DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Group I is elected.
Amendment filed May 22, 2026 is acknowledged. New claims 21-24 have been added. Claims 7-8, 13, 20 have been cancelled. Claims 1-6, 9-12, 14-16, 18-19 have been amended. Non-Elected inventions, Claims 9-12, 14-19 and 23-24 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-6, 9-12, 14-19 and 21-24 are pending.
Action on merits of Elected Invention, Claims 1-6 and 21-22 follows.
Specification
The newly submitted title is not descriptive. The title is
A MONOLITHIC MICROWAVE INTEGRATED CIRCUIT (MMIC) HAVING A SUPERCONDUCTING PASSIVE ELEMENT COMPRISING GOLD, COPPER OR ALUMINUM LAYER OVERLAPING A TANTALUM NITRIDE LAYER COUPLED BETWEEN A PAIR OF CIRCUIT ELEMENTS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
There does not appear to be a written description of the claim limitation “wherein the superconducting passive element comprises a first inductor coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element, wherein the metal contact comprises a second inductor coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and wherein the first inductor and the second inductor overlap one another” (amended claim 2) (emphasis added); “wherein the superconducting passive element comprises at least two components from a group of components consisting of: an inductor, a transmission line, an interconnect, a coplanar waveguide, or a microstrip …” (new claim 22) in the application as filed.
Applicant must cancel the un-support new matters in response to the Office Action.
Amended claim 2 recites: “superconducting passive element comprises a first inductor coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element, wherein the metal contact comprises a second inductor coupled between the first circuit element and to the second circuit element.
However, an inductor (110 or 210 or 310) has only one connection (140 or 240 or 340) that coupled to one other circuit elements. (See FIGs. 1-3).
Therefore, the limitation “a first inductor (and second inductor) coupled to or coupled between the first circuit element and to the second circuit element” is new matter.
With respect to claim 22, there is no evidence in the specification the superconducting passive element comprises at least two components from a group of components consisting of: an inductor, a transmission line, an interconnect, a coplanar waveguide, or a microstrip.
Therefore, claim 22 contains new matter.
Claims 2 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended Claim 2 recites: the device of claim 1, wherein the superconducting passive element comprises a first inductor coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element, wherein the metal contact comprises a second inductor coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and …
Claim 2 contravenes the specification as shown in FIGs. 1, 2 and 3, whereas the inductors 100, 200 and 300 have only one connection.
Therefore, claim 2 is indefinite.
New claim 21 recites: The device of claim 1, wherein the first extent of the superconducting passive element is configured, based on a conductivity of the first material at cryogenic temperatures, to provide superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at the cryogenic temperatures, and wherein the second extent of the metal contact, between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, extending along the first extent, is configured, based on the second material, to provide non-superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at room temperatures, based on a resistivity of the first material at the room temperatures.
New claim 21 appears to configure to operate “at cryogenic temperature” and “at room temperature” at the same time.
Therefore, claim 21 is indefinite.
New claim 22 recites: “The device of claim 1, wherein the superconducting passive element comprises at least two components from a group of components consisting of: an inductor, a transmission line, an interconnect, a coplanar waveguide, or a microstrip …”.
As discussed above, any passive elements, a transmission line, an interconnect, a coplanar waveguide, or a microstrip, can be coupled to two other elements, however, the inductor as shown in FIGs. 1-3, has only one connection.
Therefore, claim 22 is indefinite.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
New claim 21 recites: The device of claim 1, wherein the first extent of the superconducting passive element is configured, based on a conductivity of the first material at cryogenic temperatures, to provide superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at the cryogenic temperatures, and wherein the second extent of the metal contact, between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, extending along the first extent, is configured, based on the second material, to provide non-superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at room temperatures, based on a resistivity of the first material at the room temperatures.
According to claim 1, the superconducting passive element comprises tantalum nitride and metal contact comprises at least one of gold, copper or aluminum.
Note that, tantalum nitride can be provided provide superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at the cryogenic temperatures, and gold, copper and aluminum, “metal contact”, can be provided non-superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at room temperatures.
Therefore, claim 21 fails to further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CASPER et al. (US. Pub. No. 2004/0080021) of record.
With respect to claim 1, As best understood by the Examiner, CASPER teaches a device as claimed, including:
a monolithic microwave integrated circuit comprising a superconducting passive element (1012) coupled to a first circuit element (1011) and to a second circuit element (1014),
wherein a first material of the superconducting passive element (1012) comprises Tantalum Nitride,
wherein the superconducting passive element (1012) comprises a first pattern (0907) having a first extent coupled between the first circuit element (1212) and the second circuit element (1214); and
a metal contact (1010) coupled between the first circuit element (1212) and the second circuit element (1214),
wherein a second material of the metal contact (1010) comprises at least one of Gold, Copper, or Aluminum,
wherein the metal contact (1010) comprises a second pattern (1010) having a second extent coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and
wherein the second pattern (1010) extends along a full extent of the first extent of the first pattern (0907) between the first circuit element and the second circuit element. (See FIGs. 10, 12)
With respect to claim 2, As best understood by the Examiner, the superconducting passive element (1012 or 1215) of CASPER comprises a first inductor (0907) coupled to the first circuit element (1212) and to the second circuit element (1214), wherein the metal contact (1010) comprises a second inductor (1010) coupled between the first circuit element (1212) and the second circuit element (1214), and wherein the first inductor (0907) and the second inductor (1010) overlap one another.
With respect to claim 3, the superconducting passive element of CASPER comprises a first transmission line (0907) coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element, wherein the metal contact (1010) comprises a second transmission line (1009) coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and wherein the first transmission line (0907) and the second transmission line (1009) overlap one another.
With respect to claim 4, the superconducting passive element of CASPER comprises a first interconnect (0907) coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element, wherein the metal contact (1010) comprises a second interconnect coupled (1009) between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and wherein the first interconnect (0907) and the second interconnect (1009) overlap one another.
With respect to claim 6, the superconducting passive element of CASPER comprises a first microstrip (0907) coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element, wherein the metal contact (1010) comprises a second microstrip (1009) coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and wherein the first microstrip (0907) and the second microstrip (1009) overlap one another.
With respect to claim 21, As best understood by the Examiner, the first extent of the superconducting passive element (0907) is configured, based on a conductivity of the first material at cryogenic temperatures, to provide superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at the cryogenic temperatures, and wherein the second extent of the metal contact (1010), between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, extending along the first extent, is configured, based on the second material, to provide non-superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at room temperatures, based on a resistivity of the first material at the room temperatures.
Since the superconducting passive element (0907) of CASPER comprises tantalum nitride, and the metal contact (1010) comprises at least one of gold, copper and aluminum, the limitation is met.
The tantalum nitride (0907) of CASPER, is fully capable of provide superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at the cryogenic temperatures; and the metal contact (1010) comprises at least one of gold, copper and aluminum of CASPER is fully capable of provide non-superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at room temperatures, based on the resistivity of the first material (tantalum nitride) at the room temperature.
Therefore, the limitations of claim 21 are met.
The term “is configured” is the inherent function of the materials “tantalum nitride” and the at least one of “gold, copper and aluminum”, respectively.
With respect to claim 22, the superconducting passive element of CASPER comprises at least two components from a group of components consisting of: an inductor (1012), a transmission line, an interconnect (connected to via 0806), a coplanar waveguide, or a microstrip, wherein the metal contact (1009) comprises a same at least two components from the group of components, wherein a first one of the at least two components of the superconducting passive element (1012) overlaps a first one of the at least two components of the metal contact (1010), and wherein a second one of the at least two components of the superconducting passive element (1012) overlaps a second one of the at least two components of the metal contact. (See FIG. 10).
Claims 1, 3-6 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TILMANS et al. (US. Pub. No. 2003/0042567) of record.
With respect to claim 1, TILMANS teaches a device as claimed including:
a monolithic microwave integrated circuit comprising a superconducting passive element coupled to a first circuit element and to a second circuit element,
wherein a first material (2) of the superconducting passive element comprises Tantalum Nitride,
wherein the superconducting passive element comprises a first pattern (2) having a first extent coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element; and
a metal contact (3) coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element,
wherein a second material (3) of the metal contact (3) comprises at least one of Gold, Copper, or Aluminum,
wherein the metal contact (3) comprises a second pattern (3) having a second extent coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and
wherein the second pattern (3) extends along a full extent of the first extent of the first pattern (2) between the first circuit element and the second circuit element. (See FIGs. 3, 7-10).
With respect to claim 3, the superconducting passive element of TILMANS comprises a first transmission line (2 @32 or 41) coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element, wherein the metal contact (3) comprises a second transmission line (3 @32 or 41) coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and wherein the first transmission line (2@32 or 41) and the second transmission line (3@32 or 41) overlap one another.
With respect to claim 4, the superconducting passive element comprises of TILMANS a first interconnect (2 @32 or 41) coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element, wherein the metal contact (3) comprises a second interconnect (3 @32 or 41) coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and wherein the first interconnect (2 @32 or 41) and the second interconnect (3 @32 or 41) overlap one another.
With respect to claim 5, the superconducting passive element of TILMANS comprises a first coplanar waveguide (2@ 31) coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element, wherein the metal contact (3) comprises a second coplanar waveguide (3 @31) coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and wherein the first coplanar waveguide (2@31) and the second coplanar waveguide (3@31) overlap one another.
With respect to claim 6, the superconducting passive element of TILMANS comprises a first microstrip (2 @32 or 41) coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element, wherein the metal contact (3) comprises a second microstrip (3 @32 or 41) coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and wherein the first microstrip (2 @32 or 41) and the second microstrip (3 @32 or 41) overlap one another.
With respect to claim 21, As best understood by the Examiner, the first extent of the superconducting passive element OF TILMANS is configured, based on a conductivity of the first material (2) at cryogenic temperatures, to provide superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at the cryogenic temperatures, and wherein the second extent of the metal contact (3), between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, extending along the first extent, is configured, based on the second material, to provide non-superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at room temperatures, based on a resistivity of the first material at the room temperatures.
Since the superconducting passive element of TILMANS comprises tantalum nitride (2), and the metal contact (3) comprises at least one of gold, copper and aluminum, the limitation is met.
The tantalum nitride (2) of TILMANS, is fully capable of provide superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at the cryogenic temperatures; and the metal contact (3) comprises at least one of gold, copper and aluminum of CASPER is fully capable of provide non-superconducting communication between the first circuit element and the second circuit element at room temperatures, based on the resistivity of the first material (tantalum nitride) at the room temperature.
Therefore, the limitations of claim 21 are met.
The term “is configured” is the inherent function of the materials “tantalum nitride” and the at least one of “gold, copper and aluminum”, respectively.
With respect to claim 22, the superconducting passive element of TILMANS comprises at least two components from a group of components consisting of: an inductor, a transmission line, an interconnect, a coplanar waveguide, or a microstrip, wherein the metal contact (3) comprises a same at least two components from the group of components, wherein a first one of the at least two components of the superconducting passive element overlaps a first one of the at least two components of the metal contact (3), and wherein a second one of the at least two components of the superconducting passive element overlaps a second one of the at least two components of the metal contact. (See FIGs. 7-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TILMANS ‘567 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CASPER ‘021.
As best understood by the Examiner, TILMANS teaches the device as described in claim 1 above including the superconducting passive element comprises a first material (2) coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element, wherein the metal contact (3) comprises a second material (3) coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and wherein the first material (2) and the second material (3) overlap one another.
Thus, TILMANS is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing the superconducting passive element comprising an inductor.
However, CASPER teaches a device including the superconducting passive element comprises a first inductor (0907) coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element, wherein the metal contact (1009) comprises a second inductor (1009) coupled between the first circuit element and the second circuit element, and wherein the first material (0907) and the second inductor (1009) overlap one another. (See FIGs. 10, 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the superconducting passive element of TILMANS comprising the inductor coupled to the first circuit element and to the second circuit element as taught by CASPER to provide a high reliability passive element.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended and new claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH D MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893