DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are amended and pending.
Claims 17-20 are cancelled.
Claims 21-24 are withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the limitation of “wherein a distance between memory cells along a direction parallel to the first insulator line and the second insulator line is smaller than a distance between memory cells along a direction perpendicular to the first insulator line and the second insulator line” in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Servalli et al (U.S. 2021/0210491) and further in view of Zhao et al (U.S. 2023/0133520).
Regarding claim 1. Servalli et al discloses an integrated assembly (FIG. 8, 8A, 8B, item 36), comprising:
a pillar (FIG. 8A, item 12) that includes an upper source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 16), a lower source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 18), a channel (FIG. 8A, item 20) between the upper source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 16) and the lower source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 18), a left-facing vertical surface (FIG. 8A, item -Y of surface of item 16) facing a first direction (FIG. 8A, item -Y) along a first axis (FIG. 8A, item Y), and a right-facing vertical surface (FIG. 8A, item +Y of surface of item 16) facing a second direction (FIG. 8A, item +Y) that is opposite the first direction (FIG. 8A, item -Y) along the first axis (FIG. 8A, item Y), wherein the pillar (FIG. 8A, item 12) extends vertically along a second axis (FIG. 8A, item Z) that is perpendicular to the first axis (FIG. 8A, item Y);
a first conductor line (FIG. 8A, item 58 left side) that extends along the first axis (FIG. 8A, item Y) from the upper source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 16) to a first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on left) that extends along a third axis (FIG. 8B, item X) that is perpendicular to a plane formed by the first axis (FIG. 8A, item Y) and the second axis (FIG. 8A, item Z), wherein the left-facing vertical surface (FIG. 8A, item -Y of surface of item 16) faces a portion of the first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on left) that contacts the first conductor line (FIG. 8A, item 58 left side);
a second conductor line (FIG. 8A, item 58 right side) that extends along the first axis (FIG. 8A, item Y) from the upper source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 16) to a second insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right) that is parallel to the first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right side), wherein the right-facing vertical surface (FIG. 8A, item +Y of surface of item 16) faces a portion of the second insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right) that contacts the second conductor line (FIG. 8A, item 58 right side);
a first gate line (FIG. 8A, item 26b) that extends in a same direction as the first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on left) and the second insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right), wherein the left-facing vertical surface (FIG. 8A, item -Y of surface of item 16) faces a portion of the first gate line (FIG. 8A, item 26b) that is proximate to the channel (FIG. 8A, item 20);
a second gate line (FIG. 8A, item 26c) that extends in a same direction as the first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on left) and the second insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right), wherein the right-facing vertical surface (FIG. 8A, item +Y of surface of item 16) faces a portion of the second gate line (FIG. 8A, item 26c) that is proximate to the channel (FIG. 8A, item 20); and
an electrode pillar (FIG. 8A, item 56; [0029], i.e. bottom electrodes are configured as angle plates) that is in contact with a conductive contact region (FIG. 8A, item 58) formed by the first conductor line (FIG. 8A, item 58 left side), the second conductor line (FIG. 8A, item 58 right side), and the upper source/drain (FIG. 8, item 16).
Servalli et al fails to explicitly a cylindrical electrode pillar.
However Zhao et al teaches a cylindrical electrode pillar ([0095], i.e. a cylinder capacitor).
Zhao et al further discloses capacitors ([0095]) may include any suitable structure and configuration, such as a planar capacitor, a stack capacitor, a multi-fins capacitor, a cylinder capacitor, a trench capacitor, or a substrate-plate capacitor.
Since Servalli et al and Zhao et al disclose bottom electrodes as plates for capacitors, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the integrated assembly as disclosed to modify Servalli et al with the teachings of a cylindrical electrode pillar as disclosed by Zhao et al as one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to substitute the element with a predictable result as a capacitor. The use of a cylinder capacitor in Zhao et al provides an array of memory cells can be arranged in a staggered layout in the plan view to further increase the cell density and reduce the unit cell size (Zhao et al, [0048]). See MPEP 2144.06 II Art Recognized Equivalent for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 2. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the integrated assembly of claim 1 above.
Servalli et al further discloses wherein the pillar (FIG. 8, item 12) is a rectangular prism (FIG. 8, shows item 16 of item 12 is rectangular prism).
Regarding claim 3. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the integrated assembly of claim 1 above.
Servalli et al further discloses further comprising an array of pillars ([0089]), including the pillar (FIG. 8A, item 12), that are substantially identical ([0102]), wherein a pitch of the array ([0089]) along the first axis (FIG. 8A, item Y) is greater ([0077]) than a pitch of the array ([0089]) along the third axis (FIG. 8B, item X).
Regarding claim 4. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the integrated assembly of claim 1 above.
Servalli et al further discloses further comprising:
an array of pillars ([0089]), including the pillar (FIG. 8A, item 12), that are substantially identical ([0102]), and an array of electrode pillars ([0089]), including the electrode pillar (FIG. 8A, item 56), that are substantially identical ([0102]),
wherein each electrode pillar (FIG. 8A, item 56), included in a first set of electrode pillars (FIG. 8A, item 56) accessible via a first digit line (annotated FIG. 8, item second digital line; FIG. 8A, item 24a), is in contact ([0036]) with a respective first conductor line (FIG. 8A, item 58).
Zhao et al discloses the cylindrical electrode pillar ([0095]).
Regarding claim 5. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the integrated assembly of claim 4 above.
Servalli et al further discloses wherein each electrode pillar (FIG. 8A, item 56), included in a second set of electrode pillars (FIG. 8A, item 56) accessible via a second digit line (annotated FIG. 8, item second digital line; FIG. 8A, item 24a) and adjacent to the first set of electrode pillars (FIG. 8A, item 56), is in contact ([0036]) with a respective second conductor line (FIG. 8A, item 58).
Regarding claim 6. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the integrated assembly of claim 1 above.
Servalli et al further discloses further comprising: an array of pillars ([0089]), including the pillar (FIG. 8A, item 12), that are substantially identical ([0102]), and an array of electrode pillars ([0089]), including the electrode pillar (FIG. 8A, item 56), that are substantially identical ([0102]),
wherein alternating ([0089]) electrode pillars (FIG. 8A, item 56), included in a set of electrode pillars (FIG. 8A, item 56) that extends along the third axis (FIG. 8B, item X), are in contact with alternating ones ([0080]) of the first conductor line (FIG. 8A, item 58 left side) and the second conductor line (FIG. 8A, item 58 right side).
Zhao et al discloses the cylindrical electrode pillar ([0095]).
Regarding claim 7. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the integrated assembly of claim 1 above.
Servalli et al further discloses wherein the pillar (FIG. 8A, item 12), the portion of the first gate line (FIG. 8A, item 26b) that is proximate to the channel (FIG. 8A, item 20), and the portion of the second gate line (FIG. 8A, item 26b) that is proximate to the channel (FIG. 8A, item 20) form a transistor ([0044]),
wherein the electrode pillar (FIG. 8A, item 56) is a bottom electrode ([0080]) of a capacitor ([0100]) that includes the bottom electrode ([0100]), an insulator ([0100]), and a top electrode ([0100]), and
further comprising a digit line (FIG. 8A, item 24a) that is beneath the pillar (FIG. 8A, item 12), is electrically coupled ([0044]) with the lower source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 18), and is parallel (FIG. 8A) to the first conductor line (FIG. 8A, item 58 left side) and the second conductor line (FIG. 8A, item 58 right side), wherein the transistor ([0044]) selectively couples ([0044]) the capacitor ([0100]) and the digit line (FIG. 8A, item 24a).
Zhao et al discloses the cylindrical electrode pillar ([0095]).
Regarding claim 8. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the integrated assembly of claim 1 above.
Servalli et al further discloses wherein a top surface (FIG. 8, item 58) of the conductive contact region (FIG. 8, item 58) is rectangular (FIG. 8A, shows item 58 is rectangular).
Regarding claim 9. Servalli et al discloses a memory device, comprising:
an array of memory cells ([0089]) that each include: a transistor ([0044]), comprising:
a pillar (FIG. 8A, item 12) that includes an upper source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 16), a lower source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 18), and a channel (FIG. 8A, item 20) between the upper source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 16) and the lower source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 18), one or more gates (FIG. 8A, item 26) that are part of one or more gate lines and that are proximate to the channel (FIG. 8A, item 20);
a capacitor ([0100]), comprising:
a bottom electrode ([0100]; FIG. 8A, item 56; [0080]), an insulator ([0100]), and a top electrode ([0100]); and
a conductive contact region (FIG. 8A, item 58) that couples ([0100]) the transistor ([0044]) and the capacitor ([0100]), comprising: the upper source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 16),
a first conductive region (FIG. 8A, item 58 left side) having a right surface (FIG. 8A, item 58 left side right surface) that abuts the upper source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 16) and having a left surface (FIG. 8A, item 58 left side left surface) that contacts a first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on left on left of item 16), and a second conductive region (FIG. 8A, item 58 right side) having a left surface (FIG. 8A, item 58 right side left surface) that abuts the upper source/drain (FIG. 8A, item 16) and having a right surface (FIG. 8A, item 58 right side right surface) that contacts a second insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right of item 16) that is parallel to the first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on left of item 16).
Servalli et al fails to explicitly a cylindrical electrode pillar.
However Zhao et al teaches a cylindrical bottom pillar ([0095], i.e. a cylinder capacitor).
Zhao et al further discloses capacitors ([0095]) may include any suitable structure and configuration, such as a planar capacitor, a stack capacitor, a multi-fins capacitor, a cylinder capacitor, a trench capacitor, or a substrate-plate capacitor.
Since Servalli et al and Zhao et al disclose bottom electrodes as plates for capacitors, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the integrated assembly as disclosed to modify Servalli et al with the teachings of a cylindrical electrode pillar as disclosed by Zhao et al as one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to substitute the element with a predictable result as a capacitor. The use of a cylinder capacitor in Zhao et al provides an array of memory cells can be arranged in a staggered layout in the plan view to further increase the cell density and reduce the unit cell size (Zhao et al, [0048]). See MPEP 2144.06 II Art Recognized Equivalent for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 10. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device of claim 9 above.
Servalli et al further discloses wherein a shape of a top surface (FIG. 8, shows item 58) of the conductive contact region (FIG. 8, shows item 58) is approximately a rectangle (FIG. 8, shows item 58 is approximately a rectangle).
Regarding claim 11. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device of claim 9 above.
Servalli et al further discloses wherein the pillar (FIG. 8, shows item 12) is approximately a rectangular prism (FIG. 8, shows item 16 of item 12 is approximately rectangular prism).
Regarding claim 12. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device of claim 9 above.
Servalli et al further discloses wherein a distance ([0077]) between memory cells ([0089]) along a direction parallel (FIG. 8, item X) to the first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on left on left of item 16) and the second insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right of item 16) is smaller ([0077]; FIG. 8 shows width of item 52 is smaller than a width of item 53) than a distance ([0077]) between memory cells ([0089]) along a direction perpendicular (FIG. 8, item Y) to the first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right of item 16) and the second insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right of item 16).
Regarding claim 13. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device of claim 9 above.
Servalli et al further discloses wherein a first plurality (FIG. 8, annotated first plurality) of bottom electrodes (FIG. 8A, item 56), included in a first plurality (FIG. 8, annotated first plurality) of capacitors ([0100]) that extends along a direction perpendicular (FIG. 8A, item Z is perpendicular to item Y) to the first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on left of item 16) and the second insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right of item 16), are in contact ([0100]) with a corresponding plurality of first conductive regions (FIG. 8A, item 58).
Regarding claim 14. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device of claim 13 above.
Servalli et al further discloses wherein a second plurality (FIG. 8, annotated second plurality) of bottom electrodes (FIG. 8A, item 56), included in a second plurality (FIG. 8, annotated second plurality) of capacitors ([0100]) that is adjacent (FIG. 8 shows first plurality is adjacent second plurality) to the first plurality (FIG. 8, annotated first plurality) of capacitors ([0100]), are in contact with a corresponding plurality of second conductive regions (FIG. 8A, item 58).
Regarding claim 15. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device of claim 9 above.
Servalli et al further discloses wherein consecutive bottom electrodes (FIG. 8A, item 56), included in a plurality of capacitors ([0100]) that extends along a direction parallel (FIG. 8A, item Y) to the first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on left of item 16) and the second insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right of item 16), alternate between being in contact with a respective first conductive region (FIG. 8A, item 58 left side) and a respective second conductive region (FIG. 8A, item 58 right side).
Regarding claim 16. Servalli et al and Zhao et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device of claim 9 above.
Servalli et al further discloses wherein consecutive conductive contact regions (FIG. 8A, item 58), included in a column of memory cells ([0100]) that extends along a direction parallel (FIG. 8A, item Y) to the first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on left of item 16) and the second insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right of item 16), are separated by respective insulative spacer regions (FIG. 8, item 52) that each abut the first insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on left of item 16) and the second insulator line (FIG. 8A, item 22 on right of item 16).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 of applicant’s remarks, applicant appears to argue that the spec in [0067] and Fig 5 shows applicant’s claim 12.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner respectfully points out that this is a drawing objection, not a specification. Applicant’s FIG. 5 shows that the distance between memory cells along a y-direction is smaller than a distance between memory cells along the x-direction. Examiner further points out that in the x direction (up/down arrow of FIG. 5) the horizontal lines do not overlap the outer solid lines of the capacitor, however in the y-direction (left right) the vertical lines do overlap the outer solid lines of the capacitor, therefore, the distance between memory cells along a y-direction is smaller than a distance between memory cells along the x-direction.
On page 12 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues that Servalli et al fails to disclose the claimed a cylindrical electrode pillar that is in contact with a conductive contact region formed by the first conductor line, the second conductor line, and the upper source/drain in amended claim 1 and 9.
Examiner respectfully points out that Servalli et al in view of Zhao et al discloses applicant’s amended claim 1 and 9. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815