DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 22-28 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11437304 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims requires substantially all of the limitations of the present claims.
The reference claims do not explicitly recite “a patterned metallic baseplate”, however the baseplate has metallic traces (“patterns”) formed on the insulated layers of the baseplate, similarly as Applicant’s, and thus may be construed as “patterned”. Further, dependent claim 7 recites wherein the metallic baseplate is patterned. Further, a physical baseplate has a specific size, shape, surface area, etc. once produced, which may be construed as a form or pattern, and would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Pattern (Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary) - a form or model proposed for imitation.
Present Application
Reference US 11437304 B2
1. A semiconductor package, comprising:
a patterned metallic baseplate comprising a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface;
a first laminate insulative layer comprising a first surface coupled to the second surface of the patterned metallic baseplate, the first laminate insulative layer having a second surface opposing the first surface of the first laminate insulative layer;
a first plurality of metallic traces, each metallic trace of the first plurality of metallic traces coupled to the second surface of the first laminate insulative layer at a first surface of the metallic trace, each metallic trace of the first plurality of metallic traces having a second surface opposing the first surface of the metallic trace;
one or more semiconductor devices comprising a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface, wherein the first surface of the one or more semiconductor devices are coupled to the second surface of each one of the first plurality of metallic traces;
a second plurality of metallic traces comprising a first surface and a second surface, wherein the first surface of at least one metallic trace of the second plurality of metallic traces is coupled to the second surface of the one or more semiconductor devices; and
a second laminate insulative layer comprising a first surface coupled to the second surfaces of the metallic traces of the second plurality of metallic traces.
1. A semiconductor package, comprising:
a metallic baseplate comprising a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface;
an electrically insulative layer comprising a first surface coupled to the second surface of the metallic baseplate, the electrically insulative layer having a second surface opposing the first surface of the electrically insulative layer;
a first plurality of metallic traces, each metallic trace of the first plurality of metallic traces coupled to the second surface of the electrically insulative layer at a first surface of the metallic trace, each metallic trace of the first plurality of metallic traces having a second surface opposing the first surface of the metallic trace;
one or more semiconductor devices comprising a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface, wherein the first surface of the one or more semiconductor devices are coupled to the second surface of each one of the first plurality of metallic traces;
a second plurality of metallic traces comprising a first surface and a second surface, wherein the first surface of at least one metallic trace of the second plurality of metallic traces is coupled to the second surface of the one or more semiconductor devices;
a second insulative layer comprising a first surface coupled to the second surfaces of the metallic traces of the upper plurality of metallic traces; and
a mold compound encapsulating the one or more semiconductor devices;
wherein the the semiconductor package is configured to electrically couple to an external device through external connectors directly coupled to the first plurality of metallic traces and not to the second plurality of metallic traces.
7. The package of claim 1, wherein the metallic base plate is patterned.
2. The package of claim 1, further comprising a top metallic plate coupled to a second surface of the second laminate insulative layer, wherein the second surface of the second laminate insulative layer is opposite the first surface of the second laminate insulative layer.
2. The package of claim 1, further comprising a top metallic plate coupled to a second surface of the second insulative layer, wherein the second surface of the second insulative layer is opposite the first surface of the second insulative layer.
3. The package of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor devices include one of an IGBT, diode, MOSFET, a SiC device and a GaN device.
3. The package of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor devices include one of an IGBT, diode, MOSFET, a SiC device and a GaN device.
4. The package of claim 1, wherein the package does not comprise one of wire bonds or clips.
6. The package of claim 1, wherein the package does not comprise one of wire bonds and clips.
5. The package of claim 2, wherein the top metallic plate is patterned.
8. The package of claim 2, wherein the top metallic plate is patterned.
22. (New) A semiconductor package, comprising:
a patterned metallic baseplate comprising a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface;
an electrically insulative layer comprising a first surface coupled to the second surface of the patterned metallic baseplate, the electrically insulative layer having a second surface opposing the first surface of the electrically insulative layer;
a first plurality of metallic traces, each metallic trace of the first plurality of metallic traces coupled to the second surface of the electrically insulative layer at a first surface of the metallic trace, each metallic trace of the first plurality of metallic traces having a second surface opposing the first surface of the metallic trace;
one or more semiconductor devices
comprising a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface, wherein the first surface of the one or more semiconductor devices are coupled to the second surface of each one of the first plurality of metallic traces;
a second plurality of metallic traces comprising a first surface and a second surface, wherein the first surface of at least one metallic trace of the second plurality of metallic traces is coupled to the second surface of the one or more semiconductor devices;
a second insulative layer comprising a first surface coupled to the second surfaces of the metallic traces of the upper plurality of metallic traces; and
a mold compound encapsulating the one or more semiconductor devices;
wherein the semiconductor package is configured to electrically couple to an external device through external connectors directly coupled to the first plurality of metallic traces and not to the second plurality of metallic traces.
1. A semiconductor package, comprising:
a metallic baseplate comprising a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface;
an electrically insulative layer comprising a first surface coupled to the second surface of the metallic baseplate, the electrically insulative layer having a second surface opposing the first surface of the electrically insulative layer;
a first plurality of metallic traces, each metallic trace of the first plurality of metallic traces coupled to the second surface of the electrically insulative layer at a first surface of the metallic trace, each metallic trace of the first plurality of metallic traces having a second surface opposing the first surface of the metallic trace;
one or more semiconductor devices comprising a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface, wherein the first surface of the one or more semiconductor devices are coupled to the second surface of each one of the first plurality of metallic traces;
a second plurality of metallic traces comprising a first surface and a second surface, wherein the first surface of at least one metallic trace of the second plurality of metallic traces is coupled to the second surface of the one or more semiconductor devices;
a second insulative layer comprising a first surface coupled to the second surfaces of the metallic traces of the upper plurality of metallic traces; and
a mold compound encapsulating the one or more semiconductor devices;
wherein the the semiconductor package is configured to electrically couple to an external device through external connectors directly coupled to the first plurality of metallic traces and not to the second plurality of metallic traces.
7. The package of claim 1, wherein the metallic base plate is patterned.
23. (New) The package of claim 22, further comprising a top metallic plate coupled to a second surface of the second insulative layer, wherein the second surface of the second insulative layer is opposite the first surface of the second insulative layer.
2. The package of claim 1, further comprising a top metallic plate coupled to a second surface of the second insulative layer, wherein the second surface of the second insulative layer is opposite the first surface of the second insulative layer.
24. (New) The package of claim 22, wherein the semiconductor devices include one of an IGBT, diode, MOSFET, a SiC device and a GaN device.
3. The package of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor devices include one of an IGBT, diode, MOSFET, a SiC device and a GaN device.
25. (New) The package of claim 22, wherein the electrically insulative layer is one of a ceramic insulated layer and a laminate insulated layer.
4. The package of claim 1, wherein the electrically insulative layer is one of a ceramic insulated layer and a laminate insulated layer.
26. (New) The package of claim 22, wherein the second insulative layer is one of a ceramic insulated layer and a laminate insulated layer.
5. The package of claim 1, wherein the second insulative layer is one of a ceramic insulated layer and a laminate insulated layer.
27. (New) The package of claim 22, wherein the package does not comprise one of wire bonds and clips.
6. The package of claim 1, wherein the package does not comprise one of wire bonds and clips.
28. (New) The package of claim 23, wherein the top metallic plate is patterned.
8. The package of claim 2, wherein the top metallic plate is patterned.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 24 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3 and 24 each recite acronyms (IGBT, MOSFET) without spelling them out first (not required for chemical formulas SiC and GaN).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 22-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rizza (US 9986631 B2).
Examiner notes that the earliest support for the claimed limitations is in parent application no. 15440967 with a filing date of 02/23/2017. There is no support for the specific arrangement of semiconductor devices and first and second plurality of metallic traces in application no. 15206574. Thus, the earliest effective filing date for the present application is 02/23/2017.
As to claim 1, Rizza discloses: A semiconductor package (Fig. 2), comprising:
a patterned metallic baseplate 23, 47 (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 4, lines 50-64; the baseplate has metallic traces (“patterns”) formed on the insulated layer of the baseplate, similarly as Applicant’s, and thus may be construed as “patterned”. Further, the baseplate is patterned or formed as a plate shaped layer of a certain size, shape, surface area, etc.; Pattern - a form or model proposed for imitation; Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary) comprising a first surface (bottom/lower surface) and a second surface (top/upper surface) opposing the first surface;
a first laminate insulative layer 46 (col. 4, lines 50-64) comprising a first surface (bottom/lower surface) coupled (at least indirectly) to the second surface of the patterned metallic baseplate, the first laminate insulative layer having a second surface (top/upper surface) opposing the first surface of the first laminate insulative layer;
a first plurality of metallic traces 30 (alternatively – 30, 48, and 61; col. 3, lines 55-65 and col. 4, lines 32-64), each metallic trace of the first plurality of metallic traces coupled (through 48) to the second surface of the first laminate insulative layer 46 at a first surface (bottom/lower surface) of the metallic trace, each metallic trace of the first plurality of metallic traces having a second surface (top/upper surface) opposing the first surface of the metallic trace;
one or more semiconductor devices 33, 35 (col. 4, lines 14-20) comprising a first surface (bottom/lower surface) and a second surface (top/upper surface) opposing the first surface, wherein the first surface (bottom/lower surface) of the one or more semiconductor devices 33, 35 are coupled to the second surface (top/upper surface) of each one of the first plurality of metallic traces 30;
a second plurality of metallic traces 34 (alternatively - 34, 36, 32, 37, and 50; col. 3, lines 55-65 and col. 4, lines 32-64;) comprising a first surface and a second surface, wherein the first surface (bottom/lower surface) of at least one metallic trace of the second plurality of metallic traces is coupled to the second surface (top/upper surface) of the one or more semiconductor devices 33, 35; and
a second laminate insulative layer 49 (col. 4, lines 50-64) comprising a first surface (bottom/lower surface) coupled to the second surfaces (top/upper surface) of the metallic traces of the second plurality of metallic traces.
As to claim 22, Rizza discloses: A semiconductor package (Fig. 2), comprising:
a patterned metallic baseplate 23, 47 (see col. 3, lines 41-44; col. 4, lines 50-64; the baseplate has metallic traces (“patterns”) formed on the insulated layer of the baseplate, similarly as Applicant’s, and thus may be construed as “patterned”. Further, the baseplate is patterned or formed as a plate shaped layer of a certain size, shape, surface area, etc.; Pattern - a form or model proposed for imitation; Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary) comprising a first surface (bottom/lower surface) and a second surface (top/upper surface) opposing the first surface;
an electrically insulative layer 46 (col. 4, lines 50-64) comprising a first surface (bottom/lower surface) coupled (at least indirectly) to the second surface of the patterned metallic baseplate, the electrically insulative layer having a second surface (top/upper surface) opposing the first surface of the electrically insulative layer;
a first plurality of metallic traces (30, 48, and 61 combined; col. 3, lines 55-65 and col. 4, lines 32-64), each metallic trace of the first plurality of metallic traces coupled (through 48) to the second surface of the electrically insulative layer 46 at a first surface (bottom/lower surface) of the metallic trace, each metallic trace of the first plurality of metallic traces having a second surface (top/upper surface) opposing the first surface of the metallic trace;
one or more semiconductor devices 33, 35 (col. 4, lines 14-20) comprising a first surface (bottom/lower surface) and a second surface (top/upper surface) opposing the first surface, wherein the first surface (bottom/lower surface) of the one or more semiconductor devices 33, 35 are coupled to the second surface (top/upper surface) of each one of the first plurality of metallic traces (30 on top of 48);
a second plurality of metallic traces (34, 36, 32, 37, and 50 combined; col. 3, lines 55-65 and col. 4, lines 32-64) comprising a first surface and a second surface, wherein the first surface (bottom/lower surface) of at least one metallic trace of the second plurality of metallic traces is coupled to the second surface (top/upper surface) of the one or more semiconductor devices 33, 35; and
a second insulative layer 49 (col. 4, lines 50-64) comprising a first surface (bottom/lower surface) coupled to the second surfaces (top/upper surface) of the metallic traces of the second plurality of metallic traces; and
a mold compound 52 (col. 4, lines 24-36) encapsulating the one or more semiconductor devices;
wherein the semiconductor package is configured to electrically couple to an external device through external connectors 38 directly coupled to the first plurality of metallic traces 30, 48, 61 and not to the second plurality of metallic traces.
As to claims 2 and 23, Rizza discloses: further comprising a top metallic plate 51 (col. 4, lines 50-64) coupled to a second surface (top/upper surface) of the second laminate insulative layer 49, wherein the second surface (top/upper surface) of the second laminate insulative layer 49 is opposite the first surface (bottom/lower surface) of the second laminate insulative layer 49.
As to claims 3 and 24, Rizza discloses: wherein the semiconductor devices include one of an IGBT 33 (col. 4, lines 14-20), diode 35, MOSFET, a SiC device and a GaN device.
As to claims 4 and 27, Rizza discloses: wherein the package does not comprise one of wire bonds or clips (neither are mentioned – 38 are terminal pins, which do not explicitly correspond to wire bonds).
As to claims 5 and 28, Rizza discloses: wherein the top metallic plate is patterned (the top metallic plate has metallic traces (“patterns”) formed on the insulated layer of the top metallic plate, similarly as Applicant’s, and thus may be construed as “patterned”. Further, the top plate is patterned or formed as a plate shaped layer of a certain size, shape, surface area, etc.). Pattern - a form or model proposed for imitation (Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary).
As to claim 6 (alternatively), Rizza discloses:
wherein the second plurality of metallic traces 34, 36, 32, 37, and 50 comprises multiple thicknesses (see Fig. 2, multiple recesses and gaps).
As to claim 7, Rizza discloses: wherein the first plurality of metallic traces is directly coupled (consistent with applicant’s interpretation of 144, 150, 132 in Fig. 31 and p. 7-8 of the Remarks) to the second plurality of metallic traces (by portions 36).
As to claim 25, Rizza discloses:
wherein the electrically insulative layer 46 is one of a ceramic insulated layer (ceramic; col. 4, lines 50-64) and a laminate insulated layer.
As to claim 26, Rizza discloses:
wherein the second insulative layer 49 is one of a ceramic insulated layer (ceramic; col. 4, lines 50-64) and a laminate insulated layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rizza (US 9986631 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koyama (US 7501696 B2).
As to claim 6 (alternatively), Rizza does not explicitly disclose: wherein the second plurality of metallic traces comprises multiple thicknesses.
However, Koyama discloses:
wherein the plurality of metallic traces 55, 58 (Fig. 2B-2E) comprises multiple thicknesses (see 55 above 52, 58 above the single chip of chip stack 57, and 58 above both chips in chip stack 57);
in order to provide metallic trace connections to connection pads 52, through holes 53, and single and doubly stacked semiconductor chips (col. 4, lines 11-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Rizza as suggested by Koyama, e.g., providing:
wherein the second plurality of metallic traces comprises multiple thicknesses;
in order to provide metallic trace connections to connection pads, through holes, and single and doubly stacked semiconductor chips.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rizza (US 9986631 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ch’ng (US 7375288 B1).
As to claim 8, Rizza does not explicitly disclose: wherein one of the first plurality of metallic traces, the second plurality of metallic traces, or the first plurality of metallic traces and the second plurality of metallic traces are formed from a metal foil.
However, Ch’ng discloses:
wherein metallic traces are formed from a metal foil (col. 4, lines 10-23);
in order to provide conventional printed circuit board construction and provide any number of traces/conductive paths of copper foil (col. 4, lines 10-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Rizza as suggested by Ch’ng, e.g., providing:
wherein one of the first plurality of metallic traces, the second plurality of metallic traces, or the first plurality of metallic traces and the second plurality of metallic traces are formed from a metal foil;
in order to provide conventional printed circuit board construction and provide any number of traces/conductive paths of copper foil.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 21, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the apparatus as recited in the claim, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because they recite the following limitations:
21. (New) The package of claim 1, wherein a plurality of thicker portions are directly coupled between the first plurality of traces and the second plurality of traces and one of the plurality of thicker portions is coupled between the semiconductor devices.
None of the prior art, either alone or in combination, can be reasonably construed as adequately teaching the above claimed elements, in combination with the remaining claim limitations.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Limitation Not Taught/Special Definition of “Patterned”
Applicant has suggested that the term pattern has been improperly interpreted because “patterned” in reference to the “patterned metallic baseplate” has a special definition in light of the specification (Remarks, p. 8-11).
In response, the cited par. (par. 0115 in the printed publication) refers to Fig. 31, and reads in entirety:
“[0115] Referring now to FIG. 31, a cross-section view of a wirebond-less (bond wire-less) interconnection semiconductor package is illustrated. The package may include a metallic baseplate 120. The baseplate includes a first surface 122 opposing a second surface 124. The metallic baseplate 120 may be, by non-limiting example, copper, tungsten, nickel, gold, palladium, or any other metal or combination of metals, including any disclosed in this document. The metallic baseplate may be patterned in various implementations, increasing thermal dissipation and/or permitting for electrical signal routing/power transfer. In various implementations, the patterning may be carried using any method disclosed herein. The metallic baseplate 120 may also be configured to couple to a heatsink in various implementations.”
Fig. 31 illustrates a metallic baseplate 120 with no discernable features. “The metallic baseplate may be patterned… increasing thermal dissipation and/or permitting for electrical signal routing/power transfer.”
The passage does not identify what patterning is but identifies that it may increase thermal dissipation and/or permit signal routing/power transfer. It is not required to do both. A metallic baseplate itself dissipates heat. The specific size, shape, and/or surface area of the baseplate affects the amount of heat dissipation (e.g., a larger surface area plate vs a smaller surface area plate), and thus the inherent size, shape, and/or surface area of the baseplate may be interpreted as patterning.
“[0126] The structure of FIG. 33 may include a metallic baseplate 166. The metallic baseplate may be patterned to form metallic traces similar to metallic traces 164. The metallic baseplate may be, by non-limiting example, copper, tungsten, nickel, gold, palladium, or any other metal or combination of metals disclosed herein. In other implementations, as illustrated by FIG. 34, the multiple thickness substrate structure may not include the metallic baseplate.”
Examiner notes that the baseplate is referenced as 166 (a flat plate). 162 is an insulative layer and the pattern of traces 164 is formed on top of the insulative layer 162 and on top of the baseplate 166. This appears to indicate that the combination of traces and baseplate form a patterned baseplate (equivalent to the device of Rizza), and the pattern is not a feature of the baseplate itself.
Thus, the specification does not sufficiently redefine the term to identify that “patterned” refers to any particular feature, and the rejections are maintained.
112 Rejection Withdrawn
Regarding claim 7, Applicant has pointed out that the thick portions 150 (Fig. 31) are considered to be a part of the second plurality of metal traces 144, despite being shown as a separate layer/element, and that thus the second metallic traces 144, 150 are directly coupled to the first metallic traces 132 (Remarks, p. 7).
Examiner accepts this interpretation, has withdrawn the 112 rejection, and interprets the device of Rizza similarly – namely where combinations of conductive layers are considered to constitute the respective first and second metallic traces and provide direct coupling.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB R CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835