DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, 10-11, 13-16, 18-20, 22, 24-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The currently amended claims overcome previous double patenting rejections. Thus, these double patenting rejections are now withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “NAS” needs to be spelled out in full before using its abbreviation.
The phrase “authentication information originating from the authenticating entity, the authentication information being carried in protocol configuration options (PCO);” should be corrected as - - authentication information originating from an authenticating entity, the authentication information being carried in protocol configuration options (PCO); - -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 10-11, 13-16, 18-20, 22, and 24-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (hereinafter “Ryu”, US 2022/0338155) in view of Zhou et al. (hereinafter “Zhou”, US 2014/0256291).
Regarding claim 1, Ryu discloses an apparatus (i.e., a wireless device (WD) 1310 as shown in Figs. 13 & 25, and as described in paragraphs 0041 and 0250) comprised in user equipment of an uncrewed aerial system, the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (i.e., processing system 1311);
at least one memory including computer program code (i.e., memory 1312 includes instructions 1313);
the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor (i.e., the memory 1312 includes instructions 1313 configured with the processing system 1311 as described in paragraph 0181), cause the apparatus at least to:
cause initiation of establishment of a connection with a data network through a communication network (i.e., the WD sends an “attach request” message requesting a registration to a communication system and an establishment of a session and causes a second connection with a PGW-C as described in paragraph 0265-0267);
receive a first notification from the communication network that uplink data transfer to the data network is not allowed (i.e., the WD receives a second SM message indicating that the AA for the session is pending indicating that sending one or more packets is not allowed for the WD as described in paragraphs 0269-0270); and
receive a second notification from the communication network that uplink data transfer to the data network is allowed (i.e., the WD receives a second message indicating that sending data is allowed for the session as described in paragraphs 0273-0274), wherein the second notification indicates to successful verification of the apparatus by an authenticating entity (i.e., the PGW-C performs an authentication-authorization (AA) procedure (e.g., the pending AA) by sending a AA request message to the UAS NS as shown in Fig. 22, and as described in paragraph 0271) utilizing a service level device identity that is different than a subscriber identity used by the apparatus to access the communication network (i.e., the CAA-level UAV identifier is different from the identity of the WD such as IMEI that is used to access the communication network as described in paragraph 0226. The authentication/authorization procedure is performed based on the use of the CAA- UAV identity to identify the wireless device inside the AA server or the aviation domain as described in paragraphs 0229-0233);
wherein the apparatus refrains from initiating an uplink data transfer to the data network between receipt of the first notification and receipt of the second notification (i.e., the WD is not allowed to send data packets between receiving the AA pending message and AA complete message as shown in Fig. 25, and as described in paragraphs 0269-0273).
Ryu, however, does not expressly disclose the remaining features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Zhou discloses device, system, and method using EAP for external authentication. Zhou also discloses:
receive, from the communication network, authentication information originating from the authenticating entity, the authentication information being carried in protocol configuration options (PCO) (i.e., the external authentication/authorization server returns an authorization result and related data to the GGSN/PDN GW through an authentication message. In turn, the GGSN/PDN GW includes the authentication results and related data in PCO to be returned to the UE as described in paragraphs 0005, 0014, 0027-0028. Also, see step 214-217 of Fig. 2 and its descriptions in paragraphs 0086-0088);
based on the authentication information, transmit, via the communication network using uplink NAS transport (i.e., using uplink NAS in step 220 of Fig. 2), an authentication response to the authenticating entity (i.e., transmitting from UE to mobility management unit a bearer update response message 220 based on the authentication information 217 as described in paragraphs 0088-0090).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to implement authentication and authorization by an external authentication and authorization server via a GGSN/PDN GW in a process of connecting the UE to the EPS via a 3GPP access.
Regarding claim 6, Ryu discloses a method comprising:
causing, by user equipment of an uncrewed aerial system (i.e., uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) described in paragraphs 0041 and 0250), initiation of establishment of a connection with a data network through a communication network (i.e., the WD sends an “attach request” message requesting a registration to a communication system and an establishment of a session and causes a second connection with a PGW-C as described in paragraph 0265-0267);
receiving, at the user equipment of the uncrewed aerial system, a first notification from the communication network that uplink data transfer to the data network is not allowed (i.e., the WD receives a second SM message indicating that the AA for the session is pending indicating that sending one or more packets is not allowed for the WD as described in paragraphs 0269-0270); and
receiving, at the user equipment of the uncrewed aerial system, a second notification from the communication network that uplink data transfer to the data network is allowed (i.e., the WD receives a second message indicating that sending data is allowed for the session as described in paragraphs 0273-0274), wherein the second notification indicates successful verification of the user equipment of the uncrewed aerial system by an authenticating entity (i.e., the PGW-C performs an authentication-authorization (AA) procedure (e.g., the pending AA) by sending a AA request message to the UAS NS as shown in Fig. 22, and as described in paragraph 0271) utilizing a service level device identity that is different than a subscriber identity used by the user equipment of the uncrewed aerial system to access the communication network (i.e., the CAA-level UAV identifier is different from the identity of the WD such as IMEI that is used to access the communication network as described in paragraph 0226. The authentication/authorization procedure is performed based on the use of the CAA- UAV identity to identify the wireless device inside the AA server or the aviation domain as described in paragraphs 0229-0233);
wherein the user equipment of the uncrewed aerial system refrains from initiating an uplink data transfer to the data network between receipt of the first notification and receipt of the second notification (i.e., the WD is not allowed to send data packets between receiving the AA pending message and AA complete message as shown in Fig. 25, and as described in paragraphs 0269-0273).
Ryu, however, does not expressly disclose the remaining features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Zhou discloses device, system, and method using EAP for external authentication. Zhou also discloses:
receiving, at the user equipment from the communication network, authentication information originating from the authenticating entity, the authentication information being carried in protocol configuration options (PCO) (i.e., the external authentication/authorization server returns an authorization result and related data to the GGSN/PDN GW through an authentication message. In turn, the GGSN/PDN GW includes the authentication results and related data in PCO to be returned to the UE as described in paragraphs 0005, 0014, 0027-0028. Also, see step 214-217 of Fig. 2 and its descriptions in paragraphs 0086-0088);
based on the authentication information, transmitting, from the user equipment via the communication network using uplink NAS transport (i.e., using uplink NAS in step 220 of Fig. 2), an authentication response to the authenticating entity (i.e., transmitting from UE to mobility management unit a bearer update response message 220 based on the authentication information 217 as described in paragraphs 0088-0090).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to implement authentication and authorization by an external authentication and authorization server via a GGSN/PDN GW in a process of connecting the UE to the EPS via a 3GPP access.
Regarding claim 10, Ryu and Zhou disclose an article of manufacture comprising a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied therein executable program code that when executed by a processor causes the processor to perform the steps of claim 6 (i.e., a software program 1313, 1323, and 1333 stored in the memory 1312, 1322, 1332 and executed by the processing system 1311, 1321, and 1331 as described in paragraphs 0188-0189).
Regarding claims 11, and 16, Ryu discloses an apparatus (i.e., a base station 1320 as shown in Fig. 13), and a method comprising:
at least one processor (i.e., processing system 1321);
at least one memory including computer program code (i.e., memory 1322 including instructions 1323);
the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor (i.e., memory 1322 including instructions 1323 configured with processing system 1321), cause the apparatus at least to:
receive a request from user equipment of an uncrewed aerial system (i.e., uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) described in paragraphs 0041 and 0250) to establish a connection with a data network through a communication network (i.e., the WD sends an “attach request” message requesting a registration to a communication system and an establishment of a session and causes a second connection with a PGW-C as described in paragraph 0265-0267);
send a first notification from the communication network to the user equipment that uplink data transfer to the data network is not allowed (i.e., the WD receives a second SM message indicating that the AA for the session is pending indicating that sending one or more packets is not allowed for the WD as described in paragraphs 0269-0270); and
send a second notification from the communication network to the user equipment that uplink data transfer to the data network is allowed (i.e., the WD receives a second message indicating that sending data is allowed for the session as described in paragraphs 0273-0274), wherein the second notification corresponds to successful verification of the user equipment by an authenticating entity (i.e., the PGW-C performs an authentication-authorization (AA) procedure (e.g., the pending AA) by sending a AA request message to the UAS NS as shown in Fig. 22, and as described in paragraph 0271) utilizing a service level device identity that is different than a subscriber identity used by the user equipment to access the communication network (i.e., the CAA-level UAV identifier is different from the identity of the WD such as IMEI that is used to access the communication network as described in paragraph 0226. The authentication/authorization procedure is performed based on the use of the CAA- UAV identity to identify the wireless device inside the AA server or the aviation domain as described in paragraphs 0229-0233);
wherein the user equipment of the uncrewed aerial system refrains from initiating an uplink data transfer to the data network between receipt of the first notification and receipt of the second notification (i.e., the WD is not allowed to send data packets between receiving the AA pending message and AA complete message as shown in Fig. 25, and as described in paragraphs 0269-0273).
Ryu, however, does not expressly disclose the remaining features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Zhou discloses device, system, and method using EAP for external authentication. Zhou also discloses:
send, to the user equipment from the communication network, authentication information originating from the authenticating entity, the authentication information being carried in protocol configuration options (PCO) (i.e., the external authentication/authorization server returns an authorization result and related data to the GGSN/PDN GW through an authentication message. In turn, the GGSN/PDN GW includes the authentication results and related data in PCO to be returned to the UE as described in paragraphs 0005, 0014, 0027-0028. Also, see step 214-217 of Fig. 2 and its descriptions in paragraphs 0086-0088); and
based on the authentication information, transmit, from the communication network using uplink NAS transport (i.e., using uplink NAS in step 220 of Fig. 2), an authentication response to the authenticating entity (i.e., transmitting from UE to mobility management unit a bearer update response message 220 based on the authentication information 217 as described in paragraphs 0088-0090).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to implement authentication and authorization by an external authentication and authorization server via a GGSN/PDN GW in a process of connecting the UE to the EPS via a 3GPP access.
Regarding claims 13, and 18, Ryu and Zhou disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the communication network comprises at least one of a 4G network architecture and a 5G network architecture (i.e., 4G & 5G network as described in paragraphs 0236-0237.).
Regarding claims 14, and 19, Ryu and Zhou disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the authenticating entity comprises a Data Network – Authentication, Authorization and Accounting (DN-AAA) server (i.e., UAS- NF and AA server as shown in Fig. 19, and as described in paragraphs 0236-0237).
Regarding claims 15, and 20, Ryu and Zhou disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the authenticating entity comprises a UAS Service Supplier (USS) server (i.e., UAS NF and AA server as shown in Fig. 19, and as described in paragraphs 0236-0237).
Regarding claim 22, Ryu and Zhou disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the service level device identity comprises a Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) level identifier (i.e., CCA-level UAV identifier as described in paragraph 0226).
Regarding claim 24, Ryu and Zhou disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to provide, to the communication network, the service level device identity (i.e., the wireless device sends an attach request message to the MME via the base station including protocol control options (PCO) and the PCO comprises the CAA-UAV identifier as described in paragraph 0238).
Regarding claim 25, Ryu and Zhou disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the service level device identity is provided to the communication network as part of an attach request (i.e., the wireless device sends an attach request message to the MME via the base station including protocol control options (PCO) and the PCO comprises the CAA-UAV identifier as described in paragraph 0238).
Regarding claim 26, Ryu and Zhou disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the service level device identity is provided in protocol configuration options included in the attach request (i.e., the wireless device sends an attach request message to the MME via the base station including protocol control options (PCO) and the PCO comprises the CAA-UAV identifier as described in paragraph 0238).
Regarding claim 27, Ryu and Zhou disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses providing, from the user equipment of the uncrewed aerial system to the communication network, an attach request comprising protocol configuration options including the service level device identity (i.e., the wireless device sends an attach request message to the MME via the base station including protocol control options (PCO) and the PCO comprises the CAA-UAV identifier as described in paragraph 0238).
Regarding claim 28, Ryu and Zhou disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to receive, from the user equipment, an attach request, the attach request comprising protocol configuration options including the service level device identity (i.e., the wireless device sends an attach request message to the MME via the base station including protocol control options (PCO) and the PCO comprises the CAA-UAV identifier as described in paragraph 0238).
Regarding claim 29, Ryu and Zhou disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ryu also discloses receiving, at the communication network from the user equipment, an attach request comprising protocol configuration options including the service level device identity (i.e., the wireless device sends an attach request message to the MME via the base station including protocol control options (PCO) and the PCO comprises the CAA-UAV identifier as described in paragraph 0238).
Conclusion
/Wayne H Cai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644