DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Nomura et al. ( US 2020/0137893 A1 ( continuation of PCT/JP2018/024497); hereinafter Nomura) in view of Otsubo; US 2019/0273312 A1; 09/2019
Claim 1: Nomura discloses in Fig. 1, an electronic component module ( Fig. 1 -high frequency module #1c ) comprising: a substrate ( Fig. 1 wiring board #2) including a first main surface ( Fig. 1 #2a) and a second main surface ( Fig. 1 #2b), the first main surface being a mounting side ( Fig. 1 #2a is where components #3a and #4 are mounted) ; a first electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3a ) and a second electronic component ( Fig. 1 #4 ) each mounted on the first main surface ( Fig. 1 #2a ); a first conductive member ( Fig. 1 mounting electrodes #7 ) mounted on the first main surface ( Fig. 1 #2a ) and disposed between the first electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3a ) and the second electronic component ( Fig. 1 #4 ); a first insulating resin ( Fig. 1 sealing resin layer #5 ) covering a side ([0040] sealing resin layer #5 laminated on the upper surface #2a of the wiring board #2 ) of the first main surface ( Fig. 1 #2a ); and a first shield film ( Fig. 1 shield film #6 ) provided on one surface of the first insulating resin ( Fig. 1 #5 ), the one surface ( Fig. 1 top surface #5a ) being opposite to a surface ( Fig. 1 bottom surface #5b) of the first insulating resin ( Fig. 1 #5) facing the first main surface of the substrate ( Fig. 1 #2a) wherein: the first insulating resin (Fig. 1 #5) includes a first depression ( Fig. 1 a recess #10 ) exposing the first conductive member (#4, and #7) ( Fig. 1 #7 is connected to #4 which is exposed, [0044] discloses #4 as a cuboid copper ) from the first insulating resin ( Fig. 1 #5 ) at a portion overlapping with the first conductive member ( Fig. 1 #7 ); the first shield film ( Fig. 1 #6 ) is provided in the first depression ( [0047] The shield film #6 also covers the wall surfaces #10a of the recess #10 ) of the first insulating resin ( Fig. 1 #5 ) and is connected ( Fig. 1 shows #6 wraps around the side to connect with #8 and #9 which are connected to #7) to the first conductive member ( Fig. 1 #7, #4); the first shield film ( Fig. 1 #6 ) and the ground terminal conductor ( Fig. 1 #8) are connected by a solder bump ( [0043] The components 3a to 3d are mounted on the wiring board 2 by using a typical surface mount technology, such as soldering. [0044] the shield component 4 can have the same mountability as those of the other components 3a to 3d ) including a portion to be filled in the opening ( Fig. 1 shows #4 is in the opening of the recess ) ); the first electronic component is an electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3a ) that easily generates noise ( [0083] The present disclosure can be applied to various types of high frequency modules that include a sealing resin layer for covering components mounted on a wiring board, a shield for covering the surface of the sealing resin layer, and a shield for preventing noise interference between components ) ; the second electronic component ( Fig. 1 #4 ) is different ( as shown in Fig. 1 ) from the first electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3a ); and the first conductive member ( Fig. 1 #7 ) is different from the first electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3a ) and the second electronic component ( Fig. 1 #4 ).
Nomura does not appear to disclose in Fig. 1, a ground terminal conductor is mounted on the first main surface; the first shield film includes an opening overlapping with a portion of the ground terminal conductor.
However, Otsubo teaches in Fig. 5A a ground terminal conductor ( Fig. 5A via conductor #90 ) is mounted ( as shown in Fig. 5A ) on the first main surface ( Fig. 5A #2 ); a first shield film ( Fig. 5 #11b and 6 ) includes an opening (between #11b and #6) ( [0047] Each via conductor #90 may be formed by, for example forming a via hole extending through in a thickness direction of the second sealing resin layer #4b by laser beam machining such that a surface layer electrode #7c is exposed and then filling the via hole with electrically conductive paste ) overlapping with a portion of the ground terminal conductor ( Fig. 5A #90 )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Otsubo with Nomura to implement a ground terminal conductor is mounted on the first main surface; the first shield film includes an opening overlapping with a portion of the ground terminal conductor because for the shield to operate effectively in blocking EMI it needs to be properly grounded.
Claim 2: Nomura and Otsubo disclose the electronic component module according to claim 1 (as discussed above).
Nomura teaches the first shield film ( Fig. 1 #6 ) overlaps with at least one of the first electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3a ) and the second electronic component ( Fig. 1 # ) in a plan view ( Fig. 2 is a plan view of Fig. 1 showing #6 overlaps the region covered by #3a and #4).
Claim 4: Nomura and Otsubo disclose the electronic component module according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ).
Nomura teaches the first shield film ( Fig. 1 #6 ) is provided in the first depression ( [0047] The shield film #6 also covers the wall surfaces #10a of the recess #10 ) provided in the one surface ( Fig. 1 #5a ) of the first insulating resin ( Fig. 1 #5).
Claim 10: Nomura and Otsubo disclose the electronic component module according to claim 1 ( as discussed above).
Nomura does not appear to disclose the opening formed at a portion of the first shield film overlaps with the center of the ground terminal conductor.
However, Otsubo teaches the opening (between #11b and #6) ( [0047] Each via conductor #90 may be formed by, for example forming a via hole extending through in a thickness direction of the second sealing resin layer #4b by laser beam machining such that a surface layer electrode #7c is exposed and then filling the via hole with electrically conductive paste) formed at a portion of the first shield film ( Fig. 5 #11b ) overlaps with the center ( Fig. 5 #11b overlaps with the side of #90 which covers the center of the terminal ) of the ground terminal conductor ( [0047] the internal wiring electrode #12b is grounded )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Otsubo with Nomura to implement the opening formed at a portion of the first shield film overlaps with the center of the ground terminal conductor because for the shield to operate effectively in blocking EMI it needs to be properly grounded.
Claims 3, 5, 6, and 8 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al.; US 2020/0137893 A1; 04/2020 in view of Otsubo; US 2019/0273312 A1; 09/2019
Claim 3: Nomura discloses the electronic component module according to claim 1 ( as discussed above).
Nomura does not appear to disclose an external connection terminal conductor mounted on the first main surface of the substrate, wherein the external connection terminal conductor is exposed from the first insulating resin and spaced apart from the first shield film.
However, Otsubo teaches an external connection terminal conductor ( Fig. 1 #8) mounted ( as shown in Fig. 1 ) on the first main surface ( Fig. 1 #2b – as shown in the drawings of the application the bottom surface) of the substrate ( Fig. 1 #2), wherein the external connection terminal conductor ( Fig. 1 #8) is exposed from the first insulating resin ( Fig. 1 #4b – bottom insulating resin as shown in the application drawings) and spaced apart from the first shield film ( Fig. 1 #6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Otsubo with Nomura to implement an external connection terminal conductor mounted on the first main surface of the substrate, wherein the external connection terminal conductor is exposed from the first insulating resin and spaced apart from the first shield film because this enabled soldering or bonding to the device through the terminal conductor and establishes proper electrical contact.
Claim 5: Nomura discloses the electronic component module according to claim 1 (as discussed above).
Nomura does not appear to disclose a plurality of external connection terminal conductors disposed on the first main surface of the substrate, wherein, in a plan view of the substrate, the first shield film is provided inside the plurality of external connection terminal conductors.
However, Otsubo teaches a plurality of external connection terminal conductors ( Fig. 2. #8 ) disposed on the first main surface ( Fig. 1 #2b – as shown in the application drawings on the bottom of the substrate not the top ) of the substrate ( Fig. 1 #2), wherein, in a plan view of the substrate (Fig. 2), the first shield film ( Fig. 2 #6) is provided inside the plurality of external connection terminal conductors ( Fig. 1 #8) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Otsubo with Nomura to implement a plurality of external connection terminal conductors disposed on the first main surface of the substrate, wherein, in a plan view of the substrate, the first shield film is provided inside the plurality of external connection terminal conductors because this approach of having the connections inside the shield provides for Electromagnetic Interference shielding.
Claim 6: Nomura discloses the electronic component module according to claim 1 ( as discussed above).
Nomura does not appear to disclose another electronic component mounted on the second main surface of the substrate ; a second insulating resin covering a side of the second main surface ; and a second shield film covering an outer surface of the second insulating resin , a side surface of the substrate , and a side surface of the first insulating resin.
However, Otsubo teaches another electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3b1) mounted on the second main surface ( Fig. 1 #20b ) of the substrate ( Fig. 1 #2); a second insulating resin ( Fig. 1 #4b) covering a side of the second main surface ( Fig. 1 #20b); and a second shield film ( [0008] The shield member provided on the other one of the main surfaces is disposed between the predetermined second component and the other second component ) covering an outer surface of the second insulating resin ( Fig. 1 #4b), a side surface of the substrate ( Fig. 1 #20c), and a side surface of the first insulating resin ( Fig. 1 #4a3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Otsubo with Nomura to implement another electronic component mounted on the second main surface of the substrate; a second insulating resin covering a side of the second main surface; and a second shield film covering an outer surface of the second insulating resin, a side surface of the substrate, and a side surface of the first insulating resin because this approach improves component density, and can reduce electromagnetic interference.
Claim 8: Nomura discloses the electronic component module according to claim 6 ( as discussed above).
Nomura does not appear to disclose the second shield film and the first shield film are connected to each other.
However, Otsubo teaches the second shield film ( [0041] The shield film #6 and the shield electrodes #11a, #11b also provide a sufficient shielding effect for the plurality of components #3b1 to #3b3 mounted on the bottom surface #20b of the multilayer circuit board #2 ) and the first shield film ( Fig. 1 #6 ) are connected to each other ( Fig. 1. #6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Otsubo with Nomura to implement the second shield film and the first shield film are connected to each other because connecting them improves electromagnetic interference shielding.
Claim 7 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al.; US 2020/0137893 A1; 04/2020 in view of Otsubo; US 2019/0273312 A1; 09/2019 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kabasawa et al.; US 2016/0155927 A1; 03/2014;
Claim 7: Nomura and Otsubo disclose the electronic component module according to claim 6 ( as discussed above).
Otsubo discloses the other electronic component mounted on the second main surface ( Fig. 1 #20b) includes a third electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3b2) and a fourth electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3b3), the third electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3b2) and the fourth electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3b3) being spaced apart from each other ( Fig. 1 #3b2 and #3b3 are spaced apart from each other); a second conductive member ( Fig. 1 #9 ) is disposed between the third electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3b2 ) and the fourth electronic component ( Fig. #3b3 ) on the second main surface ( Fig. 1 #20b ) of the substrate ( Fig. 1 #2 );
Neither Nomura nor Otsubo appear to disclose the second insulating resin includes a second depression exposing the second conductive member from the second insulating resin at a portion overlapping with the second conductive member; and the second shield film is provided in the second depression of the second insulating resin and is connected to the second conductive member.
However, Kabasawa teaches the second insulating resin ( Fig. 19 #220a ) includes a second depression ( Fig. 19 #230a ) exposing the second conductive member ( Fig. 18 #225a ) from the second insulating resin ( Fig. 19 #220a ) at a portion overlapping with the second conductive member ( Fig. 18 #225a ); and the second shield film ( Fig. 19 #247a ) is provided in the second depression ( Fig. 19 #230a ) of the second insulating resin ( Fig. 19 #220a) and is connected to the second conductive member ( Fig. 18 #225a ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Kabasawa with Otsubo and Nomura to implement the second insulating resin includes a second depression exposing the second conductive member from the second insulating resin at a portion overlapping with the second conductive member; and the second shield film is provided in the second depression of the second insulating resin and is connected to the second conductive member because direct contact with the conducting member is crucial for grounding the shield and ensuring optimal EMI suppression.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 of the remarks, filed 11/12/2025, with respect to Drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of 08/26/25 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Nomura discloses “a first conductive member ( Fig. 1 mounting electrodes #7 ) mounted on the first main surface ( Fig. 1 #2a )” and “the first conductive member ( Fig. 1 #7 ) is different from the first electronic component ( Fig. 1 #3a ) and the second electronic component ( Fig. 1 #4 ) “. A shield component is a specific type of electronic component used to protect other components in the module. As shown in Fig. 1 #7 is shown as a different region. The argument that a component positioned between the component 3a and the shield component 4, is not mentioned in claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817