Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
The objection stated in the 1/27/2026 Final Action with respect to claims 30 and 52 is maintained:
Applicant is advised that should claim 30 be found allowable, claim 52 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Both claims recite “Method of claim 3 further comprising closing the hold.”
The claims as amended overcome the remaining objections from the 1/27/2026 Final Action, and those objections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 21-22, 24-34, 36-38, 40, 42-43, 51-53, 55-56, 60, and 80-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20190220000 by Ibe (hereinafter “Ibe”), further in view of US12019442 by Ebrahimi Afrouzi (hereinafter “Ebrahimi Afrouzi”), and further in view of US20190012636 by Simon et al. (hereinafter “Simon”).
Regarding claim 21, Ibe teaches Method of delivery comprising: . See for example Figure 11, where a carrier vehicle 100 (hold) transport[s] the delivery container 300 (container) holding the package to the destination 400. See e.g. paragraph [0057] describing the delivery container, and paragraph [0059] describing the carrier vehicle, where both work autonomously. See also paragraphs [0085]-[0087], where the carrier vehicle consecutively travels to carrier locations to deliver multiple packages, reading on navigating to [a]
Ibe does not explicitly teach reading information on a package pertaining to a destination, because Ibe does not teach reading a label, such as by bar code or optical character scanning.1 Moreover, Ibe does not explicitly teach second reading second information on a second package at the destination pertaining to a second destination; and navigating to the second destination. In particular, Ibe teaches picking up the empty delivery container after user has removed the package from it, but does not explicitly teach retrieving a new package from a delivery destination.
However, Ebrahimi Afrouzi teaches reading information on a package , as well as second reading second information on a second package at the destination See for example column 9, lines 5-42, where the delivery robot scans QR codes or labels on a package to associate it with a user, delivery request, and tracking information. See also column 5, line 27, through column 6, line 57, where the robot delivers both inbound and outbound packages, i.e. drops off packages and picks up packages, to the delivery collection vehicle. See in particular column 5, lines 63-65, where “In some embodiments, a robotic device may deliver an item at, for example, a front door, and obtain an outgoing item from the same location simultaneously.” See also column 7, lines 7-15, where the robotic device travels with the delivery and collection vehicle to receive and deliver packages.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the package delivery system of Ibe with the label reading and pickup system of Ebrahimi Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to positively identify packages and to efficiently deliver and pick up packages.
Neither Ibe nor Ebrahimi Afrouzi explicitly teach reading information on a package pertaining to a destination, or second reading second information on a second package at the destination pertaining to a second destination. Although Ebrahimi Afrouzi reads a label on a package for purposes of updating tracking information, retrieving a user’s destination history, etc., Ebrahimi Afrouzi does not explicitly teach that the label relates to destination information of the package.
However, Simon teaches a method including reading information on a package pertaining to the destination. See for example paragraph [0027], where the drone determines a package’s intended destination based on reading the label. See also paragraph [0028], where the drones travel to multiple destinations, and may pick up and deliver packages at the same destination.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the package delivery system of Ibe, modified by the label reading and pickup system of Ebrahimi Afrouzi, with the destination reading system of Simon with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to identify the destination location for each package easily and makes implementation of the system relatively simple.
Regarding claim 2, Ibe teaches Method of claim 21 further comprising adjusting security settings of the container consistent with the destination. See again paragraphs [0238]-[0240] where the system locks the box with a code for the designated customer to open.
Claim 43 has similar limitations to claim 2 above, and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 4, Ibe teaches Method of claim 21 wherein the container comprises one or more of: a secure entry device; location sensing device; camera; an alarm system; and a device configured for coupling a deployment device with the container. See for example paragraph [0102] where the delivery box 300 includes a touch panel (for inputting a lock/unlock code) and a camera, reading on a secure entry device and camera. See also paragraph [0228], describing the protrusions 310 for engaging the box in place (e.g. at the destination), reading on a device configured for coupling a deployment device with the container. Alternatively, the delivery vehicle 200 has portions for attaching to the container 220, where either these devices 220 or their mating portions on the container 300 read on a device configured for coupling a deployment device with the container.
Regarding claim 6, Ibe does not explicitly teach Method of claim 21 further comprising third enclosing the second package in the container at the destination.
However, Ebrahimi Afrouzi teaches further comprising third enclosing the second package in the container at the destination. See for example column 5, line 27, through column 6, line 57, where the robot delivers both inbound and outbound packages, i.e. drops off packages and picks up packages, to the delivery collection vehicle. See in particular column 5, lines 63-65, where “In some embodiments, a robotic device may deliver an item at, for example, a front door, and obtain an outgoing item from the same location simultaneously.” See also column 14 line 66 through column 15 line 41, where the robotic vehicle comprises a locking compartment for securing the packages.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the package delivery system of Ibe with the label reading and pickup system of Ebrahimi Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to positively identify packages and to efficiently deliver and pick up packages.
Regarding claim 32, Ibe does not explicitly teach, but Ebrahimi Afrouzi teaches Method of claim 6 wherein said third enclosing is autonomous. See column 14 line 66 through column 15 line 41, where the robotic vehicle comprises a locking compartment for securing the packages.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the package delivery system of Ibe with the label reading and pickup system of Ebrahimi Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to positively identify packages and to efficiently deliver and pick up packages.
Regarding claim 33, Ibe teaches Method of claim 6 further comprising fourth enclosing the container in the hold. See for example paragraph [0108], where the system autonomously picks up a delivery package from the destination: “After that, upon receiving from the center 10 an instruction to pick up the delivery box 300 (“box pick-up instruction” or “pick-up instruction information”), the carrier vehicle 100 searches and stores the route to the delivery destination 20 as “pick-up destination”, based on the information on the pick-up destination (“pick-up information” or “pick-up destination information”) designated by the box pick-up instruction, and travels on the route to pick up the delivery box 300.”
Regarding claim 34, Ibe teaches Method of claim 33 wherein said fourth enclosing is autonomous. Again, see paragraph [0108], where the process is done autonomously.
Regarding claim 82, Ibe does not explicitly teach, but Ebrahimi Afrouzi teaches Method of claim 33 wherein said third enclosing comprises third securing against unauthorized access and/or said fourth enclosing comprises third securing against unauthorized access. See column 14 line 66 through column 15 line 41, where the robotic vehicle comprises a locking compartment for securing the packages.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the package delivery system of Ibe with the label reading and pickup system of Ebrahimi Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to positively identify packages and to efficiently deliver and pick up packages.
Regarding claim 83, Ibe does not explicitly teach, but Ebrahimi Afrouzi teaches Method of claim 82 further comprising second adjusting security settings of the container consistent with the second destination. See for example column 5, line 27, through column 6, line 57, where the robot delivers both inbound and outbound packages, i.e. drops off packages and picks up packages, to the delivery collection vehicle. See also column 14 line 66 through column 15 line 41, where the robotic vehicle comprises a locking compartment for securing the packages, where the locking is particular to the user such that the security settings are adjusted for each customer (and their destination).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the package delivery system of Ibe with the label reading and pickup system of Ebrahimi Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to positively identify packages and to efficiently deliver and pick up packages.
Regarding claim 22, Ibe teaches Method of claim 21 further comprising deploying the container and/or the package at the destination. See again Fig. 11, where the delivery vehicle 200 transports the container to its destination 400. See also paragraphs [0212]-[0213] describing the delivery process once the carrier vehicle 100 stops: “In FIG. 11, the carrier vehicle 100 stops by the side of the roadway at the relay point 21 (e.g., “relay point 1”) for the delivery destination 20. At this relay point 21, the delivery vehicle 200 gets out of the carrier vehicle 100 through the door 125 as the exit pathway, and travels across the footway to the delivery destination pathway. After passing through the delivery destination pathway, the delivery vehicle 200 climbs over the stairs and arrives at the delivery destination designated region. Then, the delivery vehicle 200 confirms the positions of the slots 410 of the delivery box fixture 400 to fix the delivery box 300 to the delivery box fixture 400.”
Regarding claim 3, Ibe teaches Method of claim 22 wherein said deploying comprises opening the hold. See for example paragraph [0068], where the autonomous carrier vehicle 100 opens its hold door for the package to be delivered by the delivery vehicle 200: “Moreover, the delivery control mechanism performs exit control to get the delivery vehicle 200 carried on the carrier vehicle 100 out of the carrier vehicle 100. In this exit control, a door of the carrier vehicle 100 is opened, and the delivery vehicle 200 is gotten out of the carrier vehicle 100 via the door serving as an exit pathway.”
Claim 51 has similar limitations to claim 3 above, and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 30, Ibe teaches Method of claim 3 further comprising closing the hold. See for example Fig. 5, where the carrier vehicle 100 includes door 125 (that also functions as a ramp), as described in [0156]: “A door 125 is provided in the rear side of the storage container 120, which serves as a gateway for the delivery vehicle 200. The door 125 serves as an entrance pathway and an exit pathway when the delivery vehicle 200 enters and exits the carrier vehicle 100.” See also [0068]-[0069] describing how the door of the carrier vehicle 100 works.
Claim 52 has similar limitations to claim 30 above, and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 38, Ibe teaches Method of claim 30 wherein said closing is autonomous. See again [0068]-[0069] where the carrier vehicle 100 operates autonomously.
Claim 53 has similar limitations to claim 38 above, and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 24, Ibe teaches Method of claim 21 wherein said first enclosing comprises first securing against unauthorized access and/or said second enclosing comprises second securing against unauthorized access. See for example paragraphs [0283]-[0284] where the system locks the box against unauthorized intrusion. See also paragraphs [0238]-[0240] where the system locks the box with a code for the designated customer to open.
Independent claim 40 has similar limitations to claim 24 above, and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 25, Ibe teaches Method of claim 22 wherein said deploying is autonomous. See again Fig. 11, where the delivery vehicle 200 autonomously delivers the package to the destination.
Regarding claim 26, Ibe teaches Method of claim 22 wherein said deploying comprises commanding a deployment device to move the container and/or package without the hold. See for example paragraphs [0212]-[0213] where the delivery vehicle 200 takes the container out of the hold to deliver it to the destination. Either the delivery vehicle 200 or a component of it, such as its arm (see paragraphs [0075]-[0076]), can read on a deployment device.
Regarding claim 27, Ibe teaches Method of claim 26 further comprising determining a position of the container and/or package. See for example paragraphs [0213] and [0216] where the delivery vehicle confirms the positions of the attachment slots and positions the container to attach its protrusions to the slots.
Regarding claim 28, Ibe teaches Method of claim 26 further comprising disengaging the deployment device from the container when the container and/or package obtains a position. See again [0075]-[0076], where the device includes an arm for controlling the container while transferring it to the destination. See also [0214]-[0221] describing delivery of the container and leaving it at the destination.
Regarding claim 29, Ibe teaches Method of claim 26 further comprising retracting the deployment device. See again [0075]-[0076], where the device includes an arm for controlling the container while transferring it to the destination, and also [0214]-[0221] describing delivery of the container and leaving it at the destination. In either case, “retracting” either the delivery vehicle 200 (by returning to the carrier vehicle 100) or the release mechanism of arm 220 (see Fig. 10 in addition to paragraphs [0075]-[0076]) can read on retracting the deployment device.
Regarding claim 31, Ibe teaches Method of claim 21 further comprising receiving the package. See for example paragraph [0108], where the system autonomously picks up a delivery package from the destination: “After that, upon receiving from the center 10 an instruction to pick up the delivery box 300 (“box pick-up instruction” or “pick-up instruction information”), the carrier vehicle 100 searches and stores the route to the delivery destination 20 as “pick-up destination”, based on the information on the pick-up destination (“pick-up information” or “pick-up destination information”) designated by the box pick-up instruction, and travels on the route to pick up the delivery box 300.”
Regarding claim 42, Ibe teaches Method of claim 31 wherein said receiving is autonomous. See for example paragraph [0108], where the system autonomously picks up a delivery package from the destination: “After that, upon receiving from the center 10 an instruction to pick up the delivery box 300 (“box pick-up instruction” or “pick-up instruction information”), the carrier vehicle 100 searches and stores the route to the delivery destination 20 as “pick-up destination”, based on the information on the pick-up destination (“pick-up information” or “pick-up destination information”) designated by the box pick-up instruction, and travels on the route to pick up the delivery box 300.”
Regarding claim 36, Ibe does not explicitly teach Method of claim 21 further comprising generating an instruction based on the information.
However, Ebrahimi Afrouzi teaches further comprising generating an instruction based on the information. See for example column 9, lines 5-42, where the delivery robot scans QR codes or labels on a package to associate it with a user, delivery request, and tracking information, where any of the actions taken based on reading the QR code/label can read on generating an instruction based on the information. See also column 5, line 27, through column 6, line 57, where the robot delivers both inbound and outbound packages, i.e. drops off packages and picks up packages, to the delivery collection vehicle. See in particular column 5, lines 63-65, where “In some embodiments, a robotic device may deliver an item at, for example, a front door, and obtain an outgoing item from the same location simultaneously.” See also column 7, lines 7-15, where the robotic device travels with the delivery and collection vehicle to receive and deliver packages.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the package delivery system of Ibe with the label reading and pickup system of Ebrahimi Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to positively identify packages and to efficiently deliver and pick up packages.
Regarding claim 1, neither Ibe nor Ebrahimi Afrouzi explicitly teach Method of claim 36 further comprising commanding said transporting based on the instruction. Although Ebrahimi Afrouzi reads a label to generate instructions, such instructions do not explicitly include beginning or performing transportation.
However, Simon teaches Method of claim 36 further comprising commanding said transporting based on the instruction. See for example paragraph [0027], where the drone determines a package’s intended destination based on reading the label and proceeds to transport the package. See also paragraph [0028], where the drones travel to multiple destinations, and may pick up and deliver packages at the same destination.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the package delivery system of Ibe, modified by the label reading and pickup system of Ebrahimi Afrouzi, with the destination reading system of Simon with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to identify the destination location for each package easily and makes implementation of the system relatively simple.
Regarding claim 60, Ibe does not explicitly teach, but Ebrahimi Afrouzi teaches Method of claim 36 wherein said generating is autonomous. See for example column 9, lines 5-42, where the delivery robot scans QR codes or labels on a package to automatically associate it with a user, delivery request, and tracking information, where any of the actions taken based on reading the QR code/label can read on generating [an instruction]. See also column 5, line 27, through column 6, line 57, where the robot delivers both inbound and outbound packages, i.e. drops off packages and picks up packages, to the delivery collection vehicle. See in particular column 5, lines 63-65, where “In some embodiments, a robotic device may deliver an item at, for example, a front door, and obtain an outgoing item from the same location simultaneously.” See also column 7, lines 7-15, where the robotic device travels with the delivery and collection vehicle to receive and deliver packages.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the package delivery system of Ibe with the label reading and pickup system of Ebrahimi Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to positively identify packages and to efficiently deliver and pick up packages.
Regarding claim 37, Ibe does not explicitly teach, but Ebrahimi Afrouzi teaches Method of claim 36 further comprising second generating a second instruction based on the second information. See for example column 9, lines 5-42, where the delivery robot scans QR codes or labels on a package to associate it with a user, delivery request, and tracking information, where any of the actions taken based on reading the QR code/label can read on generating a second instruction based on the second information. See also column 5, line 27, through column 6, line 57, where the robot delivers both inbound and outbound packages, i.e. drops off packages and picks up packages, to the delivery collection vehicle. See in particular column 5, lines 63-65, where “In some embodiments, a robotic device may deliver an item at, for example, a front door, and obtain an outgoing item from the same location simultaneously.” See also column 7, lines 7-15, where the robotic device travels with the delivery and collection vehicle to receive and deliver packages.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the package delivery system of Ibe with the label reading and pickup system of Ebrahimi Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to positively identify packages and to efficiently deliver and pick up packages.
Claim 55 has similar limitations to claim 37 above, and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 80, Ibe does not explicitly teach, but Ebrahimi Afrouzi teaches Method of claim 37 wherein said second generating is autonomous. See for example column 9, lines 5-42, where the delivery robot scans QR codes or labels on a package to automatically associate it with a user, delivery request, and tracking information, where any of the actions taken based on reading the QR code/label can read on generating [an instruction]. See also column 5, line 27, through column 6, line 57, where the robot delivers both inbound and outbound packages, i.e. drops off packages and picks up packages, to the delivery collection vehicle. See in particular column 5, lines 63-65, where “In some embodiments, a robotic device may deliver an item at, for example, a front door, and obtain an outgoing item from the same location simultaneously.” See also column 7, lines 7-15, where the robotic device travels with the delivery and collection vehicle to receive and deliver packages.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the package delivery system of Ibe with the label reading and pickup system of Ebrahimi Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to positively identify packages and to efficiently deliver and pick up packages.
Regarding claim 81, neither Ibe nor Ebrahimi Afrouzi explicitly teach Method of claim 37 further comprising second commanding said transporting based on the second instruction. Although Ebrahimi Afrouzi reads a label to generate instructions, such instructions do not explicitly include beginning or performing transportation.
However, Simon teaches Method of claim 37 further comprising second commanding said transporting based on the second instruction. See for example paragraph [0027], where the drone determines a package’s intended destination based on reading the label and proceeds to transport the package. See also paragraph [0028], where the drones travel to multiple destinations, and may pick up and deliver packages at the same destination.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the package delivery system of Ibe, modified by the label reading and pickup system of Ebrahimi Afrouzi, with the destination reading system of Simon with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to identify the destination location for each package easily and makes implementation of the system relatively simple.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US20180297703 by Tian et al. teaching a drone reading a QR code to determine pickup package identity (see [0033], [0047]).
/JORDAN T SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
1 See applicant’s arguments filed 7/18/2025, page 14, which reads in part: “A difference between the invention of claim 21 as amended and the disclosure of the '000 pub. [Ibe] is that the former includes comprehending the content of a label, such as with a bar code or optical character recognition scanner, whereas the latter is more commonly understood as acquiring data from a source, such as magnetic storage media and digital input, and placing them into volatile memory for processing.”