DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 02/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12 and 15-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 13 and 14 have been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Priority
The examiner acknowledges the receipt of a certified copy of the CN202110901352.4 application, on 11/06/2025, as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “ wherein the opening is a cavity”. Claim 3, depends on claim 1, which recites the limitation: “wherein the opening is an aperture formed by at least one electrically conductive layer structure and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure of the stack”. If the opening is an aperture formed by one layer, then it cannot also be a cavity in the same layer. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, claim 3 will be interpreted as: The component carrier as set forth in claim 1, in wherein the opening
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Hyeon-ho et al., (Korean Patent Publication Number, KR 101856022 B1) hereinafter referenced as Kim_022, in view of Nobuhiro Hanai et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2012/0217607 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hanai, and in view of Hu et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number , US 2016/0211204 A1) hereinafter referenced as Hu.
Regarding claim 1, Kim_022 teaches a component carrier, comprising: a stack comprising at least one electrically insulating layer (Fig.5, the insulating layer is element #100, paragraph [0066], row 1). Kim_022 does not each wherein the stack comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure. Hanai teaches a stack comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure and at least one electrically insulating layer structure (Fig.29, insulator element #100, and conductive layers below element #100). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hanai and disclose a stack comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure and at least one electrically insulating layer structure. As disclosed by Hanai, the conductive layers allow the buildup of other connecting layers on both the top and bottom side of the component carrier, which can be used to attach other electronic components to the carrier, thus increasing the functionality of the carrier (Fig.30A).
Kim_022 further teaches an optical component embedded within the stack (Fig.9, formed by elements #130 and #135, paragraph [0041], row 1); wherein the optical component comprises an optically active portion (Fig.5, the optical active portion is at the bottom of side of the chip, the paragraph [0047], rows 1-4); an opening formed within the stack (Fig.5, element #105), wherein the optical component and the opening are spatially arranged and configured such that an optical communication between the optically active portion and an exterior of the stack is enabled (Fig.5, paragraph [0047], rows 1-4, note that element #110 is later removed); a protection structure extending around the optically active portion and/or the opening (Fig.5, element #120, paragraph [0046], rows 1-2, and paragraph [0047], rows 1-4) wherein the protection structure is configured for protecting the optically active portion from a resin flow during an embedding of the optical component in the stack (Fig.6, element #120 protects the active portion from the flow of element #140, paragraph [0077], rows 3-4, element #140 may be resin, paragraph [0051], row 2, and paragraph [0037], row 3), wherein the protection structure defines a resin free region such that the optically active portion is within the resin free region (Fig.5, hole, element #125 is a region free of resin, paragraph [0047], rows 1-4); and an encapsulating material provided in a single electrically insulating layer of the stack at one side of the stack (Fig.5 and 6, element #140, paragraph [0050], rows 1-2) and being in contact with the optical component at a side opposite to the optically active portion (Fig.6, element #140 is in contact with the top side of element #130, the optically active portion is on the bottom side) wherein the encapsulating material comprises a resin material completely encapsulating the optical component within the stack up to the protection structure (Fig.6, element #140 completely encapsulates the optical component, formed by elements #130 and #135, up to the protection structure, element #120; Note that holes #145 are made after the deposition of layer #140 through drilling, paragraph [0089]), wherein the opening is an aperture formed by at least one electrically conductive layer structure and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure of the stack (Fig.5, the opening, element #105, is an aperture in the insulating layer, since it extends from the top side to the bottom side of insulating layer, element #100). Kim_022 teaches an optically transparent medium covering the aperture (Fig.10, element #170). The combination of Kim_022 and Hanai does not teach wherein the aperture is at least partially filled with an optically transparent medium. Hu teaches wherein an aperture is at least partially filled with an optically transparent medium (Fig.2D-3, element #30, paragraph [0074], rows 1-2. Note that Kimm_022 teaches removing the adhesive member #110). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hu and disclose wherein the aperture is at least partially filled with an optically transparent medium. Partially filling the aperture with an optically transparent medium protects the optically active portion from degradation due to external factors (such as debris from following processing steps).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu teaches the component carrier of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Kim_022 further teaches the component carrier as set forth in claim 1 wherein the optical component is embedded within an interior of the stack (Fig.6, the optical component formed by element #130 and #135 is embedded within an interior of the stack).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu teaches the component carrier of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Kim_022 further teaches the component carrier as set forth in claim 1 wherein the opening
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu teaches the component carrier of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Kim_022 does not teach teaches the component carrier as set forth in claim 1 wherein the protection structure extends to the full extent around the optically active portion and/or the opening. Hanai teaches wherein the protection structure (Fig.19B, element #202a, paragraph [0172], rows 2), extends to the full extent around the optically active portion and/or the opening (Fig.36A, element #202a surrounds the active portion, element #202). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hanai and disclose wherein the protection structure extends to the full extent around the optically active portion and/or the opening. As disclosed by Hanai, having the protection structure extend to the full extent around the optically active portion, prevents the encapsulant to reach the optically active portion during encapsulation of the optical component.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu teaches the component carrier of claims 1 and 4 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Kim_022 does not teach the component carrier as set forth in claim 4 wherein the protection structure, extends circumferentially around the optically active portion and/or the opening; or the protection structure extends in a rectangular manner around the optically active portion and/or the opening. Hanai teaches wherein the protection structure (Fig.19B, element #202a, paragraph [0148], rows 1), extends circumferentially around the optically active portion and/or the opening (Fig.36A, element #202a is located circumferentially around the active portion, element #202); or the protection structure extends in a rectangular manner around the optically active portion and/or the opening (Fig.36A, element #202a is a rectangle around the active portion, element #202). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hanai and disclose wherein the protection structure, extends circumferentially around the optically active portion and/or the opening; or the protection structure extends in a rectangular manner around the optically active portion and/or the opening. As disclosed by Hanai, having the protection structure extend circumferentially around the optically active portion, prevents the encapsulant to reach the optically active portion during encapsulation of the optical component.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu teaches the component carrier of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Kim_022 further teaches the component carrier as set forth in claim 1 wherein the protection structure is a part of or is directly attached to the optical component (Fig.6, element #120 is attached to the bottom surface of element #130, paragraph [0077], rows 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu teaches the component carrier of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Kim_022 further teaches the component carrier as set forth in claim 1 wherein the protection structure protrudes from an outer main surface of the optical component (Fig.6, element #120 protrudes from the bottom surface of element #130).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu teaches the component carrier of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Kim_022 does not teach the component carrier as set forth in claim 1, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: the protection structure is made of metal and/or an electrically insulating material; the protection structure comprises a thickness being the same or being larger than a thickness of a layer of the encapsulating material at least partially encapsulating embedded optical component. Hanai teaches wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: the protection structure is made of metal and/or an electrically insulating material (paragraph [0140], rows 2-3); the protection structure comprises a thickness being the same or being larger than a thickness of a layer of the encapsulating material at least partially encapsulating embedded optical component. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hanai and disclose wherein the protection structure is made of an electrically insulating material. Making the protection structure of an electrically insulating material prevents shorting electrical terminals that may exist on the same side of the optical component.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu teaches the component carrier of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Kim_022 further teaches wherein the optical component is embedded in a core (Fig.6, element #130 is embedded in the core substrate, element #100), wherein a buildup comprising a resin layer is formed on the core (Fig.6, element #140 may be resin paragraph [0051], row 2, and paragraph [0037], row 3 and is formed on the core).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu teaches the component carrier of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Kim_022 further teaches the component carrier as set forth in claim 1, wherein the optical component is one of an optical receiver, an optical transmitter (the optical component is an optical sensor or an optical transmitter, paragraph [0047], rows 1-2) and an optical transceiver.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim_022 in view of Hanai, Hu and in view of disclosed prior art, Jia-Hua Wang and Xian-feng Yang, (Chinese Patent Application Publication Number, CN 113053325 A) hereinafter referenced as Yang.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu teaches the component carrier of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Kim_022 further teaches, wherein the optical component (Fig.9, optical component is formed by elements #130 and #135) comprises a redistribution layer structure (element #135). The combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu does not teach the protection structure forms a part of the redistribution layer structure. Yang teaches wherein the optical component (Fig.3, element #100) comprises a redistribution layer structure (Fig.3, conductive layer elements #2 connected to optical component bondpad, element #110) wherein the protection structure (Fig.3, grooves element #510) forms a part of the redistribution layer structure (Fig.3, grooves element #510 form part of the redistribution layer structure). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yang and disclose the optical component comprises a redistribution layer structure and the protection structure forms a part of the redistribution layer structure. This helps reduce the number of processing steps and thus increases yield, by eliminating the deposition and patterning of extra layers that will otherwise be needed to form the protection structure.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu teaches the component carrier of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu does not teach, wherein the protection structure is a recess extending into a main surface of the stack. Yang teaches wherein the protection structure (Fig.3, grooves, element #510) is a recess extending into a main surface of the stack (Fig.3, the grooves, element #510 are a recess extending into the bottom surface of conductive layer, element #2). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yang and disclose the protection structure is a recess extending into a main surface of the stack. As disclosed by Yang, forming a recess into a main surface of the stack, before encapsulation/packaging prevents the overflow of the encapsulation/packaging material into the active portion of the optical component, by providing a space where the extra material can flow. Furthermore, the formation of the recess can be achieved using well known patterning and etching process steps of already existing stack layers, and therefore does not require extra deposition steps.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim_022, in view of Hanai, Hu and in view of Chian-Chi Lin et al., (United States Patent, US 7,790,505 B2) hereinafter referenced as Lin.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu teaches the component carrier of claim 1 as set forth in the obvious rejection. The combination of Kim_022, Hanai and Hu does not teach the component carrier as set forth in claim 1, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: a transmittance value of the optically transparent medium is larger than 80%, wherein the transmittance value applies for a wavelength range between 250 nm and 1250 nm; the optically transparent medium is formed exclusively within the aperture and optionally within an annular surrounding thereof; the optically transparent medium is formed at an entire main surface of the stack. Lin teaches the wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: a transmittance value of the optically transparent medium is larger than 80%, wherein the transmittance value applies for a wavelength range between 250 nm and 1250 nm; the optically transparent medium is formed exclusively within the aperture (Fig.2H, element #22 is formed exclusively within the aperture) and optionally within an annular surrounding thereof; the optically transparent medium is formed at an entire main surface of the stack. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Lin and disclose wherein the optically transparent medium is formed exclusively within the aperture. Adding the transparent medium outside the aperture can reduce the optical component performance through optical effects such as unwanted reflections, and also increases the cost of the final product.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim_022 in view of Hu.
Regarding claim 18, Kim_022 teaches a method for manufacturing a component carrier, the method comprising: providing a stack comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure and at least one insulating layer structure (Fig.7, the conductive layer is element #150, paragraph [0087], row 1, the insulating layer is element #100, paragraph [0066], row 1), providing an encapsulating material at one side of the stack, the encapsulating material comprising a resin material (Fig.6, element #140 may be resin, paragraph [0051], row 2, and paragraph [0037], row 3); providing an optical component (Fig.6, formed by elements #130 and #135, paragraph [0041], row 1); having an optically active portion (Fig.6, the optical active portion is at the bottom of side of the chip, the paragraph [0047], rows 1-4), the encapsulating material in contact with the optical component at a side opposite to the optically active portion (Fig.6, element #140 is in contact with the top side of element #130, the optically active portion is on the bottom side); forming a protection structure at the optical component (Fig.6, element #120 is at the bottom side of element #130, paragraph [0046], rows 1-2, and paragraph [0047], rows 1-4), wherein the protection structure surrounds at least partially the optically active portion (Fig.6, element #120 diameter is larger than the diameter of the optical component #130, the optically active region is in the hole #125, paragraph [0046], rows 1-3).
Kim_022 further teaches embedding the optical component within the stack (Fig.6, element #130 and #135 are embedded within the stack) in a single embedding process step (Fig.6, deposition of element #140) wherein the resin material encapsulates at least partially the optical component within the stack (Fig.6, element #140 encapsulates the optical component, formed by elements #130 and #135) and wherein the optically active portion is protected from a flow of the resin material by the protection structure (Fig.6, element #120 protects the active portion from encapsulant flow, element #140, paragraph [0077], rows 3-4, element #140 may be resin, paragraph [0051], row 2, and paragraph [0037], row 3), wherein the opening is an aperture formed by at least one electrically conductive layer structure and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure of the stack (Fig.5, the opening, element #105 is an aperture in the insulating layer, since it extends from the top side to the bottom side of insulating layer, element #100). Kim_022 teaches an optically transparent medium covering the aperture (Fig.10, element #170). Kim_022 does not teach wherein the aperture is at least partially filled with an optically transparent medium. Hu teaches wherein an aperture is at least partially filled with an optically transparent medium (Fig.2D-3, element #30, paragraph [0074], rows 1-2. Note that Kim_022 also teaches removing the adhesive member #110). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hu and disclose wherein the aperture is at least partially filled with an optically transparent medium. Partially filling the aperture with an optically transparent medium protects the optically active portion from degradation due to external factors (such as debris from following processing steps).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kim_022, and Hu teaches the method of claim 18 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Kim_022 further teaches forming an opening within the stack (Fig.4, element #105), wherein the optical component and the opening are spatially arranged and configured such that an optical communication between the optically active portion and an exterior of the stack is enabled (paragraph [0047], rows 1-4).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim_022 in view of Hu and in view of Yu-Pin Tsai et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2021/0005761 A1) hereinafter referenced as Tsai.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kim_022 and Hu teaches the method of claims 18 and 19 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Kim_022 and Hu does not teach wherein forming the opening comprises filling an opening region in the stack with a poorly adhesive material, and removing the poorly adhesive material after having completed the embedding of the optical component within the stack. Tsai teaches forming the opening (Fig.6G, elements #11h2 and #14h2, paragraph [0023], rows 1-3) comprises filling an opening region in the stack (Fig.6B, element #68a fills the opening region on top of the active portion, element #13e) with a poorly adhesive material (polydimethylsilozane, paragraph [0052], rows 6-9), and removing the poorly adhesive material (Fig.6E, element #68 is removed) after having completed the embedding of the optical component within the stack (Fig.6E, film element #68a is removed, after the optical component, element #13, is embedded in layers #14 and #11, paragraph [0055], rows 1-3). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Tsai and disclose forming the opening comprises filling an opening region in the stack with a poorly adhesive material, and removing the poorly adhesive material after having completed the embedding of the optical component within the stack. As disclosed by Tsai, the adhesive material offers protection to the active area during encapsulation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 and 10 are allowed if written in independent form.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 8 the cited prior art does not teach or fairly suggests, along with other claimed features: “ wherein the first protrusion length is larger than the second protrusion length”. Kim_022 teaches wherein the first protrusion length is equal to the second protrusion length (Fig.5). Hanai teaches wherein the protection structure (Fig.39, element #202a) protrudes from an outer main surface of the optical component (Fig.39, element #202a, protrudes from the top surface or optical component, element #200) by a first protrusion length (Fig.39, height of element #202a) and sidewalls of the opening (Fig.39, right sidewall of element #12a located to the left side of the opening and the left sidewall of element #12a located to the right side of the opening) protrude from the outer main surface of the optical component (Fig.39, protrude from the top surface of the optical component, element #200) by a second protrusion length (Fig.39, thickness of insulating layer element #11), wherein the first protrusion length is larger than the second protrusion length (Fig.39, paragraph [0197], rows 1-3). However, this feature cannot be combined with other claimed features.
Regarding claim 10 the cited prior art does not teach or fairly suggests, along with other
claimed features: “wherein the protection structure is a protrusion protruding from an outer surface of the stack”. Hanai teaches wherein the protection structure is a protrusion (Fig.40, element #202b, paragraph [0198], rows 1-3, is a protrusion) protruding from an outer surface of the stack (Fig.40, element #202b, paragraph [0198], rows 1-3). However, this feature cannot be combined with other claimed features.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/03/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the 102 rejection of claims 1, 3, 6, 7, and 16-19, the examiner agrees with the applicant arguments that Kim_022 does not teach the new limitation “an aperture at least partially filled with an optically transparent medium”. Therefore the 102 rejection of claims 1, 3, 6, 7 and 16-19, as set forth in the previous office action, is withdrawn.
Regarding the 103 rejection of claims 1, 8 and 10 using the combination of Hanai and Kim_319, the examiner agrees with the applicant arguments that the combination of Hanai and Kim_319 does not teach the new limitation “an aperture at least partially filled with an optically transparent medium”. Therefore the 103 rejection of claims 1, 8 and 10 using the combination of Hanai and Kim_319, as set forth in the previous office action, is withdrawn.
Regarding the 103 rejection of claims 2 and 15 applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner notes that claims 1-12 and 15-17 relate to a product, not a process of making the product and, therefore, the process used to manufacture the product, in the disclosures used as a reference for rejection, is immaterial: the process or method of making a product does not differentiate the product from another one that has the same structural features. Therefore, all the arguments made by the applicant that relate to the process of making the product, and used to traverse the rejection of product claims, are not considered persuasive.
The examiner also notes that, in this office action, the word “aperture” is interpreted as referring to an opening that extends from one side to an opposite side of a layer, while “cavity” refers to a hollow space or a depression with a layer. As such element #105, of Kim_22 is an aperture in the insulating layer element #100, since it extends from the top side to the bottom side of insulating layer.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims 4, 5, 9, 11, 12 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CRISTIAN A TIVARUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899