DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/26/25. Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16, and 18-20. Claims 8, 9, and 11-14 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 15, lines 10-11, the claim states that “…the fillet covers the die edge and at least a portion of an exposed top surface of the first adhesive…”. However, in claim 20, “…the fillet is separate from the first adhesive.” It is unclear if the fillet covers any portion of the first adhesive or is separate and/or does not cover the first adhesive.
For purpose of examination on the merits the examiner will view that a portion of the first adhesive is covered by the fillet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 15, 16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGrath et al. (US PGPub 2011/0272825, hereinafter referred to as “McGrath”).
McGrath discloses the semiconductor device as claimed. See figures 1-10B and corresponding text, where McGrath teaches, in claim 1, a semiconductor package comprising:
at least one conductive trace line (1020) disposed within a solder mask (1010), the solder mask (1010) having a top surface (figure 10A; [0083-0085]);
a first die (91) disposed over the solder mask (1010) and mechanically coupled with the at least one conductive trace line (1020), the first die (91) having a side surface (924) (figure10A; [0083-0085]);
a first adhesive disposed between the at least trace one conductive line (1020) and the first die (91), the first adhesive having a side surface, wherein the first die side surface (924) and the first adhesive define a die edge (figure10A; [0083-0085]);
a fillet (1900) disposed adjacent the die edge;
a second die (51) disposed above the first die (91); and
a second adhesive (511) disposed between the first die (91) and the second die (51), the second adhesive (511) ([0073], die attach film) having a bottom surface, wherein; (figure 10A; [0083])
the solder mask (1010) top surface, the first die side surface (924), and the second adhesive (511) bottom surface define a cavity (figure 10A; [0083-0085], the examiner views that the side surfaces (914, 924) of the two dies (51, 91), the adhesive film (511), portions underneath the first die (91) and the electrical interconnect trace (1021) form a cavity);
the fillet (1900) is disposed within the cavity (figure 10A; [0083-0085]; and
the fillet (1900) contacts each of the solder mask (1010) top surface, the first die side surface (924), and the second adhesive bottom surface (the side surface of the die attach film (511) (figure 10A; [0083-0085]).
McGrath teaches, in claim 2, wherein the fillet is a capillary underfill comprising an epoxy resin ([0079], one suitable standard underfill material is marketed under the name Namics U8439-1).
McGrath teaches, in claim 4, wherein the capillary underfill contacts the first die side surface and extends along the first die side surface (figure 10A; [0083-0085]).
McGrath teaches, in claim 6, wherein the fillet extends from the solder mask top surface and along the first die side surface such that the fillet contacts the solder mask top surface and the first die side surface (figure 10A; [0083-0085]).
McGrath teaches, in claim 7, wherein the fillet is different from the first adhesive (figure 10A; [0083-0085]).
McGrath teaches, in claim 15, a semiconductor package comprising:
at least one conductive trace line (1020) disposed within a solder mask (1010), the solder mask having a top surface;
a first die (91) disposed over the solder mask (1010) and mechanically coupled with the at least one conductive trace line (1020), the first die (91) having a side surface (924);
a first adhesive disposed between the at least one conductive trace line (1020) and the first die (91), the first adhesive having a side surface, wherein the first die side surface (924) and the first adhesive define a die edge;
a fillet (1900) disposed adjacent the die edge and extending from the die edge along the solder mask (1010) top surface away from the die edge, wherein the fillet (1900) covers the die edge and at least a portion of an exposed top surface of the first adhesive;
a second die (51) disposed above the first die (91); and
a second adhesive (511) disposed between the first die (91) and the second die (51), the second adhesive having a bottom surface, wherein:
the solder mask (1010) top surface, the first die side surface (924), and the second adhesive bottom surface define a cavity (figure 10A; [0083-0085], the examiner views that the side surfaces (914, 924) of the two dies (51, 91), the adhesive film (511), portions underneath the first die (91) and the electrical interconnect trace (1021) form a cavity);
the fillet (1900) is disposed within the cavity at the die edge; and
the fillet (1900) contacts each of the solder mask (1010) top surface, the first die side surface (924), and the second adhesive bottom surface (the side surface of the die attach film (511) (figure 10A; [0083-0085]).
McGrath teaches, in claim 16, wherein the fillet is a capillary underfill comprising an epoxy resin ([0079], one suitable standard underfill material is marketed under the name Namics U8439-1).
McGrath teaches, in claim 19, wherein the fillet extends from the solder mask top surface and along the first die side surface such that the fillet contacts the solder mask top surface and the first die side surface (figure 10A; [0083-0085]).
McGrath teaches, in claim 20,wherein the fillet is covers a portion of the first adhesive (figure 10A; [0083-0085]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 15, 16, 19 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s amendment has necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STANETTA D ISAAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898 March 27, 2026
/Leonard Chang/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898