Current Status
The amendment to the title is accepted, and the objection withdrawn.
The amendment(s) to claim(s) resolve the issues regarding clarity, and the rejection under 35 US 112 is withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 12, 13 and 19 are amended.
Claim(s) 4-6, 10-11, 15-18 is/are withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-13, 15-20 is/are pending; claims 3 and 14 are canceled. With this Office Action, claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 12, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection due to amendments filed 12/30/25. Although the limitations of canceled claimed 3 and 14 are included in the amendments to the independent claims, additional language and the nature of incorporation herein necessitate new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 12, 13, 19 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozono (US 2022/0032846) in view of Lee (US 20100039722).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Kozono discloses an apparatus for controlling side-view mirrors comprises a first mirror (Msl) and a second mirror (Msr) and configured to provide a field of view for a rear of a vehicle (see figures 1-3), said apparatus comprising a driving module (31, 32) configured to adjust positions of the side-view mirrors (see paragraph 0038 along with figures 4-12); a camera (21) comprising at least one camera (21a, 21b) and is inherently configured to record images to IPU (21c) shown in Fig. 4); a turn signal switch (27) configured to input a signal for indicating a vehicle moving direction (see paragraphs 0050-005); and a processor (1, 11, 12) adapted to determine the vehicle moving direction in response to the signal of the turn signal switch to recognize a lane from the images (see figures 4-12), and to calculate an included angle between the lane and the driving direction to control the driving module such that the positions of the side-view mirrors are adjusted according to the included angle (see figures 4-12), and additionally to recognize a lane from a front image recorded by the camera (para. 30 – driving assistance via onboard camera unit 21).
Kozono does not explicitly disclose to calculate an equation of a curve of the lane by connecting points or lines extracted from the lane, calculate an included angle between the lane and the vehicle moving direction based on the equation of the curve.
Kozono and Lee are related as vehicle driving assistance including relation to side-view mirrors.
Lee teaches to calculate an equation of a curve of the lane by connecting points or lines extracted from the lane, calculate an included angle between the lane and the vehicle moving direction based on the equation of the curve (Figs. 4-9; claims 4 and 8-9; note that the specific is equation is not defined by the claim, but Lee goes into equation details with respect to the claims and compensates for the vehicle’s motion in relation to the lanes). Benefits include optimized viewing experience and thus increased safety for driver and passengers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include specific calculations regarding the lane and vehicle motion relationship, as in Lee, in the system of Kozono so as to improve viewing experience and safety.
Regarding claim 2, the combination further discloses wherein the processor is adapted to determine that the vehicle will move to a left side when a left signal is received from a left switch of the signal switch, recognize a left lane of a driving lane, and determine that the vehicle will move to a right side when a right signal is received from a right switch, and recognize a right lane of the driving lane (Kozono, see paragraph 0050-0053 along with Fig. 6)),
Regarding claim 7, the combination further discloses wherein the processor is adapted to recognize the lane from a front image among the images of the camera (Kozono, see Fig. 1), and inherently calculates an equation of the lane connecting points or lines extracted from the lanes, and calculates the included angle based on the equation of the lane (see paragraphs 0053-0054), wherein the processor is adapted to apply a return command to the driving module to return the positions of the side-view mirrors to a reference position when it is determined that entry into the lane or movement to the lane is completed (see figures 7-10),
Regarding claim 8, the combination further discloses wherein the processor is adapted to determine that the movement to the lane is completed when the lane and the vehicle moving direction coincide with each other and the turn signal switch is switched off (Kozono, see figures 6-12).
Regarding claim 9, the combination further discloses wherein the driving module is configured to return the positions of the side-view mirrors to a preset reference position when the return command is input, and return the positions of the side-view mirrors to a position before the movement to the lane when the reference position is not set (Kozono, see figures 6-12). Note figures 1-12 along with the associated description thereof.
As to the method limitations of claims 12, 13, 19 and 20, such limitations are considered to be inherently met by the structure of the above combination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach Supervisory Examiner Carruth by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Director Allana L Bidder, can be reached on 571-272-5560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JENNIFER D. CARRUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871