DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 12 and dependent claim 13, applicant has further introduced new claims 14 and 15.
Spatial Separation between Shelves 402 and Actuator 602 in Vellore
Applicant argues “the actuator 602 is located at a physically remote charging station 190”, referencing figures 1, 4, and 6 to further assert “the shelves 402 and the actuator 602 are distinct components of separate units”. As depicted in Vellore FIG 4A, the shelves 402 are housed inside of FOUP 187D which is connected by pre-aligner 192 and factory interface robot 185 to charger 190. FIGs 4A and 4B show the structure of FOUP 187D, particularly FIG 4A shows carriers 302 in contact with shelves 402 and FIG 4B shows each carrier 302 to comprise a plurality of through-holes 308. The structure of charger 190 is shown in FIG 5A, wherein carrier 302 is disposed on chuck 502 and electrical contacts 516 and 518 are connected to carrier terminals 520 and 522. Vellore ¶0044 discloses “FIG. 6 illustrates a portion of the charging station 190 including an actuator 602. The actuator 602 includes pins 604 and pins 606. The actuator 602 may move the pins 604 and 606 toward and away from and the chuck 502”. Applicant argument that shelves 402 and actuator 602 are physically separate from one another is persuasive; however, chuck 502 performs the function of a shelf support. Amended grounds of rejection are presented herein.
2. Lack of a Vertical Shaft Member and Specific Pin Arrangement
Applicant argues “Vellore further fails to teach or suggest the contact pin arrangement as recited in the amended claim. Amended Claim 1 recites a vertical shaft member that has the contact pin at its lower end in the vertical direction.” Applicant further points to Vellore FIG 6 as the pins 604 and 606 being terminals which protrude upwards. Examiner agrees that Vellore provides no teaching of the amended feature wherein the vertically movable shaft member passes through a cutout in the support plate.
Similarly to the above argument, Vellore ¶0044 discloses “FIG. 6 illustrates a portion of the charging station 190 including an actuator 602. The actuator 602 includes pins 604 and pins 606. The actuator 602 may move the pins 604 and 606 toward and away from and the chuck 502”. Fig 6 further depicts pins 606 as passing through carrier 302, necessitating that pins 606 pass through cutouts 308.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered. Updated grounds of rejection are presented herein, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 5-7, and 12 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11984332 B2 in view of Vellore et al (US 20210028044 A1).
Regarding claim 1 of application 17817091 contains the structure as claim 2 of US Patent
11984332 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as detailed below in a side-by-side comparison of limitations from application 17817091 and US Patent 11984332 B1 are detailed below, with the overlapping portions.
Application 17817091
US Patent 11984332 B1
An accommodation container that accommodates a substrate-shaped sensor, the accommodation container comprising
A container for a substrate-like sensor including a terminal, the container comprising:
a container body that has an opening
a main body having an opening
a support that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the substrate-shaped sensor
a support disposed in the main body and
configured to support the substrate-like sensor
contact pin that is disposed inside the container body and configured to come into contact with a terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor;
an energizable contact pin disposed in the main body and configured to contact the terminal of the substrate-like sensor;
a driving mechanism that is disposed inside the container body and configured to drive the contact pin;
a drive mechanism configured to drive the energizable contact pin;
a supporting plate that is disposed inside the
container body and configured to support the
driving mechanism;
a rotation shaft member that drives the
driving mechanism from an outside of the
container body;
a jack that is disposed outside the container
body and electrically connected to the contact
pin;
a jack disposed outside the main body and
electrically connected to the energizable
contact pin, such that a charging voltage from
the jack is permitted to be applied to the
terminal of the substrate-like sensor through
the energizable contact pin;
and a lid that is configured to close the of the
container body,
and a cover for allowing the opening of the
main body to be closed.
wherein the driving mechanism includes a vertical shaft member configured to be movable in a vertical direction, and the contact pin is provided at a lower end of the vertical shaft member in the vertical direction,
And the supporting plate has a cutout through which the vertical shaft member passes.
US Patent 11984332 B1 does not claim "a supporting plate that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the driving mechanism", "a rotation shaft member that drives the driving mechanism from an outside of the container body", “wherein the driving mechanism includes a vertical shaft member configured to be movable in a vertical direction, and the contact pin is provided at a lower end of the vertical shaft member in the vertical direction”, or “and the supporting plate has a cutout through which the vertical shaft member passes.”
Vellore teaches an accommodation container that accommodates a substrate shaped sensor, (¶0017 "FIG. 1 illustrates a processing system 100 for processing a substrate (e.g., a wafer) according to one or more embodiments")
the accommodation container comprising a supporting plate that is disposed inside the container body (¶0027 " A carrier and the carrier FOUP 187D may have any suitable structural features that are used to align and position the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D. An example of a carrier and the carrier FOUP 187D is described below in relation to FIGS. 3, 4A, and 4B")
and configured to support the driving mechanism; (¶0041 “FIG. 5A is a schematic view of the charging station 190 in which a carrier 302 is disposed over a chuck 502 of the charging station 190 according to one embodiment”)
and a rotation shaft member that drives the driving mechanism from an outside of the container body (¶0021 "[FIG 1] The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. The factory interface robot 185 may be capable of linear and rotational movement illustrated by arrows 182.")
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have modified the claims of US 11984332 B1 to recite a supporting plate that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the driving mechanism and a rotation shaft member that drives the driving mechanism from an outside of the container body for the purpose of minimizing impurities and ensuring uniform crystal growth during wafer production.
Similarly as applied to a charging method for claim 12.
Regarding claim 5, application 17817091 contains the structure as claim 2 of US Patent 11984332 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as detailed below in a side-by-side comparison of limitations from application 17817091 and US Patent 11984332 B1 are detailed below, with the overlapping portions.
Application 17817091
US Patent 11984332 B1
The accommodation container according to
claim 3, (Claim 3 is dependent upon claim 1)
The container according to claim 1,
further comprising a switch that is disposed
outside the container body and electrically
connected to the contact pin.
further comprising a switch disposed outside the main body and electrically connected to the energizable contact pin
Regarding claim 6, application 17817091 contains the structure as claim 3 of US Patent 11984332 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as detailed below in a side-by-side comparison of limitations from application 17817091 and US Patent 11984332 B1 are detailed below, with the overlapping portions.
Application 17817091
US Patent 11984332 B1
The accommodation container according to
claim 5, (dependent upon claim 1)
The container according to claim 1,
wherein the terminal portion of the substrate-
shaped sensor is provided on an upper
surface of the substrate-shaped sensor,
wherein the terminal of the substrate-
like sensor is disposed on the front side of
the substrate-like sensor,
and the support includes a support member
that supports the substrate-shaped sensor at
a back surface position corresponding to a
position where the terminal portion of the
substrate-shaped sensor is provided.
and wherein the support includes a
supporting member for supporting the back
side of the substrate-like sensor at a location
at which the terminal of the substrate-
like sensor is provided.
Regarding claim 7, application 17817091 contains the structure as claim 4 of US Patent 11984332 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as detailed below in a side-by-side comparison of limitations from application 17817091 and US Patent 11984332 B1 are detailed below, with the overlapping portions.
Application 17817091
US Patent 11984332 B1
The accommodation container according to
claim 5, (dependent upon claim 1
The container according to claim 1,
wherein the accommodation container is
configured to be attached to a load port that
is configured such that a carrier that
accommodates a substrate is attachable.
wherein the container is configured to be
attached to a load port on which a carrier for
accommodating a substrate is mountable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-9, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vellore et al (US 20210028044 A1), corresponding to the patent Vellore et al (US 10916464 B2)
Regarding claim 1, Vellore teaches an accommodation container that accommodates a substrate-shaped sensor, (¶0017 "FIG. 1 illustrates a processing system 100 for processing a substrate (e.g., a wafer) according to one or more embodiments", )
the accommodation container comprising: a container body that has an opening; (¶0027 " A carrier and the carrier FOUP 187D may have any suitable structural features that are used to align and position the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D. An example of a carrier and the carrier FOUP 187D is described below in relation to FIGS. 3, 4A, and 4B")
a support that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the substrate-shaped sensor; (¶0046 “[FIG 7] substrate support 724 includes a pedestal 736 and a shaft 712 coupled to the pedestal 736”)
a contact pin that is disposed inside the container body and configured to come into contact with a terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor; (¶0041 “FIG. 5A is a schematic view of the charging station 190 in which a carrier 302 is disposed over a chuck 502”)
a driving mechanism that is disposed inside the container body and configured to drive the contact pin; (¶0044 "FIG. 6 illustrates a portion of the charging station 190 including an actuator 602. The actuator 602 includes pins 604 and pins 606.")
a supporting plate that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the driving mechanism; (¶0041 “FIG. 5A is a schematic view of the charging station 190 in which a carrier 302 is disposed over a chuck 502 of the charging station 190 according to one embodiment”)
a rotation shaft member that drives the driving mechanism from an outside of the container body; (¶0021 "[FIG 1] The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. The factory interface robot 185 may be capable of linear and rotational movement illustrated by arrows 182.")
a jack that is disposed outside the container body and electrically connected to the contact pin; (controller 150 as detailed in ¶0025 "The controller 150 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 152, a memory 154, and support circuits 156. The CPU 152 may be any general purpose computer processor that may be utilized in an industrial environment", ¶0028 "the factory interface robot 185 transfers the carrier to the charging station 190 are controlled by the controller 150 based on the predetermined orientation and location of the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D")
and a lid that is configured to close the opening of the container body, (FIG 1, ¶0021 "The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. ¶0045 "The processing chamber 700 includes a chamber body 706 covered by a lid 704 which encloses a processing region 719")
wherein the driving mechanism includes a vertical shaft member configured to be movable in a vertical direction, and the contact pin is provided at a lower end of the vertical shaft member in the vertical direction, (¶0044 “FIG. 6 illustrates a portion of the charging station 190 including an actuator 602. The actuator 602 includes pins 604 and pins 606”, FIG 6 depicts actuator 602 as being disposed on the lower end of the vertical pin 606)
and the supporting plate has a cutout through which the vertical shaft member passes. (¶0039 “carrier 302 may include one or more cutout regions 308 where material of the carrier 302 has been removed”, FIG 6 pins 606 passing through carrier 302)
Vellore ¶0040 states "carrier FOUP 187D having nine shelves 402 is shown in FIG. 4A, but the carrier FOUP 187D may have more or less than nine shelves 402", indicating that the FOUPs 187 are supported by shelves 402. ¶0037 states "FIGS. 4A and 4B are an internal side view and an internal top view of the carrier FOUP 187D according to one embodiment. A carrier 302 is aligned and positioned in a predetermined orientation and a position in the carrier FOUP 187D by a hardware design", FIGs 4A and 4B depict these carriers 302 as being incorporated in FOUP 187D and are supported by shelves 402. FIG 6 illustrates the configuration of charging station 190, including actuator 602. Recalling FIG 1 we see charging station 190 containing FOUPs 187A-187D, each FOUP comprising the structure of FIG 6 indicating that actuator 602 is supported by FOUP 187 and in turn is also supported by shelves 402.
Regarding claim 3, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 1. Vellore further teaches wherein the supporting plate supports the driving mechanism with the driving mechanism being suspended from the supporting plate. (FIG 6 depicts actuator 602 being suspended from pins 604 and 606 which support actuator 602)
Regarding claim 4, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 1. Vellore further teaches wherein the supporting plate supports the driving mechanism with the driving mechanism being placed on the supporting plate. (FIG 6 depicts actuator 602 being suspended from pins 604 and 606 which support actuator 602)
Regarding claim 5, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 3. Vellore further teaches further comprising: a switch that is disposed outside the container body and electrically connected to the contact pin. (controller 150 as detailed in ¶0025 "The controller 150 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 152, a memory 154, and support circuits 156. The CPU 152 may be any general purpose computer processor that may be utilized in an industrial environment", ¶0028 "the factory interface robot 185 transfers the carrier to the charging station 190 are controlled by the controller 150 based on the predetermined orientation and location of the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D")
Regarding claim 8, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 4. Vellore further teaches wherein the rotation shaft member penetrates a rear surface sidewall of the container body, (¶0021 "[FIG 1] The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. The factory interface robot 185 may be capable of linear and rotational movement illustrated by arrows 182.")
the rear surface sidewall being provided on a side opposite to the lid, (¶0045 FIG. 7 is a schematic illustration of a processing chamber 700 for depositing a layer, according to one or more embodiments. The processing chamber 700 may be the processing chamber 138 shown in FIG. processing chamber 700 includes a chamber body 706 covered by a lid 704")
and the jack is provided on an outer side of the rear surface sidewall. (controller 150 as detailed in ¶0025 "The controller 150 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 152, a memory 154, and support circuits 156. The CPU 152 may be any general purpose computer processor that may be utilized in an industrial environment", ¶0028 "the factory interface robot 185 transfers the carrier to the charging station 190 are controlled by the controller 150 based on the predetermined orientation and location of the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D")
Regarding claim 9, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 4. Vellore further teaches wherein the rotation shaft member penetrates a side surface sidewall of the container body, (¶0021 "[FIG 1] The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. The factory interface robot 185 may be capable of linear and rotational movement illustrated by arrows 182.")
and the jack is provided on an outer side of the side surface sidewall. (controller 150 as detailed in ¶0025 "The controller 150 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 152, a memory 154, and support circuits 156. The CPU 152 may be any general purpose computer processor that may be utilized in an industrial environment", ¶0028 "the factory interface robot 185 transfers the carrier to the charging station 190 are controlled by the controller 150 based on the predetermined orientation and location of the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D")
Regarding claim 13, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 1. Vellore wherein the supporting plate is disposed above the contact pin in the vertical direction of the container body in which the vertical shaft member is movable. (¶0037 "[FIG 4A] A carrier 302 is aligned and positioned in a predetermined orientation and a position in the carrier FOUP 187D by a hardware design. That is, the carrier 302 has flat portions 304 and a notch 306")
Regarding claim 14, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 1. Vellore does not teach wherein a bracket is provided on a surface of the supporting plate, and the driving mechanism is fixed to the supporting plate by the bracket. (FIG 6 depicts actuator 602 being suspended from pins 604 and 606 which support actuator 602)
Vell
Vellore discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a bracket is provided on a surface of the supporting plate, and the driving mechanism is fixed to the supporting plate by the bracket. The driving mechanism is necessarily fixed to the supporting plate using something; however, Vellore does not specifically state how actuator 602 is fixed to pins 604 and 606. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use a bracket to fix the driving mechanism to the supporting plate, since applicant has not disclosed that solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a bracket.
In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen specifications are critical. AS such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188, USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 15, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 1. Vellore further teaches wherein the rotation shaft member penetrates a sidewall of the container body in a state in which a first end of the rotation shaft member is fixed to the driving mechanism and a second end of the rotation shaft member is disposed outside the container body in a rotatable manner to drive the driving mechanism. (¶0045 FIG. 7 is a schematic illustration of a processing chamber 700 for depositing a layer, according to one or more embodiments. The processing chamber 700 may be the processing chamber 138 shown in FIG. 1... processing chamber 700 includes a chamber body 706 covered by a lid 704")
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vellore modified by Levit et al (US 6781205 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 5. Vellore further teaches [wherein the terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor is provided on an upper surface of the substrate-shaped sensor,]
and the support includes a support member that supports the substrate-shaped sensor at a back surface position corresponding to a position where the terminal portion of the substrate- shaped sensor is provided. (¶0044 "FIG. 6 illustrates a portion of the charging station 190 including an actuator 602 The actuator 602 includes pins 604 and pins 606. The actuator 602 may move the pins 604 and 606 toward and away from and the chuck 502")
Vellore does not teach wherein the terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor is provided on an upper surface of the substrate-shaped sensor.
Levit teaches wherein the terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor is provided on an upper surface of the substrate-shaped sensor. (FIG 1, sensor on front/top face 23 connected to terminal 16 in a FOUP).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the accommodation container as taught by Vellore wherein the terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor is provided on an upper surface of the substrate-shaped sensor as taught by Levit for the purpose of measuring/reading the charge present by the wafer thereby increasing accuracy of measurements as stated by Levit.
Regarding claim 7, Vellore modified by Levit teaches accommodation container according to claim 6. Vellore modified by Levit wherein the accommodation container is configured to be attached to a load port that is configured such that a carrier that accommodates a substrate is attachable. (Levit FIG 1 FOUP is part of a movable factory interface)
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vellore modified by Freed et al (US 20060181242 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 5. Vellore further teaches wherein the rotation shaft member penetrates a rear surface sidewall of the container body, (¶0021 "[FIG 1] The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. The factory interface robot 185 may be capable of linear and rotational movement illustrated by arrows 182.")
the rear surface sidewall being provided on a side opposite to the lid, (¶0045 " FIG. 7 is a schematic illustration of a processing chamber 700 for depositing a layer, according to one or more embodiments. The processing chamber 700 may be the processing chamber 138 shown in FIG. 1 processing chamber 700 includes a chamber body 706 covered by a lid 704 ")
[and the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the rear surface sidewall.]
Vellore does not teach and the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the rear surface sidewall.
Freed teaches and the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the rear surface sidewall. (¶0108 Information processor 3440 is connected with switch 3450 so as to control the opening and closing of switch 3450; this configuration provides a circuit capable of rapidly turning maintenance unit induction coil 3410 power output on and off.").
The information processor 3440 as taught by Freed is equivalent to the controller 150 as taught by Vellore, and can be interchanged with one another. In this way both the jack (controller 150/ information processor 3440) will be disposed on the rear surface wall and contain switch 3450. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the accommodation container as taught by Vellore wherein the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the rear surface sidewall as taught by Freed for the purpose of improving operability by an operator.
Regarding claim 11, Vellore teaches the accommodation container according to claim 5. Vellore further teaches wherein the rotation shaft member penetrates a side surface sidewall of the container body, (¶0045 FIG. 7 is a schematic illustration of a processing chamber 700 for depositing a layer, according to one or more embodiments. The processing chamber 700 may be the processing chamber 138 shown in FIG. 1... processing chamber 700 includes a chamber body 706 covered by a lid 704")
[and the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the side surface sidewall.]
Vellore does not teach and the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the side surface sidewall.
Freed teaches and the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the side surface sidewall. (¶0108 " Information processor 3440 is connected with switch 3450 so as to control the opening and closing of switch 3450; this configuration provides a circuit capable of rapidly turning maintenance unit induction coil 3410 power output on and off.").
The information processor 3440 as taught by Freed is equivalent to the controller 150 as taught by Vellore, and can be interchanged with one another. In this way both the jack (controller 150/ information processor 3440) will be disposed on the rear surface wall and contain switch 3450. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the accommodation container as taught by Vellore wherein the jack and the switch are provided on an outer side of the rear surface sidewall as taught by Freed for the purpose of improving operability by an operator.
Regarding claim 12, Vellore teaches charging method for a substrate-shaped sensor accommodated in an accommodation container (¶0017 "FIG. 1 illustrates a processing system 100 for processing a substrate (e.g., a wafer) according to one or more embodiments")
including a container body that has an opening, (¶0027 A carrier and the carrier FOUP 187D may have any suitable structural features that are used to align and position the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D. An example of a carrier and the carrier FOUP 187D is described below in relation to FIGS. 3, 4A, and 4B")
a support that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the substrate-shaped sensor, (¶0041 “FIG. 5A is a schematic view of the charging station 190 in which a carrier 302 is disposed over a chuck 502”)
a contact pin that is disposed inside the container body and configured to come into contact with a terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor, (¶0044 "FIG. 6 illustrates a portion of the charging station 190 including an actuator 602. The actuator 602 includes pins 604 and pins 606."),
a driving mechanism that is disposed inside the container body and configured to drive the contact pin, (¶0044 "The actuator 602 may move the pins 604 and 606 toward and away from and the chuck 502.")
a supporting plate that is disposed inside the container body and configured to support the driving mechanism, (¶0041 “FIG. 5A is a schematic view of the charging station 190 in which a carrier 302 is disposed over a chuck 502”)
a rotation shaft member that drives the driving mechanism from an outside of the container body, (¶0021 "[FIG 1] The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. The factory interface robot 185 may be capable of linear and rotational movement illustrated by arrows 182.")
a jack that is disposed outside the container body and electrically connected to the contact pin, (controller 150 as detailed in ¶0025 "The controller 150 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 152, a memory 154, and support circuits 156. The CPU 152 may be any general purpose computer processor that may be utilized in an industrial environment", ¶0028 "the factory interface robot 185 transfers the carrier to the charging station 190 are controlled by the controller 150 based on the predetermined orientation and location of the carrier within the carrier FOUP 187D")
and a lid that is configured to close the opening of the container body, (FIG 1, ¶0021 "The docking stations 183 include one or more front opening unified pods (FOUPs) 187A, 187B, 187C, 187D. ", 10045 "The processing chamber 700 includes a chamber body 706 covered by a lid 704 which encloses a processing region 719")
in which the driving mechanism includes a vertical shaft member configured to be movable in a vertical direction, and the contact pin is provided at a lower end of the vertical shaft member in the vertical direction, (¶0044 “FIG. 6 illustrates a portion of the charging station 190 including an actuator 602. The actuator 602 includes pins 604 and pins 606”, FIG 6 depicts actuator 602 as being disposed on the lower end of the vertical pin 606)
and the supporting plate has a cutout through which the vertical shaft member passes, (¶0039 “carrier 302 may include one or more cutout regions 308 where material of the carrier 302 has been removed”, FIG 6 pins 606 passing through carrier 302)
the charging method comprising: allowing the contact pin to come into contact with the terminal portion of the substrate-shaped sensor by moving the vertical shaft member driving-mechanism in the vertical direction, (¶0044 "FIG. 6 illustrates a portion of the charging station 190 including an actuator 602. The actuator 602 includes pins 604 and pins 606."),
[and connecting a direct-current power supply to the jack.]
Vellore ¶0040 states "carrier FOUP 187D having nine shelves 402 is shown in FIG. 4A, but the carrier FOUP 187D may have more or less than nine shelves 402", indicating that the FOUPs 187 are supported by shelves 402. ¶0037 states "FIGS. 4A and 4B are an internal side view and an internal top view of the carrier FOUP 187D according to one embodiment. A carrier 302 is aligned and positioned in a predetermined orientation and a position in the carrier FOUP 187D by a hardware design", FIGs 4A and 4B depict these carriers 302 as being incorporated in FOUP 187D and are supported by shelves 402. FIG 6 illustrates the configuration of charging station 190, including actuator 602. Recalling FIG 1 we see charging station 190 containing FOUPs 187A-187D, each FOUP comprising the structure of FIG 6 indicating that actuator 602 is supported by FOUP 187 and in turn is also supported by shelves 402.
Vellore does not teach and connecting a direct-current power supply to the jack.
Freed teaches and connecting a direct-current power supply to the jack. (¶0027 "FIG 1... Power supply 3030 may be a standard power supply such as a rechargeable battery, a replaceable battery, a capacitor, a photoelectric cell, and a connection for accessing facility electrical power").
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the charging method as taught by Vellore to connect a direct-current power supply to the jack as taught by Freed for the purpose of allowing for faster changes in speed to the driving mechanism.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Ayabe et al (US 20200373179 A1) discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising a mounting part on which a carrier having a plurality of slots based on a reference accommodation position set in the mounting part.
Sakata et al (US 20210050242 A1) discloses a thin plate substrate-holding device and transfer robot provided with this holding device comprising a housing with a thin plate-shaped substrate mounted on a surface.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859