DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed on 08/20/2026 has been received and considered. Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, 15 and 18 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1, 7, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per Claim 1, it recites the limitation “linearly and proportionately dependent one another” which would be better as “linearly and proportionately dependent on one another”.
As per Claims 1, 7, and 13, they introduce “a FCC-based molecular dynamic potential development methodology” and thereafter recite “the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology”. For consistency, the latter “the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology” would be better as “the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential development methodology”.
As per Claim 7, it ends both the sequence step and the generate step with “; and”; the “and” at the end of the sequence step should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
MPEP 2173.05(e): “A claim is indefinite when it contains words or phrases whose meaning is unclear. The lack of clarity could arise where a claim refers to “said lever” or “the lever,” where the claim contains no earlier recitation or limitation of a lever and where it would be unclear as to what element the limitation was making reference. Similarly, if two different levers are recited earlier in the claim, the recitation of “said lever” in the same or subsequent claim would be unclear where it is uncertain which of the two levers was intended. A claim which refers to “said aluminum lever,” but recites only “a lever” earlier in the claim, is indefinite because it is uncertain as to the lever to which reference is made. Obviously, however, the failure to provide explicit antecedent basis for terms does not always render a claim indefinite. If the scope of a claim would be reasonably ascertainable by those skilled in the art, then the claim is not indefinite. Energizer Holdings Inc. v. Int’l Trade Comm’n, 435 F.3d 1366, 77 USPQ2d 1625 (Fed. Cir. 2006)(holding that “anode gel” provided by implication the antecedent basis for “zinc anode”); Ex parte Porter, 25 USPQ2d 1144, 1145 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (“controlled stream of fluid” provided reasonable antecedent basis for “the controlled fluid”). Inherent components of elements recited have antecedent basis in the recitation of the components themselves. For example, the limitation “the outer surface of said sphere” would not require an antecedent recitation that the sphere has an outer surface. See Bose Corp. v. JBL, Inc., 274 F.3d 1354, 1359, 61 USPQ2d 1216, 1218-19 (Fed. Cir 2001) (holding that recitation of “an ellipse” provided antecedent basis for “an ellipse having a major diameter” because “[t]here can be no dispute that mathematically an inherent characteristic of an ellipse is a major diameter”).”
As per Claims 1, 7, and 13, they recite the limitation “the BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework” in the step of calculating “a first atomic electron density values …” which lacks proper antecedent basis. Before this recitation the claims introduce only “a BCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology” in the step of computing “one or more of (i) an embedding energy function…”, and then after it they introduce “a BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework” after the step of calculating “a second atomic electron density values …”, so that it is ambiguous whether the recited framework is the methodology used in the computing steps or a further, different framework (in claims 1 and 7, the FCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework is likewise recited before “a FCC-based molecular dynamic potential framework” is introduced). To overcome this rejection, Applicant may consider amending claims 1, 7, and 13 to recite “the BCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology” and “the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential development methodology” in place of each recited BCC-based and FCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework, MPEP 2173.05(e). Examiner Interpretation: the limitation “the BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework” is interpreted as the BCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology recited in the computing steps (and each recited FCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework as the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential development methodology), consistent with paragraphs [0050], [0051], and [0057] of the specification.
As per Claims 1, 7, and 13, they recite the limitation “the BCC element type framework” which lacks proper antecedent basis. To overcome this rejection, Applicant may consider amending claims 1, 7, and 13 to recite “the BCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology” in place of “the BCC element type framework”, MPEP 2173.05(e). Examiner Interpretation: the limitation “the BCC element type framework” is interpreted as the BCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology recited in the computing steps, consistent with paragraphs [0054] and [0057] of the specification.
As per Claims 7 and 13, they recite the limitation “wherein the first element type and the second element type is a body centered cubic (BCC) element type and the second element type is a face centered cubic (FCC) element type” which is indefinite because it recites that the second element type is both a body centered cubic (BCC) element type and a face centered cubic (FCC) element type. It is unclear which element type the second set of elements is classified as. To overcome this rejection, Applicant may consider amending claims 7 and 13 to recite “wherein the first element type is a body centered cubic (BCC) element type and the second element type is a face centered cubic (FCC) element type”, MPEP 2173.02. Examiner Interpretation: the limitation “wherein the first element type and the second element type is a body centered cubic (BCC) element type and the second element type is a face centered cubic (FCC) element type” is interpreted as the first element type being a BCC element type and the second element type being an FCC element type, consistent with paragraphs [0055] and [0057] of the specification.
As per Claim 13, it recites the limitation “obtained from both the BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework; and” which is indefinite because “both” calls for two sources while a single framework is named. It is unclear whether values obtained from the FCC-based framework are required. To overcome this rejection, Applicant may consider amending claim 13 to recite “obtained from both the BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework and FCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework; and”, MPEP 2173.02. Examiner Interpretation: the limitation “obtained from both the BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework; and” is interpreted as obtained from both the BCC-based and the FCC-based potential development methodologies, consistent with paragraph [0051] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maiti (US 2020/0066376 A1) in view of Zhou (“Misfit-energy-increasing dislocations in vapor-deposited CoFe/NiFe multilayers”), further in view of Brommer (“Potfit: effective potentials from ab-initio data”), further in view of Wei (“Fundamental mechanism of BCC-FCC phase transition from a constructed PdCu potential through molecular dynamics simulation”).
As per Claim 1, 7, and 13, Maiti teaches a processor implemented method/ system/ One or more non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums, comprising: a memory storing instructions; one or more communication interfaces; and one or more hardware processors coupled to the memory via the one or more communication interfaces, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured by the instructions ([0043], Fig. 1-2), comprising:
obtaining, via one or more hardware processors, one or more input physical parameters corresponding to a multi-element alloy structure ([0043] “the one or more hardware processors 104 receive information pertaining to a plurality of atomic elements”; [0045] “Input parameters from elemental physical constants may comprise but are not limited to cohesive energy, vacancy formation energy, lattice parameters, atomic radius, second order elastic stiffness constants”: the processors receive information on the atomic elements of an alloy, including their elemental physical constants);
the one or more input physical parameters comprises lattice constants, cohesive energy, vacancy formation energy, and elastic constants ([0045] “Input parameters from elemental physical constants may comprise but are not limited to cohesive energy, vacancy formation energy, lattice parameters, atomic radius, second order elastic stiffness constants”: the elemental inputs include lattice parameters, cohesive energy, vacancy formation energy and second-order elastic stiffness constants);
the one or more input physical parameters are taken from experimental values or Density Functional Theory (DFT) calculations ([0045] “The embedded function and pairwise interaction are obtained by receiving inputs from physical constants, scaling analysis, and from first principle and literature”; [0047] “inputs from first principle and literature, Potfit program is used, and materials handbook and other academic publications for Embedded-Atom Method (EAM)”: the inputs come from physical constants, materials handbooks and first-principles calculations, i.e. experimental data or DFT results);
classifying, via the one or more hardware processors, the one or more input physical parameters as one of a first element type, or a second element type to obtain at least one of a first set of elements and a second set of elements respectively ([0037] “one principal element based single/multi-phase body/face centered cubic (BCC/FCC) substitutional/interstitial structure”; [0048] “The average structural framework type for example, solid solutions (BBC, FCC or Hexagonal Closed Packed (HCP)), Intermetallics and Bulk Metallic Glass (BMGs) are generated in the structure equilibration process”: the principal element of the alloy may have a body-centered or face-centered cubic structure, and BCC and FCC solid-solution framework types are generated in the structure equilibration process);
the first element type is a body centered cubic (BCC) element type and the second element type is a face centered cubic (FCC) element type ([0037] “one principal element based single/multi-phase body/face centered cubic (BCC/FCC) substitutional/interstitial structure”: the element structures contemplated are body-centered cubic and face-centered cubic);
determining, a scaling factor based on a regression analysis between the atomic electron density values obtained from the BCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology and the atomic electron density values obtained from the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology ([0046] “inputs from scaling analysis include but are not limited to, electron density around atoms from different references, shapes and trends of embedding function and pairwise interactions of different materials from literature may be compared and scaled”; [0089] “The obtained lattice parameters of the alloys were then fitted by regression”: electron densities around atoms from different references are compared and scaled, and the obtained alloy lattice parameters are fitted by regression);
the scaling factor is calculated based on a regression analysis of the atomic electron density at embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values ([0046] “inputs from scaling analysis include but are not limited to, electron density around atoms from different references, shapes and trends of embedding function and pairwise interactions of different materials from literature may be compared and scaled”; [0089] “The obtained lattice parameters of the alloys were then fitted by regression”: electron densities around atoms from different references are compared and scaled, and the obtained alloy lattice parameters are fitted by regression);
scaling, by using the scaling factor, via the one or more hardware processors, the one or more of (i) the embedding energy function, and (ii) the atomic electron density, computed for each input physical parameter of the at least one of the first set of elements and the second set of elements, to obtain a set of scaled parameters and an elemental interaction pair potential function ([0046] “inputs from scaling analysis include but are not limited to, electron density around atoms from different references, shapes and trends of embedding function and pairwise interactions of different materials from literature may be compared and scaled”; [0046] “This analysis is then used to create Embedding function and Pairwise interactions for new systems under study”: the compared and scaled electron densities and embedding functions are used to create the embedding functions and pairwise interactions of the system under study);
sequencing, via the one or more hardware processors, the one or more identified dissimilar-type pair interaction potential parameters and one or more similar-type pair interaction potential parameters to obtain a sequence of the pair type interaction potential parameters ([0044] “generate a Molecular Dynamics Potential (MDP) file comprising sequential data of similar and dissimilar atomic interactions of the plurality of atomic elements based on the information”: the potential file holds sequential data of similar and dissimilar atomic interactions); and
generating, via the one or more hardware processors, a molecular dynamics potential (MDP) file based on the sequence of the pair type interaction potential parameters ([0044] “generate a Molecular Dynamics Potential (MDP) file comprising sequential data of similar and dissimilar atomic interactions of the plurality of atomic elements based on the information”; [0044] “the Molecular Dynamics Potential (MDP) file is generated based on the information and by calculating an embedded function for each of the plurality of the atomic elements”: the potential file is generated from the sequential similar/dissimilar interaction data and the per-element embedded functions).
In particular, Maiti teaches receiving information pertaining to a plurality of atomic elements of an alloy material, generating a Molecular Dynamics Potential (MDP) file comprising sequential data of similar and dissimilar atomic interactions of those elements, and predicting the structure and properties of the alloy material from the generated potential.
However, Maiti fails to teach explicitly computing, via the one or more hardware processors, one or more of (i) an embedding energy function, and (ii) an atomic electron density for each input physical parameter of the at least one of the first set of elements and the second set of elements using a BCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology and a FCC-based molecular dynamic potential development methodology, respectively; computing, atomic electron density values at embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values for the BCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology and the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology; calculating the scaling factor comprises: calculating a first atomic electron density at the embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values obtained from both the BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework and FCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework; calculating, second atomic electron density values at embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values from a FCC-based molecular dynamic potential framework; the electron density values at the embedding energy function minima and the equilibrium electron density values from the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential framework are transformed using the scaling factor wherein the embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values of a BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework and the FCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework are linearly and proportionately dependent one another; the embedding energy function minima values from the BCC element type framework depends on input parameter values obtained from experimental data or density functional theory calculations of the cohesive energy and the vacancy formation energy; identifying, via the one or more hardware processors, one or more dissimilar-type pair interaction potential parameters based on the set of scaled parameters and the elemental interaction pair potential function; simulating, via the one or more hardware processors, using the MDP file to predict at least one of (i) one or more structural properties, (ii) one or more thermodynamic properties, and (iii) one or more mechanical properties of the multi-element alloy structure of a mixture between the BCC element type and the FCC element type using the generated MDP file; the MDP file is generated by merging transformed embedding energy functions and transformed atomic electron density functions obtained from the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential framework with embedding energy functions and atomic electron density functions obtained from the BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework.
Zhou teaches computing, via the one or more hardware processors, one or more of (i) an embedding energy function, and (ii) an atomic electron density for each input physical parameter of the at least one of the first set of elements and the second set of elements using a BCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology and a FCC-based molecular dynamic potential development methodology, respectively (pg. 3 left column “EAM potentials well describe the properties such as lattice and elastic constants, cohesive energies, and the vacancy formation energies of close-packed transition metals”; pg. 9 left column “
“: EAM potentials describe lattice and elastic constants, cohesive energies and vacancy formation energies of close-packed transition metals, and the generalized EAM potential is extended to 16 metals and their solutions);
identifying, via the one or more hardware processors, one or more dissimilar-type pair interaction potential parameters based on the set of scaled parameters and the elemental interaction pair potential function (pg. 8 right column “
“; pg. 7, right column “
“: the pair potential between different species is constructed, enabling alloy EAM potentials to be constructed from elemental EAM potentials);
simulating, via the one or more hardware processors, using the MDP file to predict at least one of (i) one or more structural properties, (ii) one or more thermodynamic properties, and (iii) one or more mechanical properties of the multi-element alloy structure of a mixture between the BCC element type and the FCC element type using the generated MDP file (pg. 3, left column “
“: MD simulations are run with the alloy EAM potentials created from normalized elemental potentials of 16 metals); and
the MDP file is generated by merging transformed embedding energy functions and transformed atomic electron density functions obtained from the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential framework with embedding energy functions and atomic electron density functions obtained from the BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework (pg. 3, left column “
“; pg. 7, right column “
“: elemental EAM potentials are normalized before alloy EAM potentials are constructed from them).
In particular, Zhou teaches a generalized EAM alloy database for 16 metals in which elemental potentials are normalized to a unique state before alloy potentials are constructed from them, with cross pair potentials built from the elemental functions.
Maiti and Zhou are analogous art because they are both from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, construction of embedded-atom interatomic potentials for molecular dynamics simulation of metal alloys (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Zhou into Maiti's invention for the purpose of predicting the structure and properties of alloy materials from an MD potential file built from elemental physical constants to provide a potential that reasonably approximates the interactions between different metal elements in metallic solutions (Zhou: pg. 9, lines 30-32). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Maiti as modified by Zhou fails to teach explicitly computing, atomic electron density values at embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values for the BCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology and the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology; calculating the scaling factor comprises: calculating a first atomic electron density at the embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values obtained from both the BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework and FCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework; calculating, second atomic electron density values at embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values from a FCC-based molecular dynamic potential framework; the electron density values at the embedding energy function minima and the equilibrium electron density values from the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential framework are transformed using the scaling factor wherein the embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values of a BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework and the FCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework are linearly and proportionately dependent one another; the embedding energy function minima values from the BCC element type framework depends on input parameter values obtained from experimental data or density functional theory calculations of the cohesive energy and the vacancy formation energy.
Brommer teaches calculating, second atomic electron density values at embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values from a FCC-based molecular dynamic potential framework (pg. 298, “
“: the density of an EAM potential can be rescaled, its units chosen arbitrarily, through a gauge change that does not alter the physics of the potential); and
the electron density values at the embedding energy function minima and the equilibrium electron density values from the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential framework are transformed using the scaling factor wherein the embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values of a BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework and the FCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework are linearly and proportionately dependent one another (pg. 298 “
“: the EAM potential has gauge degrees of freedom, so that the units of the density can be chosen arbitrarily without altering the physics of the potential).
In particular, Brommer teaches the gauge freedom of an EAM potential, under which the density is rescaled by a factor and the embedding function correspondingly transformed without altering the physics of the potential.
Maiti, Zhou, and Brommer are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, construction of embedded-atom interatomic potentials for molecular dynamics simulation of metal alloys (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Brommer into Maiti as modified by Zhou's invention for the purpose of predicting the structure and properties of alloy materials from an MD potential file built from elemental physical constants to provide a potential that reasonably approximates the interactions between different metal elements in metallic solutions (Zhou: pg. 9, lines 30-32) and to provide rescaling of the density and embedding functions without altering the physics of the potential (Brommer: pg. 4, lines 39-40).This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Maiti as modified by Zhou and Brommer fails to teach explicitly computing, atomic electron density values at embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values for the BCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology and the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology; calculating the scaling factor comprises: calculating, second atomic electron density values at embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values from a FCC-based molecular dynamic potential framework; the embedding energy function minima values from the BCC element type framework depends on input parameter values obtained from experimental data or density functional theory calculations of the cohesive energy and the vacancy formation energy.
Wei teaches computing, atomic electron density values at embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values for the BCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology and the FCC-based molecular dynamic potential methodology (p. 441, Equation (2) “
“: the constant F0 equals the cohesive energy less the vacancy formation energy, and the parameter ρe is the host electron density at an equilibrium state);
calculating the scaling factor comprises: calculating a first atomic electron density at the embedding energy function minima and equilibrium electron density values obtained from both the BCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework and FCC-based molecular dynamics potential framework (p. 441, Equation (2) “
“: the parameter ρe is the host electron density at an equilibrium state, and the constant F0 equals the cohesive energy less the vacancy formation energy); and
the embedding energy function minima values from the BCC element type framework depends on input parameter values obtained from experimental data or density functional theory calculations of the cohesive energy and the vacancy formation energy (pg. 2, lines 43-44 “F0 = Ec − Evf, in which Ec and Evf are cohesive energy and vacancy formation energy, respectively”: the constant F0 is set by the cohesive energy less the vacancy formation energy).
In particular, Wei teaches an EAM formalism whose embedding-function minimum F0 equals the cohesive energy less the vacancy formation energy at the equilibrium host electron density.
Maiti, Zhou, Brommer, and Wei are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, construction of embedded-atom interatomic potentials for molecular dynamics simulation of metal alloys (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Wei into Maiti as modified by Zhou and Brommer's invention for the purpose of predicting the structure and properties of alloy materials from an MD potential file built from elemental physical constants to provide a potential that reasonably approximates the interactions between different metal elements in metallic solutions (Zhou: pg. 9, lines 30-32) and to provide rescaling of the density and embedding functions without altering the physics of the potential (Brommer: pg. 4, lines 39-40) and to provide a realistic n-body potential that reproduces physical properties of transition metals and alloys (Wei: pg. 2, lines 14-16). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 3, 9, and 15, Maiti fails to teach explicitly the first set of elements and the second set of elements are distinct from each other.
Zhou teaches wherein the first set of elements and the second set of elements are distinct from each other (pg. 3, left column “
“: the alloy potentials are created from as many as 16 different metals).
As per Claim 6, 12, and 18, Maiti teaches wherein the order of the sequence of pair type interaction potential parameters is determined based on a sequence of one or more element types comprised in the one or more input physical parameters ([0044] “generate a Molecular Dynamics Potential (MDP) file comprising sequential data of similar and dissimilar atomic interactions of the plurality of atomic elements based on the information”: the potential file holds sequential data of similar and dissimilar atomic interactions of the plurality of atomic elements).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed on 08/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument - Maiti (US 2020/0066376 A1) in view of Zhou (“Misfit-energy-increasing dislocations in vapor-deposited CoFe/NiFe multilayers”), further in view of Brommer (“Potfit: effective potentials from ab-initio data”), further in view of Wei (“Fundamental mechanism of BCC-FCC phase transition from a constructed PdCu potential through molecular dynamics simulation”).
Applicant argues (Remarks, page 22, paragraph 5 through page 23, paragraph 3) that:
As per [1], it is noted that Wei teaches that
.
As per [2], It is noted that the rejection set forth above does not rely on Wu. The rejection is made over Maiti (US 2020/0066376 A1) in view of Zhou (“Misfit-energy-increasing dislocations in vapor-deposited CoFe/NiFe multilayers”), further in view of Brommer (“Potfit: effective potentials from ab-initio data”), further in view of Wei (“Fundamental mechanism of BCC-FCC phase transition from a constructed PdCu potential through molecular dynamics simulation”).
Further applicants have argued (Remarks, page 26-27) that:
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). See also MPEP 2145(IV). Wei is relied upon for the quantities that are calculated, namely the embedding-function minimum and the equilibrium host electron density of an EAM potential; obtaining such values from separately developed potentials and comparing and scaling them is taught by Maiti and Zhou, and the transformation of the density and embedding functions by a scaling factor is taught by Brommer, as set forth in the rejection above.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bhattarai (“Polarizable potentials for metals: The density readjusting embedded atom method (DR-EAM)”) teaches transforming the electron density of an embedded-atom potential.
Bonny (“Gauge transformations to combine multi-component many-body interatomic potentials”) teaches gauge transformations that merge embedded-atom potentials fitted in different gauges.
EUNHEE KIM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2188
/EUNHEE KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188