DETAILED ACTION
Elected Species
A search of the prior art did not show the elected species. As no claims where specifically drawn to applicants’ elected species in independent form, no claims have been indicated as allowable. Claims written in independent form which require all the limitations of the elected species along with any dependent claims which require all the limitations of the elected species would be allowable. Under MPEP 803.02, the search was expanded to find an examinable species.
Examinable Species
The examinable species are represented by:
Subspecies A =
(page 16)
Subspecies B: Formula iv =
(page 27)
..
Subspecies C: H57 (page 16)
.
The examinable species reads on 1-2 and 11-16. Claims 3-10 are withdrawn from further consideration as not reading on the examinable species.
..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabunouchi (US 2006/0159957 A1) in view of Klubek (US 2006/0141287 A1).
Regrading Claim, Yabunouchi teach an OLED containing anode/a light emitting layer/a cathode (paragraph 79). The light emitting layer contains an arylamine (paragraph 72), H57above; a host material to be used together with the arylamine wherein the host is an anthracene derivative, Formula iv above (paragraph 96); a light emitting material which includes a fluorescent dye (dopant) (paragraph 95).
Yabunouchi fails to mention a specific fluorescent dye. Klubek teaches a fluorescent dye represented by Fluorescent dopant DCJ (page 16), above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have selected from known fluorescent dopants which would have included DCJ which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 1).
Regrading Claim 2, Yabunouchi in view of Klubek teaches the organic light-emitting device of claim 1 and no exciplex formation is taught for the anthracene and arylamine (per claim 2).
Regrading Claim 12, Yabunouchi in view of Klubek teaches the organic light-emitting device of claim 1 which emits blue light (paragraph 51) (per claim 12).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabunouchi (US 2006/0159957 A1) in view of Klubek (US 2006/0141287 A1) as evidenced by Zhao (Scientific Reports, 2015)
Regarding Claim 11, Yabunouchi in view of Klubek teaches the organic light-emitting device of claim 1 containing fluorescent dopant DCJ. Zhao teaches a triplet energy of 5.4eV and a singlet energy of 3.2eV for DCJ with a difference of 2.2eV (per claim 11).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabunouchi (US 2006/0159957 A1) in view of Klubek (US 2006/0141287 A1) and Park (US 2017/0012188 A1).
Regarding Claims 13-16, Yabunouchi in view of Klubek teaches the organic light-emitting device of claim 1 but fails to mention an apparatus, electronic appliance, and light device.
Park teach light-emitting apparatus may include at least one light-emitting device (paragraph 112). The light-emitting device mounted on a side adjacent to a light emission surface of the light guide plate to create an optical sheet wherein a display panel emits the light across an array substrate including thin film transistor (paragraph 161). The light-emitting device is included in a light source module (light device) (paragraph 166). The light source module may be arranged to emit light toward the opened side of the housing (paragraph 167). A reflection plate uniformly disperses light from the light source (paragraph 179). A communication module (communication unit) may be mounted on the reflection plate to control the lighting apparatus for electronic appliances such as vehicle systems, TVs, refrigerators, and air conditioners (paragraph 180).
As both Yabunouchi in view of Klubek and Park teach light emitting device and Park teaches a light emitting device used in a light-emitting apparatus such as a lighting device via a display panel containing thin film transistors producing light connected to a housing directed to a commination unit controlling electronic appliances, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have used the organic light-emitting device of Yabunouchi in view of Klubek in known application areas as taught by Park which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 13-16).
Response to Amendment
New art applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786