DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on November 20, 2025 has been entered. Claims 155-172 are pending in the application. Claims 165-172 are withdrawn. Claims 155-164 are rejected for the reasons set forth below. No claim is allowed.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a method of treating lung cancer with cisplatin and compound A-3, in the reply filed on November 20, 2025 is acknowl-edged. Claims 165-172 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 20, 2025.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 155-164 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0163000 A1 by Ahmad et al.
Ahmad (cited in applicant’s IDS1) discloses compound A-3. See compound I-C-79 in the reference at p. 62. The compounds disclosed in the reference “are very potent ATR inhibitors” and “show surprising synergy with other cancer agents, such as cisplatin” (para. 0009), which suggests a combination therapy of compound A-3 with cisplatin. Ahmad further discloses using this compound in a method of treating non-small cell lung cancer (para. 0239), which meets the limitations of claims 156 and 161. The reference also discloses treating cancer “having defects in the ATM signaling cascade,” including p532 (para. 0327), which meets the limitations of claims 157-158 and 162-163.
The difference between the prior art and the claims at issue is that Ahmad does not specifically disclose the time limitations of the instant claims. To wit, the reference does not specifically disclose administering compound A-3 at a time period 12-24 hours after the cisplatin (claims 155 and 160), such as 16 hours afterwards (claims 159 and 164), or administering a second dosage one week later (claim 160). This subject matter, however, would have been prima facie obvious when the teachings of the reference are considered as a whole.
With respect to the timing and frequency of administration, the reference generally discloses (para. 0308):
The desired dosage can be delivered three times a day, two times a day, once a day, every other day, every third day, every week, every two weeks, every three weeks, or every four weeks. In certain embodiments, the desired dosage can be delivered using multiple administrations (e.g., two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, eleven, twelve, thirteen, fourteen, or more administrations).
Ahmad discloses example time periods of “20 hours and about 28 hours (e.g., about 24 hours or 24 hours±2 hours” between administering cisplatin and the ATR inhibitor (para. 0267), as well as “a second dose of the ATR inhibitor between about 6 days and about 8 days (e.g., on day 9) after the first dose” (para. 0273). The reference further discloses that figuring out an effective treat-ment protocol would have been a matter of routine experimentation for “those of ordinary skill in the art” (para. 0305). Ahmad even provides Examples showing how to optimize the dose schedule (see Example 1 and Example 2 at para. 0314-20). The examiner therefore concludes that one would have viewed the subject matter of the instant claims as being a matter of optimi-zation within the general teachings of the cited reference and, accordingly, prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) (Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experi-mentation).
Double Patenting
Claims 155-164 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 9,670,215 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The ‘215 Patent claims compound A-3. The specification of the ‘215 Patent explains that this compound is useful in treating non-small cell lung cancer (col. 27, ll. 20-25). It also explains that it is “effective for sensitizing cancer cells to Cisplatin” (col. 32, ll. 45-50), which would have suggested a combination therapy of compound A-3 with cisplatin. The time limitations of the instant claims are prima facie obvious for substantially the same reasons discussed in detail above.
Claims 155-164 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 82 of U.S. Patent No. 9,650,381 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 82 of the ‘381 Patent is directed to compound A-3. The specification of the ‘381 Patent explains that this compound is useful for treating non-small cell lung cancer (col. 180, ll. 50-57) and that it is synergistic with cisplatin (col. 2, ll. 25-30). As explained above, the time limitations of the instant claims are prima facie obvious.
Claims 155-164 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,787,452 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for substantially the same reasons discussed above.
Claims 155-164 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,187,731 B2 for substantially the same reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Theodore R. Howell whose telephone number is (571)270-5993. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday, 8:00 am - 7:00 pm (Eastern Time). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interview practice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Amy L. Clark can be reached at (571)272-1310. The fax phone number for the organ-ization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
THEODORE R. HOWELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1628
/THEODORE R. HOWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
January 8, 2026
1 See the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 18, 2022.
2 It is well known that the p53 referred to in Ahmad is the tumor protein, and TP53 is the gene that codes for it.