DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pehlke (2022/0103193).
Regarding claim 1, Pehlke discloses a front-end circuit [e.g. figs. 4-5] configured to support cellular vehicle-to-everything (C-V2X) technology, comprising: a directional coupler [e.g. 42/the line under 42, 51] having a first port [e.g. the right terminal] for coupling to an antenna [e.g. ANT] and having a second port [e.g. the bottom terminal of 51]; and a three-way delta switch [e.g. switching circuitry 55, 56,59 (or 57-59/see 46-47), a three-way delta switch is interpreted as a three-way switch as the “delta switch” is not a common technical term, the specification does not describe the difference between a (three-way) switch and a (three-way) delta switch, and the description of a delta switch looks like a description of a switch] configured to selectively couple any two of a first port [e.g. the node between 51 and 56 (or the top left/right terminal of 46)] of the three-way delta switch, a second port [e.g. CPL1/CPL2] of the three-way delta switch, and a third port [e.g. CPL2/CPL1] of the three-way delta switch together, wherein the first port of the three-way delta switch is directly coupled to the second port of the directional coupler and wherein the third port of the three-way delta switch is for coupling to a receive path for detection of a stationary object [this is considered as the intentional use, as a stationary object is not part of front-end circuit]. Also see claim 11.
Regarding claim 2, Pehlke discloses the front-end circuit of claim 1, wherein the stationary object comprises a toll tag reader [this is considered as the intentional use].
Regarding claim 3, Pehlke discloses the front-end circuit of claim 1, wherein the stationary object is associated with an electronic payment system [this is considered as the intentional use].
Regarding claim 9, Pehlke discloses the front-end circuit of claim 1, wherein the front-end circuit is configured to support concurrent stationary object detection and C-V2X reception [there is no delay processing circuit].
Regarding claim 23, Pehlke discloses the front-end circuit of claim 1, wherein no switch besides the three-way delta switch is coupled between the second port of the directional coupler, the second port of the three-way delta switch, and the third port of the three-way delta switch see at least figs. 4-5 Pehlke].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pehlke (2022/0103193) in view of Sagesaka (US 2019/0116462).
Regarding claim 5, Pehlke discloses the front-end circuit of claim 1, further comprising: a radio frequency (RF) switch having a first port [e.g. a first terminal, e.g. one of the input/output terminals] coupled to a third port of the directional coupler, a second port [e.g. a first terminal, e.g. a second one of the input/output terminals] for coupling to a transmit path, and a third port. Pehlke does not disclose the second port for coupling to a transmit path for C-V2X and the third port coupled to a low noise amplifier and for coupling to a first receive path for C-V2X. However, Sagesaka discloses a second port for coupling to a transmit path for C-V2X and a third port coupled to a low noise amplifier [LNA 1144] and for coupling to a first receive path for C-V2X [see SW in 114 fig. 6]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke in accordance with the teaching of Sagesaka regarding V2X in order to provide autonomous driving [para. 0082].
Regarding claim 6, the combination discussed above discloses the front-end circuit of claim 5, wherein the RF switch has a fourth port [e.g. the SW 41 has at least 4 terminals for each antenna; SW in 112 fig. 6 Sagesaka] coupled to another low noise amplifier [LNA 1124] and for coupling to a second receive path for C-V2X. The combination does not explicitly disclose another low noise amplifier.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discussed above discloses the front-end circuit of claim 5, wherein the RF switch has a fourth port coupled to an input of an RF filter [e.g. 43A/43B] and another low noise amplifier [it’s well known to utilize a well-known LNA for a received path to amplifier a received signal; the official notice of the forgoing fact is taken], the RF filter having an output coupled [the limitation is “coupled”] to the third port of the RF switch.
Regarding claim 8, the combination discussed above discloses the front-end circuit of claim 5, wherein the first port of the directional coupler is an input port of the directional coupler, wherein the second port of the directional coupler is a coupled port of the directional coupler, and wherein the third port of the directional coupler is a transmitted port [a port receiving transmitted signals; see at least figs. 4-5 Pehlke] of the directional coupler.
Claims 10-11, 13-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pehlke (2022/0103193) in view of Dani et al. (US 2019/0131721).
Regarding claim 10, Pehlke discloses the front-end circuit of claim 1, the vehicle further comprising the antenna coupled to the first port of the directional coupler. Pehlke does not disclose a vehicle. However, it’s well known for the front-end circuit to be in a car. For example, Dani discloses a front-end circuit in a car [see at least figures, paras. 0025-0032]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke in accordance with the teaching of Dani regarding millimeter wave applications [paras. 0072, 0082, 0088-0090] in order to provide autonomous driving [para. 0082].
Regarding claim 11, Pehlke discloses a method [e.g. fig. 4-5] of wireless communication supporting cellular vehicle-to-everything (C-V2X), the method comprising: receiving a first radio frequency (RF) signal with an antenna [e.g. ANT1/ANT2]; routing the received first RF signal to a first port [e.g. the right terminal] of a directional coupler [e.g. 42, the line under 42]; coupling a portion of the received first RF signal to a second port [e.g. the left/right terminal of the line under 42; or the bottom terminal of 51] of the directional coupler; routing the coupled portion of the first RF signal from a first port [e.g. the node between 51 and 56; the top left/right terminal of 46; the top input terminal of SW51/53; or a top input terminal of SW44A/44B)] of a delta switch to a second port [e.g. CPL1/CPL2] of the delta switch; processing the coupled portion of the first RF signal; receiving a second RF signal [e.g. a received signal via another antenna (ANT2/ANT1; or see at least paras. 0014, 0086)] at a third port [e.g. the left or right terminal of the line under 42] of the directional coupler; coupling a portion of the received second RF signal to the second port of the directional coupler; and routing the coupled portion of the second RF signal from the first port of the delta switch to a third port [e.g. CPL2/CPL1] of the delta switch; and routing [e.g. 59/47] a third RF signal [e.g. a coupled power signal, see at least paras. 0113, 0011-0013, 0053] from the second port of the delta switch to the third port of the delta switch; and transmitting [e.g. the coupler/the coupler switching circuitry 50, one of 61-66 fig. 6, or see figs. 10/11 corresponding to fig. 9] the coupled portion of the second RF signal via another antenna [e.g. ANT2/ANT1; or see at least paras. 0014, 0086] coupled to the third port of the delta switch. Please also see rejection of claim 1. Pehlke does not disclose to detect a stationary object. However, Dani discloses to detect a stationary object [see at least paras. 0082, 0088-0090].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke in accordance with the teaching of Dani regarding millimeter wave applications [paras. 0072, 0082, 0088-0090] in order to provide accurate object detection/classification [para. 0082].
Regarding claim 13, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising controlling a RF switch to route the second RF signal from a transmit path for C-V2X [see at least paras. 0072, 0082, 0088-0090 Dani] to the third port of the directional coupler.
Regarding claim 14, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the first port of the directional coupler is an input port of the directional coupler, wherein the second port of the directional coupler is a coupled port of the directional coupler, and wherein the third port of the directional coupler is a transmitted port of the directional coupler.
Regarding claim 15, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising controlling the RF switch to route a remaining portion of the received first RF signal to a first receive path [e.g. one of throws] for C-V2X.
Regarding claim 16, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising controlling the RF switch to route another portion of the received first RF signal to a second receive path [e.g. the path to the receiver/another one of throws, also see para. 0082 Dani] for C-V2X.
Regarding claim 18, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 15, wherein detection of the stationary object is performed concurrently with C-V2X reception via the first receive path [there is no delay processing circuit].
Regarding claim 19, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 11, wherein detection of the stationary object is performed concurrently with C-V2X reception [there is no delay processing circuit].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is allowed. Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues:
‘Specifically, the Examiner relies on switches 55, 56, and 59, switches 57-59, or the power output switch 46 and the bypass switch 47 (together implementing a coupler switching circuit) of Pehlke to correspond to the claimed "three-way delta switch" (pages 3 and 10-11 of the Office Action). The Examiner also relies on the radio frequency coupler 42 of Pehlke to correspond to the claimed "directional coupler." However, Pehlke is silent with respect to a "delta switch," and especially to a "three-way delta switch." That is, Pehlke fails to teach or suggest that any of switches 55, 56, and 59, switches 57-59, or the power output switch 46 and the bypass switch 47 (or any other switches in Pehlke) are or form a delta switch, let alone a three-way delta switch.
Additionally, even if, arguendo, the switches 55, 56, and 59, switches 57-59, or the power output switch 46 and the bypass switch 47 are considered a delta switch, which Applicant does not concede, none of the switches 55, 56, and 59, switches 57-59, or the power output switch 46 and the bypass switch 47 have a port that is "directly coupled to" a port of the radio frequency coupler 42 (used to correspond to the claimed "directional coupler") (emphasis added). Instead, Pehlke teaches that the switches 55, 56, and 59 are coupled to the radio frequency coupler 42 via switch 51, switch 54, and termination impedance 45A (see FIG. 5, which has been excerpted below for the Examiner's convenience). Similarly, Pehlke teaches that the switches 57-59 are coupled to the radio frequency coupler 42 via switch 53, switch 52, and termination impedance 45B (see FIG. 5). In addition, the power output switch 46 and the bypass switch 47 of Pehlke are coupled to the radio frequency coupler 42A and the radio frequency coupler 42B through termination impedances 45A- 45D and output switches 44A and 44B (see FIG. 4A, which has been excerpted below for the Examiner's convenience).
Consequently, none of the switches 55, 56, and 59, switches 57-59, or the power output switch 46 and the bypass switch 47 of Pehike can be considered a "three-way delta switch configured to selectively couple any two of a first port of the three-way delta switch, a second port of the three-way delta switch," where the "the first port of the three-way delta switch is directly coupled to the second port of the directional coupler"(emphasis added).Thus, Pehike does not anticipate or suggest "a three-way delta switch configured to selectively couple any two of a first port of the three-way delta switch, a second port of the three-way delta switch, and a third port of the three-way delta switch together, wherein the first port of the three-way delta switch is directly coupled to the second port of the directional coupler and wherein the third port of the three-way delta switch is for coupling to a receive path for detection of a stationary object," as recited in amended independent claim 1.’
However, a three-way delta switch is interpreted as a three-way switch because the “delta switch” is not a common technical term, the specification does not describe the difference between a (three-way) switch and a (three-way) delta switch, and the description of a delta switch looks like a description of a switch.
In addition, Pehlke discloses a three-way delta switch [e.g. switching circuitry 55, 56,59 (or 57-59/see 46-47)] configured to selectively couple any two of a first port [e.g. the node between 51 and 56 (or the top left/right terminal of 46)] of the three-way delta switch, a second port [e.g. CPL1/CPL2] of the three-way delta switch, and a third port [e.g. CPL2/CPL1] of the three-way delta switch together, wherein the first port of the delta switch is coupled to the second port of the directional coupler and wherein the third port of the three-way delta switch is for coupling to a receive path for detection of a stationary object [this is considered as the intentional use, as a stationary object is not part of front-end circuit]. Furthermore, switches 51, 53 and 55-59 fig. 5 can be the detailed view of switches 46-47 fig. 4A.
Furthermore, switches 46-47, 55-56,59 or 57-59 can be considered a "three-way delta switch” configured to selectively couple any two of a first port of the three-way delta switch, a second port of the three-way delta switch, and a third port of the three-way delta switch together, wherein the first port of the three-way delta switch is coupled to the second port of the directional coupler and wherein the third port of the three-way delta switch is for coupling to a receive path for detection of a stationary object.
Consequently, Pehlke discloses a directional coupler [e.g. 42/the line under 42, 51] having a first port [e.g. the right terminal] for coupling to an antenna [e.g. ANT] and having a second port [e.g. the bottom terminal of 51]; and a three-way delta switch [e.g. switching circuitry 55, 56,59 (or 57-59/see 46-47), a three-way delta switch is interpreted as a three-way switch as the “delta switch” is not a common technical term, the specification does not describe the difference between a (three-way) switch and a (three-way) delta switch, and the description of a delta switch looks like a description of a switch] configured to selectively couple any two of a first port [e.g. the node between 51 and 56 (or the top left/right terminal of 46)] of the three-way delta switch, a second port [e.g. CPL1/CPL2] of the three-way delta switch, and a third port [e.g. CPL2/CPL1] of the three-way delta switch together, wherein the first port of the three-way delta switch is directly coupled to the second port of the directional coupler.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 5 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection rely on a new reference, Sagesaka (US 2019/0116462), which was not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claim 11, Applicant argues: ‘The Examiner relies on FIGs. 10 and 11 of Pehlke to teach the pre-amended features of claim 11 (pages 5-6 of the Office Action). However, Pehlke is silent with respect to "transmitting the coupled portion of the second RF signal via another antenna coupled to the third port of the delta switch" (emphasis added). Dani fails to cure the deficiencies of Pehlke.’
However, Pehlke discloses receiving a second RF signal [e.g. a received signal via another antenna (ANT2/ANT1; or see at least paras. 0014, 0086)] at a third port [e.g. the left or right terminal of the line under 42] of the directional coupler; coupling a portion of the received second RF signal to the second port of the directional coupler; and routing the coupled portion of the second RF signal from the first port of the delta switch to a third port [e.g. CPL2/CPL1] of the delta switch; and routing [e.g. 59/47] a third RF signal [e.g. a coupled power signal, see at least paras. 0113, 0011-0013, 0053] from the second port of the delta switch to the third port of the delta switch; and transmitting [e.g. the coupler/the coupler switching circuitry 50, one of 61-66 fig. 6, or see figs. 10/11 corresponding to fig. 9] the coupled portion of the second RF signal via another antenna [e.g. ANT2/ANT1; or see at least paras. 0014, 0086] coupled to the third port of the delta switch. Please also see rejection of claim 1. Pehlke does not disclose to detect a stationary object. However, Dani discloses to detect a stationary object [see at least paras. 0082, 0088-0090].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Pehlke in accordance with the teaching of Dani regarding millimeter wave applications [paras. 0072, 0082, 0088-0090] in order to provide accurate object detection/classification [para. 0082].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842