DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-8, in the reply filed on November 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Non-Elected inventions, Claims 9-20 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Action on merits of Elected Invention, Claims 1-8 follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 17, 2022 and December 06, 2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
A MONOLITHIC MICROWAVE INTEGRATED CIRCUIT (MMIC) HAVING A SUPERCONDUCTING PASSIVE ELEMENT COMPRISING TANTALUM NITRIDE COUPLED TO A FIRST AND SECOND CIRCUIT ELEMENTS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CASPER et al. (US. Pub. No. 2004/0080021) of record.
With respect to claim 1, CASPER teaches a device as claimed including:
a monolithic microwave integrated circuit comprising a superconducting passive element (1011, 1012, 1014) coupled to a first circuit element and to a second circuit element, wherein a material of the superconducting passive element (1011, 1012, 1014) comprises Tantalum Nitride. (See FIGs. 10, 15, 16).
With respect to claim 2, the superconducting passive element of CASPER comprises an inductor (1012) coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element.
With respect to claim 7, the device of CASPER further comprises: a metal contact (0604) on the superconducting passive element.
With respect to claim 8, the metal contact (0604) of CASPER comprises at least one of Gold, Copper or Aluminum.
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TILMANS et al. (US. Pub. No. 2003/0042567).
With respect to claim 1, TILMANS teaches a device as claimed including:
a monolithic microwave integrated circuit comprising a superconducting passive element (40, 41, 43) coupled to a first circuit element and to a second circuit element, wherein a material of the superconducting passive element comprises Tantalum Nitride. (See FIGs. 7-10).
With respect to claim 3, the superconducting passive element (41) of TILMANS comprises a transmission line coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element.
With respect to claim 4, the superconducting passive element (41) of TILMANS comprises an interconnect coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element.
With respect to claim 5, the superconducting passive element (41) of TILMANS comprises a coplanar waveguide coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element.
With respect to claim 6, the superconducting passive element (41) of TILMANS comprises a microstrip coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element.
With respect to claim 7, the device of TILMANS further comprises: a metal contact (44) on the superconducting passive element (41).
With respect to claim 8, the metal contact (44) of TILMANS comprises at least one of Gold, Copper or Aluminum.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TILMANS ‘567 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CASPER ‘021.
TILMANS teaches the device as described in claim 1 above including the superconducting passive element comprises Tantalum Nitride, wherein the superconducting passive element coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element.
Thus, TILMANS is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing the superconducting passive element comprising an inductor.
However, CASPER teaches a device including a superconducting passive element (1012) comprises an inductor coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element. (See FIG. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the superconducting passive element of TILMANS comprising the inductor coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element as taught by CASPER to provide a high reliability passive element.
Conclusion
/ANH D MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893