Request for Continued Examination
DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s remarks/amendments of claims 1-4, 6-13, 15 and 17-24 in the reply filed on November 13th, 2025 are acknowledged. Claims 1, 8, 12 and 27 have been amended. Claims 5, 14, 16 and 25-26 have been withdrawn. Claim 15 has been cancelled. Claims 10-12, 17, 19, 22 and 23 are not belong to the specie 2 (Fig. 4) are also have been withdrawn by examiner. Claims 1-27 are pending.
Action on merits of claims 1-4, 6-9, 13, 18, 20-21, 24 and 27 as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 13, 18, 20-21 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2016/0268354, hereinafter as Xion ‘354) in view of Jung (US 2018/0097047, hereinafter as Jung ‘047) and further in view of Tang (CN 113540194, hereinafter as Tang ‘194).
Regarding Claim 1, Xion ‘354 teaches a display panel, wherein the display panel has pixel regions (Fig. 4, (A_Annotated)) and at least one non-pixel region (Fig. 4, (A_Annotated)), and each of the at least one non-pixel region is at least located between two adjacent pixel regions of the pixel regions (see Fig. 4); and
wherein the display panel comprises: a substrate (Fig. 4, (21); [0036]);
a light-emitting element layer located at a side of the substrate and comprising an organic common layer (Fig. 4, (25); [0036]); and
a first opening (24; [036]) located in one of the at least one non-pixel region (NA), wherein the first opening (24) comprises a first sidewall and a second sidewall, wherein the first sidewall is a side surface of a first layer, and the second sidewall is a side surface of a second layer; and the first layer and the second layer are located at a side of the organic common layer (25) facing towards the substrate (21), and the organic common layer (25) forms a recessed structure at the first opening (see Fig. 4; [0036]).
Xion ‘354 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the first layer and the second layer are two layers that are independent of each other”.
Jung ‘047 teaches the first layer (Fig. 3, (200b); [0074] and [0076]) and the second layer (Fig. 3, (178); [0062]) are two layers that are independent of each other.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xion ‘354 by having the first layer and the second layer are two layers that are independent of each other in order to overcome the problems related with collapse or peeling-off of the partition of the display device (see para. [0151]) as suggested by Jung ‘047.
Xion ‘354 and Jung ‘047 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a blue pixel region configured to emit blue light, and the blue pixel region is located at a side of the second sidewall of the first opening; and the second layer is located at a side of the first layer facing away from the substrate”.
Tang ‘194 teaches a blue pixel region (Fig. 3, (301); [0051]) configured to emit blue light, and the blue pixel region is located at a side of the second sidewall of the first opening (2311; [0045] and [0050]; and the second layer (Fig. 6, (206); [0041]) is located at a side of the first layer (212; [0044]) facing away from the substrate.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xion ‘354 and Jung ‘047 by having a blue pixel region configured to emit blue light, and the blue pixel region is located at a side of the second sidewall of the first opening; and the second layer is located at a side of the first layer facing away from the substrate in order to prevent the problem of light leakage in high-resolution display panels due to the small gap between adjacent pixels (see para. [0038]), thereby avoiding the problem of color mixing between different pixels of the display panel to a certain extent (see para. [0054]) as suggested by Tang ‘194.
Regarding Claim 27, Xion ‘354 teaches a display apparatus, comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel has pixel regions (Fig. 4, (A_Annotated)) and at least one non-pixel region (Fig. 4, (A_Annotated)), and each of the at least one non-pixel region is at least located between two adjacent pixel regions of the pixel regions (see Fig. 4); and
wherein the display panel comprises:
a substrate (Fig. 4, (21); [0036]);
a light-emitting element layer located at a side of the substrate and comprising an organic common layer (Fig. 4, (25); [0036]); and
a first opening (24; [036]) located in one of the at least one non-pixel region (NA), wherein the first opening (24) comprises a first sidewall and a second sidewall, wherein the first sidewall is a side surface of a first layer, and the second sidewall is a side surface of a second layer; and the first layer and the second layer are located at a side of the organic common layer (25) facing towards the substrate (21), and the organic common layer (25) forms a recessed structure at the first opening (see Fig. 4; [0036]).
Thus, Xion ‘354 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the first layer and the second layer are two layers that are independent of each other”.
Jung ‘047 teaches the first layer (Fig. 3, (200b); [0074] and [0076]) and the second layer (Fig. 3, (178); [0062]) are two layers that are independent of each other.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xion ‘354 by having the first layer and the second layer are two layers that are independent of each other in order to overcome the problems related with collapse or peeling-off of the partition of the display device (see para. [0151]) as suggested by Jung ‘047.
Xion ‘354 and Jung ‘047 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a blue pixel region configured to emit blue light, and the blue pixel region is located at a side of the second sidewall of the first opening; and the second layer is located at a side of the first layer facing away from the substrate”.
Tang ‘194 teaches a blue pixel region (Fig. 3, (301); [0051]) configured to emit blue light, and the blue pixel region is located at a side of the second sidewall of the first opening (2311; [0045] and [0050]; and the second layer (Fig. 6, (206); [0041]) is located at a side of the first layer (212; [0044]) facing away from the substrate.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xion ‘354 and Jung ‘047 by having a blue pixel region configured to emit blue light, and the blue pixel region is located at a side of the second sidewall of the first opening; and the second layer is located at a side of the first layer facing away from the substrate in order to prevent the problem of light leakage in high-resolution display panels due to the small gap between adjacent pixels (see para. [0038]), thereby avoiding the problem of color mixing between different pixels of the display panel to a certain extent (see para. [0054]) as suggested by Tang ‘194.
[AltContent: textbox (NA)][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: textbox (NA)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Fig. 4 (Xion ‘354_Annotated)
Regarding Claim 2, Xion ‘354 teaches the organic common layer (25) has a disconnection region that overlaps with the first opening (24) in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate (21) (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Xion ‘354 teaches the first sidewall and the second sidewall are two opposite sidewalls of the first opening (24) (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Xion ‘354 teaches along a direction from the organic common layer (25) to the substrate (21), the first sidewall is inclined towards the second sidewall, and the second sidewall is inclined towards the first sidewall (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Xion ‘354 teaches the first layer comprises a first bottom surface close to the substrate (21); an angle Al formed between the first sidewall and the first bottom surface satisfies 60°<Al<90°; and the second layer comprises a second bottom surface at a side close to the substrate, and an angle A2 formed between the second sidewall and the second bottom surface satisfies 60°<A2<90°;wherein the light-emitting element layer further comprises a cathode (19; [0032]) located at a side of the organic common layer (25) facing away from the substrate (21) (see Fig. 1).
Thus, Xion ‘354, Jung ‘047 and Tang ‘194 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “in a first direction, a maximum distance L1 between the first sidewall and the second sidewall satisfies L1<2xdl, where dl denotes a sum of a thickness of the cathode (19) and a thickness of the organic common layer (25), and the first direction is a direction along which the two adjacent pixel regions are arranged”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select
a maximum distance L1 between the first sidewall and the second sidewall satisfies L1<2xdl, where dl denotes a sum of a thickness of the cathode and a thickness of the organic common layer, and the first direction is a direction along which the two adjacent pixel regions are arranged on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a maximum distance L1 between the first sidewall and the second sidewall satisfies L1<2xdl in the first direction in order to improve the performance of the display device.
Regarding Claim 7, Xion ‘354, Jung ‘047 and Tang ‘194 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a minimum distance L2 between the first sidewall and the second sidewall satisfies L2>2xd2, where d2 denotes the thickness of the organic common layer”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select
a minimum distance L2 between the first sidewall and the second sidewall satisfies L2>2xd2, where d2 denotes the thickness of the organic common layer on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a minimum distance L2 between the first sidewall and the second sidewall satisfies L2>2xd2, where d2 denotes the thickness of the organic common layer in order to improve the performance of the display device.
Regarding Claim 8, Xion ‘354 the first layer comprises a first groove, the second layer comprises a second groove, and in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the second groove partially overlaps with the first groove (see Fig. 4)
Xion ‘354, Jung ‘047 and Tang ‘194 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a part of the second layer is recessed at the first groove; and wherein a sidewall of the second layer recessed at the first groove is the second sidewall, and a sidewall of the first layer opposite to the second sidewall is the first sidewall”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select
a part of the second layer is recessed at the first groove; and wherein a sidewall of the second layer recessed at the first groove is the second sidewall, and a sidewall of the first layer opposite to the second sidewall is the first sidewall on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a part of the second layer is recessed at the first groove; and wherein a sidewall of the second layer recessed at the first groove is the second sidewall, and a sidewall of the first layer opposite to the second sidewall is the first sidewall in order to improve the performance of the display device.
Regarding Claim 9, Xion ‘354 teaches a pixel definition layer (22; [0036]) located at a side of the organic common layer (25) facing towards the substrate (21), and the pixel definition layer (22) comprises second openings for defining the pixel regions (see Fig. 4); wherein the display panel further comprises a planarization layer (27; [0038]) located at a side of the pixel definition layer facing towards the substrate.
Xion ‘354, Jung ‘047 and Tang ‘194 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the first layer is the planarization layer, and the second layer is the pixel definition layer”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the first layer is the planarization layer, and the second layer is the pixel definition layer In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the first layer is the planarization layer, and the second layer is the pixel definition layer in order to improve the performance of the display device.
Regarding Claim 13, Xion ‘354 teaches the first groove penetrates the first layer, and the second groove penetrates the second layer (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 18, Xion ‘354 teaches a cathode (19) located at a side of the organic common layer (25) facing away from the substrate (21), wherein the cathode (19) is communicated in the pixel regions and the at least one non-pixel region (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 20, Xion ‘354 teaches the first opening comprises an annular opening (24) surrounding one of the pixel regions (see Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 21, Xion ‘354 teaches the first opening (20) is grid-shaped having a plurality of holes, and the pixel regions are exposed in the plurality of holes of the first opening in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate (see Fig. 9).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xion ‘354, Jung ‘047 and Tang ‘194 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jang (US 2019/0296090, hereinafter as Jang ‘090).
Regarding Claim 24, Xion ‘354 teaches an anode (16; [0032]) located at a side of the substrate (21);
a light-emitting layer (25; [0036]) located at a side of the anode facing away from the substrate (21); and
a cathode (19; [0033]) located at a side of the light-emitting layer facing away from the substrate, wherein the organic common layer comprises a hole transmission layer (251; [0038]); an electron transmission layer (252; [0038]) that are located between the light-emitting layer (25) and the cathode (19); and/or, wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a first light-emitting layer (see Fig. 4).
Xion ‘354, Jung ‘047 and Tang ‘194 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a hole injection layer that are located between the anode and the light-emitting layer; and an electron injection layer; a second light- emitting layer that overlap with each other in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, and the organic common layer comprises a charge generation layer located between the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer”.
Jang ‘090 teaches a hole injection layer (Fig. 2, (120); [0050]) that are located between the anode (110; [0050]) and the light-emitting layer (140; [0052]); and an electron injection layer (250; [0066]); a second light-emitting layer (190; [0057]) that overlap with each other in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, and the organic common layer comprises a charge generation layer (160; [0047]) located between the first light-emitting layer (140) and the second light-emitting layer (190).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xion ‘354, Jung ‘047 and Tang ‘194 by having a hole injection layer that are located between the anode and the light-emitting layer; and an electron injection layer; a second light- emitting layer that overlap with each other in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, and the organic common layer comprises a charge generation layer located between the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer in order to improve the lifetime of the device (see para. [0008] and [0094]) as suggested by Jang ‘090.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to semiconductor devices:
Kinjo (US 2022/0157905 A1)
Lee et al. (US 2017/0373130 A1)
Kim (US 2017/0077205 A1)
Heo et al. (US 2016/0043341 A1)
Yoon (US 2015/0034913 A1)
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893