Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hitomi et. al. (US20200219782A1), hereinafter “Hitomi”.
Regarding independent claim 1, Hitomi teaches a semiconductor device (Hitomi, Abstract) comprising:
a semiconductor element (1, FIG. 2);
an insulating substrate (5, FIG. 2) on which the semiconductor element is mounted;
a base plate (10, FIG. 2) on which the insulating substrate is mounted; and
a case (7, FIG. 2) mounted on the base plate to surround the semiconductor element and the insulating substrate, (See: Hitomi, FIG. 2)
wherein one or more convex portions (9, FIG. 2) each having a tapered shape are provided in one of a surface of the base plate and a surface of the case, and one or more concave portions (71, FIG. 2) each having a tapered shape to be fitted to the one or more convex portions are provided in another one of the surface of the base plate and the surface of the case. (See: Hitomi, FIG. 2)
Regarding dependent claim 3, Hitomi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more convex portions are a plurality of convex portions, and the one or more concave portions are a plurality of concave portions fitted to the plurality of convex portions, respectively. (See: Hitomi, FIG. 2: There are multiple convex portions 9 and multiple concave portions 71 shown fitted to the convex portions 9.)
Regarding dependent claim 6, Hitomi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of convex portions are adjacent to each other, and the plurality of concave portions are adjacent to each other. (See: Hitomi, FIG. 2, in which the one or more convex portions 9 are adjacent to each other, and in which the one or more concave portions 71 are adjacent to each other.)
Regarding dependent claim 7, Hitomi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a gap is provided between the convex portion and the concave portion facing each other, and at least one of an adhesive agent and a sealing member is provided in the gap. (See: Hitomi, Abstract. In particular, “an adhesive member filled between the base plate and the angled surface to adhere the base plate and the case member.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitomi, et. al. (US20200219782A1) in view of Takahashi, et. al. (US20230005805A1).
Regarding dependent claim 2, while Hitomi does not explicitly teach the features of claim 2, Takahashi teaches wherein the one or more convex portions or the one or more concave portions are asymmetrically disposed in the base plate or the case in a plan view. (See: grooves 8 and sealing resin 42 in FIG. 9 of Takahashi. Also, see: groove 5 and component 13 in FIG. 2 of Takahashi)
One skilled in the art would appreciate that providing asymmetrically-disposed concave portions would “prevent the semiconductor device from being placed in an incorrect orientation when the semiconductor device is fixed to the printed circuit board”. (See: Takahashi, [0072])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the combine the teachings of Hitomi and Takahashi to prevent a semiconductor device from being installed in an incorrect orientation.
Regarding dependent claim 4, while Hitomi does not explicitly teach the features of claim 4, Takahashi teaches wherein the plurality of convex portions include a first convex portion and a second convex portion having shapes different from each other in a plan view, and the plurality of concave portions include a first concave portion and a second concave portion having shapes different from each other in a plan view. (See: groove 5 and component 13 in FIGS. 1-2 of Takahashi.)
One skilled in the art would appreciate that providing multiple concave portions that are shaped differently would prevent the semiconductor device from being affixed to a printed circuit board in an incorrect orientation. (See: Takahashi, [0072])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the combine the teachings of Hitomi and Takahashi to prevent a semiconductor device from being installed in an incorrect orientation.
Regarding dependent claim 5, while Hitomi does not explicitly teach the features of claim 5, Takahashi teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of convex portions include a first convex portion and a second convex portion having shapes different from each other in a cross-sectional view, and the plurality of concave portions include a first concave portion and a second concave portion having shapes different from each other in a cross-sectional view.
One skilled in the art would appreciate that providing multiple concave portions that are shaped differently would prevent the semiconductor device from being affixed to a printed circuit board in an incorrect orientation. (See: Takahashi, [0072])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the combine the teachings of Hitomi and Takahashi to prevent a semiconductor device from being installed in an incorrect orientation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
US-20210020609-A1
JP-2006011185-A
WO-2022116055-A1
WO-2020231871-A1
/JOSEPH PATRICK GODOY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897