DETAILED ACTION
Elected Species
A search of the prior art did not show the elected species. As no claims where specifically drawn to applicants’ elected species in independent form, no claims have been indicated as allowable. Claims written in independent form which require all the limitations of the elected species along with any dependent claims which require all the limitations of the elected species would be allowable. Under MPEP 803.02, the search was expanded to find an examinable species.
Examinable Species
The examinable species are represented by:
Subspecies A =
(page 16)
Subspecies B=
(paragraph 207)
Subspecies C= Klu-14pg by 2,2'-Bis (4-N,N-diphenyl aminophenyl)-9,9'-spirobi[9H-fluorene (Klu-14pg )
One of R1-R10 = diarylamino (page 14)
The examinable species reads on 1-2, 11-16. Claims 3-10 are withdrawn from further consideration as not reading on the examinable species.
..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klubek (US 2006/0141287 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Klubek teaches an organic light-emitting device includes a substrate, an anode and a cathode disposed over the substrate, and a light-emitting layer disposed between the anode and the cathode (abstract). The light-emitting layer included a dopant (applicants’ fluorescent light emitting) (paragraph 22), a first host, and a second host (paragraph 23).
The dopant is represented by Fluorescent dopant DCJ (page 16)
The first host (anthracene) (applicant first compound, anthracene) is represented by Formula f:
The second host (arylamine) (applicants’ second compound) is represented by 2,2'-Bis (4-N,N-diphenyl aminophenyl)-9,9'-spirobi[9H-fluorene (Klu-14pg )
One of R1-R10 = diarylamino (per claim 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Klubek teaches the organic light-emitting device of claim 1 and no exciplex formation is taught for host 1 and 2 (per claim 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Klubek teaches the organic light-emitting device of claim 1. The device can emit a blue color (paragraph 84)(per claim 12).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klubek (US 2006/0141287 A1) in view of Seki (US 2013/0105785).
Regarding Claim 13, Klubek teaches the organic light-emitting device of claim 1 but fails to mention an apparatus and transistor.
Seki teaches an image display apparatus(light emitting apparatus) including an organic light-emitting device and a thin-film transistor (TFT) device wherein the anode or a cathode of the organic light-emitting device is connected to a drain electrode or a source electrode of the TFT device. The thin-film transistor device serves as a device configured to apply an electrical current to the organic light-emitting device (paragraph 52). The organic light-emitting device also contains a color filter (paragraph 50).
As both Klubek and Seki teaches organic light-emitting devices and Seki teaches an organic light-emitting device configured in an electronic apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have used the organic light-emitting device of Klubek in known application areas which would have included in an electronic apparatus as taught by Seki which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 13).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klubek (US 2006/0141287 A1) in view of Park (US 2017/0012188 A1).
Regarding Claims 13-16, Klubek teaches the organic light-emitting device of claim 1 but fails to mention an apparatus, electronic appliance, and light device.
Park teach light-emitting apparatus may include at least one light-emitting device (paragraph 112). The light-emitting device mounted on a side adjacent to a light emission surface of the light guide plate to create an optical sheet wherein a display panel emits the light across an array substrate including thin film transistor (paragraph 161). The light-emitting device is included in a light source module (light device) (paragraph 166). The light source module may be arranged to emit light toward the opened side of the housing (paragraph 167). A reflection plate uniformly disperses light from the light source (paragraph 179). A communication module (communication unit) may be mounted on the reflection plate to control the lighting apparatus for electronic appliances such as vehicle systems, TVs, refrigerators, and air conditioners (paragraph 180).
As both Klubek and Park teach light emitting device and Park teaches a light emitting device used in a light-emitting apparatus such as a lighting device via a display panel containing thin film transistors producing light connected to a housing directed to a commination unit controlling electronic appliances, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have used the organic light-emitting device of Klubek in known application areas as taught by Park which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 13-16).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klubek (US 2006/0141287 A1) as evidenced by Zhao (Scientific Reports, 2015)
Regarding Claim 11, Klubek teaches the organic light-emitting device of claim 1 containing fluorescent dopant DCJ. Zhao teaches a triplet energy of 5.4eV and a singlet energy of 3.2eV for DCJ with a difference of 2.2eV (per claim 11).
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786