DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 10-14 under 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C 102 and 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8, 10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Delevski (US 20200144851 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Delevski teaches an electric vehicle charging (¶[1] “charge one or more battery modules in a vehicle application”) control device (210, Fig. 2), comprising:
a temperature sensor (240) configured to:
sense a temperature of a battery to be charged (¶[41] “one or more temperature sensors configured to sense a temperature at one or more locations within the generator-based battery charging system 100, such as at a battery location (e.g., internal to the battery module, at an exterior surface of a battery module, etc.)”);
and generate temperature information (¶[43] “The processor 250 may be configured to receive sensor signals from one or more of the voltage sensors 220, current sensors 230, and/or the temperature sensors via the ports 225, 235, and 245”);
a processor (250);
and a memory (260) coupled to the processor (Fig. 2), wherein:
the memory is configured to store program commands that are executable by the processor (¶[41] “the memory devices 260 may be used to store computer executable instructions to be executed by the processor 250 to process and/or log sensor information”),
and the program commands are configured to cause the processor to perform fast charging of the battery by using a first charging current that has a maximum value (¶[59] “the regulator 810 may process the second control loop 817 to command the charging current at or near the maximum charging current to ensure the battery 830 is charged as fast as possible”, see also Fig. 4C for a graph of the maximum charging current)which maintains the temperature of the battery to be less than or equal to a preset second threshold temperature (785 in Fig. 7)
based on the temperature information being greater than or equal to a preset first threshold temperature (0 C°) and less than the preset second threshold temperature (25 C°) (¶[36] “In some cases, the predetermined criteria may also be dependent upon other parameters that may be sensed in near-real time, such as temperature, voltage and current. For example, first threshold values may be used at a first temperature and second threshold values may be used at a second temperature” see also ¶[40] “Once the controller 110 identifies whether recharge criteria has been met (e.g., a temperature threshold), the controller 110 may identify a charging profile for use in controlling the battery recharge process”)
wherein the preset second threshold temperature (25 C°) exceeds the preset first threshold temperature (0 C°) (see Fig. 4C, ¶[59] “The regulator 810 may receive sensor information corresponding to one or more battery conditions, including the battery charging current, and may compare the sensed current to the predefined limits based on current battery conditions (e.g., internal battery temperature, ambient battery temperature, SOC, SOH, etc.)”);
and wherein the program commands are further configured to cause the processor to:
increase the first charging current based on the temperature information being greater than or equal to the first preset threshold temperature (see Fig. 4C, current increases after temperature goes above 0 C°) until the temperature information reaches the preset second threshold temperature (see Fig. 4C where current stops increasing after temperature reaches 25 C°, see ¶[36] for temperature thresholds “In some cases, the predetermined criteria may also be dependent upon other parameters that may be sensed in near-real time, such as temperature, voltage and current. For example, first threshold values may be used at a first temperature and second threshold values may be used at a second temperature”);
perform fast charging of the battery by using a second charging current determined from a map storing current values corresponding to a combination of the temperature information and a voltage of the battery (see Fig. 6, ¶[53] “the selected charging profile may be dependent on temperature, current and voltage. As can be seen, a charging profile may be generated within a three-dimensional space (or three dimensional table or data structure) such that changing conditions may be accounted for during charging operations. For example, a charging profile may be generated as a three dimensional surface to allow the controller 110 to command the generator to output a specified voltage and a specified current based on a particular sensed temperature”) based on the temperature information being less than the preset first threshold temperature (see Fig. 4C, where the maximum current is increasing between -30 C° and 0 C°, although Delevski does not specifically use the term “fast charging”, the current is steadily increasing and is much higher than the region before and after, therefore it would be considered fast charging relative to the other regions of the graph);
and perform slow charging by using a preset third charging current (the currents are predetermined based on the charging profiles illustrated in Fig. 4C and Fig. 6) based on the temperature information being greater than the preset second threshold temperature (see Fig. 4C, where the maximum current is decreasing after 25 C°, although Delevski does not specifically use the term “slow charging”, the current is steadily decreasing compared to the region before, therefore it would be considered slow charging relative to the previous region of the graph).
Regarding Claim 3, Delevski teaches the device according to claim 1.
Delevski further teaches wherein the program commands are further configured to cause the processor to terminate the fast charging when a voltage of the battery reaches a preset cut-off voltage as the battery is quickly charged using the maximum current value (see charging profile in Fig. 4A where the current is reduced after the voltage reaches a threshold V4).
Regarding Claim 6, Delevski teaches the device according to claim 1.
Delevski further teaches wherein the program commands are further configured to cause the processor to terminate the fast charging when the temperature information is greater than or equal to the preset second threshold temperature (785 in Fig. 7, see also ¶[56] “the controller 110 may identify whether a charging criterion (e.g., a temperature threshold at 785) has been reached ... If so, the controller 110 may be configured to determine whether to use a different charging profile at 740”, see also 4C where the maximum current decreases after reaching 25 C°).
Regarding Claim 7, Delevski teaches the device according to claim 6,
Delevski further teaches wherein the program commands are further configured to cause the processor to restart the fast charging when the temperature information becomes less than the preset second threshold temperature (¶[36] “Based on this information, the controller 110 may determine that the battery module conditions have met predetermined criteria for initiating a recharge-operation sequence ... In some cases, the predetermined criteria may also be dependent upon other parameters that may be sensed in near-real time, such as temperature, voltage and current. For example, first threshold values may be used at a first temperature and second threshold values may be used at a second temperature”).
Regarding Claim 8, Delevski teaches a method for controlling charging of an electric vehicle (¶[1] “charge one or more battery modules in a vehicle application”), performed in an electric vehicle charging control device (210, Fig. 2), the method comprising:
performing fast charging of a battery of the electric vehicle using a first charging current that has a maximum value which maintains the temperature of the battery to be less than or equal to a preset second threshold temperature (25 C°) based on a temperature information of the battery being greater than or equal to a preset first threshold temperature (0 C°) and less than the second preset threshold temperature (25 C°) (785 in Fig. 7) (¶[59] “the regulator 810 may process the second control loop 817 to command the charging current at or near the maximum charging current to ensure the battery 830 is charged as fast as possible”, see also Fig. 4C for a graph of the maximum charging current);
performing the fast charging of the battery using a second charging current determined from a map storing current values corresponding to a combination of the temperature information and a voltage of the battery (see Fig. 6, ¶[53] “the selected charging profile may be dependent on temperature, current and voltage. As can be seen, a charging profile may be generated within a three-dimensional space (or three dimensional table or data structure) such that changing conditions may be accounted for during charging operations. For example, a charging profile may be generated as a three dimensional surface to allow the controller 110 to command the generator to output a specified voltage and a specified current based on a particular sensed temperature”) based on the temperature information being less than the preset first threshold temperature (see Fig. 4C, where the maximum current is increasing between -30 C° and 0 C°, although Delevski does not specifically use the term “fast charging”, the current is steadily increasing and is much higher than the region before and after, therefore it would be considered fast charging relative to the other regions of the graph);
and performing slow charging using a preset third charging current (the current is predetermined using the charging profiles illustrated in Fig. 4C and Fig. 6) based on the temperature information being greater than the preset second threshold temperature (see Fig. 4C, where the maximum current is decreases after 25 C°, although Delevski does not specifically use the term “slow charging”, the current is steadily decreasing compared to the region before, therefore it would be considered slow charging relative to the previous region of the graph);
wherein the second preset threshold temperature (25 C°) exceeds the first preset threshold temperature (0 C°); and
wherein the performing fast charging of the battery using the first charging current includes increasing the first charging current based on the temperature information being greater than or equal to the first preset threshold temperature (see Fig. 4C, current increases after temperature goes above 0 C°) until the temperature information reaches the preset second threshold temperature (see Fig. 4C where current stops increasing after temperature reaches 25 C°, see ¶[36] for temperature thresholds “In some cases, the predetermined criteria may also be dependent upon other parameters that may be sensed in near-real time, such as temperature, voltage and current. For example, first threshold values may be used at a first temperature and second threshold values may be used at a second temperature”);
Regarding Claim 10, Delevski teaches the method according to claim 8.
Delevski further teaches terminating the fast charging when a voltage of the battery reaches a preset cut-off voltage as the battery is quickly charged using the maximum current value (see charging profile in Fig. 4A where the current is reduced after the voltage reaches a threshold V4).
Regarding Claim 13, Delevski teaches the method according to claim 8.
Delevski further teaches terminating the fast charging when the sensed temperature of the battery is greater than or equal to the preset second threshold temperature (785 in Fig. 7, see also ¶[56] “the controller 110 may identify whether a charging criterion (e.g., a temperature threshold at 785) has been reached ... If so, the controller 110 may be configured to determine whether to use a different charging profile at 740”, see also 4C where the maximum current decreases after reaching 25 C).
Regarding Claim 14, Delevski teaches the method according to claim 13.
Delevski further teaches restarting the fast charging when the sensed temperature of the battery is less than the second threshold temperature (¶[36] “Based on this information, the controller 110 may determine that the battery module conditions have met predetermined criteria for initiating a recharge-operation sequence ... In some cases, the predetermined criteria may also be dependent upon other parameters that may be sensed in near-real time, such as temperature, voltage and current. For example, first threshold values may be used at a first temperature and second threshold values may be used at a second temperature”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delevski (US 20200144851 A1) in view of Hayashi (JP 2005027479 A).
Regarding Claim 4, Delevski teaches the device according to claim 3.
Delevski does not teach wherein the program commands are further configured to cause the processor to start constant-voltage charging when the cut-off voltage is reached using the maximum current value.
Hayashi teaches (Fig. 3) wherein the program commands are further configured to cause the processor to start constant-voltage charging when the cut-off voltage (Vg) is reached (¶[29] “When the charging voltage (battery voltage) detected at 1 reaches a preset target voltage (specifically, a reversal voltage at which gas starts to be generated from the battery 2: a so-called gassing voltage) Vg, then current detection is performed”, see annotated Fig. 3 below) using the maximum current value (I3, ¶[32] “In this way, in the rapid charging, rapid supplementary charging is performed with the third control current I3 that is larger than the first control current I1 for a certain time”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Delevski to incorporate the teachings of Hayashi to provide the program commands are further configured to cause the processor to start constant-voltage charging when the cut-off voltage is reached using the maximum current value in order to continue charging the battery without damaging it or overcharging it.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Delevski and Hayashi teaches the device according to claim 4.
Hayashi further teaches wherein the program commands are further configured to cause the processor to start slow charging when a current provided to the battery corresponds to a preset slow charging current (I2) after the constant-voltage charging (¶[29] “when the charging current is reduced to the second control current I2 by the constant voltage control, the power supply unit 14 is controlled so that the charging current becomes the second control current I2. The charging control for the battery 2 is performed by the procedure of executing the second constant current control to be performed (the end of charging)” see annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding Claim 11, Delevski teaches the method according to claim 10,
Delevski does not teach wherein the terminating the fast charging further comprises starting constant-voltage charging when the cut-off voltage is reached using the maximum current value.
Hayashi teaches (Fig. 3) wherein the terminating the fast charging (I3, ¶[32] “In this way, in the rapid charging, rapid supplementary charging is performed with the third control current I3 that is larger than the first control current I1 for a certain time”) further comprises starting constant-voltage charging when the cut-off voltage (Vg) is reached using the maximum current value (¶[29] “When the charging voltage (battery voltage) detected at 1 reaches a preset target voltage (specifically, a reversal voltage at which gas starts to be generated from the battery 2: a so-called gassing voltage) Vg, then current detection is performed”, see annotated Fig. 3 below).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Delevski to incorporate the teachings of Hayashi to provide further comprises starting constant-voltage charging when the cut-off voltage (Vg) is reached using the maximum current value in order to continue charging the battery without damaging it or overcharging it.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Delevski and Hayashi teaches the method according to claim 11.
Hayashi further teaches wherein the terminating the fast charging (I3, ¶[32] “In this way, in the rapid charging, rapid supplementary charging is performed with the third control current I3 that is larger than the first control current I1 for a certain time”) further comprises starting the slow charging when a current supplied to the battery corresponds to a preset slow charging current (I2) after the constant-voltage charging (¶[29] “when the charging current is reduced to the second control current I2 by the constant voltage control, the power supply unit 14 is controlled so that the charging current becomes the second control current I2. The charging control for the battery 2 is performed by the procedure of executing the second constant current control to be performed (the end of charging)” see annotated Fig. 3 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859