DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment & Claims’ Status
The Amendment filed on 2/4/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are currently pending. Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are currently being examined, with Claims 5 and 15-20 withdrawn to due to the election without traverse on 10/6/2025. Claims 1-2, 8, 10, and 15 have been amended. Claims 13-14 have been cancelled by the Applicant. No claims have been newly added. The objection of Claim 14 in the previous office action is now moot, due to Claim 14’s cancellation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doris et al (US 2021/0091300 A1, of record, hereafter Doris) in view of Wang et al (US 2022/0310902 A1, hereafter Wang).
Re Claim 1, Doris discloses a MRAM structure (FIG. 15; [0078]-[0089]) comprising:
a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack, the MTJ stack comprising, vertically from a bottom to a top thereof, a bottom electrode layer (48; [0067]), a first ferromagnetic layer (54L; [0079]), a tunnel barrier layer (56L; [0079]), a second ferromagnetic layer (58L; [0079]), and a top electrode layer (60L; [0078]),
wherein the second ferromagnetic layer (58L) is directly on top of the tunnel barrier layer (56L; [0079]) and has a sidewall ([0079], left sidewall, see FIG. Z1 below), and a peripheral portion (outer portions, see FIG. Z1 below) of the tunnel barrier layer (56L) surrounds at least a first portion of the sidewall (bottom left sidewall; [0079], see FIG. Z1 below) of the second ferromagnetic layer (58L; [0079]), and
wherein the first ferromagnetic layer (54L) has a sidewall ([0079], left sidewall, see FIG. Z1 below).
Doris does not explicitly disclose wherein a conformal liner covers the sidewall of the first ferromagnetic layer (54L, left sidewall).
However, Wang teaches an MRAM structure (FIG. 1; [0016]-[0022]) comprising wherein a conformal liner (118; [0021]) covers the sidewall of the first ferromagnetic layer (within 112; [0021], covers in the horizontal direction).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations taught by Doris with the limitations taught by Wang to include a conformal liner to provide increased physical and electrical separation/isolation along the MTJ’s sidewalls as taught by Wang ([0021]).
FIG. Z1: Annotated version of FIG. 15 of Doris
Re Claim 2, Doris and Wang teach the structure according to Claim 1, while Doris further teaches wherein the first ferromagnetic layer (54L) has a sidewall ([0079], left sidewall, see FIG. Z1), and the sidewall of the first ferromagnetic layer (54L, left sidewall) is not coplanar with the sidewall of the second ferromagnetic layer (58L, left sidewall; [0079]).
Re Claim 3, Doris and Wang teach the structure according to Claim 1, while Doris further teaches wherein the sidewall of the second ferromagnetic layer (58L, left sidewall) is angled relative to a bottom surface of the second ferromagnetic layer (58L; [0079]), forming an obtuse angle between about 120 degrees and about 150 degrees ([0076]).
Re Claim 4, Doris and Wang teach the structure according to Claim 1, while Doris further teaches the first ferromagnetic layer (54L) is a reference layer ([0079]) and the second ferromagnetic layer (58L) is a free layer ([0079]).
Re Claim 6, Doris and Wang teach the structure according to Claim 1, while Doris further teaches the sidewall of the second ferromagnetic layer (58L, left sidewall) has a second portion (58L, top left sidewall; [0079], see FIG. Z1) that is not surrounded by the tunnel barrier layer (56L; [0079]) and is not coplanar with the first portion of the sidewall of the second ferromagnetic layer (58L, bottom left sidewall; [0079]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doris and Wang, as applied to Claim 6, further in view of Ha (US 2019/0214546 A1, of record).
Re Claim 7, Doris and Wang teach the structure according to Claim 6, but they do not explicitly disclose a metal hard mask layer between the second ferromagnetic layer (Doris: 58L) and the top electrode layer (Doris: 60L).
However, Ha teaches a structure (FIG. 2F; [0050]-[0082]) comprising a metal hard mask layer (108’; [0065]) between the second ferromagnetic layer ([0067]) and the top electrode layer (109’; [0066]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure according to Claim 6 with the limitations taught by Ha to include a hard mask layer for patterning purposes of underlying layers as taught by Ha ([0065]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re Claim 8, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious, the limitations of: wherein […] a conformal liner covers the sidewall of the first ferromagnetic layer, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 8.
In Re Claims 9-12, they are allowable due to their dependence from Claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pg. 2, para. 6 to pg. 3, para. 2, filed 2/4/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Doris and Wang under 35 U.S.C. 103. Applicant’s arguments have been reconsidered in light of the new rejection, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COLIN RUSSELL MCCUTCHEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892