DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This communication is a Final Office Action in response to the Amendments, Remarks, and Arguments filed on the 08/19/2025. Currently claims 1, 3-11, 13-18, and 20 are pending. Claims 2, 12, and 19 are cancelled. Claims No claims are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Under the Patent Eligibility Guidance, published within MPEP 2106, when considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (step 1). If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea) (step 2A prong 1), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is integrated into a practical application (step 2A prong 2). If an abstract idea is present in the claim without integration into a practical application, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (step 2B).
In the instant case, claim 1, 3-11, 13-18, and 20 is directed to a system, and method. Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories. However, the claims also fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the test is to identify whether the claims are “directed to” a judicial exception. Examiner notes that the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea in that the instant application is directed to certain methods of organizing human activity specifically commercial interactions and behaviors and managing personal behavior and/or interactions between people (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)) and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-18, and 20 are directed to (Claim 1) a method of vehicle lifecycle management comprising: enrolling, by a centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program executed by an electronic device, a plurality of vehicles in a vehicle lifecycle management service, wherein the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program manages vehicle lifecycle events for the plurality of vehicles, wherein the vehicle lifecycle events include a vehicle grounding event, a vehicle shipping event, or a vehicle insurance event; receiving, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, a request to initiate one of the vehicle lifecycle events for one of the plurality of vehicles; enabling, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, a telematics unit installed in the vehicle; receiving, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, vehicle attributes from the telematics unit, wherein the vehicle attributes comprise one or more of a vehicle location, a vehicle odometer reading, and a fault code; requesting, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, vehicle damage data from an on-board vehicle management computer program, wherein the vehicle damage data comprise vehicle image data and vehicle equipment data; receiving, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, the vehicle damage data from the on-board vehicle management computer program; receiving, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, a request to terminate the vehicle lifecycle event; and disabling, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, the telematics unit in response to receiving the vehicle attributes, the vehicle damage data, and the request to terminate and (Claim 11) a method and system, comprising: electronic device, comprising: a computer processor; and a memory storing a centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program; wherein when executed by the computer processor, the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program causes the computer processor to: enroll a plurality of vehicles in a vehicle lifecycle management service, wherein the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program manages vehicle lifecycle events for the plurality of vehicles, wherein the vehicle lifecycle events include a vehicle grounding event, a vehicle shipping event, or a vehicle insurance event; enable a telematics unit installed in the plurality of vehicles; receive, from one of the plurality of vehicles, vehicle attributes from the telematics unit, wherein the vehicle attributes comprise one or more of a vehicle location, a vehicle odometer reading, and a fault code; receive vehicle damage data from an on-board vehicle management computer program in the vehicle, wherein the vehicle damage data comprise vehicle image data and vehicle equipment data; disable the telematics unit in response to receiving the vehicle attributes and the vehicle damage data; retrieve stored vehicle damage data for the vehicle; identify differences between the vehicle damage data and the stored vehicle damage data; determine that the differences are not acceptable differences; assess a cost associated with the differences; and communicate the differences and the cost to a vehicle owner; and (Claim 18) system, comprising: a centralized vehicle lifecycle server comprising a vehicle lifecycle server computer processor and executing a centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program that is associated with a plurality of vehicles; and a plurality of vehicles, each vehicle comprising: a vehicle computer processor executing an onboard vehicle management computer program; a telematics unit; a plurality of image capture devices; and a sensor that senses a presence or absence of vehicle equipment; wherein: the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program enrolls the plurality of vehicles in a vehicle lifecycle management service, wherein the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program manages vehicle lifecycle events for the plurality of vehicles, wherein the vehicle lifecycle events include a vehicle grounding event, a vehicle shipping event, or a vehicle insurance event; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program receives a request to initiate one of the vehicle lifecycle events for one of the plurality of vehicles; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program enables the telematics unit installed in the vehicle; the telematics unit for one of the plurality of vehicles retrieves vehicle attributes from vehicle systems, wherein the vehicle attributes comprise one or more of a vehicle location, a vehicle odometer reading, and a fault code; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program receives the vehicle attributes from the telematics unit for the vehicle; the onboard vehicle management computer program for the vehicle receives vehicle damage data from the sensor for the enrolled vehicle, wherein the vehicle damage data comprise vehicle image data and vehicle equipment damage data; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program receives the vehicle damage data from the onboard vehicle management computer program for the vehicle; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program disables the telematics unit in response to receiving the vehicle attributes and the vehicle damage data; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program retrieves stored vehicle damage data for the vehicle; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program identifies differences between the vehicle damage data and the stored vehicle damage data; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program determines that the differences are not acceptable differences; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program assesses a cost associated with the differences; and the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program communicates the differences and the associated cost to a vehicle owner for the vehicle. These limitations all constitute a method of organizing human activity. The broadest reasonable interpretation of these limitations involves monitoring events during vehicle movements and events during a rental agreement or use of a specific user, which is similar to the abstract idea identified in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) grouping “II” in that the claims are directed to certain methods of organizing human activity such as commercial or legal interactions. Additionally, creating and initiating a maintenance plan for the equipment and charging the user would be certain methods of organizing human activity. Because the limitations above closely follow the steps standard in renting and managing rental vehicles, and the steps of the claims involve organizing human activity, the claim recites an abstract idea consistent with the “organizing human activity” grouping set forth in the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) grouping “II”. Examiner notes that the court has been clear that inventions reciting methods of organizing human activity in the form of commercial or business interactions between people are directed to the judicial exception found in grouping “II”. The limitations above closely follow the steps of the claims involving organizing human activity set forth in the group “II” of the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
Claims 1, 11, and 18 recite limitations directed to enrolling, by a vehicle lifecycle computer program executed by an electronic device, a vehicle in a vehicle lifecycle management service; receiving, by the vehicle lifecycle computer program, a request to initiate a vehicle lifecycle event; enabling, by the vehicle lifecycle computer program, a telematics unit in the vehicle; receiving, by the vehicle lifecycle computer program, vehicle attributes from the telematics unit; requesting, by the vehicle lifecycle computer program, vehicle damage data from an on-board vehicle management computer program; receiving, by vehicle lifecycle computer program, the vehicle damage data from the on-board vehicle management computer program; receiving, by the vehicle lifecycle computer program, a request to terminate the vehicle lifecycle event; and disabling, by the vehicle lifecycle computer program, the telematics unit and, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of organizing human activity specifically commercial or business interactions. The mere nominal recitation of generic computer components such as a processor and memory does not take the claim out of the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. Therefore, the limitation is directed to an abstract idea.
Alternatively, Examiner notes that claims 1, 3-11, 13-18, and 20 recite a (Claim 1) a method of vehicle lifecycle management comprising: enrolling, by a centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program executed by an electronic device, a plurality of vehicles in a vehicle lifecycle management service, wherein the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program manages vehicle lifecycle events for the plurality of vehicles, wherein the vehicle lifecycle events include a vehicle grounding event, a vehicle shipping event, or a vehicle insurance event; receiving, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, a request to initiate one of the vehicle lifecycle events for one of the plurality of vehicles; enabling, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, a telematics unit installed in the vehicle; receiving, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, vehicle attributes from the telematics unit, wherein the vehicle attributes comprise one or more of a vehicle location, a vehicle odometer reading, and a fault code; requesting, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, vehicle damage data from an on-board vehicle management computer program, wherein the vehicle damage data comprise vehicle image data and vehicle equipment data; receiving, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, the vehicle damage data from the on-board vehicle management computer program; receiving, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, a request to terminate the vehicle lifecycle event; and disabling, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, the telematics unit in response to receiving the vehicle attributes, the vehicle damage data, and the request to terminate and (Claim 11) a method and system, comprising: electronic device, comprising: a computer processor; and a memory storing a centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program; wherein when executed by the computer processor, the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program causes the computer processor to: enroll a plurality of vehicles in a vehicle lifecycle management service, wherein the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program manages vehicle lifecycle events for the plurality of vehicles, wherein the vehicle lifecycle events include a vehicle grounding event, a vehicle shipping event, or a vehicle insurance event; enable a telematics unit installed in the plurality of vehicles; receive, from one of the plurality of vehicles, vehicle attributes from the telematics unit, wherein the vehicle attributes comprise one or more of a vehicle location, a vehicle odometer reading, and a fault code; receive vehicle damage data from an on-board vehicle management computer program in the vehicle, wherein the vehicle damage data comprise vehicle image data and vehicle equipment data; disable the telematics unit in response to receiving the vehicle attributes and the vehicle damage data; retrieve stored vehicle damage data for the vehicle; identify differences between the vehicle damage data and the stored vehicle damage data; determine that the differences are not acceptable differences; assess a cost associated with the differences; and communicate the differences and the cost to a vehicle owner; and (Claim 18) system, comprising: a centralized vehicle lifecycle server comprising a vehicle lifecycle server computer processor and executing a centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program that is associated with a plurality of vehicles; and a plurality of vehicles, each vehicle comprising: a vehicle computer processor executing an onboard vehicle management computer program; a telematics unit; a plurality of image capture devices; and a sensor that senses a presence or absence of vehicle equipment; wherein: the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program enrolls the plurality of vehicles in a vehicle lifecycle management service, wherein the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program manages vehicle lifecycle events for the plurality of vehicles, wherein the vehicle lifecycle events include a vehicle grounding event, a vehicle shipping event, or a vehicle insurance event; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program receives a request to initiate one of the vehicle lifecycle events for one of the plurality of vehicles; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program enables the telematics unit installed in the vehicle; the telematics unit for one of the plurality of vehicles retrieves vehicle attributes from vehicle systems, wherein the vehicle attributes comprise one or more of a vehicle location, a vehicle odometer reading, and a fault code; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program receives the vehicle attributes from the telematics unit for the vehicle; the onboard vehicle management computer program for the vehicle receives vehicle damage data from the sensor for the enrolled vehicle, wherein the vehicle damage data comprise vehicle image data and vehicle equipment damage data; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program receives the vehicle damage data from the onboard vehicle management computer program for the vehicle; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program disables the telematics unit in response to receiving the vehicle attributes and the vehicle damage data; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program retrieves stored vehicle damage data for the vehicle; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program identifies differences between the vehicle damage data and the stored vehicle damage data; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program determines that the differences are not acceptable differences; the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program assesses a cost associated with the differences; and the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program communicates the differences and the associated cost to a vehicle owner for the vehicle which is directed to concepts that are performed mentally and a product of human mental work. The limitations suggest a process similar to standard practice determining the specific damages to a vehicle when it has been rented out for a rental agreement. Lessors typically do a check prior to the rental and after to determine whether or not any new conditions can be found on the vehicle. This is common practice when rental agreements for all chattel or property. Because the limitations above closely follow the steps of receiving information, processing or analyzing the information, and displaying the results of the analysis, and the steps involved human judgments, observations and evaluations that can be practically or reasonably performed in the human mind, the claim recites an abstract idea consistent with the “mental process” grouping set forth in the see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The conclusion that the claim recites an abstract idea within the groupings of the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) remains grounded in the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the description of the invention in the specification. For example, (App. Spec. Page 1), the “to obtain accurate and timely information in a secure manner when a customer returns a leased vehicle”. Accordingly, the Examiner submits claims 1, 3-11, 13-18, and 20 recites an abstract idea based on the language identified in claim 1, 11, and 18, and the abstract ideas previously identified based on that language that remains consistent with the groupings of Step 2A Prong 1 of the MPEP 2106.
If the claims are directed toward the judicial exception of an abstract idea, it must then be determined under Step 2A Prong 2 whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. Examiner notes that considerations under Step 2A Prong 2 comprise most the consideration previously evaluated in the context of Step 2B. The Examiner submits that the considerations discussed previously determined that the claim does not recite “significantly more” at Step 2B would be evaluated the same under Step 2A Prong 1 and result in the determination that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The instant application fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the instant application merely recites words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea. The instant application is directed to a method instructing the reader to implement the identified method of organizing human activity of commercial or legal interactions such as maintenance transactions. Examiner notes that the system provided merely receives information from a user related to an invention and analyzes the data. Nothing is presented as to how the server, processor, telematics unit, and device systems improved, how the network is improved, how the computer system used is improved by the claimed invention. The invention merely directs the users to implement the method via generic computer structure. For instance, the additional elements or combination of elements other than the abstract idea itself include the elements such as a “system” recited at a high level of generality. Accordingly, the claimed computer structure read in light of the specification can be any device and includes any wide range of possible devices comprising a number of components that are “well-known” and include an indiscriminate “device”, “telematics unit”, “a centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program”, and “on-board vehicle management computer program” (e.g., processor, memory, server, network, etc.). Thus, the claimed structure amounts to appending generic computer elements to abstract idea comprising the body of the claim. The computing element is only involved at a general, high level, and do not have the particular role within any of the functions but to be a generically claimed “system”.
Here, the instructions entirely comprise the abstract idea, leaving little if any aspects of the claim for further consideration under Step 2A Prong 2. In short, the role of the generic computing element recited in claims 1, 11, and 18 are the same as the role of the computer in the claims considered by the Supreme Court in Alice, and the claim as whole amounts merely to an instruction to apply the abstract idea on the generic device. Therefore, the claims have failed to integrate a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05). Under the MPEP 2106.05, this supports the conclusion that the claim is directed to an abstract idea, and the analysis proceeds to Step 2B.
Under step 2A prong 2, the additional limitation of receiving information is insignificant pre-solution activity, and the additional limitation of determining and estimating a component part or engine repair plan is insignificant post-solution activity. Further, the “device”, “telematics unit”, “a centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program”, and “on-board vehicle management computer program” are viewed at a high level of generality and merely adding the words apply it. Looking at the claim as a whole and the additional elements in combination is also at a high level of generality and merely automates the method. As such, there is no practical application of the abstract idea under step 2A prong 2.
With respect to the dependent claims, they have been considered and are not found to be reciting anything that amounts to being significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 3-10, 13-14, 16-18, and 20 are further embellishments of the abstract idea and does not amount to significantly more.
Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claim that transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10013697 B1 to Cote et al. (hereinafter Cote) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210116256 to Konrardy et al. (hereinafter Konrardy).
Referring to Claim 1, Cote discloses a method of vehicle lifecycle management comprising:
enrolling, by a centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program executed by an electronic device, a plurality of vehicles in a vehicle lifecycle management service, wherein the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program manages vehicle lifecycle events for the plurality of vehicles, wherein the vehicle lifecycle events include a vehicle ground event, a vehicle shipping event, or a vehicle insurance event, and receiving, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, a request to initiate one of the vehicle lifecycle event for one of the plurality of vehicles, (see at least Cote: Col. 3 Line 11-27: “an individual may register or otherwise associate himself/herself with a vehicle and one or more electronic devices thereof, such that the individual may be deemed the vehicle operator or driver”; see also Cote: Col. 6 Line 59-67 through Col. 7 Line 1-14 “After the individual 201 is logged into the electronic device 210 or otherwise associated with the electronic device 210 (or the vehicle 205), the electronic device 210 may monitor (236) or otherwise record various telematics data that corresponds to the operation of the vehicle 205 (generally, a set of operation data). According to embodiments, the electronic device 210 may collect, monitor, and/or record the telematics data throughout operation of the vehicle 205, and/or whenever the individual 201 is associated with the vehicle 205. For example, if the individual 201 rents the vehicle 205 for a three (3) day period, the electronic device 210 may monitor the telematics data whenever the individual 201 operates the vehicle 205 within that three (3) day period. For further example, if the individual 201 is driving a passenger from an origin to a destination (i.e., a trip), then the electronic device 210 may monitor the telematics data during the trip. In some implementations, the individual 201 may specify when the set of operation data should be collected/recorded and when the set of operation data should not be collected/recorded. In other implementations, the vehicle 205 or the electronic device 210 may automatically detect or determine when the set of operation data should be collected/recorded.”; see also Cote: Col. 4 Line 1-20 “As illustrated in FIG. 1, the environment 100 includes a set of vehicles 105, 106, 107 which may be, for example, cars, trucks, motorcycles, motorbikes, scooters, boats, recreational vehicles, or any other type of vehicle capable of being operated or driven by a vehicle driver or operator. Although FIG. 1 depicts three (3) vehicles 105, 106, 107, it should be appreciated that fewer or more vehicles are envisioned. Each of the vehicles 105, 106, 107 has one or more respective electronic devices 110, 111, 112 associated therewith.”; see also Cote: Col. 5 Line 1-50 “the vehicle manager 115 may be central server associated with a transportation network company such as a ride sharing service. According to embodiments, the vehicle manager 115 can include one or more processing server(s) 130 configured to facilitate various of the functionalities as discussed herein. Although FIG. 1 depicts the processing server 130 as a part of the vehicle manager 115, it should be appreciated that the processing server 130 can be separate from (and connected to or accessible by) the vehicle manager 115… The processing server 130 may maintain accounts or profiles associated with operators of the vehicles 105, 106, 107. For example, an operator may have an account with a vehicle rental agency, whereby the account may maintain payment information, discount or credit information, operator performance data, and/or other information. For further example, an operator may have a profile with a transportation network company, where the profile maintains an operator rating (e.g., a score from 1-5), reviews, and/or other information. The processing server 130 may interface with a database 125 to store and retrieve data, such as data relating to the accounts or profiles of the operator, collected or processed vehicle operation data, and/or other data”; see additionally Cote: Col. 8 Line 1-67: discussing the monitoring of insurance related events);
enabling, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, a telematics unit installed in the vehicle (see at least Cote: Col. 3 Line 1-10, Col. 4 “In some implementations, the electronic devices 110, 111, 112 may themselves include a set of sensors configured to collect telematics data. For example, a smartphone may have a built-in accelerometer, location module, optical sensor, and/or the like. For further example, an on-board telematics platform may be configured to collect braking data, acceleration data, location data, turning data, and/or other data associated with operation of the respective vehicle”; see also Cote: Col. 6 Line 59-67 through Col. 7 Line 1-14 “After the individual 201 is logged into the electronic device 210 or otherwise associated with the electronic device 210 (or the vehicle 205), the electronic device 210 may monitor (236) or otherwise record various telematics data that corresponds to the operation of the vehicle 205 (generally, a set of operation data). According to embodiments, the electronic device 210 may collect, monitor, and/or record the telematics data throughout operation of the vehicle 205, and/or whenever the individual 201 is associated with the vehicle 205. For example, if the individual 201 rents the vehicle 205 for a three (3) day period, the electronic device 210 may monitor the telematics data whenever the individual 201 operates the vehicle 205 within that three (3) day period. For further example, if the individual 201 is driving a passenger from an origin to a destination (i.e., a trip), then the electronic device 210 may monitor the telematics data during the trip. In some implementations, the individual 201 may specify when the set of operation data should be collected/recorded and when the set of operation data should not be collected/recorded. In other implementations, the vehicle 205 or the electronic device 210 may automatically detect or determine when the set of operation data should be collected/recorded.”);
receiving, by the vehicle centralized lifecycle computer program, vehicle attributes from the telematics unit, wherein the vehicle attributes comprise one or more of a vehicle location, a vehicle location, a vehicle odometer reading, and a fault code (see at least Cote: Col. 3 Line 12-28 “The systems and methods may analyze the set of operation data to identify various operation/driving events, such as accelerations, instances of exceeding the speed limit, hard brakes, hard turns, contact with other vehicles or objects, and/or other driving events”, Col. 4 Line 40-60 “Although not illustrated in FIG. 1, in some implementations each of the vehicles 105, 106, 107 may include a set of sensors configured to detect and collect various telematics data. According to some implementations, the set of sensors may include any type of sensor configured to detect vehicle movement or general operation including, for example, a braking sensor, a speedometer, a tachometer, a throttle position sensor, an accelerometer, an optical sensor, a microphone, a gyroscope, a location module (e.g., GPS sensor), and/or others. The set of sensors are generally configured to measure vehicle operation data. In some specific instances, the set of sensors may also be used to monitor vehicle lane deviation, vehicle swerving, vehicle lane centering, vehicle acceleration along a single axis or multiple axes, and vehicle distance to other objects. It should be appreciated that these types of sensors and measurable metrics are merely examples and that other types of sensors and measurable metrics are envisioned. Each of the electronic devices 110, 111, 112 may interface with the set of sensors to retrieve any recorded vehicle operation data.”; see also Cote: Col. 4 Line 1-20 “As illustrated in FIG. 1, the environment 100 includes a set of vehicles 105, 106, 107 which may be, for example, cars, trucks, motorcycles, motorbikes, scooters, boats, recreational vehicles, or any other type of vehicle capable of being operated or driven by a vehicle driver or operator. Although FIG. 1 depicts three (3) vehicles 105, 106, 107, it should be appreciated that fewer or more vehicles are envisioned. Each of the vehicles 105, 106, 107 has one or more respective electronic devices 110, 111, 112 associated therewith. In particular, the electronic devices 110, 111, 112 may be respectively installed as an on-board telematics platform of the vehicles 105, 106, 107, such as part of an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) installation on the vehicles 105, 106, 107.”; see also Cote: Col. 4 Line 27-40; see also Cote: Col. 5 Line 1-50; see additionally Cote: Col. 8 Line 1-67: discussing the monitoring of insurance related events; see at least Cote: Col. 4 Line 40-60 “Although not illustrated in FIG. 1, in some implementations each of the vehicles 105, 106, 107 may include a set of sensors configured to detect and collect various telematics data. According to some implementations, the set of sensors may include any type of sensor configured to detect vehicle movement or general operation including, for example, a braking sensor, a speedometer, a tachometer, a throttle position sensor, an accelerometer, an optical sensor, a microphone, a gyroscope, a location module (e.g., GPS sensor), and/or others. The set of sensors are generally configured to measure vehicle operation data. In some specific instances, the set of sensors may also be used to monitor vehicle lane deviation, vehicle swerving, vehicle lane centering, vehicle acceleration along a single axis or multiple axes, and vehicle distance to other objects. It should be appreciated that these types of sensors and measurable metrics are merely examples and that other types of sensors and measurable metrics are envisioned. Each of the electronic devices 110, 111, 112 may interface with the set of sensors to retrieve any recorded vehicle operation data.”; see at least Cote: Col. 7 Line 15-35);
requesting, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, vehicle damage data from an on-board vehicle management computer program, wherein the vehicle damage data comprise vehicle image data and vehicle equipment damage (see at least Cote: Col. 3 Line 12-28 “The systems and methods may analyze the set of operation data to identify various operation/driving events, such as accelerations, instances of exceeding the speed limit, hard brakes, hard turns, contact with other vehicles or objects, and/or other driving events”, Col. 4 Line 40-60 “Although not illustrated in FIG. 1, in some implementations each of the vehicles 105, 106, 107 may include a set of sensors configured to detect and collect various telematics data. According to some implementations, the set of sensors may include any type of sensor configured to detect vehicle movement or general operation including, for example, a braking sensor, a speedometer, a tachometer, a throttle position sensor, an accelerometer, an optical sensor, a microphone, a gyroscope, a location module (e.g., GPS sensor), and/or others. The set of sensors are generally configured to measure vehicle operation data. In some specific instances, the set of sensors may also be used to monitor vehicle lane deviation, vehicle swerving, vehicle lane centering, vehicle acceleration along a single axis or multiple axes, and vehicle distance to other objects. It should be appreciated that these types of sensors and measurable metrics are merely examples and that other types of sensors and measurable metrics are envisioned. Each of the electronic devices 110, 111, 112 may interface with the set of sensors to retrieve any recorded vehicle operation data.”; see at least Cote: Col. 7 Line 15-35).
Cote fails to state wherein the vehicle damage data comprise vehicle image data and vehicle equipment damage.
However, Konrardy, which talks about systems and methods for component monitoring and assessment for damage or other malfunctions, teaches it is known for system to monitor, assessing, detecting, and responding to malfunctions involving components of vehicles (see at least Konrardy: Abstract, and ¶ 28 “FIG. 6 illustrates a flow diagram of an exemplary salvage assessment computer-implemented method for automatically determining damage and/or salvage potential for components”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 71 “external computing device 186 may additionally or alternatively be part of an insurer computing system (or facilitate communications with an insurer computer system), and as such may access insurer databases, execute algorithms, execute applications, access remote servers, communicate with remote processors, etc., as needed to perform insurance-related functions …determining repair/salvage information for damaged vehicles”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 117 “The controller 204 may process the sensor data, the communication data, and the settings or configuration information to determine whether an incident has occurred (block 410). As used herein, an “incident” is an occurrence during operation of an autonomous vehicle, smart home, and/or personal electronic device outside of normal safe operating conditions, such that one or more of the following occurs: (i) there is an interruption of ordinary operation, (ii) there is damage to the vehicle”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 128 “electronic device 189) is determined to have occurred (block 508), damage to the vehicle”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 129 “The method 500 then determines whether monitoring should continue (block 516), If the vehicle 108, the smart home 187, and/or the personal electronic device 189 is continuing to operate or it is otherwise determined that monitoring should continue, the method 500 continues to monitor the autonomous operation (block 502). If operation of the vehicle 108, the smart home 187, and/or the personal electronic device 189 has concluded, the method 500 terminates.”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 133-134 “For example, unexpected or inaccurate sensor data from a nonessential sensor 120 may be caused by damage or by temporary obstruction (e.g., by ice or dirt accumulation).”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 142-145 “At block 510, the on-board computer 114, the smart home controller 185. and/or the personal electronic device 189 may determine damage associated with the determined incident. Such damage determination may include assessing or estimating damage to the vehicle”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 156-157, 159-161, 163, 166, 168, 172-174, 176, 178, 180, and 189-190: all discussing assessing damage to the vehicle using onboard systems and sensors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of monitoring, assessing, detecting, and responding to malfunctions involving components of vehicles (as disclosed by Johnston) to the known method and system for monitoring condition of a vehicle during a rented period in which a telematics system is employed to sense the condition of the vehicle (as disclosed by Cote) to detect malfunctions, determining repairs, determining component operating status, or generally evaluating effectiveness or reliability of components and features. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the known technique of capturing vehicle images to indicate the current condition of a vehicle component because it would detect malfunctions, determining repairs, determining component operating status, or generally evaluating effectiveness or reliability of components and features (see at least Konrardy: ¶ 33).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the known technique of monitoring, assessing, detecting, and responding to malfunctions involving components of vehicles (as disclosed by Johnston) to the known method and system for monitoring condition of a vehicle during a rented period in which a telematics system is employed to sense the condition of the vehicle (as disclosed by Cote) to detect malfunctions, determining repairs, determining component operating status, or generally evaluating effectiveness or reliability of components and features, because the claimed invention is merely applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 406 (2007). In other words, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (i.e., predictable results are obtained by applying the known technique of monitoring, assessing, detecting, and responding to malfunctions involving components of vehicles to the known method and system for monitoring condition of a vehicle during a rented period in which a telematics system is employed to sense the condition of the vehicle to detect malfunctions, determining repairs, determining component operating status, or generally evaluating effectiveness or reliability of components and features). See also MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
The combination of Cote and Johnson teaches:
receiving, by vehicle lifecycle computer program, the vehicle condition data from the on-board vehicle management computer program (see at least Cote: Col. 3 Line 12-28 “The systems and methods may analyze the set of operation data to identify various operation/driving events, such as accelerations, instances of exceeding the speed limit, hard brakes, hard turns, contact with other vehicles or objects, and/or other driving events”, Col. 4 Line 40-60 “Although not illustrated in FIG. 1, in some implementations each of the vehicles 105, 106, 107 may include a set of sensors configured to detect and collect various telematics data. According to some implementations, the set of sensors may include any type of sensor configured to detect vehicle movement or general operation including, for example, a braking sensor, a speedometer, a tachometer, a throttle position sensor, an accelerometer, an optical sensor, a microphone, a gyroscope, a location module (e.g., GPS sensor), and/or others. The set of sensors are generally configured to measure vehicle operation data. In some specific instances, the set of sensors may also be used to monitor vehicle lane deviation, vehicle swerving, vehicle lane centering, vehicle acceleration along a single axis or multiple axes, and vehicle distance to other objects. It should be appreciated that these types of sensors and measurable metrics are merely examples and that other types of sensors and measurable metrics are envisioned. Each of the electronic devices 110, 111, 112 may interface with the set of sensors to retrieve any recorded vehicle operation data.”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 156-157, 159-161, 163, 166, 168, 172-174, 176, 178, 180, and 189-190: all discussing assessing damage to the vehicle using onboard systems and sensors);
receiving, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, a request to terminate the vehicle lifecycle event (see at least Cote: Col. 7 Line 35-50: “At some point in time, the individual 201 may attempt (240) to log out of the application or otherwise disassociate with the vehicle 205/electronic device 210. In some embodiments, the individual 201 may select to end a metering operation of the application. In some scenarios, the individual 201 may complete a rental period with the vehicle 205. In other scenarios, the individual 201 may complete a trip with a passenger. It should be appreciated that other scenarios for the individual 201 ending a trip, session, period, or the like with the application and/or the vehicle 205 are envisioned. In some implementations, the electronic device 210 may facilitate (242) the logout with the vehicle manager 215, such that the vehicle manager 215 can record the disassociation, the completed trip, the end of the rental period, or the like.”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 156-157, 159-161, 163, 166, 168, 172-174, 176, 178, 180, and 189-190: all discussing assessing damage to the vehicle using onboard systems and sensors); and
disabling, by the centralized vehicle lifecycle computer program, the telematics unit (see at least Cote: Col. 7 Line 35-50: “At some point in time, the individual 201 may attempt (240) to log out of the application or otherwise disassociate with the vehicle 205/electronic device 210. In some embodiments, the individual 201 may select to end a metering operation of the application. In some scenarios, the individual 201 may complete a rental period with the vehicle 205. In other scenarios, the individual 201 may complete a trip with a passenger. It should be appreciated that other scenarios for the individual 201 ending a trip, session, period, or the like with the application and/or the vehicle 205 are envisioned. In some implementations, the electronic device 210 may facilitate (242) the logout with the vehicle manager 215, such that the vehicle manager 215 can record the disassociation, the completed trip, the end of the rental period, or the like.”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 156-157, 159-161, 163, 166, 168, 172-174, 176, 178, 180, and 189-190: all discussing assessing damage to the vehicle using onboard systems and sensors).
Referring to Claim 3, Cote discloses the method of claim 1, including wherein the vehicle equipment condition data comprise vehicle equipment image data and/or sensed vehicle equipment data (see at least Cote: Col. 3 Line 12-28 “The systems and methods may analyze the set of operation data to identify various operation/driving events, such as accelerations, instances of exceeding the speed limit, hard brakes, hard turns, contact with other vehicles or objects, and/or other driving events”, Col. 4 Line 40-60 “Although not illustrated in FIG. 1, in some implementations each of the vehicles 105, 106, 107 may include a set of sensors configured to detect and collect various telematics data. According to some implementations, the set of sensors may include any type of sensor configured to detect vehicle movement or general operation including, for example, a braking sensor, a speedometer, a tachometer, a throttle position sensor, an accelerometer, an optical sensor, a microphone, a gyroscope, a location module (e.g., GPS sensor), and/or others. The set of sensors are generally configured to measure vehicle operation data. In some specific instances, the set of sensors may also be used to monitor vehicle lane deviation, vehicle swerving, vehicle lane centering, vehicle acceleration along a single axis or multiple axes, and vehicle distance to other objects. It should be appreciated that these types of sensors and measurable metrics are merely examples and that other types of sensors and measurable metrics are envisioned. Each of the electronic devices 110, 111, 112 may interface with the set of sensors to retrieve any recorded vehicle operation data.”; see at least Cote: Col. 7 Line 15-35; see also Konrardy: ¶ 156-157, 159-161, 163, 166, 168, 172-174, 176, 178, 180, and 189-190: all discussing assessing damage to the vehicle using onboard systems and sensors).
Referring to Claims 4, Cote discloses the method of claim 3; Cote fails to state wherein the vehicle image data comprises a plurality of images of the vehicle captured by vehicle image capture devices that indicate a current damage of the vehicle.
However, Konrardy, which talks about systems and methods for component monitoring and assessment for damage or other malfunctions, teaches it is known for system to monitor, assessing, detecting, and responding to malfunctions involving components of vehicles (see at least Konrardy: Abstract, and ¶ 28 “FIG. 6 illustrates a flow diagram of an exemplary salvage assessment computer-implemented method for automatically determining damage and/or salvage potential for components”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 71 “external computing device 186 may additionally or alternatively be part of an insurer computing system (or facilitate communications with an insurer computer system), and as such may access insurer databases, execute algorithms, execute applications, access remote servers, communicate with remote processors, etc., as needed to perform insurance-related functions …determining repair/salvage information for damaged vehicles”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 117 “The controller 204 may process the sensor data, the communication data, and the settings or configuration information to determine whether an incident has occurred (block 410). As used herein, an “incident” is an occurrence during operation of an autonomous vehicle, smart home, and/or personal electronic device outside of normal safe operating conditions, such that one or more of the following occurs: (i) there is an interruption of ordinary operation, (ii) there is damage to the vehicle”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 128 “electronic device 189) is determined to have occurred (block 508), damage to the vehicle”; see also Konrardy: ¶ 129 “The method 500 then de