DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10, 12, 14, 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references/or references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the Applicant has amended the claims to make the alignment vertical such that the scope of the claims has changed, thus requiring further search and consideration. The resulting rejection, based on JP Patent No. 6987481 to 織田 容征 (PCT/JP2020/001477, United States Patent Application No. 2022/0203390 to Orita et al relied upon as the English Language equivalent thereof, hereinafter referred to as Orita) is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by JP Patent No. 6987481 to 織田 容征 (PCT/JP2020/001477, United States Patent Application No. 2022/0203390 to Orita et al relied upon as the English Language equivalent thereof, hereinafter referred to as Orita).
In regards to Claim 10, Orita teaches an atomizing apparatus Fig. 1 for film formation [0003], comprising: a raw-material container 12 configured to accommodate a raw-material solution 15 , the raw-material container including a raw-material container side wall that extends vertically and a raw-material container bottom; a cylindrical member 3 including a cylindrical member side wall 3A and a cylindrical member lower end (bottom of 3A), wherein the cylindrical member is configured to spatially connect inside of the raw-material container to an outer unit (MT/ mist outside [0002-0004], and is disposed such that the cylindrical member lower end of the cylindrical member does not touch a liquid surface of the raw-material solution in the raw-material container (as shown in Fig. 1); an ultrasound generator 2 having at least one ultrasound generation source configured to emit ultrasound (as there are two); and a liquid tank (water tank 10) where the ultrasound propagates to the raw-material solution through a middle solution (water), wherein a side wall of the raw material container and a side wall of the cylindrical member both extend vertically (see vertical alignment), an intersection between a center line of an ultrasound-emitting surface of the ultrasound generation source and a plane containing an outer-most side wall surface of the cylindrical member and an extension of the outer-most side wall surface of the cylindrical member is below a lower end point of the cylindrical member (as it intersects with 3B), and the center line reaches intersects a vertically extending portion of the raw-material container side wall of the raw material container that extends vertically (as it would intersect with the vertical planes of the vertical sidewalls of 12, the ultrasonic planes of 22 being angled).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP Patent No. 6987481 to 織田 容征 (PCT/JP2020/001477, United States Patent Application No. 2022/0203390 to Orita et al relied upon as the English Language equivalent thereof, hereinafter referred to as Orita) in view of United States Patent Application No. 2008/0223953 to Tomona et al.
In regards to Claims 12, 14, and 16, Orita teaches a height H15 of 30-40 mm [0065].
Orita teaches the ultrasound sources are angled but does not expressly teach a distance between the intersection and the lower end point is 10 mm or more or 25 mm or more.
Tomona teaches a mist generating device which creates atomized fine particles Fig. 1-4 and 14 comprising a raw material container 20 configured to accommodate a raw material solution Liq2(WA), a cylindrical member 29 configured to spatially connect inside the raw material container to an outer unit (83, more specifically shown in Fig. 4), and disposed to that a lower end of the cylindrical member does not touch a liquid surface of the raw material solution in the raw material container (as shown in Fig. 1-4) and an ultrasonic transducer 40 Fig. 1/an ultrasound generator having at least one ultrasound generation source 43 (power) and a liquid tank 19 where the ultrasound propagates to the raw material solution through a middle solution Liq1(W) [0044-0053], provided that a center line of an ultrasound emitting surface of the ultrasound generation source is designated as u and is provided such that an intersection P between the center line u and a plane containing a sidewall surface of the cylindrical member 27 is located below a lower end point B of the cylindrical member [0039-0272], the ultrasound generation source is provided such that the center line u reaches a side wall of the raw-material container, as shown in the annotated copy of Fig. 1 below
Tomona further teaches that 27 is connected to the dispersed liquid collecting mechanism so that liquid that hasn’t been atomized can be trapped and returned to be atomized again, thus atomizing the liquid effectively [0223-0229], and it creates ultrasonic atomization efficiency to increase [0019-0021].
Tomona teaches the ultrasound generation source is provided such that a distance between the intersection P and the lower end point B is 10 mm or more, as the distance of Dc is 2 cm, or 20 mm [0216] or 5 cm, 50 mm [0217] or that the ultrasound generation source is provided such that a distance between the intersection P and the lower end point B is 10 mm or more, as the distance of Dc is 5 cm, 50 mm [0217], such that the distance is 25 mm or more as Tomona teaches that the ultrasonic wave is reflected with an angle adjustment mirror lens 25 [0129], the angle being adjusted so that the amount of atomization can be changed, which also adjusts implicitly the distance of the intersection points and the lower ends of the cylinder (as the angle changes the center line), such that it is a result effective variable to change the angle and thus the centerline for the ultrasonic source.
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. As the teachings of Orita in view of Tomona expressly teach the ranges of the angles (and thus the distances as claimed which are dependent on the angle of the centerline) as taught are result effective variables for the amount of atomization such that the optimization is known within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation, with an articulated rationale supporting the rejection, changing the ranges is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
See MPEP 2144.05 II. A, B. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
The Examiner notes that this application of Tomona to Orita is only for the angle of which the ultrasonic waves are applied to the raw material liquid. As such, all aspects of Orita remain while changing the direction of the ultrasonic source angle would change, which would change the centerline and thus a distance between the intersection and the lower end point, which have distances of above 10/25 mm in the teachings of Tomona already. Thus modifying the angle as a result effective variable to optimize the atomization, would through routine optimization, implicitly form a distance of above 10-25 mm.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716