Response to Amendment
Amendments to claims 17 and 18 submitted on March 16, 2026 are acknowledged and have since been entered. Claims 1-13, 16, 19, 20 and 25-25 have been canceled. New Claims 36-47 are further acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 37- 40, 42, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farooq (US 20210175174 A1).
Regarding Claim 37, Farooq teaches a method (see Figs. 11-15) comprising:
forming a first package component (1502, shown Fig. 15) comprising an interposer (504a-512a, shown Fig. 11), wherein the interposer is electrically connected to a first die (500a) that is encapsulated in an encapsulant (see [0081] which describes the entire structure being encased in an underfill encapsulant), and wherein the interposer comprises a plurality of protruding metal posts (524a);
bonding a second die (300a) to a second side of the interposer (shown Fig. 15), wherein the second die comprises:
a substrate (302); and
a through-via penetrating through the substrate (see [0082] which describes chips 300a being bridge chips, wherein it is understood that at least some metal interconnect extends through the die substrate); and
bonding a second package component (1202) underlying the first package component through a plurality of solder regions (1004, shown Fig. 11, see also [0082]), wherein the plurality of solder regions comprise portions lower than a top surface of the second package component (shown Figs. 12-15, wherein the solder regions would be entirely below the surface in which chip 300a is disposed on the second package component).
Regarding Claim 38, Farooq teaches the method of claim 37 further comprising:
etching the second package component to form a plurality of recesses (1206, see [0084]), wherein the plurality of solder regions extend into the plurality of recesses (see [0082] and Fig. 15).
Regarding Claim 39, Farooq teaches the method of claim 37, wherein the plurality of solder regions join the plurality of plurality of protruding metal posts to the second package component (see [0082] and Figs. 11 and 15).
Regarding Claim 40, Farooq teaches the method of claim 37 further comprising dispensing an underfill (see [0081] which describes the entire package being encased in an underfill encapsulant) between the interposer and the second package component, wherein the underfill extends into the second package component (as shown in Fig. 15, the underfill would fill any gap between the interposer and the second package component and within recesses 1206).
Regarding Claim 42, Farooq teaches the method of claim 37, wherein the second die is a bridge die (see [0082]).
Regarding Claim 43, Farooq teaches the method of claim 37, wherein the first package component further comprises a third die (700a, shown Fig. 15) bonding to the interposer, wherein the second die electrically connects the first die to the third die (see [0082]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooq (US 20210175174 A1) in further view of Hsu (US 20190006315 A1)
Regarding Claim 41, Farooq teaches the method of claim 37, wherein the second die is a bridge die, but does not explicitly teach that the bridge die may contain active components of an exemplary intelligent power device die.
Hsu teaches a method of forming a package structure (see Fig. 4) comprising a first and second die (200a and 200b) bridged by an intelligent power device die (130, see also [0034] which describes die 130 comprising active components).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to implement active components in the bridge die of Farooq as this would increase integration versatility within IC packaging.
Specifically, this modification would teach that the second die of Farooq is an intelligent power device die.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15, 17, 18, 21-24, 36, and 44-47 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 14, Wu (US 20210098421 A1) being the most relevant prior art of record teaches:
A package (shown Fig. 7) comprising:
an interposer (350 and metal pillars 120, as defined in the instant application), wherein the interposer comprises a plurality of protruding metal posts (120);
a first device die (200A) over and bonding to the interposer;
a die (530) underlying and bonding to the interposer, wherein the die comprises:
a semiconductor substrate (532, see [0075] and Fig. 6A); and
through-vias (534, see [0077]) penetrating through the semiconductor substrate;
a package substrate (110) underlying the die and the interposer (shown Fig. 7);
a first plurality of connection regions (112t, see also Fig. 1A, [0025-0026] which describes 112t being distributed on a “die-attaching region”);
and a second plurality of connection regions 112t’, see Fig. 6A) bonding the die to the package substrate (shown Fig. 6A), wherein the second plurality of connection regions comprise portions over the top surface of the package substrate, and wherein the through-vias and the second plurality of connection regions electrically connect the interposer to the package substrate (shown Fig. 7).
Seo (US 20160133613 A1) further teaches a package-on-package structure analogous to that of Wu wherein a first solder pad 165, interpreted as a first solder region, is disposed in the same manner as component 112t of Wu), bonding the interposer to the package substrate (shown Fig. 7) with a subsequent solder material and wherein the first solder regions are lower than a top surface of the package substrate (shown Fig. 7).
Farooq (US 20210175174 A1) teaches a package structure (shown Fig. 15) wherein a plurality of protruding metal posts protrude toward a package substrate and join the package substrate via a plurality of solder regions wherein at least some portion of the solder region is lower than a top surface of the substrate. However, Farooq teaches away from a second plurality of solder regions joining a die, which underlies the interposer, to the package substrate over the top surface of the package substrate.
The prior art does not explicitly teach or suggest in any combination the plurality of protruding metal posts protruding toward the package substrate and joining the package substrate via a plurality of solder regions wherein at least some portion of the solder region is lower than a top surface of the package substrate as shown in Fig. 15 of the instant application. Thus, claim 14 is deemed patentable over the prior art. Claims 17, 21-22, 24 and 44-45 are further deemed patentable due to their dependence on claim 14.
Regarding Claim 18, Jeng (us 20210193637 A1) being the most relevant prior art of record teaches a package (see Fig. 7) comprising:
an interposer (20’);
a first device die (50A) and a second device die (50B) over and bonding to the interposer (shown Fig. 7);
a die (78) underlying and bonding to the interposer, wherein the die comprises:
a component (described [0040]) selected from the group consisting of an intelligent power device, a passive device (see [0034], and combinations thereof, wherein the component comprises:
a semiconductor substrate (80); and
a through-via (90) penetrating through the semiconductor substrate (shown Fig. 13); and
a package component (102) underlying and bonding to both of the die and the interposer (shown Fig. 7), wherein the interposer is electrically connected to the package component through the die (see Fig. 13).
Jeng further teaches an underfill (108) between the die and the interposer (shown Fig. 7) and further between the interposer and the package component.
Jeng does not explicitly describe the underfill being a first underfill and a second underfill which have a “distinguishable interface therebetween”.
Tsai (US 20200105663 A1) teaches an integrated circuit package comprising a die (224, see Fig. 20), a first underfill (230) formed between a package component (208) and the die and around solder regions 228, and a second underfill (232) to encapsulate the die and the first underfill.
Farooq (US 20210175174 A1) teaches a package structure (shown Fig. 15) wherein a plurality of protruding metal posts protrude toward a package substrate and join the package substrate via a plurality of solder regions wherein at least some portion of the solder region is lower than a top surface of the substrate. However, Farooq teaches away from a second plurality of solder regions joining a die, which underlies the interposer, to the package substrate over the top surface of the package substrate.
The prior art does not explicitly teach or suggest in any combination the plurality of protruding metal posts protruding toward the package substrate and joining the package substrate via a plurality of solder regions wherein at least some portion of the solder region is lower than a top surface of the package substrate and the package component being electrically connected to the interposer through the die as shown in Fig. 15 of the instant application. Thus, claim 18 is deemed patentable over the prior art. Claims 23, 36 and 46-47 are further deemed patentable due to their dependence on claim 18.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to newly added claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893