DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 11, and 17 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claims 1, 11 and 17 are independent.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every claim objection set forth in previous Office Action. As a result, each and every claim objection have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding rejections directed to amended claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but in moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant amended independent claims to further specify:
wherein the first profile map is a heat map comprising a plurality of pixels corresponding to measurements of the first surface profile distributed across a surface of the first substrate, wherein the heat map is representative of the measurements of the first surface profile;
processing data from the first profile map using a model, wherein the model outputs a first estimated substrate placement value for a placement of the first substrate relative to one or more components of the substrate support based on one or more identified hot spots in the heat map.
The Egorova US 20220335288 A1 and ADERHOLD US 20080025368 A1 are introduced in view of new ground of rejection. The teachings of Sakamoto, Yamaguchi, KANG and SAKKA as disclosed in the previous office action are hereby incorporated by references to the extent applicable to the amended claims.
Another iteration of claim analysis has been made. Referring to the corresponding sections of the claim analysis below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9, 11, 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto US 20040159284 A11 in view of Egorova US 20220335288 A1 and ADERHOLD US 20080025368 A1
Regarding claim 11, Sakamoto teaches a system comprising:
a process chamber (Fig. 1 reaction tube 11);
a substrate measurement tool (Fig. 3 [0056] film thickness measuring device 40);
a memory (Fig. 3 [0059] data string section 54); and
a processing device coupled to the memory (Fig. 3 [0056] CPU 5), the processing device to:
cause a first substrate to be processed in the process chamber according to a recipe while the first substrate is supported by a substrate support of the process chamber, wherein the first substrate comprises a first surface profile after the processing ([0066] [0067] [0119] wafers W i.e. “a first substrate” are placed at the set mount position of the wafer boat 17 and processed using a recipe, the film thickness is measured to obtain film thickness distribution information i.e. “a first surface profile after the processing”);
generate a first profile map of the first surface profile of the first substrate using the substrate measurement tool ([0067] [0072] a curved surface representing the film thickness planar distribution on the wafer W is generated);
process data from the first profile map using a model, wherein the model outputs a first estimated substrate placement value for a placement of the first substrate relative to one or more components of the substrate support ([0068] [0069] based on the film thickness distribution information, the eccentricity of the film formation center relative to the geometric center of the wafers W is modeled, positional correction information is obtained to correct the set amount position on the wafer boat 17 support level i.e. “the model outputs a first estimated substrate placement value for a placement of the first substrate”, Figs. 5 & 6 [0079] [0083] the correction amount Dx and Dy are relative to X axis and Y axis which are defined by the central axis of rotation of the wafer boat 17 i.e. “relative to one or more components of the substrate support”;
determine a recommended placement for substrates on the substrate support based on the first estimated substrate placement value ([0070] [0071] the next wafers W are transferred to the wafer boat 17 to an aimed mount position i.e. “a recommended placement for substrates on the substrate support” that has been corrected in accordance with the positional correction); and
cause one or more of the substrates to be placed on the substrate support according to the recommended placement ([0070] [0071] the next wafers W are transferred to the wafer boat 17 to an aimed mount position).
Sakamoto does not explicitly further teach:
the first profile map is a heat map comprising a plurality of pixels corresponding to measurements of the first surface profile distributed across a surface of the first substrate;
the model output is based on one or more identified hot spots in the heat map.
Egorova explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the first profile map is a heat map comprising a plurality of pixels corresponding to measurements of the first surface profile distributed across a surface of the first substrate (Figs. 1&7 [0015] [0020] wafer heatmap with pixels representing distribution of measurement data on the wafer including temperature);
ADERHOLD explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the model output is based on one or more identified hot spots in the heat map (Figs. 5, 7-8 and 9A-9E, [0092] substrate placement is detected based on the temperature contours of the heatmap i.e. “one or more identified hot spots in the heat map” generated from the temperature measurement at locations across the wafer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakamoto to incorporate the teachings of Egorova and ADERHOLD, because they all directed to wafer process system, to make the system wherein the first profile map is a heat map comprising a plurality of pixels corresponding to measurements of the first surface profile distributed across a surface of the first substrate; the model output is based on one or more identified hot spots in the heat map. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to detect the substrate placement, as ADERHOLD teaches in [0092].
Regarding claim 14, Sakamoto further teaches determine a center of the substrate support; and cause the first substrate to be aligned with the center of the substrate support prior to the processing of the first substrate ([0063] geometric center of the wafer is aligned with rotational center of the wafer boat 17).
Regarding claim 15, Sakamoto further teaches for the recommended placement for the substrates a center of the substrates is offset from the center of the substrate support (Fig. 6 [0063] [0083] C2 offset to C1).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-5, they are directed to a method of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claims 11 and 14-15, respectively. Since Sakamoto, Egorova and ADERHOLD teach the claimed system, they teach the method steps for implementing the system.
Regarding claim 7, Sakamoto further teaches the first surface profile comprises a first thickness profile ([0066] [0067] [0119] film thickness distribution information).
Regarding claim 9, Sakamoto further teaches the model comprises at least one of a trained machine learning model, a physics-based model ([0068] [0069] based on the film thickness distribution information, the eccentricity of the film formation center relative to the geometric center of the wafers W is modeled i.e. “a physics-based model”), or a statistical model.
Regarding claim 17, it is directed to non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claim 11. Since Sakamoto, Egorova and ADERHOLD teach the claimed system, they teach the instructions for implementing the system.
Claims 2-3, 12-13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto in view of Egorova and ADERHOLD as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9, 11, 14-15 and 17, further in view of Yamaguchi US 20140087565 A12.
Regarding claim 12, Sakamoto further teaches cause a second substrate to be placed in the process chamber according to the recommended placement ([0070] [0071] the next wafers W are transferred to the wafer boat 17 to the aimed mount position).
The combination of Sakamoto, Egorova and ADERHOLD does not explicitly further teaches the one or more components of the substrate support comprise a process kit ring, and wherein the second substrate is positioned within an inner diameter of the process kit ring in accordance with the recommended placement.
Yamaguchi explicitly teaches in an analogous art the one or more components of the substrate support comprise a process kit ring, and wherein the second substrate is positioned within an inner diameter of the process kit ring in accordance with the recommended placement ([0141] ring holder internal diameter greater than the wafer diameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakamoto, Egorova and ADERHOLD to incorporate the teachings of Yamaguchi, because they all directed to wafer processing system, to make the system wherein the one or more components of the substrate support comprise a process kit ring, and wherein the second substrate is positioned within an inner diameter of the process kit ring in accordance with the recommended placement. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to hold the wafer in processing chamber, as Yamaguchi teaches in [0141].
Regarding claim 13, Sakamoto further teaches cause the second substrate to be processed in the process chamber according to the recipe, wherein the second substrate comprises a second surface profile after the processing; generate a second profile map of the second surface profile using the substrate measurement tool; process data from the second profile map using the model, wherein the model outputs a second estimated substrate placement value; compare the second estimated substrate placement value with the first estimated substrate placement value; and update the recommended placement based on the comparing ([0087] – [0098] the placement optimization is repeated, the correction amount with respect to previous run are used for the next run placement).
Regarding claims 2-3, they are directed to a method of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claims 12-13, respectively. Since Sakamoto, Egorova, ADERHOLD and Yamaguchi teach the claimed system, they teach the method steps for implementing the system.
Regarding claims 18-19, they are directed to non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claims 12-13, respectively. Since Sakamoto, Egorova, ADERHOLD and Yamaguchi teach the claimed system, they teach the instructions for implementing the system.
Claims 6, 10, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto in view of Egorova and ADERHOLD as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9, 11, 14-15 and 17, further in view of KANG US 20220270904 A13.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sakamoto, Egorova and ADERHOLD does not explicitly further teaches the model comprises a trained machine learning model, and train a machine learning model to produce the trained machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is trained using data from a plurality of processed substrates processed according to the recipe.
KANG explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the model comprises a trained machine learning model, and train a machine learning model to produce the trained machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is trained using data from a plurality of processed substrates processed according to the recipe ([0080] the learning function learns based on the inputs of processing results).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakamoto, Egorova and ADERHOLD to incorporate the teachings of KANG, because they all directed to wafer processing system, to make the system wherein the model comprises a trained machine learning model, and train a machine learning model to produce the trained machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is trained using data from a plurality of processed substrates processed according to the recipe. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to making correction to the model for optimization, as KANG teaches in [0096].
Regarding claim 6, Sakamoto further teaches determining a substrate handoff position based on the recommended placement ([0085] the rotation amount and the reciprocation amount).
The combination of Sakamoto, Egorova and ADERHOLD does not explicitly further teaches the substrate handoff position is the handoff offset for a robot arm from a first robot handoff orientation to a second robot handoff orientation.
KANG explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the substrate handoff position is the handoff offset for a robot arm from a first robot handoff orientation to a second robot handoff orientation ([0097] [0098] output the movement change amount for FB and RT for next run).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakamoto, Egorova and ADERHOLD to incorporate the teachings of KANG, because they all directed to wafer processing system, to make the system wherein the substrate handoff position is the handoff offset for a robot arm from a first robot handoff orientation to a second robot handoff orientation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to making correction to substrate position, as KANG teaches in [0099].
Regarding claim 10, it is directed to a method of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claim 16. Since Sakamoto, Egorova, ADERHOLD and KANG teach the claimed system, they teach the method steps for implementing the system.
Regarding claim 20, it is directed to non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claim 16. Since Sakamoto, Egorova, ADERHOLD and KANG teach the claimed system, they teach the instructions for implementing the system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto in view of Egorova and ADERHOLD as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9, 11, 14-15 and 17, further in view of SAKKA US 20120267050 A14.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Sakamoto, Egorova and ADERHOLD does not explicitly further teaches determining a first etch rate profile of the first substrate for an etch rate profile proximate an edge of the first substrate based on the first profile map, wherein the model outputs the first estimated substrate placement value based on the first etch rate profile.
SAKKA explicitly teaches in an analogous art that determining a first etch rate profile of the first substrate for an etch rate profile proximate an edge of the first substrate based on the first profile map, wherein the model outputs the first estimated substrate placement value based on the first etch rate profile (Fig. 9 [0044] the processing center offset is the eccentricity of etching processing center indicated by the etch rate contour lines based on thickness measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakamoto, Egorova and ADERHOLD to incorporate the teachings of SAKKA, because they all directed to wafer processing system, to make the system wherein determining a first etch rate profile of the first substrate for an etch rate profile proximate an edge of the first substrate based on the first profile map, wherein the model outputs the first estimated substrate placement value based on the first etch rate profile. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to assess the degree of eccentricity of the etching process on the substrate, as SAKKA teaches in [0044].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MANGUM US 20160126123 A1 teaches substrate heat map with pixels and contours.
Jekauc US 20070037301 A1 teaches etch rate profile for wafer placement.
/M.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 Sakamoto is the prior arts of record
2 Yamaguchi is the prior art of record
3 KANG is the prior art of record
4 SAKKA is the prior art of record