DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment received June 5, 2026. Claims 1 and 14 were amended. Claims 8, 9, 15, and 16 are cancelled claims. Claims 1-7, 10-14, and 17-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
It appears a copy of the following cited non-patent literature document on the 06/02/2026 IDS was not received:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2015/0236274 A1).
Hatakeyama et al. teaches organic electroluminescent element comprising a polycyclic aromatic compound (see title and abstract) according to formula (1) (see par. 13):
.
Per instant claim 1 Formula 1, in the Hatakeyama formula (1), Y1 may be boron (see par. 15), X1 and X2 may be N-R (see par. 16), ring A may be an aryl ring (see par. 14) including benzene (see par. 60), and B and C rings may be heteroaryl rings (see par. 14) including rings such as carbazole, dibenzofuran, or dibenzothiophene (see par. 62). Regarding instant Formula 2, B and C rings may be substituted (see par. 49) where a substituent may be alkyl, aryl (i.e., phenyl), or heteroaryl (see par. 49). Hatakeyama teaches a formula (1) compound may be used as dopant material of an emission layer (see par. 119) and blue light emission is taught using compound according to formula (1) (see par. 553). Further, compounds taught by Hatakeyama et al. are the same as claimed and any properties attributable to same compounds (i.e., emission wavelength) are expected the same. Regarding instant formula H-1 of claim 1, Hatakeyama teaches compounds such as “HT” for a hole transport layer (see par. 548-552).
Regarding claim 3, Hatakeyama teaches emission layer comprising formula (1) compound may be used as dopant material (see par. 119).
Regarding claim 4, a device may include both a hole injecting layer and a hole transporting layer (see Table 1 and par. 548-552).
Regarding claim 5, a device may include two hole transporting layers, which would perform the function of hole transportation in the operation of the device. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 7, X1 and X2 may be selected the same N-R (see par. 16).
Regarding claims 10-12, B and C rings may be substituted (see par. 49) where a substituent may be alkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl (see par. 49). Further regarding claims 10 and 11, ring A may be substituted (see par. 49). Further regarding claim 12, R of N-R may be aryl (see par. 56). Regarding compounds of claim 13, corresponding groups per instant R1, Ra3, R2 and R3 have been previous discussed above and include groups the same as groups contained within compounds of instant claim 13. For instance per at least instant #16, A may be substituted with heteroaryl carbazole, B and C rings may be heteroaryl dibenzofuran substituted by aryl phenyl groups and N-R may contain R as heteroaryl dibenzofuran (see par. 48-72).
Per instant Formula 1 of claim 14, Hatakeyama et al. teaches organic electroluminescent element comprising a polycyclic aromatic compound (see title and abstract) according to formula (1) (see par. 13):
.
In the Hatakeyama formula (1), Y1 may be boron (see par. 15), X1 and X2 may be N-R (see par. 16), ring A may be an aryl ring (see par. 14) including benzene (see par. 60), and B and C rings may be heteroaryl rings (see par. 14) including rings such as carbazole, dibenzofuran, or dibenzothiophene (see par. 62). Regarding instant Formula 2, B and C rings may be substituted (see par. 49) where a substituent may be alkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl (see par. 49). Hatakeyama teaches emission layer comprising formula (1) compound may be used as dopant material (see par. 119) and blue light emission is taught using compound according to formula (1) (see par. 553). Further, compounds taught by Hatakeyama et al. are the same as claimed and any properties attributable to same compounds (i.e., emission wavelength) are expected the same.
Regarding claims 17-19, B and C rings may be substituted (see par. 49) where a substituent may be alkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl (see par. 49). Further regarding claim 18, ring A may be substituted (see par. 49). Further regarding claim 19, R of N-R may be aryl (see par. 56). Regarding compounds of claim 20, corresponding groups per instant R1, Ra3, R2 and R3 have been previous discussed above and include groups the same as groups contained within compounds of instant claim 20. For instance per at least instant #16, A may be substituted with heteroaryl carbazole, B and C rings may be heteroaryl dibenzofuran substituted by aryl phenyl groups and N-R may contain R as heteroaryl dibenzofuran (see par. 48-72).
While Hatakeyama et al. does not appear to exemplify a Formula 1 compound the same as claimed Formula 1 compounds, given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form compounds according to Hatakeyama et al. Formula 1 for use in a device structure as discussed above wherein the resultant compound and device would also meet the limitations of the instant claims. One would expect to achieve functional compounds within the disclosure of Hatakeyama et al. for an operational light emitting device with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2015/0236274 A1) in view of Geum et al. (US 2023/0061019 A1).
Hatakeyama et al. is relied upon as set forth above.
Hatakeyama et al. does not appear specifically to teach delayed fluorescent emission from an emitting region/layer(s). In analogous art, Geum et al. teaches delayed fluorescent compounds may be used as dopant material in a light emitting layer comprising multiple materials in a light emitting device (see par. 242, 259-261). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a delayed fluorescent material as taught by Geum et al. in an emission layer within a device according to Hatakeyama et al., because one would expect the Geum et al. dopant material to be similarly beneficial as emitting material in a device display according to Hatakeyama et al. One would expect to achieve an operational device within the disclosures of Hatakeyama et al. in view of Geum et al. with a predictable result and reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2015/0236274 A1) in view of in view of Jeong et al. (US 2017/0098686 A1).
Hatakeyama et al. is relied upon as set forth above.
Hatakeyama et al. does not appear to teach a capping layer on an outer surface of an electrode of the device which has a refractive index of 1.6 or higher. In analogous art, Jeong et al. teaches providing a capping layer on an OLED (see abstract) having a refractive index in a range of 1.6 to about 2.6 (see claim 2 on page 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a capping layer according to Jeong et al. as part of a sealing layer for protecting a device according to Hatakeyama et al., because one would expect the Jeong et al. capping layer to be similarly beneficial for a device display according to Hatakeyama et al. One would expect to achieve an operational device within the disclosures of Hatakeyama et al. in view of Jeong with a predictable result and reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 22 of the remarks, applicant’s representative discusses the citation of paragraphs 49 and 62 of Hatakeyama in the previous rejection. The office respectfully submits the analysis of paragraph 62 is not understood, because paragraph 62 does not discuss rings B’ and C’ as alleged in applicant’s remarks. The office maintains Hatakeyama teaches rings A, B, and C that may be aryl ring or heteroaryl ring and rings may be further substituted. Paragraph 62 and 61 are reproduced here:
It appears applicant’s representative may be arguing features of Hatakeyama paragraph 52 rather than paragraph 62. The office action clearly referenced paragraph 62. Other paragraphs referenced in the rejection include at least par. 14, 62, and 49 and none of these are limited to discussions of the B’ and C’ ring features applicant is arguing. Hatakeyama main formula (1) clearly teaches in par. 14 “ring A, ring B, and ring C each independently represent an aryl ring or a heteroaryl ring, while at least one hydrogen atom in these rings may be substituted”. The allegation that Hatakeyama rings of a formula 1 compound can not be substituted is not considered persuasive.
At the bottom of page 22, applicant’s representative states unexpected and desirable results have been demonstrated. In response, the “inventive” results are not considered commensurate with breadth of claimed compounds. Although the two “comparative” compounds are within Hatakeyama, the two compounds are not sufficiently commensurate with the breadth of teachings by Hatakeyama. Further, if applicant is arguing that “inventive” compounds are specifically substituted to provide the alleged improved results, the “inventive” versus “comparative” compounds have many differing features and a “side-by-side” comparison of individual group selections can not be made.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWN L GARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786