Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Examiner notes that in the instant application:
-Claims 1-5, 7-18 are pending.
-Claims 6, 19, and 20 are cancelled.
-Claims 1 and 16 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed May 21, 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive, the rejection has been updated to address the newly amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2016/0027721), hereinafter Lee, in view of Bai et al. (U.S. 2015/0294929), hereinafter Bai, as evidenced by Bin Abdul Aziz et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0235042), hereinafter Bin Andul Aziz. For clarity, an annotated version of Fig. 10 of Lee is provided below, hereinafter Fig. A.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a method of forming a semiconductor package (e.g. package (158), labeled (SP2) in Fig. A. Similarly for (SP1); Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021], [0035], and [0036]) comprising:
-forming the semiconductor package (SP1) having a first plurality of leads ((140)/(140A); Fig. A, Paragraphs [0030] and [0031]) extending from a first side of the semiconductor package (side facing positive Y-direction, Fig. A), the semiconductor package disposed on a leadframe strip ((114); Fig. A, Paragraph [0020]), the leadframe strip (114) comprising the first plurality of leads ((140A));
-making a first cut (cutting dam bar in area labeled (C1); Figs. A and 11, Paragraph [0035]) through a dam bar ((146)/(146A); Figs. A and 11, Paragraphs [0030], [0031], and [0035]) coupled to the first plurality of leads (140A) adjacent to a first side (side facing positive X-direction; Fig. A) of a first lead ((144A); Fig. A, Paragraphs [0031] and [0032]) of the first plurality of leads (140A); and
-making a second cut (cutting dam bar in area labeled (C2); Figs. A and 11, Paragraph [0035]) through the dam bar (146A) adjacent (along the X-axis) to a second side (side facing negative X-direction; Fig. A) of the first lead (144A) of the first plurality of leads (140A), the second side of the lead opposite the first side of the lead.
(Examiner notes that while describing the method, Lee states that the dam bars are removed in a “conventional manner” (Paragraph [0031]) or “conventionally” (Paragraph [0036]) and earlier states that in prior art they are “trimmed” (Paragraph [0028]). This would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art to mean “cut”- As an example see Paragraph [0001] of Bin Abdul Aziz which identifies that within the art “standard dam bar cutting tools (e.g., punch and die systems) cut the dam bar material”. Compare to the instant application which states the use of a “punch tool” for making the cuts (Paragraph [0042])).
Lee nor Bin Abdul Aziz explicitly teach:
-singulating the semiconductor package from the leadframe strip, wherein singulating the semiconductor package from the leadframe strip comprises cutting the dam bars
Bai teaches a method of forming a semiconductor package ((1600); Fig. 16, Paragraph [0051]), comprising:
-singulating the semiconductor package (e.g. (600); Figs. 6 and 7, Paragraph [0034]) from the leadframe strip ((102); Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]), wherein singulating the semiconductor package from the leadframe strip comprises cutting the dam bars (e.g. (116); Fig. 3, Paragraph [0034]) (See Paragraphs [0034] and [0051])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Bai into the method of Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz such that it further included singulating the semiconductor package from the leadframe strip, wherein singulating the semiconductor package from the leadframe strip comprises cutting the dam bars. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the predictable result of simplifying the method by combining process steps (i.e. singulation and dam bar removal).
For the following claim rejections, all references are directed towards Lee unless otherwise specified. For example, (146) refers to (Lee, (146)), while (Bai, (102)) refers to element (102) of Bai.
Regarding Claim 2, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) comprises exposing a portion of the first lead (144A). (This is necessarily the case for the portion of the side of the lead (144A) that was connected to the section of the dam bar (146) removed.)
Regarding Claim 3, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) comprises making the first cut adjacent (along the X-axis) to a third side (side facing negative X-direction; Fig. A) of a second lead (142A) of the first plurality of leads (140A).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 3, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) exposes a portion of the second lead (142A). (This is necessarily the case for the portion of the side of the lead (142A) that was connected to the section of the dam bar (146) removed.)
Regarding Claim 5, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) comprises making the first cut parallel (i.e. along the Y-axis) to the first side of the first lead (side facing positive X-direction of (144A)).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- the semiconductor package (SP1) comprises a flat lead package. (Lee identifies the method as used for SOP type leadframes (Paragraph [0040]) which includes IC packages where leads are not bent (i.e. flat lead) (Paragraph [0027]))
Regarding Claim 8, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- the semiconductor package (SP1) comprises a gullwing lead package. (Lee identifies the method as used for SOP type leadframes (Paragraph [0040]) which includes gullwing lead packages (Paragraph [0027]))
Regarding Claim 9, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-the first lead (144A) comprises a first lead tip (‘free end’ (145)/(145A); Fig. A, Paragraph [0019]) disposed between the first side of the first lead (side facing positive X-direction of (144A)) and the second side of the first lead (side facing negative X-direction of (144A)), and the first lead tip is plated (Paragraph [0038]).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
-wherein a portion of a side of a lead (e.g. free end (145A) of (144A); Fig. A, Paragraph [0019]) of the first plurality of leads (140A) is exposed (Examiner understands this as not in direct contact with another portion of the lead frame separate from other sides of the same lead- though this is a claim with a very broad limitation generally and many portions of the leads are applicable).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- the leadframe comprises a plurality of openings (‘Openings’ consisting of ‘gaps’ e.g. (152), (154) and large gaps e.g. (LG1), (LG2); Fig. A, Paragraph [0034]) disposed adjacent (along the Y-axis) to the first lead (144A).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 11, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) comprises making the first cut through a first opening (LG1) of the plurality of openings (‘Openings’).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 11, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) comprises making the first cut along a first side (side facing positive X-direction; Fig. A) of a first opening (154) of the plurality of openings (‘Openings’), the first side disposed between a second side (side facing negative Y-direction; Fig. A) and a third side opposite the second side (side facing positive Y-direction; Fig. A), the second side of the opening forming a lead tip of the first lead (‘free end’ (145)/(145A); Fig. A, Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 11, wherein:
-making the first cut (C1) comprises making the first cut through the leadframe (in this case the portion of the dam bar (146A) which is a part of the leadframe (114); Figs. A and 11, Paragraphs [0030], [0031], and [0036]) between two openings (e.g. (152) and (154)) of the plurality of openings (‘Openings’).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- a width of the first cut (C1) is equal to a distance between the first side of the first lead (side facing positive X-direction of (144A)) and a first side (side facing negative X-direction; Fig. A) of a second lead (142A).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (consisting of a plurality of semiconductor packages e.g. integrated circuit package (158), labeled (SP2) in Fig. A. Similarly for (SP1); Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021], [0035], and [0036]) comprising:
providing a leadframe strip ((110); Fig. A, Paragraph [0019]) with a first semiconductor package (SP1) and a second semiconductor package (SP2) attached to the leadframe strip ((110); via the leads, See also Fig. 9), the first semiconductor package having a first plurality of leads ((140)/(140A); Fig. A, Paragraphs [0030] and [0031]) extending from a first side (side facing positive Y-direction, Fig. A) of the first semiconductor package (SP1) towards the second semiconductor package (SP2), the second semiconductor package having a second plurality of leads ((130); Fig. A, Paragraphs [0030] and [0031]) extending from a second side (side facing negative Y-direction, Fig. A) of the second semiconductor package (SP2) toward the first semiconductor package (SP1), the first semiconductor package and the second semiconductor package disposed adjacent to each other;
-making a first cut (cutting dam bar in area labeled (C1); Figs. A and 11, Paragraph [0035]) through a dam bar ((146)/(146A); Figs. A and 11, Paragraphs [0030], [0031], and [0035]) coupled to the first plurality of leads (140A) adjacent to a first side (side facing positive X-direction; Fig. A) of a first lead ((144A) of the first plurality of leads (140A); and
-making a second cut (cutting dam bar in area labeled (C2); Figs. A and 11, Paragraph [0035]) through the dam bar (146A) adjacent (along the X-axis) to a second side (side facing negative X-direction; Fig. A) of the first lead (144A) of the first plurality of leads (140A), the second side of the lead opposite the first side of the first lead.
(Examiner notes that while describing the method, Lee states that the dam bars are removed in a “conventional manner” (Paragraph [0031]) or “conventionally” (Paragraph [0035]) and earlier states that in prior art they are “trimmed” (Paragraph [0028]). This would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art to mean “cut”- As an example see Paragraph [0001] of Bin Abdul Aziz which identifies that within the art “standard dam bar cutting tools (e.g., punch and die systems) cut the dam bar material”. Compare to the instant application which states the use of a “punch tool” for making the cuts (Paragraph [0042])).
Lee nor Bin Abdul Aziz explicitly teach:
-singulating the first semiconductor package from the leadframe strip, wherein singulating the semiconductor package from the leadframe strip comprises cutting the dam bars
Bai teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device ((1600); Fig. 16, Paragraph [0051]), comprising:
-singulating the first semiconductor package (e.g. (600); Figs. 6 and 7, Paragraph [0034]) from the leadframe strip ((102); Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]), wherein singulating the semiconductor package from the leadframe strip comprises cutting the dam bars (e.g. (116); Fig. 3, Paragraph [0034]) (See Paragraphs [0034] and [0051])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Bai into the method of Lee as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz such that it further included singulating the first semiconductor package from the leadframe strip, wherein singulating the semiconductor package from the leadframe strip comprises cutting the dam bars. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the predictable result of simplifying the method by combining process steps (i.e. singulation and dam bar removal).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 16, wherein:
- making the first cut (C1) comprises making the first cut adjacent (along the X-axis) to a third side (side facing positive X-direction; Fig. A) of a second lead (134) of the second plurality of leads (130);
Regarding Claim 18, Lee in view of Bai as supported by Bin Abdul Aziz teaches the method (Figs. A and 9-14, Paragraphs [0021] and [0036]) of Claim 16, wherein:
- making the second cut (C2) comprises making the second cut adjacent (along the X-axis) to a fourth side (side facing negative X-direction; Fig. A) of a second lead (134) of the second plurality of leads (130).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lim et al. (U.S. 2021/0202356): States in the Background (Paragraph [0002]) that conventional manners of fabricating a semiconductor package includes “A singulation process… to separate adjacent devices during which dam bars of the leadframe assembly also are cut off to separate adjacent leads.”
Conclusion
/DMITRI MIHALIOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812