DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments filed 02/05/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. As directed, claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 12 have been amended; claims 16-20 have been newly added.
With respect to Drawings Objections: Applicant’s amendments have overcome the Drawing Objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 11/05/2025.
With respect to Claim Objections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the Claim Objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 11/05/2025.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 11/05/2025.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 11/05/2025.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 Claim Rejections: Applicant(s)’ arguments filed 02/05/2026 have been fully considered but are moot based on new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendments. Specifically, Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed 02/05/2026 have changed the scope of the claims; therefore, the claim interpretation has been changed. The newly cited prior art Eissara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0344374 A1, newly cited) is applied in the rejections of the independent claims 1 and 17 in this Office Action, and the previously cited prior art Eissara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0303680 A1, previously cited) is no longer applied in the rejections of the independent claim 1 in this Office Action. See details in the 35 U.S.C. 102 Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eissara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0344374 A1, newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Eissara discloses a joining apparatus (joining device 10', Eissara Figs.6-7) for joining of a fastener (joining element 24, Eissara Fig.6) (Eissara Par.0100 discloses: “The joining element 24 may, for example, be designed as a stud, with a shaft portion which is not shown in greater detail, and a flange portion which is not shown in greater detail, a first joining surface 26 being formed on one side of the flange portion facing away from the shaft portion.”) to a workpiece (workpiece 28, Eissara Figs.6-7) on a joining surface (joining surface of the workpiece 28, Eissara Figs.6-7) (Eissara Par.0129 discloses: “FIGS. 6 and 7 show another embodiment of a joining device 10′ which generally corresponds to the joining device 10 shown in FIG. 1 with regard to its structure and mode of operation. The same components are therefore identified by the same reference numerals.”), the joining apparatus (joining device 10', Eissara Figs.6-7) comprising:
a joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) that defines a joining axis (joining axis 20, Eissara Fig.6),
a fastener holder (retaining device 22, Eissara Fig.6) designed to hold the fastener (joining element 24, Eissara Fig.6) (Eissara Par.0100 discloses: “A retaining device 22 to retain a joining element 24 is arranged on the carriage 18. The joining element 24 may, for example, be designed as a stud, with a shaft portion which is not shown in greater detail, and a flange portion which is not shown in greater detail, a first joining surface 26 being formed on one side of the flange portion facing away from the shaft portion.”), wherein the fastener holder (retaining device 22, Eissara Fig.6) is moveable relative to the joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) along the joining axis (joining axis 20, Eissara Fig.6) (Eissara Par.0099 discloses: “A carriage 18 can preferably be moved along a joining axis 20 on the joining head 12.”, and Eissara Par.0100 discloses: “A retaining device 22 to retain a joining element 24 is arranged on the carriage 18.”; therefore, the retaining device 22 is movable relative to the joining head 12 along the joining axis 20);
a cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Fig.6), that is one of a gas cleaning device, an arc cleaning device, and a jet cleaning device (It is noted that the limitation “one of a gas cleaning device, an arc cleaning device, and a jet cleaning device” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Eissara discloses at least one of a gas cleaning device, an arc cleaning device, and a jet cleaning device because Eissara Par.0017 discloses: “The object is also achieved by a joining device for joining a joining element to a component, especially for carrying out the method according to the invention, with a joining head, which comprises a retaining device for a joining element and by means of which the joining element can be moved along a joining axis in relation to a component, and with a cleaning device to carry out a cleaning process on a joining surface of the component and/or on a joining surface of the joining element, said cleaning device comprising a TIG arc cleaning device, a plasma gas cleaning device and a snow jet cleaning device.”); and
an actuator (motor 80, Eissara Fig.6) operable to move the cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Fig.6) in relation to the joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) between a waiting position (waiting position is the position of the cleaning device 34 before the cleaning device 34 reaches the angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto the joining surface 30 of the component 28 because Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”) and a cleaning position (cleaning position is the position of the cleaning device 34 reaches the angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto the joining surface 30 of the component 28 because Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”) (Eissara Par.0130 discloses: “The joining device 10′ comprises a motor 80, which is fixed to the joining head 12, a cleaning device 34 being able to rotate around an axis of rotation, which is oriented transversely with respect to the joining axis 20. In this case the motor 80 is connected to the cleaning device 34 via an interface 82. The direction of rotation 84 around the axis of rotation is shown in FIG. 7. A displacement measurement device 86 is preferably assigned to the cleaning device 34 and used to record the angle of rotation.”, and Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”) while the fastener holder (retaining device 22, Eissara Fig.6) is positioned along the joining axis (joining axis 20, Eissara Fig.6) and the joining axis (joining axis 20, Eissara Fig.6) extends through the joining surface (see joining surface 30 of the workpiece 28 in Eissara Fig.1 because Eissara Par.0129 discloses: “FIGS. 6 and 7 show another embodiment of a joining device 10′ which generally corresponds to the joining device 10 shown in FIG. 1 with regard to its structure and mode of operation. The same components are therefore identified by the same reference numerals.”, and Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”), wherein the cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Fig.6) is operable to clean the joining surface (joining surface 30 of the workpiece 28, Eissara Fig.1) when the cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Fig.6) is in the cleaning position (cleaning position is the position of the cleaning device 34 reaches the angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto the joining surface 30 of the component 28 because Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”) .
Regarding claim 2, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Eissara also discloses:
wherein the actuator (motor 80, Eissara Fig.6) is fixed to the joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) (Eissara Par.0130 discloses: “The joining device 10′ comprises a motor 80, which is fixed to the joining head 12”).
Regarding claim 6, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Eissara also discloses:
wherein the actuator (motor 80, Eissara Fig.6) comprises a constraining guide (displacement measurement device 86, Eissara Fig.7), whereby the cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Figs.6-7) is moveable on a defined path (path between the waiting position and the cleaning position) between the waiting position (waiting position is the position of the cleaning device 34 before the cleaning device 34 reaches the angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto the joining surface 30 of the component 28 because Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”) and the cleaning position (cleaning position is the position of the cleaning device 34 reaches the angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto the joining surface 30 of the component 28 because Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”) through the constraining guide (displacement measurement device 86, Eissara Fig.7).
Regarding claim 7, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Eissara also discloses:
wherein the constraining guide (displacement measurement device 86, Eissara Fig.7) is shaped to guide the cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Figs.6-7) parallel to the joining axis (joining axis 20, Eissara Fig.6) in some portions of a path between the waiting position (waiting position is the position of the cleaning device 34 before the cleaning device 34 reaches the angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto the joining surface 30 of the component 28 because Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”) and the cleaning position (cleaning position is the position of the cleaning device 34 reaches the angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto the joining surface 30 of the component 28 because Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”) (since Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”; therefore, the displacement measurement device 86 is capable of guiding the cleaning device 34 parallel to the joining axis 20 in some portions of the path between the waiting position and the cleaning position).
Regarding claim 8, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 6, Eissara also discloses:
wherein the constraining guide (displacement measurement device 86, Eissara Fig.7) is shaped to guide the cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Figs.6-7) transversely to the joining axis (joining axis 20, Eissara Fig.6) in some portions of a path between the waiting position (waiting position is the position of the cleaning device 34 before the cleaning device 34 reaches the angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto the joining surface 30 of the component 28 because Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”) and the cleaning position (cleaning position is the position of the cleaning device 34 reaches the angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto the joining surface 30 of the component 28 because Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”) (since Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”; therefore, the displacement measurement device 86 is capable of guiding the cleaning device 34 transversely to the joining axis 20 in some portions of the path between the waiting position and the cleaning position).
Regarding claim 9, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 6, Eissara also discloses:
wherein the constraining guide (displacement measurement device 86, Eissara Fig.7) is shaped to guide the cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Figs.6-7) so that, starting from the waiting position (waiting position is the position of the cleaning device 34 before the cleaning device 34 reaches the angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto the joining surface 30 of the component 28 because Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”), the cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Figs.6-7) is first guided parallel to the joining axis (joining axis 20, Eissara Fig.6), then transversely to the joining axis (joining axis 20, Eissara Fig.6), and finally again parallel to the joining axis (joining axis 20, Eissara Fig.6) towards the cleaning position (cleaning position is the position of the cleaning device 34 reaches the angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto the joining surface 30 of the component 28 because Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”) (since Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”; therefore, the displacement measurement device 86 is capable of guiding the cleaning device 34 so that, starting from the waiting position, the cleaning device 34 is first guided parallel to the joining axis 20, then transversely to the joining axis 20, and finally again parallel to the joining axis 20 towards the cleaning position).
Regarding claim 16, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Eissara also discloses:
wherein the cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Fig.6) is a plasma gas cleaning device (Eissara teaches plasma gas cleaning device because Eissara Par.0017 discloses: “The object is also achieved by a joining device for joining a joining element to a component, especially for carrying out the method according to the invention, with a joining head, which comprises a retaining device for a joining element and by means of which the joining element can be moved along a joining axis in relation to a component, and with a cleaning device to carry out a cleaning process on a joining surface of the component and/or on a joining surface of the joining element, said cleaning device comprising a TIG arc cleaning device, a plasma gas cleaning device and a snow jet cleaning device.”).
Regarding claim 17, Eissara discloses a joining apparatus (joining device 10', Eissara Figs.6-7) for joining of a fastener (joining element 24, Eissara Fig.6) (Eissara Par.0100 discloses: “The joining element 24 may, for example, be designed as a stud, with a shaft portion which is not shown in greater detail, and a flange portion which is not shown in greater detail, a first joining surface 26 being formed on one side of the flange portion facing away from the shaft portion.”) to a workpiece (workpiece 28, Eissara Figs.6-7) on a joining surface (joining surface of the workpiece 28, Eissara Figs.6-7) (Eissara Par.0129 discloses: “FIGS. 6 and 7 show another embodiment of a joining device 10′ which generally corresponds to the joining device 10 shown in FIG. 1 with regard to its structure and mode of operation. The same components are therefore identified by the same reference numerals.”), the joining apparatus (joining device 10', Eissara Figs.6-7) comprising:
a joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6),
a fastener holder (retaining device 22, Eissara Fig.6) attached to the joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) and designed to hold the fastener (joining element 24, Eissara Fig.6) (Eissara Par.0099 discloses: “A carriage 18 can preferably be moved along a joining axis 20 on the joining head 12.”, and Eissara Par.0100 discloses: “A retaining device 22 to retain a joining element 24 is arranged on the carriage 18. The joining element 24 may, for example, be designed as a stud, with a shaft portion which is not shown in greater detail, and a flange portion which is not shown in greater detail, a first joining surface 26 being formed on one side of the flange portion facing away from the shaft portion.”; therefore, the retaining device 22 is attached to the joining head 12 and designed to hold the joining element 24);
a cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Fig.6) attached to the joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) independent of the attachment between the fastener holder (retaining device 22, Eissara Fig.6) and the joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) (Eissara Par.0099 discloses: “A carriage 18 can preferably be moved along a joining axis 20 on the joining head 12.”, Eissara Par.0100 discloses: “A retaining device 22 to retain a joining element 24 is arranged on the carriage 18.”, and Eissara Par.0130 discloses: “The joining device 10′ comprises a motor 80, which is fixed to the joining head 12, a cleaning device 34 being able to rotate around an axis of rotation, which is oriented transversely with respect to the joining axis 20. In this case the motor 80 is connected to the cleaning device 34 via an interface 82.”; therefore, cleaning device 34 attached to the joining head 12 by the carriage 18 independent of the attachment between the retaining device 22 and the joining head 12 by the motor 80 and the interface 82), wherein the cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Fig.6) is one of a gas cleaning device, an arc cleaning device, and a jet cleaning device (It is noted that the limitation “one of a gas cleaning device, an arc cleaning device, and a jet cleaning device” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Eissara discloses at least one of a gas cleaning device, an arc cleaning device, and a jet cleaning device because Eissara Par.0017 discloses: “The object is also achieved by a joining device for joining a joining element to a component, especially for carrying out the method according to the invention, with a joining head, which comprises a retaining device for a joining element and by means of which the joining element can be moved along a joining axis in relation to a component, and with a cleaning device to carry out a cleaning process on a joining surface of the component and/or on a joining surface of the joining element, said cleaning device comprising a TIG arc cleaning device, a plasma gas cleaning device and a snow jet cleaning device.”); and
an actuator (motor 80, Eissara Fig.6) operable to move the cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Fig.6) relative to the joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) (Eissara discloses the motor 80 operable to move the cleaning device 34 relative to the joining head 12 because Eissara Par.0130 discloses: “The joining device 10′ comprises a motor 80, which is fixed to the joining head 12, a cleaning device 34 being able to rotate around an axis of rotation, which is oriented transversely with respect to the joining axis 20. In this case the motor 80 is connected to the cleaning device 34 via an interface 82. The direction of rotation 84 around the axis of rotation is shown in FIG. 7. A displacement measurement device 86 is preferably assigned to the cleaning device 34 and used to record the angle of rotation.”, and Eissara Par.0131 discloses: “The angle α at which a cleaning medium is directed onto a joining surface 30 of the component 28 can be adjusted by means of the motor 80 as a result.”).
Regarding claim 18, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 17, Eissara also discloses further comprising
a robot arm (robot arm 16 of the robot 14, Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Par.0129 discloses: “FIGS. 6 and 7 show another embodiment of a joining device 10′ which generally corresponds to the joining device 10 shown in FIG. 1 with regard to its structure and mode of operation.”), wherein the joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) is fixed to the robot arm (robot arm 16 of the robot 14, Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Par.0098 discloses: “said joining head 12 preferably being mounted on one arm 16 of the robot 14 ”).
Regarding claim 19, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 17, Eissara also discloses further comprising
a carriage (carriage 18 , Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Par.0129 discloses: “FIGS. 6 and 7 show another embodiment of a joining device 10′ which generally corresponds to the joining device 10 shown in FIG. 1 with regard to its structure and mode of operation.”) that attaches the fastener holder (retaining device 22, Eissara Fig.6) to the joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) and is operable to move the fastener holder (retaining device 22, Eissara Fig.6) relative to the joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) (Eissara Par.0099 discloses: “A carriage 18 can preferably be moved along a joining axis 20 on the joining head 12.”, and Eissara Par.0100 discloses: “A retaining device 22 to retain a joining element 24 is arranged on the carriage 18.”).
Regarding claim 20, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 17, Eissara also discloses
wherein the fastener holder (retaining device 22, Eissara Fig.6) is moveable relative to the joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) independent of movement of the cleaning device (cleaning device 34, Eissara Fig.6) relative to the joining head (joining head 12, Eissara Fig.6) (Eissara Par.0099 discloses: “A carriage 18 can preferably be moved along a joining axis 20 on the joining head 12.”, Eissara Par.0100 discloses: “A retaining device 22 to retain a joining element 24 is arranged on the carriage 18.”, and Eissara Par.0130 discloses: “The joining device 10′ comprises a motor 80, which is fixed to the joining head 12, a cleaning device 34 being able to rotate around an axis of rotation, which is oriented transversely with respect to the joining axis 20. In this case the motor 80 is connected to the cleaning device 34 via an interface 82.”; therefore, the retaining device 22 is moveable relative to the joining head 12 by the carriage 18 independent of movement of the cleaning device 34 relative to the joining head 12 by the motor 80).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eissara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0303680 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 17, Eissara discloses a joining apparatus (apparatus 10, Eissara Fig.1) (apparatus 10 is joining apparatus because Eissara Par.0073 discloses: “FIG. 1 shows a schematic representation of an embodiment of a joining apparatus according to the invention in the form of a stud welding apparatus which is designated in general by 10”) for joining of a fastener (fastening elements 12, Eissara Fig.1) to a workpiece (workpiece 14, Eissara Fig.1) on a joining surface (surface 22, Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Par.0074 discloses: “The welding apparatus 10 serves for the purpose of welding fastening elements 12 such as, for example, studs, on workpieces 14 such as, for example, metal sheets.”), the joining apparatus (apparatus 10, Eissara Fig.1) comprising:
a joining head (tool carrier 50, Eissara Fig.1),
a fastener holder (holding device 42, Eissara Fig.1) attached to the joining head (tool carrier 50, Eissara Fig.1) and designed to hold the fastener (fastening elements 12, Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Par.0076 discloses: “A welding tool 40, which has a holding device 42 for in each case one fastening element 12”, and Eissara Par.0077 discloses: “In the present case, the welding tool 40 is mounted on a tool carrier 50 which is mounted on the welding head 26 so as to be rotatable about an axis of rotation 52, which is aligned at right angles to the first axis 45.”);
a cleaning device (cleaning electrode holding device 64, Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Par.0080 discloses: “The cleaning arrangement 60 has a cleaning electrode holding device 64, by means of which a cleaning electrode 62 can be held.”) attached to the joining head (tool carrier 50, Eissara Fig.1) independent of the attachment between the fastener holder (holding device 42, Eissara Fig.1) and the joining head (tool carrier 50, Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Par.0080 discloses: “The cleaning electrode holding device 64, in this case, can be secured in a rigid manner on the tool carrier 50.”, and Eissara Fig.1 shows that the cleaning electrode holding device 64 attached to the tool carrier 50 independent of the attachment between the holding device 42 and the tool carrier 50), wherein the cleaning device (cleaning electrode holding device 64, Eissara Fig.1) is one of a gas cleaning device, an arc cleaning device, and a jet cleaning device (It is noted that the limitation “one of a gas cleaning device, an arc cleaning device, and a jet cleaning device” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Eissara discloses the arc cleaning device because Eissara Par.0015 discloses: “This object is achieved in the case of the aforementioned method in that the cleaning step includes arranging a cleaning electrode above the joining surface of the workpiece and generating a cleaning arc between the cleaning electrode and the joining surface.”); and
an actuator (actuator includes the cleaning electrode drive device 66, Eissara Fig.1) operable to move the cleaning device (cleaning electrode holding device 64, Eissara Fig.1) relative to the joining head (tool carrier 50, Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Par.0080 discloses: “when the cleaning electrode holding device 64 is displaceable on the tool carrier 50 along the second axis 65 by means of a cleaning electrode drive device 66, as is indicated in FIG. 1 by a direction of movement 67.”, and as shown in Eissara Fig.1; therefore, the cleaning electrode drive device 66 operable to move the cleaning electrode holding device 64 relative to the tool carrier 50).
Regarding claim 18, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 17, Eissara also discloses further comprising
a robot arm (second arm 32 of robot 28, Eissara Fig.1), wherein the joining head (tool carrier 50, Eissara Fig.1) is fixed to the robot arm (second arm 32 of robot 28, Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Fig.1 shows that the tool carrier 50 is fixed to the robot arm 32 of the robot 28 via the welding head 26).
Regarding claim 19, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 17, Eissara also discloses further comprising
a carriage (drive device 44, Eissara Fig.1) that attaches the fastener holder (holding device 42, Eissara Fig.1) to the joining head (tool carrier 50, Eissara Fig.1) and is operable to move the fastener holder (holding device 42, Eissara Fig.1) relative to the joining head (tool carrier 50, Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Par.0076 discloses: “The welding tool 40 additionally includes a drive device 44, by means of which the holding device 42 is movable along a first axis 45 in order to be able to carry out, for example, a stud welding process using the lift ignition method. The corresponding movement direction is shown in FIG. 1 by 46.”).
Regarding claim 20, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 17, Eissara also discloses
wherein the fastener holder (holding device 42, Eissara Fig.1) is moveable relative to the joining head (tool carrier 50, Eissara Fig.1) independent of movement of the cleaning device (cleaning electrode holding device 64, Eissara Fig.1) relative to the joining head (tool carrier 50, Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Par.0076 discloses: “The welding tool 40 additionally includes a drive device 44, by means of which the holding device 42 is movable along a first axis 45 in order to be able to carry out, for example, a stud welding process using the lift ignition method. The corresponding movement direction is shown in FIG. 1 by 46.”, and Eissara Par.0080 discloses: “when the cleaning electrode holding device 64 is displaceable on the tool carrier 50 along the second axis 65 by means of a cleaning electrode drive device 66, as is indicated in FIG. 1 by a direction of movement 67.”; since there are two separate drive devices 44 and 66, therefore, the fastener holder is moveable relative to the joining head by the drive device 44 independent of movement of the cleaning device relative to the joining head by the drive device 66).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eissara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0344374 A1, newly cited, hereinafter Eissara’374) in view of Eissara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0303680 A1, previously cited, hereinafter Eissara’680).
Regarding claim 3, Eissara’374 discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Eissara’374 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the actuator comprises a linear drive.
Eissara’680 teaches a joining apparatus (apparatus 10, Eissara Fig.1) (apparatus 10 is joining apparatus because Eissara Par.0073 discloses: “FIG. 1 shows a schematic representation of an embodiment of a joining apparatus according to the invention in the form of a stud welding apparatus which is designated in general by 10”) for joining of a fastener (fastening elements 12, Eissara Fig.1) to a workpiece (workpiece 14, Eissara Fig.1) on a joining surface (surface 22, Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Par.0074 discloses: “The welding apparatus 10 serves for the purpose of welding fastening elements 12 such as, for example, studs, on workpieces 14 such as, for example, metal sheets.”), the joining apparatus (apparatus 10, Eissara Fig.1) comprising:
an actuator (actuator includes the cleaning electrode drive device 66, Eissara Fig.1) operable to move the cleaning device (cleaning electrode holding device 64, Eissara Fig.1) relative to the joining head (tool carrier 50, Eissara Fig.1) (Eissara Par.0080 discloses: “when the cleaning electrode holding device 64 is displaceable on the tool carrier 50 along the second axis 65 by means of a cleaning electrode drive device 66, as is indicated in FIG. 1 by a direction of movement 67.”, and as shown in Eissara Fig.1; therefore, the cleaning electrode drive device 66 operable to move the cleaning electrode holding device 64 relative to the tool carrier 50); wherein the actuator (actuator includes the cleaning electrode drive device 66, Eissara Fig.1) comprises a linear drive (the cleaning electrode drive device 66 is linear drive because Eissara Par.0080 discloses: “the cleaning electrode holding device 64 is displaceable on the tool carrier 50 along the second axis 65 by means of a cleaning electrode drive device 66, as is indicated in FIG. 1 by a direction of movement 67.”, and Eissara Fig.1 shows the movement 67 is linear movement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joining apparatus of Eissara’374, by adding the teaching of the actuator comprises linear drive, as taught by Eissara’680, in order to enable linear movement of the cleaning device, and thus, improve positional control of the cleaning process relative to the joining surface, thereby, providing more uniform and targeted cleaning coverage over the joining area. Therefore, improve the overall joining process.
Regarding claim 5, Eissara’374 in view of Eissara’680 teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 3, and also teaches:
wherein the cleaning device (cleaning electrode holding device 64, Eissara’680 Fig.1; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) further comprises a housing (outer housing of the cleaning device 64, Eissara’680 annotated Fig.1 below) that is coupled to the linear drive (the cleaning electrode drive device 66 is linear drive because Eissara’680 Par.0080 discloses: “the cleaning electrode holding device 64 is displaceable on the tool carrier 50 along the second axis 65 by means of a cleaning electrode drive device 66, as is indicated in FIG. 1 by a direction of movement 67”, and Eissara’680 Fig.1 shows the movement 67 is linear movement; also from Eissara’680 Par.0080, the outer housing of the cleaning electrode holding device 64 is coupled to the cleaning electrode drive device 66 or it can be seen in Eissara’680 Fig.1).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eissara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0344374 A1, newly cited, hereinafter Eissara’374) in view of Eissara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0303680 A1, previously cited, hereinafter Eissara’680), and further in view of Schneider et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0009056 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, Eissara’374 in view of Eissara’680 teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 3, and also teaches:
wherein the linear drive (the cleaning electrode drive device 66 is linear drive because Eissara’680 Par.0080 teaches: “the cleaning electrode holding device 64 is displaceable on the tool carrier 50 along the second axis 65 by means of a cleaning electrode drive device 66, as is indicated in FIG. 1 by a direction of movement 67.”, and Eissara’680 Fig.1 shows the movement 67 is linear movement; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) comprises a pneumatic (Eissara’680 Par.0097 teaches: “The cleaning electrode drive device 66 can also be driven by a pneumatic drive.”).
However, Eissara’374 in view of Eissara’680 does not explicitly teaches:
the pneumatic is a pneumatic cylinder
Schneider discloses a joining apparatus (joining system 10, Schneider Fig.1) comprising a drive unit (pin actuator 60, Schneider Fig.1) comprises:
a pneumatic cylinder (Schneider Par.0007 teaches: “As the loading pin actuator, a pneumatic cylinder, which is transferable between two axial positions in a manner which is known per se, is frequently used.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Eissara’374 in view of Eissara’680 pneumatic drive (see the Eissara’680 pneumatic drive in Eissara’680 Par.0097 & Fig.1) with the Schneider pneumatic cylinder (see the Schneider pneumatic cylinder in Schneider Par.0007 & Fig.1), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of guiding/driving the part that is connected to the pneumatic drive system linearly. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eissara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0344374 A1, newly cited) in view of Wang (CN 212190959 U, previously cited).
Regarding claim 10, Eissara discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the constraining guide comprises a gate slot, which is connected to the joining head, and wherein the constraining guide includes a gate follower connected to the cleaning device and engages the gate slot for movement therein.
Wang teaches a drive unit comprising a pneumatic cylinder (Wang Figs.5-6):
wherein the constraining guide (constraining guide comprises the first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5], the second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6], the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve in Wang annotated Fig.6 below) comprises a gate slot (first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5] and second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6]), which is connected to the joining head (it is noted that in combination, by adding the Wang guiding system of pneumatic cylinder (see the Wang arms 18, 22 [Wang Figs.5-6] with the first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5], the second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6], the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 below]) to guide the Eissara cleaning device 34, the Wang constraining guide comprising the first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5], the second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6], the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 below] would be to the Eissara joining head 12), and wherein the constraining guide (constraining guide comprises the first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5], the second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6], the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 below]) includes a gate follower (gate follower includes the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 below]) connected to the cleaning device (it is noted that in combination, by adding the Wang guiding system of pneumatic cylinder (see the Wang arms 18, 22 [Wang Figs.5-6] with the first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5], the second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6], the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 below]) to guide the Eissara cleaning device 34, the Wang constraining guide comprising the first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5], the second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6], the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 below] would be connected to the Eissara cleaning device 34; in other words, in combination, Wang guiding system of pneumatic cylinder as shown in Wang Figs.5-6 would be coupled to and guide the Eissara cleaning device 34) and engages the gate slot (first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5] and second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6]) for movement therein (Wang Translated Document on page 8 – second paragraph teaches: “two second rolling shaft sleeve 38 are respectively embedded in the first moving groove 20 and the second moving groove 24”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joining apparatus of Eissara, by adding the teaching of guiding system of pneumatic cylinder (see the Wang arms 18, 22 [Wang Figs.5-6] with the first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5], the second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6], the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve in Wang annotated Fig.6 above) comprising the constraining guide having a gate slot, which is connected to the joining head, and wherein the constraining guide includes a gate follower connected to the cleaning device and engages the gate slot for movement therein, as taught by Wang, in order to enable linear movement of the cleaning device, and thus, improve positional control of the cleaning process relative to the joining surface, thereby, providing more uniform and targeted cleaning coverage over the joining area. Therefore, improve the overall joining process.
Regarding claim 11, Eissara in view of Wang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Wang also teaches:
wherein the gate slot (first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5] and second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6], as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 10 above) comprises a serpentine track (Wang Fig.5 shows the first groove 20 comprises serpentine track) including a first longitudinal portion (first longitudinal portion, Wang annotated Fig.5 below) and a bend portion (bend portion, Wang annotated Fig.5 below).
Regarding claim 12, Eissara in view of Wang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Wang also teaches:
wherein the gate follower (gate follower includes the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 below]; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 10 above) comprises a front gate follower (rolling shaft sleeve 38, Wang Fig.5) and a rear gate follower (shaft sleeve, Wang annotated Fig.6 below) spaced axially apart from one another on the cleaning device (in combination, by adding the Wang guiding system of pneumatic cylinder (see the Wang arms 18, 22 [Wang Figs.5-6] with the first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5], the second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6], the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 below]) to guide the Eissara cleaning device 34, the Wang constraining guide comprising the first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5], the second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6], the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 below] would be connected to the Eissara cleaning device 34; in other words, in combination, Wang guiding system of pneumatic cylinder as shown in Wang Figs.5-6 would be coupled to and guide the Eissara cleaning device 34; therefore, in combination, Eissara in view of Wang teaches the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 below] spaced axially apart from one another on the Eissara cleaning device 34) in a direction substantially parallel to the joining axis (see the positions of the Eissara cleaning device 34 and the Eissara joining axis 20 in Eissara Fig.6; therefore, in combination, Eissara in view of Wang teaches a front gate follower and a rear gate follower spaced axially apart from one another on the cleaning device in a direction substantially parallel to the joining axis) and engaging in the gate slot (first groove 20 [Wang Fig.5] and second groove 24 [Wang Fig.6], as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 10 above) (Wang Fig.5 shows the rolling shaft sleeve 38 engaging the first groove 20, and Wang annotated Fig.6 below shows that the annotated shaft sleeve engaging the second groove 24).
Regarding claim 13, Eissara in view of Wang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 12, Wang also teaches:
wherein the front gate follower (rolling shaft sleeve 38, Wang Fig.5) or the rear gate follower (shaft sleeve, Wang annotated Fig.6 below) [it is noted that the limitation “the front gate follower or the rear gate follower” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination] is formed by at least one of rollers or bearings [it is noted that the limitation “at least one of rollers or bearings” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination] (in this case, Wang teaches the rolling shaft sleeve 38 is roller).
Regarding claim 14, Eissara in view of Wang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 12; however, Eissara in view of Wang does not explicitly teaches:
wherein an axial spacing between the front gate follower and the rear gate follower is less than a longitudinal extent of a first longitudinal portion of the gate slot.
Regarding the limitation wherein an axial spacing between the front gate follower and the rear gate follower is less than a longitudinal extent of a first longitudinal portion of the gate slot, the courts have held that where general condition of claim is disposed in the prior art (see Wang Figs.5-6 above where the reference Wang teaches certain axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 above]), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 II.A).
In this case, Wang teaches that the rolling shaft sleeves include the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 above] are mounted on the second shaft pin 28 [Wang Figs.5-6] and cooperate with the first and second movement slots 20 and 24 to provide rolling connection, improve movement flexibility, support the second shaft pin, prevent vibration and wobbling during movement, and improve working precision [Wang Translated Document from the last paragraph on page 3 to the first paragraph on page 4, and from the last paragraph on page 6 to the first paragraph on page 7]. Wang further teaches that the cylinder 16 drives the second shaft pin 28 such that the second shaft pin 28 moves within the first movement slot 20 and the second movement slot 24 [Wang Figs.5-6]. When the cylinder 16 drives the second shaft pin 28 toward the cylinder direction, the shaft sleeves enter the flat/gentle region of the movement slots so that the second shaft pin 28 does not move up and down, and thereby achieving a self-locking function [Wang Translated Document on page 4 - paragraph 2].
Accordingly, the axial spacing between the shaft sleeve 38 and the opposite sleeve on the second shaft pin 28 directly affects how accurately and stably the force generated by the cylinder 16 is transmitted to the second shaft pin 28 during reciprocating actuation. In this case, Wang teaches certain axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 above] to provide rolling connection, improve movement flexibility, support the second shaft pin, prevent vibration and wobbling during movement, and improve working precision [as explained previously], and having a specific axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6] is not inventive according to the courts. If the axial spacing is excessively large, the second shaft pin may experience increased lateral displacement, vibration or wobbling during actuation by the cylinder 16, thereby reducing movement precision and degrading the self-locking function taught by Wang. Conversely, optimizing the axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 above] improves guidance and support of the second shaft pin 28 during movement caused by the cylinder 16, thereby improving transmission stability, reducing positional deviation, and improving motion smoothness. Therefore, the axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 above] is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Eissara in view of Wang axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6] by making the axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6] to be less than the longitudinal extent of the first longitudinal portion of the gate slot as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”. MPEP 2144.05 II.A.
Regarding claim 15, Eissara in view of Wang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 12; however, Eissara in view of Wang does not explicitly teaches:
wherein an axial spacing between the front gate follower and the rear gate follower is greater than one of (i) a longitudinal extent of a bend portion of the gate slot or (ii) a longitudinal extent of a second longitudinal portion of the gate slot.
Regarding the limitation wherein an axial spacing between the front gate follower and the rear gate follower is greater than one of (i) a longitudinal extent of a bend portion of the gate slot or (ii) a longitudinal extent of a second longitudinal portion of the gate slot, the courts have held that where general condition of claim is disposed in the prior art (see Wang Figs.5-6 above where the reference Wang teaches certain axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 above]), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 II.A).
In this case, Wang teaches that the rolling shaft sleeves include the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 above] are mounted on the second shaft pin 28 [Wang Figs.5-6] and cooperate with the first and second movement slots 20 and 24 to provide rolling connection, improve movement flexibility, support the second shaft pin, prevent vibration and wobbling during movement, and improve working precision [Wang Translated Document from the last paragraph on page 3 to the first paragraph on page 4, and from the last paragraph on page 6 to the first paragraph on page 7]. Wang further teaches that the cylinder 16 drives the second shaft pin 28 such that the second shaft pin 28 moves within the first movement slot 20 and the second movement slot 24 [Wang Figs.5-6]. When the cylinder 16 drives the second shaft pin 28 toward the cylinder direction, the shaft sleeves enter the flat/gentle region of the movement slots so that the second shaft pin 28 does not move up and down, and thereby achieving a self-locking function [Wang Translated Document on page 4 - paragraph 2].
Accordingly, the axial spacing between the shaft sleeve 38 and the opposite sleeve on the second shaft pin 28 directly affects how accurately and stably the force generated by the cylinder 16 is transmitted to the second shaft pin 28 during reciprocating actuation. In this case, Wang teaches certain axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 above] to provide rolling connection, improve movement flexibility, support the second shaft pin, prevent vibration and wobbling during movement, and improve working precision [as explained previously], and having a specific axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6] is not inventive according to the courts. If the axial spacing is excessively large, the second shaft pin may experience increased lateral displacement, vibration or wobbling during actuation by the cylinder 16, thereby reducing movement precision and degrading the self-locking function taught by Wang. Conversely, optimizing the axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 above] improves guidance and support of the second shaft pin 28 during movement caused by the cylinder 16, thereby improving transmission stability, reducing positional deviation, and improving motion smoothness. Therefore, the axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6 above] is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Eissara in view of Wang axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6] by making the axial spacing between the rolling shaft sleeve 38 [Wang Fig.5] and the annotated shaft sleeve [Wang annotated Fig.6] to be greater than one of (i) a longitudinal extent of a bend portion of the gate slot or (ii) a longitudinal extent of a second longitudinal portion of the gate slot as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”. MPEP 2144.05 II.A.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Aoyama et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,768,082 B2) discloses a device for welding a flange of a part having a shaft and the flange to a steel plate. The flange is brought closer to the steel plate, and welding current is made to flow between the flange and the steel plate to generate arc, which fuses the flange and steel plate together by metal fusion. Then, pressure welding follows, completing the welding process.
Gobel et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,223,934 B2) discloses a hand welding device for short-time arc welding of elements, such as metal studs, onto parts, such as metal sheets, having a handlable housing, a holding means mounted on the housing to hold an element to be welded onto a part, a reciprocating means mounted on the housing to advance and restore the holding means relative to the housing, and positioning means mounted on the housing to maintain a predetermined distance from the part. Gobel does not explicitly discloses a cleaning device for the joining surface of the part.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 05/13/2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761