DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pehlke (2022/0103193).
Regarding claim 1, Pehlke discloses a front-end circuit [e.g. figs. 4-5] configured to support cellular vehicle-to-everything (C-V2X) technology, comprising: a directional coupler [e.g. 51, the line under 42/53/42] having a first port [e.g. the right terminal] for coupling to an antenna [e.g. ANT] and having a second port [e.g. the lower terminal of 51]; and a three-way delta switch [e.g. switching circuitry 55, 56,59 (or 57-59/see 46-47), a three-way delta switch is interpreted as a three-way switch as the “delta switch” is not a common technical term, the specification does not describe the difference between a (three-way) switch and a (three-way) delta switch, and the description of a delta switch looks like a description of a switch] configured to selectively couple any two of a first port [e.g. the node between 51 and 56 (or the upper left/right terminal of 46)] of the three-way delta switch, a second port [e.g. CPL1/CPL2] of the three-way delta switch, and a third port [e.g. CPL2/CPL1] of the three-way delta switch together, wherein the first port of the three-way delta switch is directly connected to the second port of the directional coupler and wherein the third port of the three-way delta switch is for coupling to a receive path for detection of a stationary object [this is considered as the intentional use, as a stationary object is not part of front-end circuit]. Also see claim 11.
Regarding claim 2, Pehlke discloses the front-end circuit of claim 1, wherein the stationary object comprises a toll tag reader [this is considered as the intentional use] or is associated with an electronic payment system [this is considered as the intentional use].
.
Regarding claim 9, Pehlke discloses the front-end circuit of claim 1, wherein the front-end circuit is configured to support concurrent stationary object detection and C-V2X reception [there is no delay processing circuit].
Regarding claim 23, Pehlke discloses the front-end circuit of claim 1, wherein no switch besides the three-way delta switch is coupled between the second port of the directional coupler, the second port of the three-way delta switch, and the third port of the three-way delta switch [ e.g. the directional coupler comprises switch(es) 52/53, see at least figs. 4-5 Pehlke].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pehlke (2022/0103193) in view of Sagesaka (US 2019/0116462).
Regarding claim 5, Pehlke discloses the front-end circuit of claim 1, further comprising: a radio frequency (RF) switch having a first port [e.g. a first terminal, e.g. one of the input/output terminals] coupled to a third port of the directional coupler, a second port [e.g. a first terminal, e.g. a second one of the input/output terminals] for coupling to a transmit path, and a third port. Pehlke does not disclose the second port for coupling to a transmit path for C-V2X and the third port coupled to a low noise amplifier and for coupling to a first receive path for C-V2X. However, Sagesaka discloses a second port for coupling to a transmit path for C-V2X and a third port coupled to a low noise amplifier [LNA 1144] and for coupling to a first receive path for C-V2X [see SW in 114 fig. 6]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke in accordance with the teaching of Sagesaka regarding V2X in order to provide autonomous driving [para. 0082].
Regarding claim 6, the combination discussed above discloses the front-end circuit of claim 5, wherein the RF switch has a fourth port [e.g. the SW 41 has at least 4 terminals for each antenna; SW in 112 fig. 6 Sagesaka] coupled to another low noise amplifier [LNA 1124] and for coupling to a second receive path for C-V2X. The combination does not explicitly disclose another low noise amplifier.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discussed above discloses the front-end circuit of claim 5, wherein the RF switch has a fourth port coupled to an input of an RF filter [e.g. 43A/43B] and another low noise amplifier [it’s well known to utilize a well-known LNA for a received path to amplifier a received signal; the official notice of the forgoing fact is taken], the RF filter having an output coupled [the limitation is “coupled”] to the third port of the RF switch.
Regarding claim 8, the combination discussed above discloses the front-end circuit of claim 5, wherein the first port of the directional coupler is an input port of the directional coupler, wherein the second port of the directional coupler is a coupled port of the directional coupler, and wherein the third port of the directional coupler is a transmitted port [a port receiving transmitted signals; see at least figs. 4-5 Pehlke] of the directional coupler.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pehlke (2022/0103193) in view of Dani et al. (US 2019/0131721).
Regarding claim 10, Pehlke discloses the front-end circuit of claim 1, the antenna [e.g. ANT/ANT1] coupled to the first port of the directional coupler, or another antenna [e.g. ANT2] coupled to the second port of the three-way delta switch. Pehlke does not disclose a vehicle. However, it’s well known for the front-end circuit to be in a car. For example, Dani discloses a front-end circuit in a car [see at least figures, paras. 0025-0032]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke in accordance with the teaching of Dani regarding millimeter wave applications [paras. 0072, 0082, 0088-0090] in order to provide autonomous driving [para. 0082].
Claims 11, 13-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pehlke (2022/0103193) in view of Dani et al. (US 2019/0131721) and Sternowski (US 9,397,722).
Regarding claim 11, Pehlke discloses a method [e.g. fig. 4-5] of wireless communication supporting cellular vehicle-to-everything (C-V2X), the method comprising: receiving a first radio frequency (RF) signal with an antenna [e.g. ANT1/ANT2]; routing the received first RF signal to a first port [e.g. the right terminal] of a directional coupler [e.g. 42, the line under 42]; coupling a portion of the received first RF signal to a second port [e.g. the left/right terminal of the line under 42; or the lower terminal of 51] of the directional coupler; routing the coupled portion of the first RF signal from a first port [e.g. the node between 51 and 56; the upper left/right terminal of 46; the upper input terminal of SW51/53; or a upper input terminal of SW44A/44B)] of a delta switch to a second port [e.g. CPL1/CPL2] of the delta switch; processing the coupled portion of the first RF signal; receiving a second RF signal [e.g. a received signal via another antenna (ANT2/ANT1; or see at least paras. 0014, 0086)] at a third port [e.g. the left or right terminal of the line under 42] of the directional coupler; coupling a portion of the received second RF signal to the second port of the directional coupler; and routing the coupled portion of the second RF signal from the first port of the delta switch to a third port [e.g. CPL2/CPL1] of the delta switch; and transmitting [e.g. the coupler/the coupler switching circuitry 50, one of 61-66 fig. 6, or see figs. 10/11 corresponding to fig. 9] the coupled portion of the second RF signal via another antenna [e.g. ANT2/ANT1; or see at least paras. 0014, 0086] coupled to the third port of the delta switch. Please also see rejection of claim 1. Pehlke does not disclose to detect a stationary object. However, Dani discloses to detect a stationary object [see at least paras. 0082, 0088-0090].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke in accordance with the teaching of Dani regarding millimeter wave applications [paras. 0072, 0082, 0088-0090] in order to provide accurate object detection/classification [para. 0082].
The combination does not explicitly disclose transmitting the coupled portion of the second RF signal via another antenna. However, transmitting a (coupled) portion of a RF signal via an/another antenna is well within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art. For example, Sternowski discloses transmitting a (coupled) portion of a RF signal via an/another antenna [see Col. 3, lines 13-31, fig. 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke and Dani in accordance with the teaching of Sternowski regarding an antenna system [title] to help transmit a (coupled) portion of a signal.
Regarding claim 13, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising controlling a RF switch to route the second RF signal from a transmit path for C-V2X [see at least paras. 0072, 0082, 0088-0090 Dani] to the third port of the directional coupler.
Regarding claim 14, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the first port of the directional coupler is an input port of the directional coupler, wherein the second port of the directional coupler is a coupled port of the directional coupler, and wherein the third port of the directional coupler is a transmitted port of the directional coupler.
Regarding claim 15, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising controlling the RF switch to route a remaining portion of the received first RF signal to a first receive path [e.g. one of throws] for C-V2X.
Regarding claim 16, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising controlling the RF switch to route another portion of the received first RF signal to a second receive path [e.g. the path to the receiver/another one of throws, also see para. 0082 Dani] for C-V2X.
Regarding claim 18, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 15, wherein detection of the stationary object is performed concurrently with C-V2X reception via the first receive path [there is no delay processing circuit].
Regarding claim 19, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 11, wherein detection of the stationary object is performed concurrently with C-V2X reception [there is no delay processing circuit].
Regarding claim 24, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising routing [e.g. 59/47] a third RF signal [e.g. a coupled power signal, see at least paras. 0113, 0011-0013, 0053] from the second port of the delta switch to the third port of the delta switch.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21-22 is allowed. Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-3, 9 and 23, Applicant argues:
‘Pehlke explicitly teaches
FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a radio frequency coupler 42 and a coupler
switching circuit 50 according to an embodiment. The coupler switching circuit SO includes a plurality of switches 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, and 59. The switches 51 to 59 of the coupler switching circuit 50 can be controlled by a control circuit to provide various connections between the radio frequency coupler 42 and the
input/output ports CPL1 and CPL2... Pehlke, para. [0122] (emphasis added). From this description of FIG. 5, switch 51 (or switch 53) is part of the coupler switching circuit 50 of Pehlke and is clearly not part of the radio frequency coupler 42. Consequently, the Examiner cannot arbitrarily lump switch 51 in with the coupler 42 to teach the recited "directional coupler." Therefore, because there is an intervening component (switch 51 or 53) between a port of the coupler 42 and what the Examiner considers as the recited "delta switch" (either switches 55, 56, and 59 or switches 57-59), FIG. 5 of Pehlke does not teach that "the first port of the three-way delta switch is directly connected to the second port of the directional coupler" as recited in claim 1 (emphasis added). See, e.g., Specification, para. [0022] ("As used herein, the term "connected with" in the various tenses of the verb "connect" may mean that element A is directly connected to element B or that other elements may be connected between elements A and B," logically indicating that "directly connected to" means no elements connected between elements A and B).
Similarly, even assuming arguendo that the combination of the power output switch 46 and the bypass switch 47 of Pehlke can be considered as the recited "three-way delta switch," the power output switch 46 and the bypass switch 47 of Pehlke are coupled to the radio frequency coupler 42A and the radio frequency coupler 42B through output switches 44A and 44B, respectively, (see FIG. 4A, which has been excerpted below for the Examiner's convenience).
Therefore, because there is an intervening component (switch 44A or 44B) between a port of the coupler 42A or 42B and what the Examiner considers as the recited "delta switch" (the combination of switches 46 and 47), FIG. 4A of Pehlke also fails to teach that "the first port of the three-way delta switch is directly connected to the second port of the directional coupler" as recited in claim 1 (emphasis added).
For at least the reasons presented above, Pehlke does not teach each and every element of claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant contends that claim 1 and claims dependent thereon are allowable over Pehlke and respectfully requests withdrawal of this rejection.’
However, the matched directional coupler comprises switch(es) 51/53, such that the second port of the directional coupler is matched the bottom terminal of 51, for example. In addition, a first port of the three-way delta switch is matched to the node between 51 and 56 (or the upper left/right terminal of 46). Therefore, Pehlke discloses the first port of the three-way delta switch is directly connected to the second port of the directional coupler.
Regarding claim 11, Applicant argues:
‘Paragraphs [0014] and [0086] of Pehlke refer to "one or more antennas" and "multiple antennas," respectively, but say nothing about how these antennas are connected, much less to the coupler switching circuit or the input/output ports of Pehlke. Furthermore, the Examiner relies on input/output port CPL2 or CPL1 as teaching the recited "third port of the delta switch." FOA, p. 7. However, as shown in FIG. 4A of Pehlke, ANT1 is coupled to radio frequency coupler 42B, terminal and output switch 44B, and one terminal of coupled power output switch 46, whereas ANT2 is coupled to radio frequency coupler 42A, terminal and output switch 44A, and a different terminal of switch 46. Neither ANT1 nor ANT2 is connected to CPL1 or CPL2. Thus, there is no way to route a signal from one of the top two terminals of switch 46 (considered by the Examiner as a first port of the delta switch) to CPL2/CPL1 (considered by the Examiner as the third port of the delta switch) and transmit this signal via ANT1 or ANT2. FOA, p. 6-7.
For at least these reasons, Pehlke does not teach "coupling a portion of the received second RF signal to the second port of the directional coupler; routing the coupled portion of the second RF signal from the first port of the delta switch to a third port of the delta switch; and transmitting the coupled portion of the second RF signal via another antenna coupled to the third port of the delta switch" as recited in claim 11 (emphasis added).’
However, fig. 4A shows ANT1 is coupled to radio frequency coupler 42B, switch 44B, switch 46, and CPL1/CPL2; and fig. 5 shows switch 51 is coupled to switch 55/56, and CPL1/CPL2. See at least para. 0122, “The switches 51 to 59 of the coupler switching circuit 50 can be controlled by a control circuit to provide various connections between the radio frequency coupler 42 and the input/output ports CPL1 and CPL2 and between the input/output ports CPL1 and CPL2.” Accordingly, Pehlke discloses "coupling a portion of the received second RF signal to the second port of the directional coupler; routing the coupled portion of the second RF signal from the first port of the delta switch to a third port of the delta switch;”.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the phrase, “transmitting the coupled portion of the second RF signal via another antenna coupled to the third port of the delta switch”, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection rely on a new reference, which was not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836