DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/26/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 13-15, 17, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in US Publication 2004/0058598 in view of Rosenblum in US Patent 3424134.
Regarding Claim 1, Miller teaches a structural assembly configured for use in construction of a waist band of a harness, the structural assembly comprising: two primary load-bearing elements (30/34) of elongate, flexible textile webbing (see Paragraph 0034); a semi-loadbearing flexible substrate sheet (6) comprising a plurality of apertures (22/24/26/28) therethrough; and a restraint system (80), wherein each of the two primary load-bearing elements is configured to pass through the apertures in the sheet to form a woven structure with the sheet (see Fig. 2), wherein lengths of the two primary load-bearing elements extend from a center line of the sheet upon one another and form a structure having three or more layers including the sheet (see Fig. 2).
Miller is silent on the details of the restraint system. Rosenblum teaches a restraint system (92) including a base (91) including a plurality of webbing slots (on either side of crossbar 91, see Fig. 7), one of two primary load-bearing elements (16) being disposed on the other of two primary load-bearing elements (17) through each of the plurality of webbing slots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Miller by using a restraint system as taught by Rosenblum in order to better secure the device.
Regarding Claim 2, Miller, as modified, teaches that one or both of the primary load-bearing elements is formed as a loop (see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 3, Miller, as modified, teaches that end portions of the or each load- bearing member that are formed as a loop are connected together (such as at 60/64).
Regarding Claim 4, Miller, as modified, teaches a plurality of securing elements (opposite ends of 32) of elongate flexible textile webbing connected to one of the primary load-bearing elements, the securing elements including releasable buckle components (74a/b) that allow the securing elements to be interconnected whereby the structural assembly is formed into a loop.
Regarding Claim 5, Miller, as modified, teaches that Miller, as modified, teaches that the securing elements are formed from two lengths (the outer ends of 32) of elongate flexible textile webbing connected to the one primary load-bearing element at locations spaced from the center line.
Regarding Claim 6, Miller, as modified, teaches that the securing elements are formed from a single length of elongate flexible textile webbing (32) connected to the one primary load-bearing element and which extends across the center line in contact with the one primary load- bearing element.
Regarding Claim 7, Miller, as modified, teaches (see Rosenblum) that one or both of the primary load-bearing elements pass through the restraint system (Rosenblum, Fig. 7), the restraint system having formations (Rosenblum elements 91 and 94) to maintain the primary load-bearing elements in position one upon the other .
Regarding Claim 9, Miller, as modified, teaches (see Rosenblum) that the restraint system includes an attachment component (the loop of 92) to which a connector can be applied to secure the structural assembly to an external component.
Regarding Claim 10, Miller, as modified, teaches that the base is disposed between the attachment component and a substrate sheet (Rosenblum, element 100).
Regarding Claim 13, Miller, as modified, teaches one or more hardware assemblies (4/8) secured to the semi-loadbearing flexible substrate sheet by the primary load-bearing elements.
Regarding Claim 14, Miller, as modified, teaches that the hardware assemblies include side attachment arrangements (the faces of 4 and 8), each of the side attachment arrangements including a load-bearing component (such as 75a/b) secured to the substrate sheet by one of the primary load- bearing elements
Regarding Claim 15, Miller, as modified, teaches a harness comprising: a waist belt including the structural assembly of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 17, Miller, as modified, teaches two leg loops 40/50) configured to surround thighs of a user and connected by flexible risers (46a/56a) to hardware components of the structural assembly through forward connection arrangements of the harness.
Regarding Claim 27, Miller, as modified, teaches that the webbing slots are parallel to one another (22 and 28 are parallel, as are 24 and 26).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller, as modified, as applied to Claim 15 above in view of Stibilj in US Publication 2017/0216635. Miller, as modified, is silent on the use of padding. Stibilj teaches a harness including a substrate (40) with padding (42) secured to an inner surface of the substrate sheet to be disposed, in use, between the substrate sheet and a user's body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Miller, as modified, by adding padding as taught bs Stibilj in order to provide a more comfortable harness for the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and its dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-26 are allowed.
Claims 8, 11, 12, 18-22, and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah C. Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636