Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 7, 21, 23-25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster (US 2013/0265486, hereinafter Webster) in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0037566, hereinafter Chen) and further in view of Luan (US 2016/0190380, hereinafter Luan).
With respect to claim 7, Webster discloses a method of making a semiconductor device (Fig. 16), comprising:
providing a substrate (102); disposing a semiconductor die (106) comprising a photosensitive circuit (Para 0023 – image sensor is photosensitive) over the substrate;
forming a bond wire (114) to electrically couple the semiconductor die to the substrate (114 couples 106 to the substrate 102); disposing a lens (Para 0079 – lens) over the photosensitive circuit (Fig. 12), wherein the lens includes a planar surface (Fig. 12 – 1210 has a planar surface); depositing an encapsulant over the substrate, semiconductor die, and lens, wherein the encapsulant covers the bond wire, and a side surface of the lens perpendicular to the planar surface (Para 0022-0024; 0034-0036; Fig. 16).
Webster does not explicitly disclose a protective layer completely covering the planar surface; and wherein the lens already has the protective layer covering the planar surface prior to disposing the lens over the photosensitive circuit; the encapsulant covers the protective layer; and removing the protective layer after depositing the encapsulant.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses a protective layer completely covering the planar surface (Para 0041 – protection layer); and wherein the lens already has the protective layer covering the planar surface prior to disposing the lens over the photosensitive circuit (Para 0032; 0041 and 0050). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster’s method by having Chen’s disclosure in order to protect the lens during fabrication of a semiconductor device.
Webster/Chen does not explicitly disclose that the encapsulant covers the protective layer; and removing the protective layer after depositing the encapsulant.
In an analogous art, Luan discloses that the encapsulant covers the protective layer (Fig. 3C); and removing the protective layer after depositing the encapsulant (Fig. 3D- Para 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster/Chen’s method by having Luan’s disclosure in order to protect the lens during fabrication of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 21, Webster discloses a method of making a semiconductor device (Fig. 16), comprising:
providing a substrate (102); disposing a semiconductor die (106) including a photosensitive circuit over the substrate (Para 0023 – image sensor is photosensitive), wherein the semiconductor die is electrically coupled to the substrate (bonding wire 114 connects 106 with substrate 102);
disposing a lens (Para 0079 – lens) over the semiconductor die (Fig. 12),
depositing an encapsulant over the substrate, semiconductor die, and lens
(Para 0022-0024; 0034-0036; Figs. 15 & 16).
Webster does not explicitly disclose wherein the lens includes a protective layer formed over the lens prior to disposing the lens over the semiconductor die; and
wherein the lens is recessed within the encapsulant, and wherein the encapsulant physically contacts the substrate, the semiconductor die, and the lens.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses wherein the lens includes a protective layer (Para 0041 – protection layer) formed over the lens prior to disposing the lens over the semiconductor die (Para 0032; 0041 and 0050). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster’s method by having Chen’s disclosure in order to protect the lens during fabrication of a semiconductor device.
Webster/Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the lens is recessed within the encapsulant, and wherein the encapsulant physically contacts the substrate, the semiconductor die, and the lens.
In an analogous art, Luan discloses wherein the lens is recessed within the encapsulant (Fig. 3D), and wherein the encapsulant physically contacts the substrate, the semiconductor die, and the lens (Fig. 3C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster/Chen’s method by having Luan’s disclosure in order to protect the lens during fabrication of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 23, Webster/Chen does not explicitly disclose removing the protective layer after depositing the encapsulant.
In an analogous art, Luan discloses removing the protective layer after depositing the encapsulant (Fig. 3D- Para 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster/Chen’s method by having Luan’s disclosure in order to protect the lens during fabrication of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 24, Webster/Chen does not explicitly disclose forming the protective layer to include a surface that is coplanar to a surface of the encapsulant.
In an analogous art, Luan discloses forming the protective layer to include a surface that is coplanar to a surface of the encapsulant (Fig. 3C). depositing the encapsulant to cover a top surface of the protective layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster/Chen’s method by having Luan’s disclosure in order to protect the lens during fabrication of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 25, Webster/Chen does not explicitly disclose depositing the encapsulant to cover a top surface of the protective laye
In an analogous art, Luan discloses depositing the encapsulant to cover a top surface of the protective layer (Para 0040-0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster/Chen’s method by having Luan’s disclosure in order to protect the lens during fabrication of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 27, Webster further discloses including mounting the substrate to a printed circuit board of an electronic device (Para 0080 & 0090), wherein the semiconductor die is electrically coupled to the printed circuit board through the substrate (Para 0096 and 0126).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster/Chen/Luan in view of Suetake (US 2010/0133419, hereinafter Suetake)
With respect to claim 8, Webster/Chen/Luan does not explicitly disclose laminating the protective layer onto the lens
In an analogous art, Suetake discloses laminating the protective layer onto the lens (Fig. 3b – layer 7 is laminated over the lens). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster/Chen/Luan’s method by having Suetak’s disclosure in order to protect the lens of an optical device.
With respect to claim 10, Webster/Chen/Luan does not explicitly disclose removing the encapsulant from over the lens prior to removing the protective layer.
In an analogous art, Suetake discloses removing the encapsulant from over the lens prior to removing the protective layer (Fig. 3D– encapsulant is removed prior to removing layer 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster/Chen/Luan’s method by having Suetak’s disclosure in order to protect the lens of an optical device.
Claims 9 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster/Chen/Luan in view of Dagdeviren et al. (US 2021/0100460, hereinafter Dagdeviren).
With respect to claims 9 & 26, Webster/Chen/Luan does not explicitly disclose that the protective layer includes a washable epoxy.
In an analogous art, Dagdeviren discloses that the protective layer
includes a washable epoxy (Para 0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster/Chen/Luan’s method by having Dagdeviren’s disclosure in order to have the flexibility of easily removing the adhesive when it’s needed during manufacturing process.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster/Chen/Luan/Suetake in view of Park et al. (US 2014/0078763, hereinafter Park).
With respect to claim 12, Webster/Chen/Luan/Suetake does not explicitly disclose mounting the lens to the semiconductor die with an ultra- violet (UV) cured adhesive; and curing the adhesive by emitting a UV light through the lens.
In an analogous art, Park discloses mounting the lens to the semiconductor die with an ultra- violet (UV) cured adhesive (Para 0092); and curing the adhesive by emitting a UV light through the lens (Para 0051; 0092 and 0101). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster/Chen/Luan/Suetake’s method by having Park’s disclosure in order to attach different components with each other of a semiconductor device.
. Claims 13-14, 22 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster/Chen/Luan in view of Takada (US 2004/0223074, hereinafter Takada).
With respect to claim 13, Webster/Chen/Luan does not explicitly disclose forming a step cut on an edge of the lens.
In an analogous art, Takada discloses forming a step cut on an edge of the lens (Fig. 48 – Para 0388). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster/Chen/Luan’s method by having Takada’s disclosure in order to attach the lens with other components.
With respect to claim 14, Webster discloses depositing the encapsulant over the step cut (Fig. 16 – encapsulant covers the entire surface, it’s obvious if there is a cut in the lens then 5a will cover that too).
With respect to claim 22, Webster/Chen/Luan does not explicitly disclose wherein the lens includes a step cut.
In an analogous art, Takada discloses wherein the lens includes a step cut. (Fig. 48 – Para 0388). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster/Chen/Luan’s method by having Takada’s disclosure in order to attach the lens with other components.
With respect to claim 28, Webster further discloses mounting the substrate to a printed circuit board of an electronic device (Para 0080 & 0090), wherein the semiconductor die is electrically coupled to the printed circuit board through the substrate (Para 0096 and 0126).
Response to Arguments
Based on new ground of rejection, applicant’s arguments regarding amended claims are moot.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899