Response After RCE
This Office action is in response to the RCE filed on 03/25/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on March 25, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed March 5, 2026 have been considered but are moot
because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Huang (U.S. Patent No. 10890563; hereinafter “Huang”) in view of Li et al. (NPL DOI: 10.1111/jace.13035; hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a downhole transducer comprising: at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101), the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) positionable (Figs. 1-2) in the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) that is deployable (Figs. 1-2) downhole (Figs. 1-2) in a wellbore (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, 1010); and at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) positionable adjacent (Figs. 1-2) to the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material transducer in in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) for determining (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) one or more wellbore parameter measurements (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) using (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) one or more acoustic signals (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) transmitted (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) or received (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) by the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) in the wellbore (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, 1010) and reflected (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) by a formation (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) in the wellbore (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, 1010). Huang does not teach single-crystal PIN-PZN-PT.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal PIN-PZN-PT ([Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single-crystal PIN-PZN-PT of Li because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang as modified teaches downhole transducer of claim 1, wherein the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) further comprises: a backing (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, backing of transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 103) adjacent (Figs. 1-2) to a first electrode (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, first electrode of pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, first electrode of pair of electrodes in 101) of the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101); and an encapsulation (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, window of transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 104) surrounding (Figs. 1-2) the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101), the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) and the backing (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, backing of transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 103). Huang does not teach single-crystal PIN-PZN-PT.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal PIN-PZN-PT ([Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single-crystal PIN-PZN-PT of Li because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang as modified teaches the downhole transducer of claim 1. Huang does not teach the PIN-PZN-PT is represented by a chemical formula of (1-x)Pb(In1/2Nb1/2)O3-0.33Pb(Zn1/3Nb2/3)O3-xPbTiO3.
Li, however, does teach the PIN-PZN-PT ([Abstract]) is represented by a chemical formula of (1-x)Pb(In1/2Nb1/2)O3-0.33Pb(Zn1/3Nb2/3)O3-xPbTiO3 ([Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the chemical formula of Li because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang as modified teaches the downhole transducer of claim 1, wherein the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) is a material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) in (Figs. 1-2) the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) of the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101). Huang does not teach heat treated for stabilizing material properties prior to being positioned single-crystal.
Li, however, does teach heat treated for stabilizing material properties prior to being positioned single-crystal ([Abstract]; [Section 3.3]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single-crystal of Li because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches a system comprising: a downhole tool (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, 1020) positionable (Figs. 1-2) in a wellbore (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, 1010); and a downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) positionable (Figs. 1-2) in the downhole tool (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, 1020), the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) comprising: at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) for determining (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) one or more wellbore parameter measurements (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) using (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) one or more acoustic signals (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) transmitted (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) or received (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) by the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) in the wellbore (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, 1010) and reflected (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) by a formation (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) in the wellbore (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, 1010); and at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) positionable adjacent (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) to the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material transducer in in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101). Huang does not teach single-crystal PIN-PZN-PT.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal PIN-PZN-PT ([Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single-crystal PIN-PZN-PT of Li because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang as modified teaches downhole transducer of claim 8, wherein the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) further comprises: a backing (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, backing of transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 103) adjacent (Figs. 1-2) to a first electrode (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, first electrode of pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, first electrode of pair of electrodes in 101) of the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101); and an encapsulation (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, window of transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 104) surrounding (Figs. 1-2) the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101), the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) and the backing (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, backing of transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 103). Huang does not teach single-crystal PIN-PZN-PT.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal PIN-PZN-PT ([Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single-crystal PIN-PZN-PT of Li because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 10, Huang as modified teaches the system of claim 8. Huang does not teach the PIN-PZN-PT is represented by a chemical formula of (1-x)Pb(In1/2Nb1/2)O3-0.33Pb(Zn1/3Nb2/3)O3-xPbTiO3.
Li, however, does teach the PIN-PZN-PT ([Abstract]) is represented by a chemical formula of (1-x)Pb(In1/2Nb1/2)O3-0.33Pb(Zn1/3Nb2/3)O3-xPbTiO3 ([Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the chemical formula of Li because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 11, Huang as modified teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) is a material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) in (Figs. 1-2) the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) of the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101). Huang does not teach heat treated for stabilizing material properties prior to being positioned single-crystal.
Li, however, does teach heat treated for stabilizing material properties prior to being positioned single-crystal ([Abstract]; [Section 3.3]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single-crystal of Li because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches a method comprising: receiving, via a downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) deployed in (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) a wellbore (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, 1010), one or more acoustic signals (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) transmitted (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) in the wellbore (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, 1010) and reflected (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) by a formation (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) in the wellbore (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, 1010), the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) comprising (i) at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) for determining (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) one or more wellbore parameter measurements (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) using (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) the one or more acoustic signals (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) and (ii) at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) positioned adjacent (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) to the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101), the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) positioned (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) in the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101); and determining (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]), via a sensing system (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]), the one or more wellbore parameter measurements (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) based on (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) an output (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) provided by the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101). Huang does not teach single crystal PIN-PZN-PT.
Li, however, does teach single crystal PIN-PZN-PT ([Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single crystal PIN-PZN-PT of Li because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 16, Huang as modified teaches the method of claim 15. Huang does not teach the PIN-PZN-PT is represented by a chemical formula of (1-x)Pb(In1/2Nb1/2)O3-0.33Pb(Zn1/3Nb2/3)O3-xPbTiO3.
Li, however, does teach the PIN-PZN-PT ([Abstract]) is represented by a chemical formula of (1-x)Pb(In1/2Nb1/2)O3-0.33Pb(Zn1/3Nb2/3)O3-xPbTiO3 ([Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the chemical formula of Li because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 17, Huang as modified teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising positioning (Figs. 1-2) a second downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, second transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) with respect to (Figs. 1-2) the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) such that the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) and the second downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, second transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) are arranged (Figs. 1-2) in an array (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) for increasing (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) output power (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, output power of transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, output power of 101) of the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) and the second downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, second transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101).
Claims 5-7, 12-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Huang in view of Li and further in view of Brown et al.
(U.S. Publication No. 20120236689; hereinafter “Brown”).
Regarding claim 5, Huang as modified teaches the downhole transducer of claim 1, wherein the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) in which the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) in (Figs. 1-2) the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) is by (Figs. 1-2) the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101). Huang does not teach a single-crystal mode d33 in which transducer electrodes are positioned perpendicular to an active direction of one or more acoustic signals receivable.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal mode d33 ([Abstract]; [Section 1]).
Furthermore, Brown teaches transducer electrodes ([0006]) are positioned perpendicular ([0006]) to an active direction ([0006]) of one or more acoustic signals receivable ([0006] – “The subject invention relates to at least one electroacoustic transducer for producing a spiral wavefront having a phase that is a function of the azimuthal angle in the plane perpendicular to its axis of symmetry. In the preferred embodiment, the spiral wavefront transducer is comprised of at least one acoustic transducer that produces two spatially orthogonal acoustic dipoles…”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single-crystal mode d33 of Li and the electrode pair positioning of Brown because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]) and it would create a spiral wavefront thereby improving transmission of signals that can be detected by multiple objects or vehicles, thereby providing a cost effective navigation aid to determine bearing angle to the beacon (Brown [0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Huang as modified teaches the downhole transducer of claim 1, wherein at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) includes (Figs. 1-2) the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) in the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) is by the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101). Huang does not teach a single crystal d32 mode in which transducer electrodes are positioned parallel to an active direction of one or more acoustic signals receivable.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal ([Abstract]).
Furthermore, Brown teaches a d32 mode ([0068]) in which transducer electrodes ([0068]) is positioned parallel ([0068]) to an active direction ([0068]) of one or more acoustic signals receivable ([0068] – “…produces a high transverse d31 (or d32 depending on notation) piezoelectric modulus in the transverse orthogonal (width) direction and an accompanying high transverse k31 (or k32 depending on notation) electromechanical coupling compared to transverse polarization in the [001] direction.”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single crystal of Li and the electrode pair positioning of Brown because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]) and it would create a spiral wavefront thereby improving transmission of signals that can be detected by multiple objects or vehicles, thereby providing a cost effective navigation aid to determine bearing angle to the beacon (Brown [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Huang as modified teaches the downhole transducer of claim 1, wherein the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101), in which a first pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, first pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, first pair of electrodes in 101) from the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) is by the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) and a second pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, second pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, second pair of electrodes in 101) from the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) is by (Figs. 1-2) the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101). Huang does not teach a single crystal material with a mode that includes a combination of d33 mode and d32 mode and transducer electrodes positioned perpendicular to an active direction of one or more acoustic signals receivable and transducer electrodes positioned parallel to the active direction of one or more acoustic signals receivable.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal ([Abstract]).
Furthermore, Brown teaches a material ([0067]-[0068]) with a mode ([0067]-[0068]) that includes a combination of d33 mode ([0067]-[0068]) and d32 mode ([0067]-[0068]) and transducer electrodes ([0006]) positioned perpendicular ([0006]) to an active direction ([0006]) of one or more acoustic signals receivable ([0006]) and transducer electrodes ([0068]) is positioned parallel ([0068]) to an active direction ([0068]) of one or more acoustic signals receivable ([0068] – “…produces a high transverse d31 (or d32 depending on notation) piezoelectric modulus in the transverse orthogonal (width) direction and an accompanying high transverse k31 (or k32 depending on notation) electromechanical coupling compared to transverse polarization in the [001] direction.”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single crystal of Li and the d32 and d33 modes and electrode pair positioning of Brown because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]) and it would create a spiral wavefront thereby improving transmission of signals that can be detected by multiple objects or vehicles, thereby providing a cost effective navigation aid to determine bearing angle to the beacon (Brown [0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Huang as modified teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) in which the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) in (Figs. 1-2) the system (Figs. 1-2) is by (Figs. 1-2) the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101). Huang does not teach a single-crystal mode d33 in which transducer electrodes are positioned perpendicular to an active direction of one or more acoustic signals receivable.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal mode d33 ([Abstract]; [Section 1]).
Furthermore, Brown teaches transducer electrodes ([0006]) are positioned perpendicular ([0006]) to an active direction ([0006]) of one or more acoustic signals receivable ([0006] – “The subject invention relates to at least one electroacoustic transducer for producing a spiral wavefront having a phase that is a function of the azimuthal angle in the plane perpendicular to its axis of symmetry. In the preferred embodiment, the spiral wavefront transducer is comprised of at least one acoustic transducer that produces two spatially orthogonal acoustic dipoles…”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single-crystal mode d33 of Li and the electrode pair positioning of Brown because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]) and it would create a spiral wavefront thereby improving transmission of signals that can be detected by multiple objects or vehicles, thereby providing a cost effective navigation aid to determine bearing angle to the beacon (Brown [0004]).
Regarding claim 13, Huang as modified teaches the system of claim 8, wherein at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) includes (Figs. 1-2) the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) in the system (Figs. 1-2) is by the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101). Huang does not teach a single crystal d32 mode in which transducer electrodes are positioned parallel to an active direction of one or more acoustic signals receivable.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal ([Abstract]).
Furthermore, Brown teaches a d32 mode ([0068]) in which transducer electrodes ([0068]) is positioned parallel ([0068]) to an active direction ([0068]) of one or more acoustic signals receivable ([0068] – “…produces a high transverse d31 (or d32 depending on notation) piezoelectric modulus in the transverse orthogonal (width) direction and an accompanying high transverse k31 (or k32 depending on notation) electromechanical coupling compared to transverse polarization in the [001] direction.”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single crystal of Li and the electrode pair positioning of Brown because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]) and it would create a spiral wavefront thereby improving transmission of signals that can be detected by multiple objects or vehicles, thereby providing a cost effective navigation aid to determine bearing angle to the beacon (Brown [0004]).
Regarding claim 14, Huang as modified teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101), in which a first pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, first pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, first pair of electrodes in 101) from the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) is by the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101) and a second pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, second pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, second pair of electrodes in 101) from the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) is by (Figs. 1-2) the downhole transducer (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, 101). Huang does not teach a single crystal material with a mode that includes a combination of d33 mode and d32 mode and transducer electrodes positioned perpendicular to an active direction of one or more acoustic signals receivable and transducer electrodes positioned parallel to the active direction of one or more acoustic signals receivable.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal ([Abstract]).
Furthermore, Brown teaches a material ([0067]-[0068]) with a mode ([0067]-[0068]) that includes a combination of d33 mode ([0067]-[0068]) and d32 mode ([0067]-[0068]) and transducer electrodes ([0006]) positioned perpendicular ([0006]) to an active direction ([0006]) of one or more acoustic signals receivable ([0006]) and transducer electrodes ([0068]) is positioned parallel ([0068]) to an active direction ([0068]) of one or more acoustic signals receivable ([0068] – “…produces a high transverse d31 (or d32 depending on notation) piezoelectric modulus in the transverse orthogonal (width) direction and an accompanying high transverse k31 (or k32 depending on notation) electromechanical coupling compared to transverse polarization in the [001] direction.”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single crystal of Li and the d32 and d33 modes and electrode pair positioning of Brown because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]) and it would create a spiral wavefront thereby improving transmission of signals that can be detected by multiple objects or vehicles, thereby providing a cost effective navigation aid to determine bearing angle to the beacon (Brown [0004]).
Regarding claim 18, Huang as modified teaches the method of claim 15, wherein receiving (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) the one or more acoustic signals (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) includes receiving (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) the one or more acoustic signals (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) via (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) in which the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101). Huang does not teach a single crystal d33 mode and a transducer electrode pair is positioned perpendicular to an active direction of one or more acoustic signals.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal mode d33 ([Abstract]; [Section 1]).
Furthermore, Brown teaches a transducer electrode pair ([0006]) is positioned perpendicular ([0006]) to an active direction ([0006]) of one or more acoustic signals ([0006] – “The subject invention relates to at least one electroacoustic transducer for producing a spiral wavefront having a phase that is a function of the azimuthal angle in the plane perpendicular to its axis of symmetry. In the preferred embodiment, the spiral wavefront transducer is comprised of at least one acoustic transducer that produces two spatially orthogonal acoustic dipoles…”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single crystal d33 mode of Li and the electrode pair positioning of Brown because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]) and it would create a spiral wavefront thereby improving transmission of signals that can be detected by multiple objects or vehicles, thereby providing a cost effective navigation aid to determine bearing angle to the beacon (Brown [0004]).
Regarding claim 19, Huang as modified teaches the method of claim 15, wherein receiving (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) the one or more acoustic signals (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) includes receiving (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) the one or more acoustic signals (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) via (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101) in which the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101). Huang does not teach a single crystal d32 mode in which a transducer electrode pair is positioned parallel to an active direction of one or more acoustic signals.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal ([Abstract]).
Furthermore, Brown teaches a d32 mode ([0068]) in which a transducer electrode pair ([0068]) is positioned parallel ([0068]) to an active direction ([0068]) of one or more acoustic signals ([0068] – “…produces a high transverse d31 (or d32 depending on notation) piezoelectric modulus in the transverse orthogonal (width) direction and an accompanying high transverse k31 (or k32 depending on notation) electromechanical coupling compared to transverse polarization in the [001] direction.”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single crystal of Li and the electrode pair positioning of Brown because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]) and it would create a spiral wavefront thereby improving transmission of signals that can be detected by multiple objects or vehicles, thereby providing a cost effective navigation aid to determine bearing angle to the beacon (Brown [0004]).
Regarding claim 20, Huang as modified teaches the method of claim 15, wherein receiving (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) the one or more acoustic signals (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) includes receiving (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) the one or more acoustic signals (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) via (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract]) the at least one piezoelectric material (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, piezoelectric material in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, piezoelectric material in 101), in which a first pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, first electrode of pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, first electrode of pair of electrodes in 101) from the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101) and a second pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, second electrode of pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, second electrode of pair of electrodes in 101) from the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 1-2; Fig. 1, pair of electrodes in transducer in 1034/1036; Fig. 2, pair of electrodes in 101). Huang does not teach a single crystal and a combination of a d33 mode and a d32 mode in which a transducer electrode pair is positioned perpendicular to an active direction of the one or more acoustic signals and a transducer electrode pair is positioned parallel to the active direction of the one or more acoustic signals.
Li, however, does teach single-crystal ([Abstract]).
Furthermore, Brown teaches a combination of d33 mode ([0067]-[0068]) and d32 mode ([0067]-[0068]) in which a transducer electrode pair ([0067]-[0068]) is positioned perpendicular ([0006]; [0067]-[0068]) to an active direction ([0067]-[0068]) of the one or more acoustic signals ([0067]-[0068]) and a transducer electrode pair ([0068]) is positioned parallel ([0068]) to an active direction ([0068]) of one or more acoustic signals ([0067]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Huang to include the single crystal of Li and the electrode pair positioning of Brown because it would provide thermal stability thereby increasing the temperature range of operation (Li [Abstract]) and it would create a spiral wavefront thereby improving transmission of signals that can be detected by multiple objects or vehicles, thereby providing a cost effective navigation aid to determine bearing angle to the beacon (Brown [0004]).
Conclusion
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
8 May 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837