DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's amendments filed July 21, 2026. Claims 1-6, 10-12, and 16-18 have been amended. No claims have been added. No claims have been canceled. Claim 5 stands withdrawn. Currently, claims 1-4, 6-18, and 21-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant asserts that Huang et al. (US 20220271046 A1) herein after “Huang” in view of Maeng et al. (US 20210359100 A1) herein after “Maeng” fail to disclose the limitations of newly amended claim 1. Specifically, that neither Huang nor Maeng, either alone or in combination, disclose that “each alternating sublayer itself is a ferroelectric sublayer”. The Applicant further asserts that Huang discloses a ferroelectric layer and a restoration layer and “[n]owhere does Huang attribute remanent polarization or any other ferroelectric function to the restoration layers 104 themselves”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. As outlined in the previous Office Action, Huang was relied upon to disclose the first ferroelectric sublayer, which was mapped to the restoration layer 104, and the second ferroelectric sublayer, which was mapped to the ferroelectric layer 106. While Huang describes layer 104 as a restoration layer, Huang also discloses that “the restoration layers 104 are ferroelectric materials”, ¶ [0038].
Therefore, the Examiner asserts that Huang discloses the first ferroelectric sublayer and second ferroelectric sublayer as required by newly amended claim 1.
The Applicant further asserts that Maeng cannot be combined with Huang in the manner proposed by the previous Office Action because Maeng does not disclose a memory stack that contains alternating ferroelectric layers.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Maeng was not relied upon to disclose the specific structure of claim 1 that was disclosed by Huang. Maeng was relied upon to disclose the concentrations of the first and second transition metals in the mixed material. Maeng discloses, in ¶ [0054], that “The ferroelectric hafnium zirconium oxide may have a hafnium content (x) of from approximately 0.46 to approximately 0.75, and a zirconium content (y) of from approximately 0.25 to approximately 0.54”. The Examiner asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Huang and Maeng as outlined in the previous Office Action to obtain the desired ferroelectric characteristics.
Therefore, the Examiner asserts that the combination of Huang and Maeng disclose all the limitations of newly amended claim 1. The rejection of claim 1 in view of Huang and Maeng is maintained as appropriate and presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 12-18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 20220271046 A1) herein after “Huang” in view of Maeng et al. (US 20210359100 A1) herein after “Maeng”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig 5C of Huang discloses a memory cell (Fig. 5C, embodiment 500C, ¶ [0069]), comprising:
a capacitive memory structure (Fig. 5C, “The MFM structure overlies a substrate 202 and further comprises a bottom electrode 204 and a top electrode 402…. the MFM structure defines a capacitor”, ¶ [0067]) comprising:
a first electrode (Fig. 5C, bottom electrode 204, ¶ [0041]);
a second electrode (Fig. 5C, top electrode 402, ¶ [0067]); and
a memory element (Fig. 5C, stacked ferroelectric structure 102, ¶ [0025]) disposed between the first electrode (204) and the second electrode (402);
wherein the memory element (102) comprises a spontaneously polarizable memory layer stack (102) (“a stacked ferroelectric structure”, ¶ [0023]), the spontaneously polarizable memory layer stack (102) comprising an alternating sequence of first ferroelectric sublayers (Fig. 5C, restoration layers 104, ¶ [0025], “the restoration layers 104 are ferroelectric materials”, ¶ [0038]) and second ferroelectric sublayers (Fig. 5C, ferroelectric layers 106, ¶ [0025]),
wherein each of the second ferroelectric sublayers (106) substantially consists of a mixed material of an oxide of a first transition metal and an oxide of a second transition metal (“the ferroelectric layers 106 may be or comprise hafnium zirconium oxide”, ¶ [0028]),
wherein each of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal or the oxide of the second transition metal (“the restoration layers 104 comprise one or more metal oxides… The one or more metal oxides may, for example, be or comprise zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2), … hafnium oxide (e.g., HfO.sub.2)”, ¶ [0038]).
Huang fails to explicitly disclose wherein a second concentration of the second transition metal in the mixed material is substantially greater than a first concentration of the first transition metal.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, Fig. 5 of Maeng discloses wherein a second concentration of the second transition metal in the mixed material is substantially greater than a first concentration of the first transition metal (“The ferroelectric hafnium zirconium oxide may have a hafnium content (x) of from approximately 0.46 to approximately 0.75, and a zirconium content (y) of from approximately 0.25 to approximately 0.54”, ¶ [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the mixed material of Huang with the concentration as disclosed by Maeng, to obtain the desired ferroelectric characteristics (see Maeng, ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, and Huang further discloses wherein the memory element (102) further comprises:
a first interface sublayer (304) between the first electrode (204) and the spontaneously polarizable memory layer stack (102); and
a second interface sublayer (502) between the second electrode (402) and the spontaneously polarizable memory layer stack (102),
wherein the first interface sublayer (304) and the second interface sublayer (502) comprise a material that is the same or different from each other (“the bottom buffer layer 304 is or comprises aluminum oxide”, “the top buffer layer 502 is or comprises aluminum oxide”, ¶ [0055] and [0131]), and
wherein the materials of the first interface sublayer (304) and the second interface sublayer (502) are different from the first (104) and second ferroelectric sublayers (106) (“the ferroelectric layers 106 are or comprise hafnium zirconium oxide (e.g., HfZrO)”, “the restoration layers 104 comprise one or more metal oxides… The one or more metal oxides may, for example, be or comprise zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2), … hafnium oxide (e.g., HfO.sub.2)”, ¶ [0034] and [0038]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, and Huang further discloses wherein one of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal and wherein another one of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) substantially consists of the oxide of the second transition metal (Fig. 5C, “the restoration layers 104 comprise one or more metal oxides…, for example, be or comprise zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2)…, hafnium oxide (e.g., HfO.sub.2)…, or any combination of the foregoing”, ¶ [0038]).
Regarding claim 6, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, and Huang further discloses wherein the alternating sequence of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) and the second ferroelectric sublayers (106) starts with one of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) and ends with another one of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104); and
wherein the one of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) with which the alternating sequence of first ferroelectric sublayers (104) and second ferroelectric sublayers (106) starts and the other one of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) with which the alternating sequence of first ferroelectric sublayers (104) and second ferroelectric sublayers (106) ends have the same thickness (Fig. 5C, “the restoration layers 104 have individual thicknesses Tr of about 0.1-5.0 nanometers”, ¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, but Huang fails to disclose wherein in the mixed material the second concentration of the second transition metal is at least 1.5-times the first concentration of the first transition metal or wherein in the mixed material the first concentration of the first transition metal is at least 1.5-times the second concentration of the second transition metal.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, Fig. 5 of Maeng discloses wherein in the mixed material the second concentration of the second transition metal is at least 1.5-times the first concentration of the first transition metal or wherein in the mixed material the first concentration of the first transition metal is at least 1.5-times the second concentration of the second transition metal (“The ferroelectric hafnium zirconium oxide may have a hafnium content (x) of from approximately 0.46 to approximately 0.75, and a zirconium content (y) of from approximately 0.25 to approximately 0.54”, ¶ [0054]) (Maeng discloses a range of possible values that includes the situation where the first concentration is 0.25 and the second concentration is 0.75. Therefore, Maeng anticipates that claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the mixed material of Huang with the concentration as disclosed by Maeng, to obtain the desired ferroelectric characteristics (see Maeng, ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 8, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, but Huang fails to disclose wherein either a first concentration of the oxide of the first transition metal or a second concentration of the oxide of the second transition metal in the mixed material is greater than 70 at.%.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, Fig. 5 of Maeng discloses wherein either a first concentration of the oxide of the first transition metal or a second concentration of the oxide of the second transition metal in the mixed material is greater than 70at.% (“The ferroelectric hafnium zirconium oxide may have a hafnium content (x) of from approximately 0.46 to approximately 0.75, and a zirconium content (y) of from approximately 0.25 to approximately 0.54”, ¶ [0054]) (Maeng discloses a range of possible values that includes the situation where the second concentration is 75%at. Therefore, Maeng anticipates that claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the mixed material of Huang with the concentration as disclosed by Maeng, to obtain the desired ferroelectric characteristics (see Maeng, ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, but Huang fails to disclose wherein in the mixed material either a concentration of the oxide of the first transition metal is greater than 60 at.% or a concentration of the oxide of the second transition metal is greater than 60 at.%.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, Fig. 5 of Maeng discloses wherein in the mixed material either a concentration of the oxide of the first transition metal is greater than 60at.% or a concentration of the oxide of the second transition metal is greater than 60at.% (“The ferroelectric hafnium zirconium oxide may have a hafnium content (x) of from approximately 0.46 to approximately 0.75, and a zirconium content (y) of from approximately 0.25 to approximately 0.54”, ¶ [0054]) (Maeng discloses a range of possible values that includes the situation where the second concentration is 75%at. Therefore, Maeng anticipates that claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the mixed material of Huang with the concentration as disclosed by Maeng, to obtain the desired ferroelectric characteristics (see Maeng, ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 12, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, and Huang further discloses wherein, in the case that each of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal (“the restoration layers 104 comprise one or more metal oxides… The one or more metal oxides may, for example, be or… hafnium oxide (e.g., HfO.sub.2)”, ¶ [0038]), the spontaneously polarizable memory layer stack (102) comprises an overall concentration of the oxide of the first transition metal equal to or less than 65 at. % (Huang discloses that the ferroelectric layers are significantly thicker than the restoration layers 104 (see ¶ [0035-0036]), and that “the ferroelectric layers 106 may be or comprise Hf.sub.0.5Zr.sub.0.5O.sub.2”, ¶ [0034]. Therefore, the stack is primarily composed of the ferroelectric layers and the concentration would be closer to that of the ferroelectric layers and be less than 65 at. % as required); and
in the case that each of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) substantially consists of the oxide of the second transition metal (“the restoration layers 104 comprise one or more metal oxides… The one or more metal oxides may, for example, be or comprise zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2)”, ¶ [0038]), the spontaneously polarizable memory layer stack (102) comprises an overall concentration of the oxide of the second transition metal equal to or less than 65 at. % (Huang discloses that the ferroelectric layers are significantly thicker than the restoration layers 104 (see ¶ [0035-0036]), and that “the ferroelectric layers 106 may be or comprise Hf.sub.0.5Zr.sub.0.5O.sub.2”, ¶ [0034]. Therefore, the stack is primarily composed of the ferroelectric layers and the concentration would be closer to that of the ferroelectric layers and be less than 65 at. % as required).
Regarding claim 13, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, and Huang further discloses wherein the first transition metal is zirconium and wherein the second transition metal is hafnium (Fig. 5C, “The one or more metal oxides may, for example, be or comprise zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2), … hafnium oxide (e.g., HfO.sub.2)”, ¶ [0038]); or
wherein the first transition metal is hafnium and wherein the second transition metal is zirconium(Fig. 5C, “The one or more metal oxides may, for example, be or comprise zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2), … hafnium oxide (e.g., HfO.sub.2)”, ¶ [0038]).
Regarding claim 14, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, and Huang further discloses wherein the first electrode (204) and the second electrode (402) consist of the same one or more materials (Fig. 5C, “the top electrode 402 is as the bottom electrode 204 is described”, ¶ [0068]).
Regarding claim 15, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, and Huang further discloses wherein the first electrode (204) and/or the second electrode (402) comprise tungsten (Fig. 5C, “the bottom electrode 204 is or comprises… tungsten (e.g., W)”, “the top electrode 402 is as the bottom electrode 204 is described”, ¶ [0047] and [0068]).
Regarding claim 16, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, and Huang further discloses wherein each of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) has a respective thickness (Fig. 5C, “the restoration layers 104 have individual thicknesses Tr of about 0.1-5.0 nanometers”, ¶ [0036]) different from a respective thickness (Fig. 5C, “the ferroelectric layers 106 have individual thicknesses Tf of about 1-40 nanometers”, ¶ [0035]) of each of the second ferroelectric sublayers (106).
Regarding claim 17, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, and Huang further discloses wherein each of the second ferroelectric sublayers (106) has the same thickness (Fig. 5C, “the ferroelectric layers 106 have individual thicknesses Tf of about 1-40 nanometers”, ¶ [0035]); and/or
wherein each of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) has the same thickness (Fig. 5C, “the restoration layers 104 have individual thicknesses Tr of about 0.1-5.0 nanometers”, ¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 18, Fig. 5C of Huang discloses a memory cell (Fig. 5C, embodiment 500C, ¶ [0069]), comprising:
a first electrode (204);
a second electrode (402); and
a memory element (102) disposed between the first electrode (204) and the second electrode (402);
wherein the memory element (102) comprises a first interface sublayer (Fig. 5C, bottom buffer layer 304, ¶ [0054]) in direct physical contact with the first electrode (204), a second interface sublayer (Fig. 5C, top buffer layer 502, ¶ [0070]) in direct physical contact with the second electrode (402), and a spontaneously polarizable memory layer stack (102) in contact with both the first interface sublayer (304) and the second interface sublayer (502),
wherein the spontaneously polarizable memory layer stack (102) comprises an alternating sequence of first ferroelectric sublayers (104) and second ferroelectric sublayers (106),
wherein each of the second ferroelectric sublayers (106) substantially consists of a mixed material of an oxide of a first transition metal and an oxide of a second transition metal (“the ferroelectric layers 106 may be or comprise hafnium zirconium oxide”, ¶ [0028]),
wherein each of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal or the oxide of the second transition metal (“the restoration layers 104 comprise one or more metal oxides… The one or more metal oxides may, for example, be or comprise zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2), … hafnium oxide (e.g., HfO.sub.2)”, ¶ [0038]); and
Huang fails to explicitly disclose wherein a second concentration of the second transition metal in the mixed material is substantially greater than a first concentration of the first transition metal.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, Fig. 5 of Maeng discloses wherein a second concentration of the second transition metal in the mixed material is substantially greater than a first concentration of the first transition metal (“The ferroelectric hafnium zirconium oxide may have a hafnium content (x) of from approximately 0.46 to approximately 0.75, and a zirconium content (y) of from approximately 0.25 to approximately 0.54”, ¶ [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the mixed material of Huang with the concentration as disclosed by Maeng, to obtain the desired ferroelectric characteristics (see Maeng, ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 21, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell of claim 1 as applied above, but Huang fails to explicitly disclose wherein a second concentration of the second transition metal in the mixed material is at least three times greater than that of the first concentration of the first transition metal.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, Fig. 5 of Maeng discloses wherein a second concentration of the second transition metal in the mixed material is at least three times greater than that of the first concentration of the first transition metal (“The ferroelectric hafnium zirconium oxide may have a hafnium content (x) of from approximately 0.46 to approximately 0.75, and a zirconium content (y) of from approximately 0.25 to approximately 0.54”, ¶ [0054]) (Maeng discloses a range of possible values that includes the situation where the first concentration is 0.25 and the second concentration is 0.75. Therefore, Maeng anticipates that claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the mixed material of Huang with the concentration as disclosed by Maeng, to obtain the desired ferroelectric characteristics (see Maeng, ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 22, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell of claim 18 as applied above, but Huang fails to explicitly disclose wherein a second concentration of the second transition metal in the mixed material is at least three times greater than that of the first concentration of the first transition metal.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, Fig. 5 of Maeng discloses wherein a second concentration of the second transition metal in the mixed material is at least three times greater than that of the first concentration of the first transition metal (“The ferroelectric hafnium zirconium oxide may have a hafnium content (x) of from approximately 0.46 to approximately 0.75, and a zirconium content (y) of from approximately 0.25 to approximately 0.54”, ¶ [0054]) (Maeng discloses a range of possible values that includes the situation where the first concentration is 0.25 and the second concentration is 0.75. Therefore, Maeng anticipates that claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the mixed material of Huang with the concentration as disclosed by Maeng, to obtain the desired ferroelectric characteristics (see Maeng, ¶ [0054]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20220271046 A1) and Maeng (US 20210359100 A1) in further view of Kang (US 20210359082 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, and Huang further discloses wherein the memory element (102) further comprises:
a first interface sublayer (304) between the first electrode (204) and the spontaneously polarizable memory layer stack (102); and
a second interface sublayer (502) between the second electrode (402) and the spontaneously polarizable memory layer stack (102).
Huang and Maeng fail to disclose wherein the first interface sublayer substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal in the case that one of the first ferroelectric sublayers that is closest to the first interface sublayer substantially consists of the oxide of the second transition metal or wherein the first interface sublayer substantially consists of the oxide of the second transition metal in the case that one of the first ferroelectric sublayers that is closest to the first interface sublayer substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal; and
wherein the second interface sublayer substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal in the case that one of the first ferroelectric sublayers that is closest to the second interface sublayer substantially consists of the oxide of the second transition metal or wherein the second interface sublayer substantially consists of the oxide of the second transition metal in the case that one of the first ferroelectric sublayers that is closest to the second interface sublayer substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, Fig. 3 of Kang discloses wherein the first interface sublayer (Fig. 3, anti-ferroelectric layer AFE1, ¶ [0045]) substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal in the case that one of the first ferroelectric sublayers (Fig. 3, dielectric layer HK1, ¶ [0045]) that is closest to the first interface sublayer (AFE1) substantially consists of the oxide of the second transition metal or wherein the first interface sublayer (AFE1) substantially consists of the oxide of the second transition metal in the case that one of the first ferroelectric sublayers (HK1) that is closest to the first interface sublayer (AFE1) substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal (Fig. 3, “The first anti-ferroelectric layer AFE1 may be made of or include hafnium (Hf), zirconium (Zr), and oxygen (O)”, “The first high-k dielectric layer HK1 may be made of or include hafnium oxide or zirconium oxide”, ¶ [0047] and [0057]); and
wherein the second interface sublayer (Fig. 3, second anti-ferroelectric layer AFE2, ¶ [0046]) substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal in the case that one of the first ferroelectric sublayers (HK1) that is closest to the second interface sublayer (AFE2) substantially consists of the oxide of the second transition metal or wherein the second interface sublayer (AFE2) substantially consists of the oxide of the second transition metal in the case that one of the first ferroelectric sublayers (HK1) that is closest to the second interface sublayer (AFE2) substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal (Fig. 1, “The first anti-ferroelectric layer AFE1 may be made of or include hafnium (Hf), zirconium (Zr), and oxygen (O)”, “The second high-k dielectric layer HK2 may be made of or include hafnium oxide or zirconium oxide”, ¶ [0047] and [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the memory cell of Huang with the sublayers discloses by Kang, to improve the crystallinity of subsequent layers (see Kang, ¶ [0056]) and/or because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20220271046 A1) and Maeng (US 20210359100 A1) in further view of Suzuki et al. (US 20210082956 A1) herein after “Suzuki”.
Regarding claim 10, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, and Huang further discloses a respective first ferroelectric sublayer of the first ferroelectric sublayers (Fig. 5C, bottom restoration layer 104b, ¶ [0056]) substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal (“the restoration layers 104 comprise one or more metal oxides… The one or more metal oxides may, for example, be or comprise zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2), … hafnium oxide (e.g., HfO.sub.2)”, ¶ [0038]); and/or
a respective first ferroelectric sublayer of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104b) substantially consists of the oxide of the second transition metal (“the restoration layers 104 comprise one or more metal oxides… The one or more metal oxides may, for example, be or comprise zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2), … hafnium oxide (e.g., HfO.sub.2)”, ¶ [0038]).
Huang and Maeng fail to disclose the respective first ferroelectric sublayer comprises more than 90 at.% of the oxide of the first transition metal; and/or
the respective first ferroelectric sublayer comprises more than 90 at.% of the oxide of the second transition metal.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor memory devices, Fig. 3 of Suzuki discloses the respective first ferroelectric sublayer (Fig. 3, ferroelectric region 14a, ¶ [0035]) comprises more than 90 at.% of the oxide of the first transition metal (Fig. 3, “The ferroelectric region 14a contains a first oxide containing at least one of the hafnium oxide and the zirconium oxide”, “The molar ratio of the first oxide is, for example, 90% or more” ¶ [0048-0049]); and/or
the respective first ferroelectric sublayer comprises more than 90 at.% of the oxide of the second transition metal (Fig. 3, “The ferroelectric region 14a contains a first oxide containing at least one of the hafnium oxide and the zirconium oxide”, “The molar ratio of the first oxide is, for example, 90% or more” ¶ [0048-0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the memory cell of Huang with the sublayers as disclosed by Suzuki, to improve the ferroelectricity (see Suzuki, ¶ [0098]).
Regarding claim 11, Huang and Maeng together disclose the memory cell according to claim 1 as applied above, and Huang further discloses a respective first ferroelectric sublayer of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) substantially consists of the oxide of the first transition metal (“the restoration layers 104 comprise one or more metal oxides… The one or more metal oxides may, for example, be or comprise zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2), … hafnium oxide (e.g., HfO.sub.2)”, ¶ [0038]); and/or
a respective first ferroelectric sublayer of the first ferroelectric sublayers (104) substantially consists of the oxide of the second transition metal (“the restoration layers 104 comprise one or more metal oxides… The one or more metal oxides may, for example, be or comprise zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2), … hafnium oxide (e.g., HfO.sub.2)”, ¶ [0038]).
Huang and Maeng fail to disclose the respective first ferroelectric sublayer comprises the first transition metal and a metal impurity, wherein a concentration of the first transition metal is at least four times the concentration of the metal impurity; and/or
the respective first ferroelectric sublayer comprises the second transition metal and a metal impurity, wherein a concentration of the second transition metal is at least four times the concentration of the metal impurity.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor memory devices, Fig. 3 of Suzuki discloses the respective first ferroelectric sublayer comprises the first transition metal and a metal impurity (Fig. 3, “The ferroelectric region 14a contains a first oxide containing at least one of the hafnium oxide and the zirconium oxide”, “the first oxide contained in the ferroelectric region 14a preferably contains at least one additive element”, ¶ [0048] and [0098]), wherein a concentration of the first transition metal is at least four times the concentration of the metal impurity (Fig. 3, “in a case where the additive element is barium (Ba), a suitable range of the first concentration for exhibiting ferroelectricity is 0.1 atomic % or more and 3 atomic % or less”, ¶ [0102]); and/or
the respective first ferroelectric sublayer comprises the second transition metal and a metal impurity (Fig. 3, “The ferroelectric region 14a contains a first oxide containing at least one of the hafnium oxide and the zirconium oxide”, “the first oxide contained in the ferroelectric region 14a preferably contains at least one additive element”, ¶ [0048] and [0098]), wherein a concentration of the second transition metal is at least four times the concentration of the metal impurity (Fig. 3, “in a case where the additive element is barium (Ba), a suitable range of the first concentration for exhibiting ferroelectricity is 0.1 atomic % or more and 3 atomic % or less”, ¶ [0102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the memory cell of Huang with the sublayers as disclosed by Suzuki, to improve the ferroelectricity (see Suzuki, ¶ [0098]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893