DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 01/22/2026 has been entered and considered. Upon entering claims 1-21 were pending; and claims 1-2, 9-11, 13-15, and 20-21 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as further noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Rooij et al. (US 2009/0296434) in view of LV Guozhong et al. (CN103675569).
Regarding claim 1, De Rooij teaches A method of converting direct current (DC) power from a plurality of photovoltaic modules (fig. 5@ 104, 106) into alternating current (AC) power (see Abstarct, par. [0043-0047] and claim 1), the method comprising: receiving one or more DC power signals at a plurality of photovoltaic modules (104, 106); converting, via a plurality of power converters connected in series (see figure 5: converters connected to PV array 104, 106), the one or more DC power signals into a rectified sine wave signal (see figure 5: sine wave signal 120, 122), wherein each of the plurality converters comprises a buck converter (see par. [0044-0045]); and converting, via an unfolding bridge (fig. 5@ unfolding circuit 102) within a grid interface unit, the rectified sine wave signal to an AC signal for supply to a power grid (see Abstract; par. [0043], [0047] and claim 1: “The PV inverter system increases the level of the voltage sourcing each buck converter when a corresponding DC power source voltage is lower than the instantaneous voltage of a utility grid connected to the PV inverter system”), the grid interface unit (102) being electrically connected to the plurality of power converters and to the power grid (see figure 5 and claim 1); wherein each photovoltaic module of the plurality of photovoltaic modules (104, 106) is configured for being electrically connected to a respective power converter of the plurality of power converters (see figure 5), and wherein the plurality of photovoltaic modules (104, 106) are not connected to one another in series (see figure 5: PV arrays 104 and 106 are not connected in series).
However, De Rooij does not explicitly teach a set of connector pairs comprising at least a connector pair corresponding to a fault detection line or a synchronization line.
LV Guozhong teaches a set of connector pairs comprising at least a connector pair corresponding to a fault detection line or a synchronization line (see figure 3, Abstract and par. [0041-0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified De Rooij with the teachings of LV Guozhong by having a set of connector pairs comprising at least a connector pair corresponding to a fault detection line or a synchronization line in order to provides signal integrity, reliable bidirectional communication, mechanical stability, flexibility, easier maintenance, compatibility and maintaining efficient, high-speed, and scalable networks.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches wherein each of the plurality of power converters is configured for being electrically connected to a respective photovoltaic module of the plurality of photovoltaic modules (104, 106), (see figure 5; De Rooij).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the unfolding bridge (102) comprises circuitry configured to function as an H-bridge (fig. 5@ unfolding circuit 102 includes switching devices 112, 114, 116, 118; De Rooij).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches wherein converting the rectified sine wave signal to the AC signal comprises reversing polarity of the rectified sine wave signal on alternate pulses to an AC compatible signal (see figure 5 and par. [0043] “an output unfolding circuit 102 that functions solely to unfold a rectified current waveform produced by summing the rectified currents generated via a plurality of power sources including a first PV array 104, a second PV array 106; De Rooij).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the rectified sine wave signal comprises a half-sine wave (see figure 5: half-sine wave 120, 122; De Rooij).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches wherein the half-sine wave comprises a half-wave of one of at least a sinusoidal wave including a sine wave (see figure 5: sine wave 120, 122; De Rooij).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches further comprising producing, via each of the plurality of power converters, a half-sine wave signal (see figure 5; De Rooij).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches further comprising: producing each respective half-sine wave signal in synchronization with each of the other of the plurality of power converters and the grid interface unit; and adding each of the respective half-sine wave signals in the grid interface unit to form the rectified sine wave signal of a combined output voltage from the plurality of power converters (see figure 5 and par. [0043]; “PV inverter topology 100 includes an output unfolding circuit 102 that functions solely to unfold a rectified current waveform produced by summing the rectified currents generated via a plurality of power sources including a first PV array 104, a second PV array 106”; De Rooij).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches wherein the plurality of power converters are each configured to produce an individual part of the rectified sine wave signal (120, 122), such that when combined the individual parts form a full rectified sine wave signal (see par. [0043] and claim 1; “a current unfolding circuit comprising switching devices configured to switch synchronously with the utility grid so as to construct an AC current in response to the full wave rectified sine wave current”; De Rooij).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches further comprising receiving, via the grid interface unit (102), the rectified sine wave signal from the plurality of power converters (see figure 5 and par. [0043]; De Rooij).
Regarding claim 21, the combination teaches wherein the grid interface unit (102) is configured to be electrically connected to the plurality of power converters in series (see figure 5; De Rooij).
Claims 9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Rooij et al. (US 2009/0296434) in view of LV Guozhong et al. (CN103675569) and further in view of Ilic et al. (US 2020/0144933).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the method above, but does not explicitly teach further comprising: synchronizing, via the grid interface unit, the plurality of power converters; and communicating with the plurality of power converters through a combined synchronization and communication line in a trunk cable.
Ilic teaches further comprising: synchronizing, via the grid interface unit (410), the plurality of power converters (420); and communicating with the plurality of power converters (410) through a combined synchronization and communication line in a trunk cable (see figures 1 and 4 and par. [0027] and [0037], interconnection cables).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified De Rooij and LV Guozhong with the teachings of Ilic by having synchronizing, via the grid interface unit, the plurality of power converters; and communicating with the plurality of power converters through a combined synchronization and communication line in a trunk cable in order to reduces hardware, and improves overall efficiency, reliability, and stability.
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches the method above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the grid interface unit comprises a fault detection system, a monitoring system, a synchronization system, and a communication system.
Ilic teaches the grid interface unit comprises a fault detection system, a monitoring system, a synchronization system, and a communication system (see par. [0006-0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified De Rooij and LV Guozhong with the teachings of Ilic by having the grid interface unit comprises a fault detection system, a monitoring system, a synchronization system, and a communication system in order to enhance the grid's overall reliability, efficiency, and stability.
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the method above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of power converters and the grid interface unit are connected by a trunk cable.
Ilic teaches the plurality of power converters (420) and the grid interface unit (410) are connected by a trunk cable (see figures 1 and 4 and par. [0027] and [0037], interconnection cables).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified De Rooij and LV Guozhong with the teachings of Ilic by having the plurality of power converters and the grid interface unit are connected by a trunk cable in order to minimizes the number of potential failure points and provides better protection against environmental hazards like moisture, dust, or physical damage.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Rooij et al. (US 2009/0296434) in view of LV Guozhong et al. (CN103675569) and further in view of Stauth et al. (US 2010/0289337).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the method above, but does not explicitly teach further comprising synchronizing the plurality of power converters by a combined synchronization and communication signal produced by the grid interface unit, wherein the combined signal includes communication bits.
Stauth teaches synchronizing the plurality of power converters by a combined synchronization and communication signal produced by the grid interface unit, wherein the combined signal includes communication bits, (see figs. 16-20; and par. [0119-0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Stauth into the method of De Rooij and LV Guozhong in order to reduce noise and can be saved and retrieved the information signals.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Rooij et al. (US 2009/0296434) in view of LV Guozhong et al. (CN103675569) and further in view of Ledenev et al. (US 2011/0210611).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the method above, but does not explicitly teach further comprising preventing electrical signals from propagating towards the plurality of power converters and the plurality of photovoltaic modules via a blocking diode connected in series with the plurality of power converters.
Ledenev teaches preventing electrical signals from propagating towards the plurality of power converters and the plurality of photovoltaic modules via a blocking diode (fig. 1: 12) connected in series with the plurality of power converters (10), (see fig. 1 and par. [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ledenev into the method of De Rooij and LV Guozhong in order to prevent the reverse current flow may preclude voltages that would otherwise damage reverse current sensitive devices such as switches that may form part of a voltage limiting DC to DC converter.
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Rooij et al. (US 2009/0296434) in view of LV Guozhong et al. (CN103675569), in view of Ilic et al. (US 2020/0144933) and further in view of Croft et al. (US 2011/0061705).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the method above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of power converters are embedded in the trunk cable.
Groft teaches the plurality of power converters are embedded in the trunk cable, (see figs. 1, 4, 6; and par. [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Croft into the method of De Rooij, LV Guozhong and Ilic in order to provide more convenient to technician for easily to install or remove the power converter.
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the method above, but does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of power converters comprises a weather proof cartridge and a housing attached to the trunk cable, the weather proof cartridge configured for removable insertion into the housing.
Croft discloses the method, wherein each of the plurality of power converter comprises a weather proof cartridge and a housing attached to the trunk cable, the weather proof cartridge configured for removable insertion into the housing, (see figs. 2a-c, 3a-c; par. [0035], (insert 330 provides a hermetic seal to protect module and J-box components and for safety. Placing the insert in this operating position ensures that leads are not exposed to the environment at housing interface 375), [0039], (the movable or fixed part. As described above, in certain embodiments, diodes and the like are contained within the movable part for easy replacement. As described further below, in certain embodiments, the movable part may contain additional elements, including but not limited, to inverters, DC/DC converters and the like); [0059], (the insert may provide a hermetic seal)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Croft into the method of De Rooij, LV Guozhong and Ilic in order to provide more convenient to technician for easily to install or remove the power converter.
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches wherein each power converter housing is embedded in the trunk cable, (see figs. 1, 4; par. [0045]; Croft).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the method above, but does not explicitly teach one or more weatherproof housings for housing one or more of the plurality of power converters.
Croft teaches one or more weatherproof housings for housing one or more of the plurality of power converters (see figs 1-4; par. [0035] and [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Croft into the method of De Rooij, LV Guozhong and Ilic in order to protect the power converters.
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches the method above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the grid interface unit is located remotely from the plurality of power converters.
Croft teaches wherein the grid interface unit (440) is located remotely from the plurality of power converters (430), (see figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Croft into the method of De Rooij, LV Guozhong and Ilic in order to protect the power converters.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUAN LY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836