (see Figure 3), and a plurality of heat dissipation bosses (boss portions 132) are arranged on the second heat dissipation surface (bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210); and
the at least one heat dissipation flow channel (11) extending along the heat dissipation bosses (132) are provided inside the liquid cooling plate body (10, 20) at positions corresponding to at least one of the heat dissipation bosses (132) between the first heat dissipation surface (planar, top surface of 10, opposite 210) and the second heat dissipation surface (bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210), wherein a plurality of the heat dissipation flow channels (11) are connected to form a cooling liquid flow path (see Figure 2) having an inlet (liquid inlet 23) and an outlet (liquid outlet 24),
wherein the second heat dissipation surface (bottom surface of 10, adjacent 210) is used for being in butt joint with a second electronic device (circuit board assembly 210) on which heating units (power chips 212) are arranged, wherein the heat dissipation bosses (132) are used for abutting against the heating units (212),
Hu does not explicitly disclose wherein the first heat dissipation surface is used for being in butt joint with a planar surface of the electronic device so as to enable liquid cooling heat dissipation of the electronic device.
However, Zheng teaches a liquid cooling plate suitable for liquid cooling heat dissipation of an electronic device (first circuit board 3), wherein the liquid cooling plate comprises: a liquid cooling plate body (water-cooled plate 2) provided with a first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 opposite heat sinks 4) and a second heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 including heat sinks 4) that are arranged in parallel (see Figure 1), wherein the first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 opposite 4) is planar (see Figure 1), and a plurality of heat dissipation bosses (heat sinks 4) are arranged on the second heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 including 4), wherein the first heat dissipation surface (surface of 2 opposite 4) is used for being in butt joint with a planar surface of an electronic device (first circuit board 3) so as to enable liquid cooling heat dissipation of the electronic device (3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined another circuit board to the first surface of the liquid cooling plate body in Hu, as taught in Zheng. Doing so would have improved the functionality and cooling efficiency of the liquid cooling plate of Hu, by allowing the cooling plate to cool an additional electronic device (see Figure 1 in Zheng).
Hu in view of Zheng does not teach wherein each of the heat dissipation bosses corresponds to a plurality of the heating units in a section width of a respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels that is perpendicular to an extension direction of the respective on of the heat dissipation flow channels.
However, Yamaguchi teaches wherein a heat dissipation flow channel (Figures 3-4, second flow passage 22) corresponds to a plurality of heating units (heat generating units HS) in a section width perpendicular of a respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels (22) that is to an extension direction (length direction of 22) of the respective one of the heat dissipation flow channels (22).
Because Hu teaches the heat dissipation boss corresponding to the heat dissipation flow channels, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat dissipation bosses and heat dissipation flow channels of Hu as modified by Zheng to correspond to a plurality of heating units in the width direction, as taught in Yamaguchi, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of arranging heating units over flow channels of a cold plate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also increased the cooling efficiency of the liquid cooling plate by promoting a more uniform heat transfer between upstream and downstream chips, by allowing more cooling fluid to cool the radiant area of the heat generating components, and by reducing pressure loss across the entire flow passage (see Paragraphs [0011]-[0013] in Yamaguchi).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/G.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2841 gsc