Status of Claims
Examiner notes that in the instant application:
-Claims 1-18 are pending.
-Claims 6, 19, and 20 are cancelled.
-Claims 1-4, 12, 14-18 are amended.
Drawings
The drawings to overcome the drawing objection of the non-final office action filed August 26, 2025, hereinafter the “Non-Final”, were received on November 18, 2025. These drawings are accepted and the objections over the drawings are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s amendments to Claims 15, 17, and 18 as they relate to claim objection over informalities in the Non-Final. The objections over informalities of the Non-Final are hereby withdrawn. Upon review, a new objection is presented below.
Claims 1, 16, and 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 1, The limitation “wherein a gap locates between the dam bar and the first semiconductor package” should read --wherein the dam bar is formed such that a gap is present between the dam bar and the first semiconductor package--
Regarding Claim 16, The limitation “wherein a gap locates between the dam bar and the first semiconductor package” should read --wherein the dam bar is formed such that a gap is present between the dam bar and the first semiconductor package--
Regarding Claim 18, The limitation “making the second cut comprising” should read --making the second cut comprises--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s amendment to Claim 4 as they relate to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed November 18, 2025 have been fully considered, but are not found persuasive.
Upon review, it is the Examiner’s understanding that the Applicant may have misunderstood the structure of the semiconductor package presented in the previous rejection. In particular, Applicant argues that there is no gap between element SP1 (what Examiner identified as the “semiconductor package”) and element 146A (what Examiner identified as the “dam bar”). However, SP1 is in fact above the plane shown in the annotated Fig. 10 (Fig. A) of Lee, as could be seen in Fig. 9 and is necessitated by the fact the cuts are made in order to separate the package from the remaining leadframe. Furthermore, even with overlapped elements visible, a gap is present (see the plan view of Fig. 11, wherein a gap is clearly visible between the dam bar and the bottom of the package (the die (120) being part of the package). For clarity, the Examiner has provided a second annotated version of Fig. 10 of Lee, Fig. S, below to mark where there is material (i.e. the leadframe, etc.) in the plane (filled in as black) and where there are gaps or empty space (left as blank).
Fig. A has been updated below to specify the packages are above the plane shown and update the cuts referenced based on the amendments.
The rejection has been updated to address the newly amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2016/0027721), hereinafter Lee, as evidenced by Bin Abdul Aziz et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0235042), hereinafter Bin Andul Aziz. For clarity, an annotated version of Fig. 10 of Lee is provided below, hereinafter Fig. A.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a method of forming a semiconductor package (e.g. package (158), labeled (SP2) in Fig. A. Similarly for (SP1); Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021], [0035], and [0036]) comprising:
-forming the semiconductor package (SP1) having a first plurality of leads ((140)/(140A); Fig. A, Paragraphs [0030] and [0031]) extending from a first side of the semiconductor package (side facing positive Y-direction, Fig. A), the semiconductor package disposed on a leadframe ((114); Fig. A, Paragraph [0020]), the leadframe (114) comprising the first plurality of leads ((140A));
-making a first cut (cutting dam bar in area labeled (C1); Figs. A and 11, Paragraph [0035]) through a dam bar ((146)/(146A); Figs. A and 11, Paragraphs [0030], [0031], and [0035]) coupled to the first plurality of leads (140A) adjacent to a first side (side facing positive X-direction; Fig. A) of a first lead ((144A); Fig. A, Paragraphs [0031] and [0032]) of the first plurality of leads (140A); and
-making a second cut (cutting dam bar in area labeled (C2); Figs. A and 11, Paragraph [0035]) through the dam bar (146A) adjacent (along the X-axis) to a second side (side facing negative X-direction; Fig. A) of the first lead (144A) of the first plurality of leads (140A), the second side of the lead opposite the first side of the lead,
-wherein the dam bar (146A) is formed such that a gap (the empty space of the plane, e.g. as below SP1; Figs. A and S) is present between the dam bar (146A) and the semiconductor package (SP1) (See also Fig. 9 for a higher plane)
(Examiner notes that while describing the method, Lee states that the dam bars are removed in a “conventional manner” (Paragraph [0031]) or “conventionally” (Paragraph [0036]) and earlier states that in prior art they are “trimmed” (Paragraph [0028]). This would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art to mean “cut”- As an example see Paragraph [0001] of Bin Abdul Aziz which identifies that within the art “standard dam bar cutting tools (e.g., punch and die systems) cut the dam bar material”. Compare to the instant application which states the use of a “punch tool” for making the cuts (Paragraph [0042])).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) comprises exposing a portion of the first lead (144A). (This is necessarily the case for the portion of the side of the lead (144A) that was connected to the section of the dam bar (146) removed.)
Regarding Claim 3, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) comprises making the first cut adjacent (along the X-axis) to a third side (side facing negative X-direction; Fig. A) of a second lead (142A) of the first plurality of leads (140A).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 3, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) exposes a portion of the second lead (142A). (This is necessarily the case for the portion of the side of the lead (142A) that was connected to the section of the dam bar (146) removed.)
Regarding Claim 5, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) comprises making the first cut parallel (i.e. along the Y-axis) to the first side of the first lead (side facing positive X-direction of (144A)).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- the semiconductor package (SP1) comprises a flat lead package. (Lee identifies the method as used for SOP type leadframes (Paragraph [0040]) which includes IC packages where leads are not bent (i.e. flat lead) (Paragraph [0027]))
Regarding Claim 8, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- the semiconductor package (SP1) comprises a gullwing lead package. (Lee identifies the method as used for SOP type leadframes (Paragraph [0040]) which includes gullwing lead packages (Paragraph [0027]))
Regarding Claim 9, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-the first lead (144A) comprises a first lead tip (‘free end’ (145)/(145A); Fig. A, Paragraph [0019]) disposed between the first side of the first lead (side facing positive X-direction of (144A)) and the second side of the first lead (side facing negative X-direction of (144A)), and the first lead tip is plated (Paragraph [0038]).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-wherein a portion of a side of a lead (e.g. free end (145A) of (144A); Fig. A, Paragraph [0019]) of the first plurality of leads (140A) is exposed (Examiner understands this as not in direct contact with another portion of the lead frame separate from other sides of the same lead- though this is a claim with a very broad limitation generally and many portions of the leads are applicable).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- the leadframe comprises a plurality of openings (‘Openings’ consisting of ‘gaps’ e.g. (152), (154) and large gaps e.g. (LG1), (LG2); Fig. A, Paragraph [0034]) disposed adjacent (along the Y-axis) to the first lead (144A).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 11, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) comprises making the first cut through a first opening (LG1) of the plurality of openings (‘Openings’).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 11, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) comprises making the first cut along a first side (side facing positive X-direction; Fig. A) of a first opening (154) of the plurality of openings (‘Openings’), the first side disposed between a second side (side facing negative Y-direction; Fig. A) and a third side opposite the second side (side facing positive Y-direction; Fig. A), the second side of the opening forming a lead tip of the first lead (‘free end’ (145)/(145A); Fig. A, Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 11, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) comprises making the first cut through the leadframe (in this case the portion of the dam bar (146A) which is a part of the leadframe (114); Figs. A and 11, Paragraphs [0030], [0031], and [0036]) between two openings (e.g. (152) and (154)) of the plurality of openings (‘Openings’).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- a width of the first cut (C1) is equal to a distance between the first side of the first lead (side facing positive X-direction of (144A)) and a first side (side facing negative X-direction; Fig. A) of a second lead (142A).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (consisting of a plurality of semiconductor packages e.g. integrated circuit package (158), labeled (SP2) in Fig. A. Similarly for (SP1); Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021], [0035], and [0036]) comprising:
forming a leadframe strip ((110); Fig. A, Paragraph [0019]) with a first semiconductor package (SP1) and a second semiconductor package (SP2) attached to the leadframe strip ((110); via the leads, See also Fig. 9), the first semiconductor package having a first plurality of leads ((140)/(140A); Fig. A, Paragraphs [0030] and [0031]) extending from a first side (side facing positive Y-direction, Fig. A) of the first semiconductor package (SP1) towards the second semiconductor package (SP2), the second semiconductor package having a second plurality of leads ((130); Fig. A, Paragraphs [0030] and [0031]) extending from a second side (side facing negative Y-direction, Fig. A) of the second semiconductor package (SP2) toward the first semiconductor package (SP1), the first semiconductor package and the second semiconductor package disposed adjacent to each other;
-making a first cut (cutting dam bar in area labeled (C1); Figs. A and 11, Paragraph [0035]) through a dam bar ((146)/(146A); Figs. A and 11, Paragraphs [0030], [0031], and [0035]) coupled to the first plurality of leads (140A) adjacent to a first side (side facing positive X-direction; Fig. A) of a first lead ((144A) of the first plurality of leads (140A); and
-making a second cut (cutting dam bar in area labeled (C2); Figs. A and 11, Paragraph [0035]) through the dam bar (146A) adjacent (along the X-axis) to a second side (side facing negative X-direction; Fig. A) of the first lead (144A) of the first plurality of leads (140A), the second side of the lead opposite the first side of the first lead,
-wherein the dam bar (146A) is formed such that a gap (the empty space of the plane, e.g. as below SP1; Figs. A and S) is present between the dam bar (146A) and the semiconductor package (SP1) (See also Fig. 9 for a higher plane)
(Examiner notes that while describing the method, Lee states that the dam bars are removed in a “conventional manner” (Paragraph [0031]) or “conventionally” (Paragraph [0035]) and earlier states that in prior art they are “trimmed” (Paragraph [0028]). This would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art to mean “cut”- As an example see Paragraph [0001] of Bin Abdul Aziz which identifies that within the art “standard dam bar cutting tools (e.g., punch and die systems) cut the dam bar material”. Compare to the instant application which states the use of a “punch tool” for making the cuts (Paragraph [0042])).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 16, wherein:
- making the first cut (C1) comprises making the first cut adjacent (along the X-axis) to a third side (side facing positive X-direction; Fig. A) of a second lead (134) of the second plurality of leads (130);
Regarding Claim 18, Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 16, wherein:
- making the second cut (C2) comprises making the second cut adjacent (along the X-axis) to a fourth side (side facing negative X-direction; Fig. A) of a second lead (134) of the second plurality of leads (130).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812