DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the subject matter of claim 2, “a supporting plate that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the driving mechanism” wherein the emphasized portion has been further amended the language from “driving mechanism support” to “supporting plate”. Applicant argues that the prior art of record, Vellore et al (US 2021002844 A1), does not support the actuator 602 using a supporting plate. Vellore ¶0040 states “carrier FOUP 187D having nine shelves 402 is shown in FIG. 4A, but the carrier FOUP 187D may have more or less than nine shelves 402”, indicating that the FOUPs 187 are supported by shelves 402. Figure 4A is inserted here for ease of reference.
¶0037 states “FIGS. 4A and 4B are an internal side view and an internal top view of the carrier FOUP 187D according to one embodiment. A carrier 302 is aligned and positioned in a predetermined orientation and a position in the carrier FOUP 187D by a hardware design”, FIGs 4A and 4B depict these carriers 302 as being incorporated in FOUP 187D and are supported by shelves 402. FIG 6 illustrates the configuration of charging station 190, including actuator 602. Recalling FIG 1 we see charging station 190 containing FOUPs 187A-187D, the relevant portion of FIG 1 has been inserted here for ease of reference, each FOUP comprising the structure of FIG 6 indicating that actuator 602 is supported by FOUP 187 and in turn is also supported by shelves 402.
Applicant's arguments filed 5 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as detailed above.
Claims 1, 5-7, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable overclaims 1-4 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11984332 B2 in view of Vellore et al (US 20210028044 A1), applicant has amended claim 1 to incorporate the subject matter of claim 2 and replace the phrase “driving mechanism support” with “supporting plate”. As detailed above, Vellore does have shelves 402 supporting the actuator 602, which would qualify as the supporting plate supporting the driving mechanism. Further, in the Non-Final Rejection claim 2 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Vellore.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-7, and 12 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11984332 B2 in view of Vellore et al (US 20210028044 A1).
Regarding claim 1 of application 17817091 contains the structure as claim 2 of US Patent 11984332 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as detailed below in a side-by-side comparison of limitations from application 17817091 and US Patent 11984332 B1 are detailed below, with the overlapping portions.
Application 17817091
US Patent 11984332 B1
An accommodation container that accommodates a substrate-shaped sensor, the accommodation container comprising
A container for a substrate-like sensor including a terminal, the container comprising:
a container body that has an opening
a main body having an opening
a support that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the substrate-shaped sensor
a support disposed in the main body and configured to support the substrate-like sensor
contact pin that is disposed inside the container body and configured to come into contact with a terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor;
an energizable contact pin disposed in the main body and configured to contact the terminal of the substrate-like sensor;
a driving mechanism that is disposed inside
the container body and configured to drive
the contact pin;
a drive mechanism configured to drive the
energizable contact pin;
a supporting plate that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the driving mechanism;
a rotation shaft member that drives the
driving mechanism from an outside of the container body;
a jack that is disposed outside the container
body and electrically connected to the contact
pin;
a jack disposed outside the main body and
electrically connected to the energizable
contact pin, such that a charging voltage from
the jack is permitted to be applied to the
terminal of the substrate-like sensor through
the energizable contact pin;
and a lid that is configured to close the of the container body.
and a cover for allowing the opening of the
main body to be closed.
US Patent 11984332 B1 does not claim “a supporting plate that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the driving mechanism” nor "a rotation shaft member that drives the driving mechanism from an outside of the container body".
Vellore teaches an accommodation container that accommodates a substrate-shaped sensor, the accommodation container comprising a supporting plate that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the driving mechanism; (¶0037 “ The carrier 302 is placed on a shelf 402 and oriented such that the flat portions 304 are aligned against the sidewalls 404 and the notch 306 is aligned with the protrusion 406 on the shelf 402”)
and a rotation shaft member that drives the driving mechanism from an outside of the container body. (¶0021 "[FIG 1] The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. The factory interface robot 185 may be capable of linear and rotational movement illustrated by arrows 182")
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have modified the claims of US 11984332 B1 to recite a supporting plate that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the driving mechanism and a rotation shaft member that drives the driving mechanism from an outside of the container body for the purpose of minimizing impurities and ensuring uniform crystal growth during wafer production.
Similarly as applied to a charging method for claim 12.
Regarding claim 5, application 17817091 contains the structure as claim 2 of US Patent 11984332 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as detailed below in a side-by-side comparison of limitations from application 17817091 and US Patent 11984332 B1 are detailed below, with the overlapping portions.
Application 17817091
US Patent 11984332 B1
The accommodation container according to
claim 3, (Claim 3 is dependent upon claim 1)
The container according to claim 1,
further comprising a switch that is disposed
outside the container body and electrically
connected to the contact pin.
further comprising a switch disposed outside
the main body and electrically connected to
the energizable contact pin
Regarding claim 6, application 17817091 contains the structure as claim 3 of US Patent 11984332 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as detailed below in a side-by-side comparison of limitations from application 17817091 and US Patent 11984332 B1 are detailed below, with the overlapping portions.
Application 17817091
US Patent 11984332 B1
The accommodation container according to
claim 5, (dependent upon claim 1)
The container according to claim 1,
wherein the terminal portion of the substrate-
shaped sensor is provided on an upper
surface of the substrate-shaped sensor,
wherein the terminal of the substrate-
like sensor is disposed on the front side of
the substrate-like sensor,
and the support includes a support member
that supports the substrate-shaped sensor at
a back surface position corresponding to a
position where the terminal portion of the
substrate-shaped sensor is provided.
and wherein the support includes a
supporting member for supporting the back
side of the substrate-like sensor at a location
at which the terminal of the substrate-
like sensor is provided.
Regarding claim 7, application 17817091 contains the structure as claim 4 of US Patent 11984332 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as detailed below in a side-by-side comparison of limitations from application 17817091 and US Patent 11984332 B1 are detailed below, with the overlapping portions.
Application 17817091
US Patent 11984332 B1
The accommodation container according to
claim 5, (dependent upon claim 1)
The container according to claim 1,
wherein the accommodation container is
configured to be attached to a load port that
is configured such that a carrier that
accommodates a substrate is attachable.
wherein the container is configured to be
attached to a load port on which a carrier for
accommodating a substrate is mountable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vellore et al (US 20210028044 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Vellore teaches an accommodation container that accommodates a substrate-shaped sensor, (¶0017 "FIG. 1 illustrates a processing system 100 for processing a substrate (e.g., a wafer) according to one or more embodiments")
the accommodation container comprising: a container body that has an opening; (¶0027 " A carrier and the carrier FOUP 187D may have any suitable structural features that are used to align and position the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D. An example of a carrier and the carrier FOUP 187D is described below in relation to FIGS. 3, 4A, and 4B")
a support that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the substrate-shaped sensor; (¶0040 "carrier FOUP 187D having nine shelves 402 is shown in FIG. 4A, but the carrier FOUP 187D may have more or less than nine shelves 402. ")
a contact pin that is disposed inside the container body and configured to come into contact with a terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor; (¶0044 "FIG. 6 illustrates a portion of the charging station 190 including an actuator 602. The actuator 602 includes pins 604 and pins 606.")
a driving mechanism that is disposed inside the container body and configured to drive the contact pin; (¶0044 "The actuator 602 may move the pins 604 and 606 toward and away from and the chuck 502.")
a supporting plate that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the driving mechanism; (¶0037 “ The carrier 302 is placed on a shelf 402 and oriented such that the flat portions 304 are aligned against the sidewalls 404 and the notch 306 is aligned with the protrusion 406 on the shelf 402”)
a rotation shaft member that drives the driving mechanism from an outside of the container body; (¶0021 "[FIG 1] The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. The factory interface robot 185 may be capable of linear and rotational movement illustrated by arrows 182.")
a jack that is disposed outside the container body and electrically connected to the contact pin; (controller 150 as detailed in ¶0025 "The controller 150 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 152, a memory 154, and support circuits 156. The CPU 152 may be any general purpose computer processor that may be utilized in an industrial environment", ¶0028 "the factory interface robot 185 transfers the carrier to the charging station 190 are controlled by the controller 150 based on the predetermined orientation and location of the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D")
and a lid that is configured to close the opening of the container body. (FIG 1, ¶0021 "The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. ¶0045 "The processing chamber 700 includes a chamber body 706 covered by a lid 704 which encloses a processing region 719")
Vellore ¶0040 states “carrier FOUP 187D having nine shelves 402 is shown in FIG. 4A, but the carrier FOUP 187D may have more or less than nine shelves 402”, indicating that the FOUPs 187 are supported by shelves 402. ¶0037 states “FIGS. 4A and 4B are an internal side view and an internal top view of the carrier FOUP 187D according to one embodiment. A carrier 302 is aligned and positioned in a predetermined orientation and a position in the carrier FOUP 187D by a hardware design”, FIGs 4A and 4B depict these carriers 302 as being incorporated in FOUP 187D and are supported by shelves 402. FIG 6 illustrates the configuration of charging station 190, including actuator 602. Recalling FIG 1 we see charging station 190 containing FOUPs 187A-187D, each FOUP comprising the structure of FIG 6 indicating that actuator 602 is supported by FOUP 187 and in turn is also supported by shelves 402.
Regarding claim 3, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 1. Vellore further teaches an accommodation container wherein the supporting plate supports the driving mechanism with the driving mechanism being suspended from the supporting plate. (FIG 6 depicts actuator 602 being suspended from pins 604 and 606 which support actuator 602)
Regarding claim 4, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 1. Vellore further teaches an accommodation container wherein the supporting plate driving mechanism support supports the driving mechanism with the driving mechanism being placed on the supporting plate driving mechanism support. (FIG 6 depicts actuator 602 being suspended from pins 604 and 606 which support actuator 602)
Regarding claim 5, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 3. Vellore further teaches an accommodation container further comprising: a switch that is disposed outside the container body and electrically connected to the contact pin. (controller 150 as detailed in ¶0025 "The controller 150 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 152, a memory 154, and support circuits 156. The CPU 152 may be any general purpose computer processor that may be utilized in an industrial environment", ¶0028 "the factory interface robot 185 transfers the carrier to the charging station 190 are controlled by the controller 150 based on the predetermined orientation and location of the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D")
Regarding claim 8, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 4. Vellore further teaches an accommodation container wherein the rotation shaft member penetrates a rear surface sidewall of the container body, (¶0021 "[FIG 1] The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. The factory interface robot 185 may be capable of linear and rotational movement illustrated by arrows 182.")
the rear surface sidewall being provided on a side opposite to the lid, (¶0045 FIG. 7 is a schematic illustration of a processing chamber 700 for depositing a layer, according to one or more embodiments. The processing chamber 700 may be the processing chamber 138 shown in FIG. processing chamber 700 includes a chamber body 706 covered by a lid 704")
and the jack is provided on an outer side of the rear surface sidewall. (controller 150 as detailed in ¶0025 "The controller 150 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 152, a memory 154, and support circuits 156. The CPU 152 may be any general purpose computer processor that may be utilized in an industrial environment", ¶0028 "the factory interface robot 185 transfers the carrier to the charging station 190 are controlled by the controller 150 based on the predetermined orientation and location of the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D")
Regarding claim 9, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 4. Vellore further teaches an accommodation container wherein the rotation shaft member penetrates a side surface sidewall of the container body, (¶0021 "[FIG 1] The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. The factory interface robot 185 may be capable of linear and rotational movement illustrated by arrows 182.")
and the jack is provided on an outer side of the side surface sidewall. (controller 150 as detailed in ¶0025 "The controller 150 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 152, a memory 154, and support circuits 156. The CPU 152 may be any general purpose computer processor that may be utilized in an industrial environment", ¶0028 "the factory interface robot 185 transfers the carrier to the charging station 190 are controlled by the controller 150 based on the predetermined orientation and location of the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D")
Regarding claim 13, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 1. Vellore further teaches an accommodation container wherein the supporting plate is disposed above the contact pin in a vertical direction of the container body. (¶0037 “[FIG 4A] A carrier 302 is aligned and positioned in a predetermined orientation and a position in the carrier FOUP 187D by a hardware design. That is, the carrier 302 has flat portions 304 and a notch 306”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vellore modified by Levit et al (US 6781205 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 5. Vellore further teaches an accommodation container wherein the support includes a support member that supports the substrate-shaped sensor at a back surface position corresponding to a position where the terminal portion of the substrate- shaped sensor is provided. (¶0044 "FIG. 6 illustrates a portion of the charging station 190 including an actuator 602 The actuator 602 includes pins 604 and pins 606. The actuator 602 may move the pins 604 and 606 toward and away from and the chuck 502")
Vellore does not teach an accommodation container wherein the terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor is provided on an upper surface of the substrate-shaped sensor.
Levit teaches an accommodation container wherein the terminal portion of the substrate- shaped sensor is provided on an upper surface of the substrate-shaped sensor (FIG 1, sensor on front/top face 23 connected to terminal 16 in a FOUP).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the accommodation container as taught by Vellore wherein the terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor is provided on an upper surface of the substrate-shaped sensor as taught by Levit for the purpose of measuring/reading the charge present by the wafer thereby increasing accuracy of measurements as stated by Levit.
Regarding claim 7, Vellore as modified by Levit teaches the accommodation container according to claim 6. Vellore as modified by Levit further teaches an accommodation container wherein the accommodation container is configured to be attached to a load port that is configured such that a carrier that accommodates a substrate is attachable. (Levit FIG 1 FOUP is part of a movable factory interface)
Claim(s) 10- 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vellore
modified by Freed et al (US 20060181242 A1)
Regarding claim 10, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 5. Vellore further teaches an accommodation container wherein the rotation shaft member penetrates a rear surface sidewall of the container body, (¶0021 "[FIG 1] The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. The factory interface robot 185 may be capable of linear and rotational movement illustrated by arrows 182.")
the rear surface sidewall being provided on a side opposite to the lid, (¶0045 " FIG. 7 is a schematic illustration of a processing chamber 700 for depositing a layer, according to one or more embodiments. The processing chamber 700 may be the processing chamber 138 shown in FIG. 1... processing chamber 700 includes a chamber body 706 covered by a lid 704 ")
Vellore does not teach an accommodation container wherein the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the rear surface sidewall.
Freed teaches an accommodation container wherein the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the rear surface sidewall (¶0108 Information processor 3440 is connected with switch 3450 so as to control the opening and closing of switch 3450; this configuration provides a circuit capable of rapidly turning maintenance unit induction coil 3410 power output on and off.").
The information processor 3440 as taught by Freed is equivalent to the controller 150 as taught by Vellore, and can be interchanged with one another. In this way both the jack (controller 150/ information processor 3440) will be disposed on the rear surface wall and contain switch 3450. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the accommodation container as taught by Vellore wherein the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the rear surface sidewall as taught by Freed for the purpose of improving operability by an operator.
Regarding claim 11, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 5. Vellore further teaches an accommodation container wherein the rotation shaft member penetrates a side surface sidewall of the container body (¶0045 FIG. 7 is a schematic illustration of a processing chamber 700 for depositing a layer, according to one or more embodiments. The processing chamber 700 may be the processing chamber 138 shown in FIG. 1... processing chamber 700 includes a chamber body 706 covered by a lid 704 ").
Vellore does not teach an accommodation container wherein the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the side surface sidewall.
Freed teaches an accommodation container wherein the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the side surface sidewall (¶0108 " Information processor 3440 is connected with switch 3450 so as to control the opening and closing of switch 3450; this configuration provides a circuit capable of rapidly turning maintenance unit induction coil 3410 power output on and off.").
The information processor 3440 as taught by Freed is equivalent to the controller 150 as taught by Vellore, and can be interchanged with one another. In this way both the jack (controller 150/ information processor 3440) will be disposed on the rear surface wall and contain switch 3450. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the accommodation container as taught by Vellore wherein the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the rear surface sidewall as taught by Freed for the purpose of improving operability by an operator.
Regarding claim 12, Vellore teaches a charging method for a substrate-shaped sensor accommodated in an accommodation container (¶0017 "FIG. 1 illustrates a processing system 100 for processing a substrate (e.g., a wafer) according to one or more embodiments")
including a container body that has an opening (¶0027 A carrier and the carrier FOUP 187D may have any suitable structural features that are used to align and position the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D. An example of a carrier and the carrier FOUP 187D is described below in relation to FIGS. 3, 4A, and 4B"),
a support that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the substrate-shaped sensor (¶0040 "carrier FOUP 187D having nine shelves 402 is shown in FIG. 4A, but the carrier FOUP 187D may have more or less than nine shelves 402. "),
a contact pin that is disposed inside the container body and configured to come into contact with a terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor (¶0044 "FIG. 6 illustrates a portion of the charging station 190 including an actuator 602. The actuator 602 includes pins 604 and pins 606."),
a driving mechanism that is disposed inside the container body and configured to drive the contact pin (¶0044 "The actuator 602 may move the pins 604 and 606 toward and away from and the chuck 502."),
a rotation shaft member that drives the driving mechanism from an outside of the container body (¶0021 "[FIG 1] The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. The factory interface robot 185 may be capable of linear and rotational movement illustrated by arrows 182."),
a jack that is disposed outside the container body and electrically connected to the contact pin (controller 150 as detailed in ¶0025 "The controller 150 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 152, a memory 154, and support circuits 156. The CPU 152 may be any general purpose computer processor that may be utilized in an industrial environment", ¶0028 "he factory interface robot 185 transfers the carrier to the charging station 190 are controlled by the controller 150 based on the predetermined orientation and location of the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D"),
and a lid that is configured to close the opening of the container body (FIG 1, ¶0021 "The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. ", ¶0045 "The processing chamber 700 includes a chamber body 706 covered by a lid 704 which encloses a processing region 719"),
the charging method comprising: allowing the contact pin to come into contact with the terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor by the driving mechanism (¶0044 "FIG. 6 illustrates a portion of the charging station 190 including an actuator 602. The actuator 602 includes pins 604 and pins 606."),
and connecting a power supply to the jack (¶0046 "[FIG 7] An RF power supply 717 and a RF match 716 are coupled to the pedestal 736 for providing a bias power to the substrate 722 and the carrier 742").
Vellore does not teach a charging method comprising connecting a direct-current power supply to the jack.
Freed teaches a charging method comprising connecting a direct-current power supply to the jack (¶0027 "FIG 1... Power supply 3030 may be a standard power supply such as a rechargeable battery, a replaceable battery, a capacitor, a photoelectric cell, and a connection for accessing facility electrical power").
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the charging method as taught by Vellore to connect a direct-current power supply to the jack as taught by Freed for the purpose of allowing for faster changes in speed to the driving mechanism.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Nakaya et al (US 20190301020 A1) teaches a substrate processing control system using a chamber to form a film on the substrate on a shelf supported in the container.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859