DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments 12 December 2025.
Claims 1 and 8-12 were amended; claims 4 and 15 were cancelled; no new claims were added; therefore, claims 1-3, 5-14, and 16-18 are pending in the current application and will be addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “position of the vehicle relative to the first target”, “using the second target…the position information indicating the detected position of the vehicle relative to the first target” of amended claim 9; “detecting a position of the vehicle relative to a first target disposed in a first region”, “using a second target…based on position information indicating the detected position of the vehicle relative to the first target” of amended claim 11) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Here, although these limitations are similar to previous claims 9 and 11 (and related to previous claims 4 and 15), the scope of the instant claims differ. Additionally, these claim limitations were not present in the previous claims and were presented by amendment on 12 December 2025. Therefore, the issue of whether Abari addresses these limitations are not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitations have been addressed by Abari as detailed below in the present Office Action.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the cited prior art does not teach “a dedicated ‘evaluation region’ or ‘evaluation target’ performing the validating function of the spatially separate and distinct third region as described above” (Applicant’s arguments pgs. 8-11): Applicant further states “Abari does not disclose a post-calibration verification process” (Applicant’s arguments pg. 9). However, Applicant’s amended claims recite the three separate targets in three regions with statements of intended use (e.g. “for detecting…”, “for detecting…” and “for evaluating…”), with no details or structure recited on what performs these actions or how these actions occur. Therefore, minimal patentable weight can be given to these statements. Additionally, “evaluating the attitude/position” is broadly claimed such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider Valois’s fusion and analysis as an evaluation (Valois: [0028-31]; examiner notes that paragraph [0028] was cited in the previous rejection and paragraphs [0029-31] (and others) give more detail on the analysis/evaluation). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Examiner would recommend clarifying how the claimed “evaluating” is performed, including any necessary structure and steps.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Attitude/position detection device” in claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-18 (see Fig. 4 and pg. 10 for the device 10 including elements such as a CPU).
“change mechanism” in claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, 12, and 15-18 (examiner notes that claims 2-3 and 13-14 further define the change mechanism) (see pgs. 7-8 for structures such as the turntable or pgs. 25-26 for structure for the target rotating device 121)
“target rotating device” in claims 3 and 14 (see pgs. 25-26 for structure for the target rotating device 121)
“position determination device” in claims 5, 9-10, and 16 (see pgs. 31-32 for sensors to determine position)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abari US 2190204427 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Abari teaches an attitude/position detection system for detecting an attitude/position of at least one detector mounted to a vehicle, comprising:
a plurality of targets including a first target disposed in a first region and a second target disposed in a second region (plurality of targets 102 used for calibrating multiple sensors including cameras and Lidars in sensor array 144, Fig. 1, [0034]; other targets for radar and IMU, [0036]; each shown in different locations/regions);
a position determination device configured to detect a position of the vehicle relative to the first target (position sensors, [0040]; pressure sensors, [0043]; detects when platform (with vehicle) is moved to predetermined positions relative to all targets; ; plurality of targets 102 used for calibrating multiple sensors including cameras and Lidars in sensor array 144, Fig. 1, [0034]; other targets for radar and IMU, [0036]); and
an attitude/position detection device configured to detect, using the second target, the attitude/position of the at least one detector based on position information acquired from the position determination device, the position information indicating the detected position of the vehicle relative to the first (plurality of targets 102 used for calibrating multiple sensors including cameras and Lidars in sensor array 144, Fig. 1, [0034]; other targets for radar and IMU, [0036]; pauses at pre-determined locations, [0034-35]; calibration software uses collected data for calibration of sensor arrays, [0037]; computing system communicating with AV to calibrate sensor array and position vehicle at predetermined positions, [0040-42]; using data from both camera and lidar for extrinsic calculations and the plurality of targets 102, [0034-39]; examiner notes that this uses the knowledge of the location(s) the vehicle stops relative to targets to then perform extrinsic calibrations).
Regarding claim 10, Abari as modified above teaches the attitude/position detection system according to claim 9, further comprising a change mechanism configured to change the position of vehicle relative to the first target and the second target; wherein the attitude/position detection device is configured to control the change mechanism to cause the vehicle to face the first target and then cause the vehicle to face the second target (platform 104 moves relative to targets and pauses at pre-determined locations, [0034-35]).
Regarding claim 11, Abari teaches an attitude/position detection method for detecting an attitude/position of at least one detector mounted to a vehicle, comprising:
detecting a position of the vehicle relative to at least one of a first target disposed in a first region (position sensors, [0040]; pressure sensors, [0043]; detects when platform (with vehicle) is moved to predetermined positions relative to all targets; plurality of targets 102 used for calibrating multiple sensors including cameras and Lidars in sensor array 144, Fig. 1, [0034]; other targets for radar and IMU, [0036]); and
detecting, by using a second target, the attitude/position of the at least one detector based on position information indicating the detected position of the vehicle relative to the first target (plurality of targets 102 used for calibrating multiple sensors including cameras and Lidars in sensor array 144, Fig. 1, [0034]; other targets for radar and IMU, [0036]; pauses at pre-determined locations, [0034-35]; calibration software uses collected data for calibration of sensor arrays, [0037]; computing system communicating with AV to calibrate sensor array and position vehicle at predetermined positions, [0040-42]; using data from both camera and lidar for extrinsic calculations and the plurality of targets 102, [0034-39]; examiner notes that this uses the knowledge of the location(s) the vehicle stops relative to targets to then perform extrinsic calibrations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 12-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abari US 2190204427 A1 in view of Papadelis US 20180292526 A1 and further in view of Valois US 20170343654 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Abari teaches an attitude/position detection system for detecting an attitude/position of at least one detector mounted to a vehicle, comprising:
at least one target used to detect the attitude/position of the at least one detector, the at least one target comprising a plurality of targets suitable for a detection scheme of the at least one detector (targets 102 used for calibrating multiple sensors including cameras and Lidars in sensor array 144, Fig. 1, [0034]; other targets for radar and IMU, [0036]);
a change mechanism configured to change a position of the vehicle relative to the at least one target (platform 104 moves relative to targets, Fig. 1, [0034]); and
an attitude/position detection device configured to control the change mechanism to maintain the position of the vehicle relative to the at least one target for a period of time, and detect the attitude/position of the at least one detector using a result of detection of the at least one target by the at least one detector (pauses at pre-determined locations, [0034-35]; calibration software uses collected data for calibration of sensor arrays, [0037]; computing system communicating with and calibrating sensor array and position vehicle at predetermined positions, [0040-42]), wherein
the at least one detector comprises a plurality of detectors placed on the vehicle, the plurality of detectors including a reference detector (sensor array 144 can include GPS, IMU, LiDAR, cameras, RF transceivers, ultrasonic sensors, etc., [0027]; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that any detector can be a reference detector),
the at least one target comprises a first target for detecting the attitude/position of the reference detector relative to the vehicle, the first target being disposed in a first region (plurality of targets 102, [0027, 34-37]),
a second target for detecting the attitude/position of another detector among the plurality of detectors, the second target being disposed in a second region different from the first region (using data from both camera and lidar for extrinsic calculations and the plurality of targets 102, [0034-39]), and
a third target for evaluating the attitude/position of the plurality of detectors, the third target being disposed in a third region (plurality of targets 102, Fig.1 has more than 3 targets, [0027, 34-37]).
Abari does not explicitly the period of time is a predefined period of time, and using the detection result of the reference detector to detect the attitude/position of another detector; and the third target is for evaluating the attitude/position of each of the plurality of detectors.
Papadelis teaches calibrating based on targets unmoving for a predetermined time period ([0069])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abari such that the period of time is a predefined period of time similar to Papadelis with a reasonable expectation of success. This have the predictable result of ensuring the detectors had time to collect enough data before calibration.
Valois teaches targets can combine patterns for LiDAR and camera systems, [0028]; and fusing the acquired data of each sensor during calibration ([0028]; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that either the camera or lidar could be the reference detector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abari to include using the detection result of the reference detector to detect the attitude/position of another detector; and the third target is for evaluating the attitude/position of each of the plurality of detectors similar to Valois with a reasonable expectation of success. This have the predictable result of ensuring the data from each sensor can be fused together while the vehicle is driving after calibration.
Regarding claim 12, Abari teaches an attitude/position detection system for detecting an attitude/position of at least one detector mounted to a vehicle, comprising:
at least one target used to detect the attitude/position of the at least one detector, the at least one target comprising a target suitable for a plurality of detection schemes of the at least one detector (targets 102 used for calibrating multiple sensors including cameras and Lidars in sensor array 144 which use different detection schemes based on the type of target required for each, Fig. 1, [0034, 36]; other targets for radar and IMU, [0036]);
a change mechanism configured to change a position of the vehicle relative to the at least one target (platform 104 moves relative to targets, Fig. 1, [0034]); and
an attitude/position detection device configured to control the change mechanism to maintain the position of the vehicle relative to the at least one target for a period of time, and detect the attitude/position of the at least one detector using a result of detection of the at least one target by the at least one detector (pauses at pre-determined locations, [0034-35]; calibration software uses collected data for calibration of sensor arrays, [0037]; computing system communicating with AV to calibrate sensor array and position vehicle at predetermined positions, [0040-42]), wherein
the at least one detector comprises a plurality of detectors placed on the vehicle, the plurality of detectors including a reference detector (sensor array 144 can include GPS, IMU, LiDAR, cameras, RF transceivers, ultrasonic sensors, etc., [0027]; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that any detector can be a reference detector),
the at least one target comprises a first target for detecting the attitude/position of the reference detector relative to the vehicle, the first target being disposed in a first region (plurality of targets 102, [0027, 34-37]),
a second target for detecting the attitude/position of another detector among the plurality of detectors, the second target being disposed in a second region different from the first region (using data from both camera and lidar for extrinsic calculations and the plurality of targets 102, [0034-39]), and
a third target for evaluating the attitude/position of the plurality of detectors, the third target being disposed in a third region (plurality of targets 102, Fig.1 has more than 3 targets, [0027, 34-37]),
Abari does not explicitly the period of time is a predefined period of time, and using the detection result of the reference detector to detect the attitude/position of another detector; and the third target is for evaluating the attitude/position of each of the plurality of detectors.
Papadelis teaches calibrating based on targets unmoving for a predetermined time period ([0069])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abari such that the period of time is a predefined period of time similar to Papadelis with a reasonable expectation of success. This have the predictable result of ensuring the detectors had time to collect enough data before calibration.
Valois teaches targets can combine patterns for LiDAR and camera systems, [0028]; and fusing the acquired data of each sensor during calibration ([0028]; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that either the camera or lidar could be the reference detector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abari to include using the detection result of the reference detector to detect the attitude/position of another detector; and the third target is for evaluating the attitude/position of each of the plurality of detectors similar to Valois with a reasonable expectation of success. This have the predictable result of ensuring the data from each sensor can be fused together while the vehicle is driving after calibration.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Abari as modified above teaches the attitude/position detection system according to claim 1 and claim 12, wherein the change mechanism is a vehicle rotating device that includes a rotatable stage to have the vehicle placed thereon and is configured to rotate the vehicle placed on the stage relative the at least one target by rotating the stage, and the at least one target is disposed around the vehicle rotating device (rotatable platform, [0037]).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Abari teaches the attitude/position detection system according to claim 1 and claim 12, wherein the change mechanism is a target rotating device with the at least one target around the vehicle and is configured to rotate the at least one target relative to the vehicle (service vehicle 602 moves targets relative to vehicle, Figs. 6B-7, [0049-55]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Abari teaches the attitude/position detection system according to claim 1 and claim 12, further comprising a position determination device configured to detect a position of the at least one target relative to the vehicle, wherein the attitude/position detection device is configured to detect the attitude/position of the at least one detector using position information acquired from the position determination device (position sensors, [0040]; pressure sensors, [0043]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Abari teaches the attitude/position detection system according to claim 1 and claim 12, wherein the attitude/position detection device is further configured to calibrate the at least one detector using a detected attitude/position of the at least one detector (calibration of sensory array, [0040-42]).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Abari teaches the attitude/position detection system according to claim 1 and claim 12, wherein the attitude/position detection device is configured to be mounted to the vehicle (computing system of the AV can control platform movement, [0040-42]).
Regarding claim 8, Abari teaches an attitude/position detection method for detecting an attitude/position of at least one detector mounted to a vehicle, comprising:
changing a position of at least one target relative to the vehicle, the at least one target being used to detect the attitude/position of the at least one detector relative to the vehicle and comprising a plurality of targets suitable, each for a detection scheme of a corresponding one of the at least one detector (platform 104 moves relative to targets, Fig. 1, [0034]; targets 102 used for calibrating multiple sensors including cameras and Lidars in sensor array 144 which use different detection schemes based on the type of target required for each, Fig. 1, [0034, 36]; other targets for radar and IMU, [0036]);
maintaining the position of at least one target relative to the vehicle for a period of time (pauses at pre-determined locations, [0034-35]) and
detecting the attitude/position of the at least one detector using a result of detection of the at least one target by the at least one detector (calibration software uses collected data for calibration of sensor arrays, [0037]; computing system communicating with AV to calibrate sensor array and position vehicle at predetermined positions, [0040-42]) , wherein
the at least one detector comprises a plurality of detectors placed on the vehicle, the plurality of detectors including a reference detector (sensor array 144 can include GPS, IMU, LiDAR, cameras, RF transceivers, ultrasonic sensors, etc., [0027]; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that any detector can be a reference detector),
the at least one target comprises a first target for detecting the attitude/position of the reference detector relative to the vehicle, the first target being disposed in a first region (plurality of targets 102, [0027, 34-37]),
a second target for detecting the attitude/position of another detector among the plurality of detectors, the second target being disposed in a second region different from the first region (using data from both camera and lidar for extrinsic calculations and the plurality of targets 102, [0034-39]), and
a third target for evaluating the attitude/position of the plurality of detectors, the third target being disposed in a third region (plurality of targets 102, Fig.1 has more than 3 targets, [0027, 34-37]),
Abari does not explicitly the period of time is a predefined period of time, and using the detection result of the reference detector to detect the attitude/position of another detector; and the third target is for evaluating the attitude/position of each of the plurality of detectors.
Papadelis teaches calibrating based on targets unmoving for a predetermined time period ([0069])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abari such that the period of time is a predefined period of time similar to Papadelis with a reasonable expectation of success. This have the predictable result of ensuring the detectors had time to collect enough data before calibration.
Valois teaches targets can combine patterns for LiDAR and camera systems, [0028]; and fusing the acquired data of each sensor during calibration ([0028]; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that either the camera or lidar could be the reference detector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abari to include using the detection result of the reference detector to detect the attitude/position of another detector; and the third target is for evaluating the attitude/position of each of the plurality of detectors similar to Valois with a reasonable expectation of success. This have the predictable result of ensuring the data from each sensor can be fused together while the vehicle is driving after calibration.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645