Drawings
The previous objection to the drawings is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pinos (US PgPub 20220302344).
With regard to claim 1, Pinos teaches in figures 1-3, a method of fabricating a semiconductor device comprising: providing a substrate (10, 21 and 22), the substrate comprising a base layer 10 and two or more planar heteroepitaxial layers (21 and 22) deposited on the base layer, the two or more heteroepitaxial layers comprising a first epitaxial layer 21 having a first lattice constant and a second epitaxial layer having a second lattice constant different than the first lattice constant (paragraph [0080]); etching the substrate to form one or more mesas (figure 2), each of the one or more mesas having a width from 10 µm to 100 µm (paragraph [0058] teaches surface less than 100 µm x 100 µm); and depositing one or more non-planar overgrowth layers (30, paragraph [0106]) on the etched substrate.
With regard to claim 3, the base layer of Pinos comprises a silicon substrate (paragraph [0075]).
With regard to claim 4, the two or more heteroepitaxial layers comprise III-V materials (paragraph [0077 – 0080]).
With regard to claim 5, the two or more heteroepitaxial layers comprise GaN (paragraph [0077] and [0082]).
With regard to claim 6, Pinos teach providing the base layer and epitaxially growing the two or more planar heteroepitaxial layers on the base layer (figure 1).
With regard to claim 8, Pinos teach the mesa surface being less than approx. 100 µm x 100 µm. Taking this end point, the length to width ratio would be about 1:1 as thus reads on the claimed range of ratios.
With regard to claim 9, depositing the one of more non-planar overgrowth layers decreases a tensile strain on the two of more heteroepitaxial layers (note that the different compositions of III-V materials used for the overgrowth layers and the heteroepitaxial layers and the teachings of strain relaxing are understood that the overgrowth layers on the sidewalls will contribute to some decrease (relaxing) of the tensile strain in the layers).
With regard to claim 10, the one or more non-planar overgrowth layers are epitaxially (MBE, paragraph [9192]).
With regard to claim 12, the non-planar overgrowth layer has the formula AlxGa1-xN (when x=0) or AlxInyGa1-x-yN (when x=0) (paragraph [0103-0104]).
With regard to claim 13, Pinos discloses wherein the one or more non-planar overgrowth layers (50) [0117] (40) [0113] comprise a first overgrowth layer (50) comprising a first alloy (AlGaN) [0117] and a second overgrowth layer (40) comprising a second alloy (InGaN) [0113].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinos (US PgPub 20220302344) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Official Notice.
With regard to claim 7, Pinos teach the etching to form mesas comprises: depositing a mask over the substrate, patterning the mask to remove portions of the mask, and etching the non-masked portions of the substrate to form the one or more mesas (paragraph [0090]). While Pinos is silent as to using photolithography, Official Notice it taken that it is well known in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to us photolithography in patterning masks. These techniques are routinely used throughout the semiconductor industry and thus provide the benefit of using well known, understood and readily available techniques.
With regard to claim 11, Pinos teaches the one or more overgrowth layer (30 and 40) are alternating layers (paragraph [0113] – active layer 40 is alternating layers) and that layer 40 may be multiple quantum wells. While not explicitly taught, Official Notice is taken that is well known to incorporate superlattices into LEDs. It is well known that superlattices provide control over the bandgaps and emission wavelength of the LED. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate superlattices into the LED of Pinos.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinos (US PgPub 20220302344) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hudait et al. (US Patent 7851780) (hereinafter Hudait).
Regarding claim 2, Pinos discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the base layer of the substrate has a nominal offcut angle of between about 0.0 and ±4.0 degrees. Note that Pinos does not specify offcut angle in any capacity.
However, Hudait discloses a method of fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising: providing a substrate in figure 5, the substrate comprising a base layer (510) (Col. 13, lines 1-5) and two or more planar heteroepitaxial layers (585 and 581) (Col. 12, lines 5-28) deposited on the base layer; etching the substrate to form one or more mesas (Col. 13, lines 1-8); wherein the base layer (510) of the substrate has a nominal offcut angle of between about 0.0 and ±4.0 degrees (Col. 9, lines 58-63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Pinos in light of the disclosure of Hudait to have a nominal offcut angle between about 0.0 and ±4.0 degrees in order to decrease the number of terrace levels and the necessary thickness of the nucleation layer as taught by Hudait (Col. 8, lines 43-48).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892