Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18, 23, 25-26 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (Pub. No.: US 2015/0102280) in view of Koh (Pub. No.: US 2011/0044093),
Re claim 18, LEE, FIG. 4 teaches a phase change memory, comprising:
a first semiconductor element comprising:
a bit line (BL);
a memory unit (MC) on the bit line;
a P-N diode (SE) on the memory unit; and
an insulating layer (40b/40c/40a/11a/10) burying the bit line, the memory unit (MC) and the P-N diode (SE); and
a second semiconductor element [SSE] disposed below the first semiconductor element [FSE] and having a first contact region [FCR] and a second contact region [SCR],
wherein a first surface of the first semiconductor element (bottom surface of [FSE]) is bonded with a first surface of the second semiconductor element (top surface of [SSE]).
LEE fails to teach the limitation as listed right immediately below.
Koh teaches wherein the bit line (137, FIG. 4) of the first semiconductor element [FSE] is aligned and connected with the first contact region (11d) of the second semiconductor element [SSE];
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of increasing reliability and/or program efficiency of the flash memory cell as taught by Koh, [0004].
Re claim 23, in the combination, LEE, FIG. 4 teaches the phase change memory of claim 18, wherein the first semiconductor element further comprises:
a first contact hole (occupied by MC/20T) formed in the insulating layer; and
a word line (WL) disposed on the P-N diode (SE) and formed in the insulating layer (40a/40b/40c/11a/10),
wherein the word line is connected to the P-N diode (SE), and connected to the second contact region [SCR] of the second semiconductor element through the first contact hole.
Re claim 25, LEE, FIG. 4 teaches the phase change memory of claim 18, wherein the first semiconductor element further comprises:
a first connection channel having a first connection region [FCoR] and a second connection region [SCoR] electrically isolated from each other and disposed below the bit line (B),
wherein the first connection region [FCoR] is connected to the bit line (B) through a first connection hole, and
wherein the first connection region [FCR] and the second connection region [SCoC] of the first semiconductor element are aligned (parallel in vertical direction) and connected with the first contact region [FCR] and the second contact region (DT right immediately below VC1) of the second semiconductor element, respectively.
Re claim 26, LEE, FIG. 4 teaches the phase change memory of claim 25, wherein the first semiconductor element further comprises:
a second contact hole (occupied by WC) formed in the insulating layer (40/40a/40b); and
a word line (WL) disposed on the P-N diode (SE) and formed in the insulating layer,
wherein the word line is connected to the P-N diode (SE), and connected to the second contact region [SCR] of the second semiconductor element [SSE] through the second connection region (20) and the second contact hole.
Re claim 32, LEE, FIG. 4 teaches the phase change memory of claim 18, wherein the memory unit (MC) comprises a phase change memory material (30, [0028]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because LEE, FIG. 4 teaches a phase change memory, comprising:
a first semiconductor element comprising:
a bit line (BL);
a memory unit (MC) on the bit line;
a P-N diode (SE) on the memory unit; and
an insulating layer (40b/40c/40a) burying the bit line, the memory unit (MC) and the P-N diode (SE); and
a second semiconductor element [SSE] disposed below the first semiconductor element [FSE] and having a first contact region [FCR] and a second contact region [SCR],
wherein a first surface of the first semiconductor element (bottom surface of [FSE]) is bonded with a first surface of the second semiconductor element (top surface of [SSE]).
LEE fails to teach the limitation as listed right immediately below.
Koh teaches wherein the bit line (137, FIG. 4) of the first semiconductor element [FSE] is aligned and connected with the first contact region (11d) of the second semiconductor element [SSE];
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of increasing reliability and/or program efficiency of the flash memory cell as taught by Koh, [0004].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893