Status of the Claims
Claims 1 - 20 were pending. No claim has been amended, canceled, or newly added. Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and are the subject of this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Previous rejection, maintained: claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE GOEIJ (US 20130189271 A1, published 07/25/2013, see PTO-892: Notice of References Cited of 05/19/2025).
The present application is directed to a method of treating a p185her2/neu-associated tumor in a subject comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a first anti-p185her2/neu antibody or an antigen binding portion thereof, a second anti- p185her2/neu antibody or an antigen binding portion thereof, and interferon-gamma (IFNγ).
“[A] first anti-p185her2/neu antibody” of independent claims 1 and 10 is further limited to trastuzumab in claims 3 and 12 or further limited to pertuzumab in claims 5 and 14 and are thus examined accordingly. “[A] second anti- p185her2/neu antibody” of independent claims 1 and 10 is further limited to pertuzumab in claims 4 and 13 and are thus examined accordingly.
Also, the present specification defines p185her2/neu to also be known as erbB2 (p. 1, lines 34 – 35).
DE GOEIJ is directed to isolated monoclonal antibodies which bind to human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2) for the treatment of cancer. See abstract and paragraphs 0001, 0009, and 0011. DE GOEIJ discloses that an inhibitor of ErbB2 (HER2/neu) is a HER2 antibody, e.g. trastuzumab, trastuzumab-DM1 or pertuzumab. See paragraph 440. DE GOEIJ teaches that the complementary mechanisms of action of pertuzumab and trastuzumab results in an enhanced anti-tumor effects and efficacy when combined in patients who progressed during prior trastuzumab therapy. See paragraph 0005. In addition, DE GOEIJ teaches that a therapeutic agent for use in combination with the HER2 antibody may be an anti-cancer cytokine such as IFNγ. See paragraph 0445.
Thus, DE GOEIJ’s disclosure of pertuzumab, trastuzumab, and IFNγ in combination for the treatment of cancer renders claims 1 and 10 obvious. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified the teachings of DE GOEIJ to disclose a method of treating a p185her2/neu-associated tumor in a subject comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a first anti-p185her2/neu antibody a second anti- p185her2/neu antibody, and interferon-gamma (IFNy) as recited in the present claims. One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the recited combination of agents in the treatment of a p185her2/neu-associated tumor because DE GOEIJ teaches that pertuzumab, trastuzumab, and IFNγ are known to be useful for the treatment of HER2-related cancers. Thus, although the claimed combination is not explicitly set forth in DE GOEIJ, it is clear that DE GOEIJ teaches that these agents may be combined in a composition specifically for treating p185her2/neu-associated tumor, rendering the method of claims 1, 3 – 5, 10, and 12 - 14 obvious.
Regarding claim 2, DE GOEIJ teaches that trastuzumab binds to domain IV of the HER2 ectodomain and pertuzumab binds to domain II of the HER2 ectodomain, i.e. different epitopes of the ectodomain of HER2. See paragraphs 0004-0005. Additionally, DE GOEIJ teaches that the HER2 antibodies of the invention bind to novel epitopes of the extracellular domain. See paragraph 0011, Example 28 and Table 16.
Regarding claims 6 – 8 and 15 – 17, DE GOEIJ’s method comprises the administration of a therapeutically effective amount of a HER2 antibody and at least one additional therapeutic agent to a subject in need thereof, and DE GOEIJ teaches that the additional therapeutic agent may be selected from an anti-mitotic agent, such as taxanes, for instance docetaxel and paclitaxel. See paragraphs 0435 and 0438.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, DE GOEIJ teaches the treatment of breast cancer. See paragraph 0458.
Regarding claim 10, DE GOEIJ teaches that the HER2 antibody may also be administered prophylactically in order to reduce the risk of developing cancer. See paragraph 0431.
Regarding claim 19, DE GOEIJ’s method reduces the risk of recurrence when a cancer is in remission. See paragraph 0431.
Regarding claim 20, DE GOEIJ’s method delays tumor growth over 30 days. See Fig. 18A, day 63, which is 35 days after treatment starting at day 28.
Response to Arguments
On p. 5, last paragraph – p. 6, fourth paragraph, of the reply of 09/18/2025, Applicant argues that “[t]he Office has not established a prima facie case of obviousness with respect to claims 1 and 10 because the Office has not articulated a rational underpinning for why a person of ordinary skill in the art, reviewing De Goeij, would have chosen to combine two anti-pl85her2/neu antibodies or antigen binding portions thereof, with IFNγ to arrive at the combination used in the claimed method. . . . In fact, one of ordinary skill in the art might be led away from adding a third ingredient given that the combination of pertuzumab and trastuzumab is already disclosed as having enhanced anti-tumor effects. Furthermore, there is only generic disclosure in De Goeij regarding combinatorial approaches to cancer treatment. For instance, there is a passing mention of IFNy in a list of various cytokines . . .”
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but not found persuasive because DE GOEIJI teaches that “[t]he complementary mechanisms of action of pertuzumab and trastuzumab reportedly results in enhanced anti-tumor effects and efficacy when combined in patients who progressed during prior trastuzumab therapy” (see paragraph 0005) and that “[t]herapeutic agents that may be administered in combination with a HER2 antibody of the present invention as described elsewhere herein, such as, e.g., anti-cancer cytokines” (see paragraph 0356). Although IFNy is provided in a list of cytokines that may be used in combination with the HER2 antibodies, the list is not especially large and the claimed combination may be arrive at with routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Furthermore, MPEP 2143.01 (I) states that “[t]he disclosure of desirable alternatives does not necessarily negate a suggestion for modifying the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention. In In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 73 USPQ2d 1141 (Fed. Cir. 2004), . . . [t]he court stated that ‘the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….’ Id. . . . thus providing a motivation to combine, which need not be supported by a finding that the prior art suggested that the combination claimed by the applicant was the preferred, or most desirable combination over the other alternatives. Id. See also In re Urbanski, 809 F.3d 1237, 1244, 117 USPQ2d 1499, 1504 (Fed. Cir. 2016).”
On p. 6, second to last paragraph – p. 7, third paragraph, Applicant argues that the “rejection would still fall with Applicant's showing of unexpected results for the claimed method. For instance, FIG. 47 demonstrates the remarkable tumor-free survival of MM TVneu mice that were administered the combination used in the claimed method”.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but not found persuasive because the conditions of FIG. 47 is limited to a very specific dosage and regimen in mice and is thus not commensurate in scope with the claims.
The invention as a whole is clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. In particular, the claimed invention is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Double Patenting
Previous rejection, withdrawn: claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,446,516 (IDS) in view of DE GOEIJ.
On p. 7 of the reply of 09/18/2025, “Applicant notes that the present application is a divisional application of U.S. Application No. 17/375,459, which issued as U.S. Patent No. 11,446,516, the cited reference. During prosecution of U.S. Application No. 17/375,459, the Office restricted out and withdrew claims 13- 33, which were directed to methods of treating a pl85her2/neu-associated tumor in a subject, or prophylactically treating a subject who is predisposed to developing a pl85her2/neu-associated tumor. See Final Office Action dated March 1, 2022 in U.S. Application No. 17/375,459.”
Thus, during the prosecution of U.S. Application No. 17/375,459 (issued as U.S. Patent No. 11,446,516), a restriction among groups of three methods was required. Because the claimed method was a non-elected group in the restriction requirement, this rejection is withdrawn.
Conclusion
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESTELLA M. GUSTILO/Examiner, Art Unit 1646
/PETER J REDDIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646