DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guzman et al [US 2003/0129287A1] in view of Potucek [SK 313-2004A3].
Guzman et al teach a frozen confection product (title) comprising an edible housing comprising a moisture-resistant molded shell (Figure 2A-C & 3A-C, #10; paragraph 0023, 0041), the edible housing made from fruit roll-up material (paragraph 0019), a frozen liquid food core of commercially-available ice cream located within the edible housing (Figure 2B & 5, #12; paragraph 0039), the edible housing pre-molded into a predetermined shape (Figure 3A-C), the housing sheet being 4” by 4” (paragraph 0032), and further processing or manipulation of the product such as by adding further material (paragraph 0045).
Guzman et al do not explicitly recite uncompressed spun sugar blanket of cotton candy encompassing the edible housing (claim 1, 9), a blanket density of less than 0.7 g/cm3 (claim 1, 19), machine-spun cotton candy (claim 1, 18), a housing thickness of less than 2 mm (claim 3, 12), less than 3 oz ice cream (claim 5), a volume of less than 42 cm3 (claim 6, 16), less than 200 kcal (claim 7, 17), the blanket being at least ¼” thick (claim 8, 20).
Potucek teaches a frozen confection product comprising an ice cream core (Figure 1, #2; page 2, last full paragraph), an uncompressed machine-spun cotton candy banket encompassing the ice cream (Figure 1, #3; page 3, 5th full paragraph), and the cotton candy acting as an insulating layer (page 3, 1st full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed cotton candy blanket into the invention of Guzman et al, in view of Potucek, since both are directed to frozen confection products, since Guzman et al already included an ice cream core within a fruit rollup housing (Figure 2A-C) as well as further processing or manipulation of the product such as by adding further material (paragraph 0045), since ice cream products were commonly encompassed within an uncompressed machine-spun cotton candy banket encompassing the ice cream and the cotton candy acting as an insulating layer as shown by Potucek above, since the fruit rollup housing of Guzman et al would have effectively separated the ice cream core from the surrounding cotton candy blanket of Potucek, since the insulating cotton candy blanket of Potucek would have helped prevent excessive melting of the ice cream core of Guzman et al, since many consumers desired the taste and flavor of cotton candy, since a cotton candy blanket would have made it easier to hold the frozen confection of Guzman et al without making the consumer’s hands too cold, and since many consumers also desired new combinations of previously known snack products to provide new and taste and flavor combinations.
It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed blanket density and thickness, housing thickness, core weight, volume, and kcal into the invention of Guzman et al, in view of Potucek, since both are directed to frozen confection products, since Guzman et al already included an ice cream core and housing but simply did not mention any specific dimensions, since Potucek also disclosed a cotton candy blanket, since many consumers desired small serving sizes for their snack products, since machine spun cotton candy commonly possessed a very low density, since many consumers desired low calorie snacks for health and dietary reasons, since a smaller sized product would naturally possess fewer calories, since a smaller product would have been easier for the consumer to consume and transport, and since the claimed dimensions and specifications would have been used during the course of normal experimentation and optimization procedures due to factors such as the size of the consumer’s appetite, the consumer’s nutritional needs, the desired amounts of each individual component, and/or the specific ingredients used for each individual component of the combined product of Guzman et al, in view of Potucek.
In conclusion, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guzman et al, in view of Potucek, as applied above, and further in view of Monte [Pat No. 5,789,008].
Guzman et al and Potucek teach the above mentioned concepts. Guzman et al do not explicitly recite soft-serve ice cream (claim 14). Monte teaches a layered frozen confection product comprising soft-serve ice cream (column 8, line 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed soft-serve ice cream into the claimed invention of Guzman et al, in view of Potucek and Monte, since all are directed to frozen confection products, since Guzman et al already disclosed commercially-available ice cream (paragraph 0039), since layered frozen confection products commonly used soft-serve ice cream as shown by Monte, since many consumers desired the taste of soft-serve ice cream, and since soft-serve ice cream is more easily dispensed as compared to conventional ice cream which must be manually scooped.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kwon et al did not disclose an uncompressed blanket. However, Potucek clearly disclosed this concept (Figure 1, #3).
Applicant argues that Kwon et al required a powder layer. However, Potucek does not require a powder layer.
Applicant argues that Kwon et al did not disclose a boundary layer which provided a moisture barrier. However, the primary reference (ie Guzman et al) clearly disclosed this concept: an edible housing comprising a moisture-resistant molded shell (Figure 2A-C & 3A-C, #10; paragraph 0023, 0041), the edible housing made from fruit roll-up material (paragraph 0019).
Applicant argues that the references do not disclose a thermal barrier. However, Potucek clearly taught the cotton candy blanket providing an insulating layer (page 3, 1st full paragraph).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
/DREW E BECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792